Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 10 v Warriors @ WIN Wollongong

hewi

“2-3 seasons is plenty of time and I would also remind that you no one on the forum suggested Flanagan needed more time than this from the beginning, nor should they now.”

There it is 2/3 seasons is enough , I agree but you want him punted now. You are death riding him and the club. Guess what if he is unsuccessful it will be another 3/4 years at least before we have any success.

matPORTS

First of all, congrats to Loko Jnr on being named for his debut. I hope he absolutely kills it, and he will if any inspiration is taken from his other debutant team mates this year.

I know the thread has been hijacked with commentary on Flanno & the rest of the selectios, and I'm about to listen to the Red V podcast where I can see they might be unloading on this as well...

But I will say this... when is the front office going to actually accept responsibility for their failings in managing our roster, recruitment & retention? The clock is very much ticking in this respect now (we have two expansion clubs due to come in over the next three years). Unless things change here soon, we will be screwed for all eternity.

Someone like Aaron Bellamy would be an interesting prospect as a future coach... but, if he is anything like his father, he isn't even going to entertain the idea of coaching a club that hasn't got it's roster management together (i.e. we would need a similar Frank Ponisi type GM - Ben "Puppet for the BoD" Haran ain't going to cut the mustard).

I'm Hornby

Great post. I'm sure you will be on a few ignored list but people can't handle the truth. And it's on record that the senior players at the sharks completely disregarded Flannos gameplans during the GF year it's on the podcast with James Graham. He got lucky he had the players he had all in their prime
Thanks mate, I wasn't aware of that podcast until I read one of your posts the other day, great info!

KingFlanno7

First of all, congrats to Loko Jnr on being named for his debut. I hope he absolutely kills it, and he will if any inspiration is taken from his other debutant team mates this year.

I know the thread has been hijacked with commentary on Flanno & the rest of the selectios, and I'm about to listen to the Red V podcast where I can see they might be unloading on this as well...

But I will say this... when is the front office going to actually accept responsibility for their failings in managing our roster, recruitment & retention? The clock is very much ticking in this respect now (we have two expansion clubs due to come in over the next three years). Unless things change here soon, we will be screwed for all eternity.

Someone like Aaron Bellamy would be an interesting prospect as a future coach... but, if he is anything like his father, he isn't even going to entertain the idea of coaching a club that hasn't got it's roster management together (i.e. we would need a similar Frank Ponisi type GM - Ben "Puppet for the BoD" Haran ain't going to cut the mustard).
Aaron Bellamy is a real interesting prospect and I didn't even think of him until yourself and imhornby mentioned him. As it stands Flanno is our coach until the end of next year but the drums will be beating if we miss the 8 and start next year poor. No more excuses

since77

Good to see another debutant this week in LPT, hoping he’s as good as Egan and Stewart, love those guys!
Warriors are bloody good this year, however It’s the kind of game we win. I still cannot believe that game last week, still depressed.
Feels like do or die already doesn’t it, cannot afford to drop this game, must win.
To Flanno’s credit he has now cycled out a big chunk of last year’s forward pack and replaced them with rookies. That’s a pretty brave thing for any first grade coach to consider after only a third of the season, particularly for a coach who likes his experienced players. And he’s still saying there’s more debuts to come.
I don’t always agree with Flanno’s selections but I think this year he is showing less forgiveness for bad performances than he did last year even if some of us think 1 or 2 others should be on the chopping block.
Hopefully the team rewards us all for our patience this week and puts in a good one.
I'm probably one of the few on this forum who does actually think we’ve improved this year - but our footy IQ (or lack of it) is killing us. We could so easily have been sitting pretty with just 2 losses. Very frustrating to watch. Hopefully more of the young fellas coming through will help flush the sh$t losing culture out of the system.

Illusion

To Flanno’s credit he has now cycled out a big chunk of last year’s forward pack and replaced them with rookies. That’s a pretty brave thing for any first grade coach to consider after only a third of the season, particularly for a coach who likes his experienced players. And he’s still saying there’s more debuts to come.
I don’t always agree with Flanno’s selections but I think this year he is showing less forgiveness for bad performances than he did last year even if some of us think 1 or 2 others should be on the chopping block.
Hopefully the team rewards us all for our patience this week and puts in a good one.
I'm probably one of the few on this forum who does actually think we’ve improved this year - but our footy IQ (or lack of it) is killing us. We could so easily have been sitting pretty with just 2 losses. Very frustrating to watch. Hopefully more of the young fellas coming through will help flush the sh$t losing culture out of the system.
Need this win to maybe get us back on track ....... We are lucky that the season is up and down for other teams as well ........ If and I say If they can string 3 wins in a row they are back into contention to make the 8 ..........

blacksafake

I kinda feel sorry for LPT this week.
Plenty on here have been calling for his selection & rightly so.
I just hope expectations are not too high for him from some or else I can see him copping it from them on here. Give him time & don't expect him to be the game breaker we're all hoping for just yet.

blacksafake

A good balanced post.

Wolfgang90

We should look to take advantage of Capewell in the centres, I hope he'll be up against Holmes. Metcalf is hitting some top notch form, wish we had him. Excited for Loko's debut, hopefully a 15min impact stint.

We need more support play on breaks rather than just Kyle & Gutho. Sloan should be backing up too, that's been a pet peeve of mine. He doesn't move off his wing, either through instructions or a lack of desire/footy iq. One last chance for him imo.

I think the dragons can win but Warriors might grind us out. I hope we continue offloading the ball to disrupt opposition defence since we don't have middles that regularly make big meters.

Gazzamataz

Honestly Ramsay is a special player and person. Would probably be better for him to play cup this season and get some miles in the legs before a massive preseason. He will be in our 17 every week next year if he stays healthy just don't think we should throw him to the wolves just yet.
Agree with this comment. Plus fullback is by far his best position. Will be disappointed if he gets played on the wing when he returns. Maybe a shift of Gutho to 5/8. Not sure how that would work either. Cody was just starting to show what a great player he is, at fullback in 1st grade, before his illness. He should be our priority fullback, bar none, if he makes it back to 1st grade. Great to see Loko getting a run this week.

Saints 32-8

“2-3 seasons is plenty of time and I would also remind that you no one on the forum suggested Flanagan needed more time than this from the beginning, nor should they now.”

There it is 2/3 seasons is enough , I agree but you want him punted now. You are death riding him and the club. Guess what if he is unsuccessful it will be another 3/4 years at least before we have any success.
Am curious, why is it death riding? He presided over a 60 point Belting in last years Anzac game followed up by a 50 point hammering this year after telling all and sundry that we’re a much better team this year. Please. We’ve lost at least 3 games against ordinary teams this year after being in winnable positions. Have we seen his coaching improve Su’a, Luc or Sloan? His use of Cook as a running forward is laughable while giving our no 1 hooker limited minutes every week. We’re all for him to succeed but please be real..

Evil_Mush

If it's any consolation, as a Warriors fan - a lot of these comments are very familiar.

We are in a purple patch at the moment, but that is very very rare for us as you probably already know (only made the finals series twice since our last grand final in 2011), and we too have a knack of getting the knives out for our coaches when things aren't working (including Webster pretty early on last year about his selections/bench use even after the golden run of 2023).

Can never underestimate the Dragons, you've historically been the bogiest of teams for us along with Manly, hell one of my most miserable live experiences was seeing Dragons annihilate us 36-0 in horizontal rain here in Wellington hah!

Good luck for the weekend, I reckon it'll be close whichever way the final result goes.

maestro1

Great post. I'm sure you will be on a few ignored list but people can't handle the truth. And it's on record that the senior players at the sharks completely disregarded Flannos gameplans during the GF year it's on the podcast with James Graham. He got lucky he had the players he had all in their prime
Are you replying to yourself in the positive from your many accounts. I'm Hornby, KingFlanno7, Saintmar........all one and the same. All deathriding Flanno in the hope Dean Young becomes Head Coach. All these accounts only show themselves after losses and all obsessed with blaming Flanno for everything bad. Never give credit for anything good. Broken recored....ad nauseum. Every post is about the same bxllshit

InFlannoWeTrust

Am curious, why is it death riding? He presided over a 60 point Belting in last years Anzac game followed up by a 50 point hammering this year after telling all and sundry that we’re a much better team this year. Please. We’ve lost at least 3 games against ordinary teams this year after being in winnable positions. Have we seen his coaching improve Su’a, Luc or Sloan? His use of Cook as a running forward is laughable while giving our no 1 hooker limited minutes every week. We’re all for him to succeed but please be real..
How many beltings did we cop last year? I think it was 3 by this time. The losses against ordinary teams was more of VERY poor game management . Though be happy we were in a position to win! YES we didn’t win & should have though school boys errors
Not sure how that’s a coaches problem.
Sua hasn’t improved under Flanno!! Please!! He f**king made origin after years absence.
Sloan’s defence HAS improved besides the weekend.
Coaching staff have even admitted themselves that they still haven’t found the perfect combo for liddle + cook yet! Though I think on the weekend when it was a direct swap it worked well! So let’s see what happens.

InFlannoWeTrust

Are you replying to yourself in the positive from your many accounts. I'm Hornby, KingFlanno7, Saintmar........all one and the same. All deathriding Flanno in the hope Dean Young becomes Head Coach. All these accounts only show themselves after losses and all obsessed with blaming Flanno for everything bad. Never give credit for anything good. Broken recored....ad nauseum. Every post is about the same bxllshit
Love it !!!