Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 14 v Dragons (preview, spoilers, post match discussion...)

Caged Panther

it seems where afraid to blood players before they reach the age of 22/23. Other clubs have blooded 18 or 19 year olds with resonable success. I agree that it's time we started doing the same.

*Sandy*

And PK...Swainy may have scored, but he was pathetic all night. Dropped balls, yet again only making 5 metres a hitup...absolutely pathetic. Why he is getting in first grade ahead of Junior Moors is beyond me.

Mick, I asked how Keith Peters went due to it being his debut, I did not ask about Luke Swain. I'm not a negative person and only want to know how good a player went.

You just mentioned how out of depth Peters was in 1st Grade but on the other hand you are saying how we need to blood juniors. I'm guessing they will be blooded when they are ready too. I've seen many players blooded into 1st Grade only to disappear a year later. I think I will leave the judgement to Lang, Mullholland and the rest of the coaching staff.

Can anyone else answer my question on what position Peters played when he came on?

Munky

I want to know why Trindall hasn't been called up.

He carved up again in PL last night and he has a good kicking game, yet for some reason we keep playing centres and unfit players in the halves.

Big Mick

Peters played Lock/Second row to answer your question.

I mentioned Swainy because you mentioned him in the previous post.

And if you can find more than 2 positives in that match last night PK...then your making them up...cause there wern't any.

Big Mick

And yes I said we should blood them. I said Peters was out of his depth, but I also said I wanna see him get another chance. I didn't say i don't want him in first grade again. It could have been the weather or the occasion. I would like to see him again as I said...once again people take only the first part of all my sentences and comment on them....

As for putting trust in Langy...i'm starting to lose faith...if there was a game plan last night...i'd like to know what it was...and if that was it...then jesus, we are in trouble.

I dunno what happened to our game plan in 2003...has it just been shelved? We used to use attacking kicks...bodies in motion...now all we do in the 10 metre line..is give it to a forward.

*Sandy*

Big Mick © said:

I mentioned Swainy because you mentioned him in the previous post.

And if you can find more than 2 positives in that match last night PK...then your making them up...cause there wern't any.

I didnt watch the match and I didnt say I had any postives to say on the match.

I didnt quote you and I didnt direct any post towards you for your personal comment about Swain. So there was no need for you to jump in.

*Sandy*

Big Mick © said:
And yes I said we should blood them. I said Peters was out of his depth, but I also said I wanna see him get another chance. I didn't say i don't want him in first grade again. It could have been the weather or the occasion. I would like to see him again as I said...once again people take only the first part of all my sentences and comment on them....

As for putting trust in Langy...i'm starting to lose faith...if there was a game plan last night...i'd like to know what it was...and if that was it...then jesus, we are in trouble.

I dunno what happened to our game plan in 2003...has it just been shelved? We used to use attacking kicks...bodies in motion...now all we do in the 10 metre line..is give it to a forward.

I was making an observation on your post about the junior who debuted and was out of depth in your opinion and your constant posts about bringing in Junior Moors.

Trust in Lang? I believe I was posting about juniors ... not game plans ... so who were you directing that comment about people only reading a part of your sentences and not your whole post? :p

My opinion on our gameplan in 2003 worked then with the 2003 players we had back then and their mentality at that time. As much as I like Lang, I'm happy to see in the new coach next year because I do feel it's time for a change of hands. I felt that last season and even hinted to it on that I felt Langy's game plans were out dated. That's not being negative - I'm looking forward.

*Sandy*

Big Mick © said:

Last year if my memory serves me right, whenever I mentioned Peters I spoke highly of him and thought he would be a good replacement at 5/8th. You always mentioned he was more of a Lock player.

I've noted this year in premier he has been a versatile player playing Lock and Hooker to name a few.

Second row - I could imagine him being out of depth for sure. Aiton seems to relish in that roving role but it seems it may not be suited for Peters then.

Big Mick

PK said:
I
Trust in Lang? I believe I was posting about juniors ... not game plans ... so who were you directing that comment about people only reading a part of your sentences and not your whole post? :p

My opinion on our gameplan in 2003 worked then with the 2003 players we had back then and their mentality at that time. As much as I like Lang, I'm happy to see in the new coach next year because I do feel it's time for a change of hands. I felt that last season and even hinted to it on that I felt Langy's game plans were out dated. That's not being negative - I'm looking forward.

Nah...that wasn't with regards to your post...that was venting frustration from elsewhere, you just happened to actually mentioned Lang in your previous post hahaha.

And yeah, I can't wait for Elliot. I bagged it at first...then you think about it...and I think what we currently lack..is a bit of ticker..rather than talent. And one thing you know about Canberra is they leave nothing on the field. The players really play for Elliot.

Big Artie

look I must be honest I havent seem a lot of the PL and the other junior sides but Ive seen a couple of games of each and I think thats enuff their is obviously a lot of talent and good first graders coming thru but Ive seen no guns, they stick out like dogs balls, I remember seeing freddy and gowie playing school footy U just knew but they dont come around all the times, and In the case of brandy it was the same, player right next to him in the local junior comp.

Big Mick

PK said:
Last year if my memory serves me right, whenever I mentioned Peters I spoke highly of him and thought he would be a good replacement at 5/8th. You always mentioned he was more of a Lock player.

I've noted this year in premier he has been a versatile player playing Lock and Hooker to name a few.

Second row - I could imagine him being out of depth for sure. Aiton seems to relish in that roving role but it seems it may not be suited for Peters then.

whenever I had seen Peters from Schoolboy level, he'd been a lock and was a stellar performer because he could ballplay. Last night there was little of that....it seems he was told to adapt to our BORING style of play and just run up the middle.

It was a tough game to make your debut but...with the ground so soggy. I wanna see him get another chance...this time to have enough time to create something..

Big Mick

Big Artie...I think our three best juniors coming through...all have in my opinion future rep jersey's waiting for them...are Tim Grant, Michael Jennings and Jarrod Sammut. I see all three as special talents. But apart from that, there are a lot of guys that I feel will be capable to play first grade as you said.

In the Harold Matthews and SG Ball...we have some talent...we won both competitions which is a testament to our juniors strength, but they leave to go to other clubs, because Penrith doesn't offer the opportunities. To be fair dinkum, Tim Grant and Jarrod Sammut should be in PL now, and Michael Jennings when he gets back from injury. Tim Grant made the NSW under 19's and was their best forward from all reports. He was apparantly the best forward on the park in Flegg against Manly...its clearly obvious he's a prop at a class above, yet Penrith refuse to promote them.

It's really gotta be frustrating for these young players to think they wont get an opportunity because of politics maybe...or a lack of faith in their abilities.

I've seen guys who are ordinary in PL then come out and star in First Grade. All they need are chances.

I mentioned Junior Moors having a go in the centres before...Personally I still see that as a viable option. He's big, athletic and I think he would be like a Sonny Bill Williams stil centre. I think thats what we need...someone big and strong in attack who can bust tackles. Put Galea to Lock, Waterhouse to second row or Prop. Personally I see Waterhouse as a prop.

Big Artie

PK said:
Just to be pedantic - they did twice. ;-) And once was Swainy!

There's not much else that can be said about the game, so I will ask - How did Keith Peters go? Bout time he got a go considering he's part of the top 25 on PI. And where did he play?

pedantic, babe getting over the line its originally a racing term refers to winning babe, I know ur not a punter, becos u would have taken a chance on that special guy, and getting over the line with him wow

choc_soldier

Kiwipanther said:
PP

Whats your thoughts on the match mate?

We were sh*t house. Enough said!

I never thought I would say this - but I can't wait for Elliot to come now. At least he will add some fresh ideas to our team.

JL I'm afraid is just getting a bit stale.

Kilkenny

Big Artie said:
well I can assure u I will never give up on them, Ive seen plenty worse lol

Big Artie.

As I am aware you are only a couple of years younger than I so we have been through more lows than highs.

Yep, most fans in the computer age who post here and on the Panthers website are in there teens or aged in there twenties.

We have been fans since the Mick Stevenson/Bill Ashurst era so are are certainly familiar with losing ie Chocolate Soldiers.

The current breed of Panther fan are riding on the back of our 2003 success. They are not used to losing year after year after year such as yourself and even Fibro.

Regardless of the outcome of season 2006, Big Artie, Fibroman and Kilkenny will continue to support the Panthers as we have done since the 1970's.

As I have posted numerous times previously the thing that makes 1991 and 2003 so special is the losing years in between, all 38 years of them. Yes Big Artie I have been there with you all of those years!

There are plenty of other long standing Panthers fans out there