Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

roosters up against warriors

ozzie

Roosters by 20 - we just love your big forwards kick turn them around - kick turn them around - then run around them when they are buggered...

AliN

Thanks to the judiciary knocking Latu out for a week, the Warriors will be more fired up.
5 playmakers out now, if the Roosters have the odds to win a game all year, it should be this one.

However with Freddy out, and now Flannery, who I reckon has been playing the best he ever has, the scales may be tipping in the Warriors favour.

Whichever way this game goes, the crowd, and I hope it's huge, will get to see some great footy.

Warriors by 10.

AliN

Wel done to both sides for a great game.

Was Fittler a liability yesterday, only playing at 50%...
It felt good as a Warriors fan to know the Roosters had enough respect for us to put their top man back in the side but was it costly?

RoostarGirl

AliN said:
Wel done to both sides for a great game.

Was Fittler a liability yesterday, only playing at 50%...
It felt good as a Warriors fan to know the Roosters had enough respect for us to put their top man back in the side but was it costly?

Yeap I agree...I never wanted Freddy to play.

It was a great game just a shame we couldnt kick a goal.

ozzie

bugger!! never saw the game - but it sounded like a cracker...i did see in the papers that one kick that was taken by Web 3 minutes?? That isbluddy ridiculous. If he had 5 shots at goal thats ten to fifteen minutes out of a game - Shifcoske from Canberra is just as bad. The really have to put the foot down on this one..

Well the family have taken the suicide watch away from me after yesterdays loss. :lol: It seems that Crocker has an injury and that's why he didn't kick.

Honestly the time some of these blokes take to kick is ridiculous. I think Crocker is the fastest [time wise] I think Fitzy has a reasonable time record too. Hopefully, the NRL will do something to speed up the time it's taking.

Mander stopped the clock every time, never more than a minute was taken off the clock for any kick.

But don't let the facts get in the way of a whinge.

ozzie

mate that is not a whinge - i was stating a fact - that goal kicks need to be looked at...Web has been getting away with it for ages before mander pulled him up and if you put your glasses on I also mentioned Shifcostkie. It is getting ridiculous...now it doesn't matter if he stopped the clock - it gives the team the chance to recuperate. I would also be whinging if it was a Rooster kicker..It's bluudy boring to watch.

also theiryy you may notice that not one Rooster supporter in this forum said we were robbed or the ref needs glasses or the tv ref needs to be sacked.

In fact - coming in to work this morning in our car poll the topic of the amount of time spent by goal kickers was raised by a Bulldog fan - he didn't raise acmplaint about Shifcoskie but you would even admit he is a slow goal kicker.

The others are Raider fans and to my shock and horror - they agreed that it is getting boring going to games and watching Schifcoskie kick ofr goal.

Now to all fans what is the solution??

I have one but it is a bit radical - and it goes for all goal kickers. You have 1 1/2 minutes to make contact with the ball - if not you lose the attempt at goal. If its a penalty kick at goal the defending team gets a tap kick from the spot. If its an attempt at conversion - the play starts again with the kick off on the half way line..

i am open to a any discussion on this one.

I also noted in the telegraph this morning that a high flying NRL agreed that something has to be done and it will be brought up at the NRL meeting at the end of the yeqar. It is too late to bring in rule changes but not for next year.

Master Vitaly

There's no rule stating how long a player has to take a kick at goal. Mander stopped the clock, thats all you have to worry about! So what if it gave more time for players to recuperate, thats thinking smart as far as I'm concerned. In the end it was the goalkicking that decided the outcome so good on Webby for making all the Rooster fans wait!! :twisted: :twisted:

sydraider

I feel they should have 45 seconds then the ref stops the clock, if the refs are stopping the clock the only problem with long kicks is us losing our patience waiting for it.
Teams use all sorts of tactics to gain an advantage, if givin the players more of a breather is one of them then good on them for gettin away with it.

ozzie

Master Vitaly said:
There's no rule stating how long a player has to take a kick at goal. Mander stopped the clock, thats all you have to worry about! So what if it gave more time for players to recuperate, thats thinking smart as far as I'm concerned. In the end it was the goalkicking that decided the outcome so good on Webby for making all the Rooster fans wait!! :twisted: :twisted:

no and again please read no one mentioned the fact that it was what beat the Roosters it was whinge in general about ALL goal kickers. I honestly think that things will change next year.

SydRaider mate thanks for a logical answer to my question. Shame some others can't.

dice

sydraider said:
I feel they should have 45 seconds then the ref stops the clock, if the refs are stopping the clock the only problem with long kicks is us losing our patience waiting for it.
Teams use all sorts of tactics to gain an advantage, if givin the players more of a breather is one of them then good on them for gettin away with it.

Not good enough. AFAIK time wasting is not the issue. It is slowing down the game to give all the fat bastards a rest. If you just stop the clock all you end up with is these dickheads taking even longer to give their guys a good rest.

The Warriors will be caught out in the semis if Harrigan refs one of there games. It will be free flowing for the full 80 minutes and they will get smashed in the last twenty as they did in the Grand Final.

It's true that the Roosters fans have taken the loss pretty well. Sorry about appearing to bag you because I didn't really mean it.

However, I think both Ricky Stuart and Brad Fittler made ridiculous comments. Fittler said that Webb took a minute, then the clock was stopped, then he "stood over the ball for a minute and a half" (or something to that effect) which is a ridiculous exaggeration. If you have a look at the clock on all of Webb's kicks, Mander stopped the clock within 30-45 seconds, and either restarted it when Webb had taken the kick, or when he was back to his mark. Sure, it seems like Webb takes an awful long time just standing at the top of his mark, but realistically, it's no more than 30 seconds. Stuarts claim that the 2 or 3 extra minutes Webb might have wasted (if any) led to there being only 71 (he wrongly said 69) sets of six in the game, as opposed to the usual 84 or 85, is also ludicrous.

Also, I would love to know your sources about the Warriors players being unfit? I assume you have all of their fitness test results on hand? Otherwise, I can't think of any possible reason for such comments except a racial motive.

dice

Thierry Henry said:
Also, I would love to know your sources about the Warriors players being unfit? I assume you have all of their fitness test results on hand? Otherwise, I can't think of any possible reason for such comments except a racial motive.

You don't have to be Einstein to figure out the roosters are one of the fittest teams in the comp and NZ are one of the least fit teams. Just take a look at what the roosters did to each team in the last 20 minutes of each game during and before the semis last year including both encounters against the warriors. Even taking a quick look at our athletically built forwards Morley and Cayless compared to the Homer Simpson builds of Seu Seu and Villisanti.

Why else would NZ twice shoot for goal from the touchline (certain misses from one of the worst kickers in the comp) instead of going for a try? .... Open your eyes.

You won the game and congrats. I personally hope we meet in the semis and get Harrigan as ref so we get a free-flowing game. Then in the last twenty minutes of the game we'll see who is and isn't fit.

Racial motivation comment ..... grow up. This is a league forum. We hate everyone equally. ;-)

Richard Villasanti has a Homer Simpson build? FFS. That's the most ridiculous thing I've read since the last post I disagreed with.

Master Vitaly

dice said:
You don't have to be Einstein to figure out the roosters are one of the fittest teams in the comp and NZ are one of the least fit teams. Just take a look at what the roosters did to each team in the last 20 minutes of each game during and before the semis last year including both encounters against the warriors. Even taking a quick look at our athletically built forwards Morley and Cayless compared to the Homer Simpson builds of Seu Seu and Villisanti.

Why else would NZ twice shoot for goal from the touchline (certain misses from one of the worst kickers in the comp) instead of going for a try? .... Open your eyes.

You won the game and congrats. I personally hope we meet in the semis and get Harrigan as ref so we get a free-flowing game. Then in the last twenty minutes of the game we'll see who is and isn't fit.

Racial motivation comment ..... grow up. This is a league forum. We hate everyone equally. ;-)

Thats the biggest pile of peanut ridden cowsh*t I've ever let my beautifull eyes bless! Lets stop it with the bagging of teams aye? Where does it say where one of the "least fit teams in the comp''? And your "athletically built forwards compared to our Homer Simpson built Warriors". Dude?... Engage in brain before typing cause at present, your hands and head just ain't communicating.. You guys lost, move on! And stop bringing up old !!! to make yourself feel better! Good luck for the finals and farewell 8) 8)

Absolutely agree.

I'd challenge you to find any fat on our back-row of Koopu, Swann, Guttenbeil, and Te Mata (or Faumuina for that matter). All of our back-rowers are over 6 foot tall and weigh between 99-105kg- none of them are particularly big and they are all fit. The only one bigger is Lauiti'iti and he is obviously a supreme athlete. Jerry SeuSeu, granted, is not the most mobile prop around, but he usually plays plenty of minutes. Villasanti has a great athletic build for a prop, you should take a look at the 30 and 40 metre tries he has scored this season. Betham is also a 65 minute plus man, and against the Roosters Mellars and Anderson were filling the other back-row position, and they are both centres.