Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 1 Dragons v Broncos at Kogarah

Smack

Here's hoping they belt that grub lodge.

I'm going to try and get their early for the ceremony, but f**k me, thursday night this early..

Overseas dragon

McInnes confident as Dragons prepare for NRL season-opener
Local Sport
r0_129_4476_2646_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg

Season kickoff: Cameron McInnes says the Dragons are confident heading into Thursday's clash with the Broncos.
St George Illawarra Dragons hooker Cameron McInnes is confident the team has addressed the defensive issues exposed by South Sydney in the Charity Shield.

The Dragons fell 22-18 after Bunnies dummy half Damien Cook exploited defensive deficiencies through the middle of the field.

However, McInnes feels the team’s overall trial performances were promising and he’s confident the Dragons will deliver in Thursday night’s season-opener against the Broncos.

“It will be great to start the year off on the right note,” McInnes said. “It can definitely set the tone for your year. Against the Broncos, it’s going to be a good challenge first up, but we’re ready for it and it will give us a good indication of where we’re at and where we’ve got to improve.

“You’re never where you want to be at this time of year, if you think you are there, then you’re dreaming. In attack we’ve put some good footy together and I don’t think that’s going to be a problem. It’s probably more our defence in certain areas.

“At this time of the year there’s always things for you to work on. If we can get our defence right against most teams, then we’ll be good.”

McInnes is confident adjustments have been made to ensure Broncos hooker Andrew McCullough doesn’t replicate Cook’s performance when he takes to the field on Thursday night.

“It’s not a concern. In some of the stats we saw, our missed tackles against Souths were half of what they missed and our tackle efficiency was over 90 per cent.

“It was just more the play the ball speed, we were letting them up too quickly.

“If we can put weight on them, work with the referees, we won’t have any problems with that, because our contact’s good and blokes working to get to tackles is good.

“There’s only little things we have to clean up so there’s no concerns with it, but it was a good opportunity for us to learn in that environment, in a game with no points on the line.”

The Broncos boast an explosive and unpredictable backline, led by halves Anthony Milford and Kodi Nikorima. The key to shutting those players down, according to Dragons centre Euan Aitken, is to get off the defensive line and take away their attacking space.

“We just need to get forward and make sure we make our one on one tackles,” Aitken said. “Obviously they’ve got quality players there, Jordan Kahu, James Roberts, if we get forward and defend together, I think we’ll shut them down.”

While the threat of rain hovers over Kogarah for Thursday night, McInnes believes there won’t be too many tactical adjustments for the Dragons.

“In terms of our game plan, it probably doesn’t change a lot because we’re a power based team with the big forwards we have,” McInnes said.

“With my kicking game, that’s something I am looking to implement a lot more this year. Also Ben Hunt’s such a great kicker of the footy, I reckon he’s probably one of the best in the game, so if he has a good look, then I’ll be giving him the ball.”

http://www.illawarramercury.com.au/story/5266630/dragons-prepared-for-sharp-brisbane-attack/?cs=302
Aithen says the right things but under pressure goes to shit

getsmarty

We're kidding ourselves if St George Illawarra Dragons don't play finals: Jack de Belin
  • Dragon's Den
    r0_0_3936_2544_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg

Big year ahead: St George Illawarra forward Jack de Belin has big plans for 2018. Picture: Chris Lane

• There are no more excuses. There is nowhere to hide.

Jack de Belin has a blunt message for his teammates and the club’s fans, saying St George Illawarra are kidding themselves if they do not reach the NRL finals in 2018.

The Dragons kick off the NRL season when they host former coach Wayne Bennett and the Brisbane Broncos at Jubilee Oval, Kogarah.

St George Illawarra have under achieved in recent seasons, reaching the finals only once in the last six years. Last season, the Dragons were just the third team since the top-eight system was introduced to miss the finals after leading at the end of the seventh round. They also had the highest for-and-against (+83) of any team to miss the finals in the 2000s. Captain Gareth Widdop even labelled the season a failure.

But a new season and new faces have brought a new vibe to the red V.

The club have recruited strongly, with Australian and Queensland State of Origin representative Ben Hunt arriving to play halfback alongside five-eighth Widdop. While they have lost incumbent Test centre Josh Dugan to fierce local rivals Cronulla, coach Paul McGregor is likely to hand the No.1 jersey to exciting Penshurst RSL junior Matt Dufty.

And, with England international James Graham added to a forward pack that includes Tyson Frizell, Paul Vaughan, Tariq Sims and de Belin, McGregor told the Leader in December it was the best squad he had ever coached.

It is that underwhelming recent past and the promise of what could be in 2018 that has de Belin believing that anything but St George Illawarra playing finals football would be another failure.

“You’d want to think [we’ll play] at least finals footy and give it a red hot shake,” he said.

“I suppose that’s a goal of ours to make the top four. Obviously we've let ourselves down the last couple of years not playing finals footy.

“I suppose this is kind of our year now. We’re kidding ourselves if we don’t make it.”

The club also lost influential back-rower Joel Thompson to Manly but have a number of young forwards with potential. Local juniors Jacob Host, Hame Sele and Luciano Leilua will all challenge for a first grade spot alongside new signing Jeremy Latimore.

But de Belin believes the club have the back of the scrum covered despite 29-year-old Thompson’s move to the northern beaches.

“Having a player like Joel, he was a great asset to the club on and off the field,” de Belin said.

“He’s definitely a leader and someone that brings a lot of energy and chat on the field as well. He was an essential part of our team but that’s life and that’s football, people move on.

“Obviously we’ve got a big hole to fill but at the same time we’ve got a lot of quality back-rowers in Tariq Sims, [Luciano Leilua] and Frizz. We’re pretty sweet there.”

This season also promises to be a big one personally for de Belin. At 26-years-old and almost 130 NRL games under his belt, he is approaching the prime years of his career.

While NSW coach Brad Fittler has a number of options in his back row including Blues captain Boyd Cordner, Josh Jackson, Sharks forward Wade Graham and Dragons teammate Frizell, de Belin is determined to have as strong a start as he did to the 2017 campaign to force his way into State of Origin reckoning with the Blues.

“I feel like I know my role and where I’m at and what I can provide to a team,” de Belin said.

“I suppose every year I’m still improving and getting better. And this year is no different. I’m still looking to take that step forward… higher rep honours, playing State of Origin and representing my country.

“Any player wants to hear that, [that] they’ll be picking the team on merit and not previous years. If your form warrants it hopefully you should get picked and that’s obviously what it comes down to. I’m going to be putting my best foot forward for the Dragons.”

Obviously we've let ourselves down the last couple of years not playing finals footy. I suppose this is kind of our year now. We’re kidding ourselves if we don’t make it.

Jack de Belin
    De Belin is hoping another mammoth pre-season will provide a similarly explosive start to St George Illawarra’s 2018 campaign despite going down in their annual Charity Shield clash to South Sydney in Mudgee.

The Dragons were slow out of the blocks in pre-season last season, including a sluggish showing in their Charity Shield loss to Souths. But a fortnight later they smashed Penrith 42-10 in atrocious conditions in their season opener.

The red V faithful will hope for much of the same on Thursday night.

http://www.theleader.com.au/story/5...lves-if-we-dont-play-finals-de-belin/?cs=3833

This Year?

Here's hoping they belt that grub lodge.

I'm going to try and get their early for the ceremony, but f**k me, thursday night this early..

They should have had the ceremony before the 1st grade game. I won't be able to make it early either,

It would have been awesome on a Sunday arvo.
I know it's not he greatest venue but it would have been interesting to see what would have happened if it had of been 3pm Saturday at the SCG.
Yes I know that Jubillee is the ancestral home but Changa didn't only belong to us he was idolised by many and no greater tribute was afforded him, then when he as brought back as Captain of Australia when Eadie was injured and he was shouldered off the ground to the chant of Changa, Changa.
I suspect a few older supporters from other clubs may have made the journey.

getsmarty

Scrutiny Nothing New For Hunt ; McGregor

r0_0_5315_3543_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg

ALL EYES ON ME: Ben Hunt at Dragons training. Picture John Veage
IT’S a promoter’s dream match-up but Dragons coach Paul McGregor says his side’s clash with Brisbane on Thursday will be a fairly run-of-the-mill affair for new recruit Ben Hunt.

The match at Kogarah will officially ring in the new season and see Hunt face off against his former club in his first NRL outing as a Dragon.

It will ensure plenty of eyes will rest on his performance, but McGregor said the 27-year-old has been unfazed by the added scrutiny.

“Ben’s a pretty relaxed character,” McGregor said.

“He’ll handle the situation, there’s no doubt about that. He’s an experienced player, he’s played 180-plus games, so it’s just another game of footy for Ben.

“He’s looking forward to it, he’s playing against a lot of guys he grew up playing with and a coach [Wayne Bennett] that coached him for a long time.

“He’s excited about the game but, for us, it’s just about Ben executing the game plan. Everyone around him’s got to do their job as well.”

Adding to intrigue is the fact Hunt will also come up against young-gun Kodi Nikorima in the halves, the man who unseated him as Broncos halfback last season.

McGregor said he has picked his new No. 7’s brain ahead of the showdown, particularly in regards to Nikorima and former halves partner Anthony Milford

“We spoke about it, not only this week but leading up over a period of time,” McGregor said.

He’s an experienced player, he’s played 180-plus games, so it’s just another game of footy for Ben.

Paul McGregor
“He knows a lot about the opposition because he’d been there for such a long time and a lot of those guys he came through the 20s with.

“He’s given us a little bit of indication of what they’re about but they have probably changed a little bit. [Assistant coach] Kevvie [Walters] is coming in.

“Milford’s obviously a very special player and Darius [Boyd] is pretty important at the back to.

“Nikorima’s played a fair bit of halfback late in the year for them and he’s ready to tie down that 80-minute game consistently.

“Benny leaving paved the way for that, I’m just fortunate enough to have Benny at my club.”

While Hunt coming up against his former club would ordinarily grab most of the headlines, the build-up to Thursday’s game has been largely dominated by the NRL return of Brisbane prop Matt Lodge.

Broncos coach Wayne Bennett on Wednesday blasted the media’s focus on Lodge so close to the start of a new season and McGregor echoed the sentiment.

“To us he’s just a player in an opposition jumper,” McGregor said.

“Whatever’s happened in the media around Matty Lodge has certainly got nothing to do with me. I’d rather put all my energy into what I need to do.

“Footy’s back on, we shouldn’t be talking about someone individually, we should be talking about rugby league and the excitement around the competition.”

http://www.illawarramercury.com.au/story/5269961/scrutiny-nothing-new-for-hunt-mcgregor/?cs=302

Life's Good

View attachment 18049 whoever said it would be a struggle to get anymore then 12k give yourselves an uppercut. almost sold out

That is great news considering the posts about little marketing of the game in & around KJO.
Obvious statement but I expect Lodge to cop plenty of attention from the crowd every time he takes a hit up or walks to the sideline for a breather.
Irrespective of that I just hope the atmosphere is enough to energise the players more than they showed in the trials(understanding the ‘tapering’).
Go Dragons.

Alec's-saints

That is great news considering the posts about little marketing of the game in & around KJO.
Obvious statement but I expect Lodge to cop plenty of attention from the crowd every time he takes a hit up or walks to the sideline for a breather.
Irrespective of that I just hope the atmosphere is enough to energise the players more than they showed in the trials(understanding the ‘tapering’).
Go Dragons.
mate its round 1 and footy is finally back and good weather. hunt and Graham are in town we're a top 8 team without a doubt. honesty who said it would be under 11 or 12k. that individual needs to wake up haha

getsmarty

duftym-1821709.jpg

TEAM LISTS

NRL Team Changes: Round 1 v Brisbane Broncos
Author
Dragons.com.au dragons.com.au
Timestamp
Wed 7 Mar 2018, 07:50 PM

St George Illawarra Dragons coach Paul McGregor has trimmed his squad to 19 to face the Brisbane Broncos this Thursday, March 8 at Jubilee Oval, Kogarah.

The Dragons will kick-off at 7:50pm with the Graeme Langlands Tribute to start the night's proceedings at 6:55pm.

Josh Kerr and Blake Lawrie are the unlucky duo to miss out on selection.

NRL squad for Round 1 v Brisbane Broncos:

18. Matt Dufty – sponsored by Illawarra Mercury/St George & Sutherland Shire Leader
2. Nene Macdonald – sponsored by Relativity in the Loop
3. Euan Aitken – sponsored by University of Wollongong
4. Tim Lafai – sponsored by Kingsgrove Sports Centre
5. Jason Nightingale – sponsored by SMAI
6. Gareth Widdop (c) – sponsored by Dynamic Projects
7. Ben Hunt – sponsored by Paul's Customs and Forwarding Solutions
8. James Graham – sponsored by EFEX
9. Cameron McInnes – sponsored by Floormania
10. Paul Vaughan – sponsored by My Muscle Chef
11. Tyson Frizell – sponsored by Val Morgan
12. Tariq Sims – sponsored by Destination Wollongong
13. Jack de Belin – sponsored by Wollongong Jetski
Interchange:
14. Luciano Leilua – sponsored by Addbuild Additions
15. Kurt Mann – sponsored by Wollongong Diagnostics
16. Leeson Ah Mau – sponsored by Westfund
17. Hame Sele – sponsored by Domus Lighting
19. Jeremy Latimore
20. Zac Lomax

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2018/03/07/nrl-team-changes-round-1-v-brisbane-broncos/

getsmarty

NRL preview: St George Illawarra Dragons need to let Ben Hunt play his own style, says Andrew Johns
http%3A%2F%2Fprod.static9.net.au%2F_%2Fmedia%2F2017%2F08%2F15%2F17%2F06%2Fmel.jpg
By Melanie Dinjaski
6 hours ago
http%3A%2F%2Fprod.static9.net.au%2F_%2Fmedia%2F2018%2F03%2F07%2F16%2F36%2Fhuntalfie_env.jpg

The St George Illawarra Dragons have a lot of improvement to do if they're to be a force in the 2018 season, says Nine NRL commentator Andrew Johns.

While coach Paul McGregor has said the current squad is among the best he's ever coached at the Dragons, Johns says their pre-season form suggested there's still a lot of work to do.

"I saw them play Hull, I thought they were really poor that game and then I watched the Charity Shield, and the Rabbitohs didn't have their best team in and the Rabbitohs smoked 'em," Johns said.

Johns says the major focus for the club has to be allowing $6 million new recruit Ben Hunt to play to his preferred style.

"I have got a problem with the way the Dragons are playing with their attack," Johns said.

"Ben Hunt is a runner of the ball and I compare him when he plays at his best he is exactly the same as the Broncos greatest ever halfback Allan Langer.

"Allan Langer wasn't the best passer or the best kicker, but running the ball off a quick play-the-ball he terrorised opposition forwards.

"Get Alfie trying to ball play and play like Cooper Cronk, it would have been awful.

"First two games I watched Ben Hunt, he didn't play to his strengths at all. He was going to the line and trying to play that Cronk sort of play, playing those out the back plays which doesn't suit his style.

"He's there under a lot of pressure this year. We all know he's on huge money and expectation for him to carry the Dragons forward. I think they have to let him play his natural game. What I saw in the first two games worried me."

Inside ‘Tonya’ the Dragons bus
Play Video
Inside ‘Tonya’ the Dragons bus
Johns also cited some concerns over English veteran James Graham's prospects this season, and said they will feel the loss of another front rower in the off-season.

"At one stage he [Graham] was one of the best front-rowers in the game. But you're only born on this rugby league earth to have so many bumps. So I don't know how much petrol is left in the tank for James.

"I hope he proves me wrong but he is getting on and he has to do a lot of the tough work up front.

"I think a huge loss for the Dragons has been Russell Packer. He was their big strong man in the pack."

The Dragons will be without Josh Dugan this year too, after the NRL star signed with Cronulla. But Johns is confident young up-and-coming players Matt Dufty and Jai Field will be able to pick up the slack.

"Will be interesting to see how they use these young players at the back, whether they free them up and let them play off off-loads, to use their speed and evasion or they just purely use them on these set plays," Johns said.

For the ninth Immortal it all equates to a tough year for the Dragons, still needing time to gel and having lost some key names. He doesn't believe it will make them a finals contender this season.

"I haven't got them in the eight," Johns said.

"I think there's six certainties to make the eight and there's a lot of teams scrapping for that seventh and eighth position, I just can't see the Dragons being there."

https://wwos.nine.com.au/2018/03/07/15/03/nrl-news-st-george-illawarra-dragons-2018-season-preview