Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 18 | Rabbitohs 34-14 Knights @ ANZ | Sun 2.00pm

Round 18 result :: Rabbitohs vs Knights

Jono078

Uate, McManus and Snowden are our most recent success stories. Paterson showed awesome signs in his first 2 years.

But since we haven't really had a gun 19 year old come through like just about all the other teams.

doggone

I agree with JONO Last years team was a team, this year is a team of bloody individuals, too many changes from day one to try a squeeze so called good players into a team that was growing nicely. The team doesn't seem to click. Maybe Pre season Boot Camp broke em! Wayne may need to take off the rose coloured glasses> or is it Tinkler?? Not all Newcastle boys are champions.

Nuffy

Uate, McManus and Snowden are our most recent success stories. Paterson showed awesome signs in his first 2 years.

But since we haven't really had a gun 19 year old come through like just about all the other teams.

Proves my theory, two wingers and a bloke who didn't make his name at our club but rather the Sharks.

Paterson was all promise and little else, he fights for a bench spot at the Cows.

The Hunter nursery is a myth at moment.

We got monstered in the ruck all day today, but in particular in the first 20 of each half. That is why we lost. We didn't get into their half for 30 mins of the second half. Not even going to take all the bait.

We don't have the pack to compete this year, full stop. Might not next year either. There were sets of 6 where we had our fullback taking 2 hit ups.

Nuffy

I agree with JONO Last years team was a team, this year is a team of bloody individuals, too many changes from day one to try a squeeze so called good players into a team that was growing nicely. The team doesn't seem to click. Maybe Pre season Boot Camp broke em! Wayne may need to take off the rose coloured glasses> or is it Tinkler?? Not all Newcastle boys are champions.

Let's not get too misty eyed about last year, we came 8 th and were pumped in the first week. All that on the back of a better run with injuries than this year.

We are a team that likes things running our way, the first sign of adversity and we fold.

Yeh well Mullen would be good outside an extremely dominant half like Johns where he's able to chime in once a set with a run or pass and provide a kicking option on long kicks. Unfortunately we don't have a Johns and nor is there one in the comp bar Thurston.

We are going to have the NSW syndrome if we continue with Mullen has one of our halves - forwards winning the battle only for the backs to be starved of any attacking set up play or repeat sets.

We need new halves, some strike backrowers. Our 1-5 is fine.

Which period of the game did our forwards win, exactly?

Which halves are you gonna go buy to replace Roberts, let alone Mullen?

BranVan3000

Don't cry too much, you guys just got man handled by a bigger, more talented team. It happens, you never had a chance no matter what you told yourselves in this thread

Whats Doing

The fact is we have a team that defensively is not a top 8 side let alone a premiership team.

Time Bennett starts to make some tough decisions and cuts some of those players who are NRL standard defensive failures.

No need to mention who as there are a number in the forwards and it is clear to all to see and it also includes one in the 1-5 who for most part of season has shown defensive misreads and missed one on one tackles

Don't cry too much, you guys just got man handled by a bigger, more talented team. It happens, you never had a chance no matter what you told yourselves in this thread

I agree with you, and I called exactly how they would beat us days before the match. It was clear as daylight, but as usual we need to blame someone.

Thurston or Cronk could not have won us today's match, even. That's how badly we were outsized.

BranVan3000

I agree with you, and I called exactly how they would beat us days before the match. It was clear as daylight, but as usual we need to blame someone.

I don't know where your problems stem from. Maybe some guys with bad attitudes, maybe a lack of creativity with Gidley out. Or maybe Bennett just isn't putting the effort into Newcastle that you'd expect. But it doesn't help when you lack size with guys like Snowden out

Funny enough I saw Big Willie and some of the other Knights players sipping lattes and talking about all his exploits in Coogees yesterday, and its clear he is the dominant personality in that group now. Just found that interesting.

I don't know where your problems stem from. Maybe some guys with bad attitudes, maybe a lack of creativity with Gidley out. Or maybe Bennett just isn't putting the effort into Newcastle that you'd expect
Certainly poor attitude at times. Lack of size and will in the forwards (refer to my comment about our fullback needing to hit the ball up twice in at least 1 set). Lack of ability to build pressure (the area where Mullen fails). We have heaps of problems. We missed Snowden a lot today.

Its only Sams injuries that have made people not realise. If he stays fit between now and September he'll get the respect and recognition he deserves.

Adam Reynolds grew up in Redfern down the street from Redfern Oval. He is a Souths junior. He grew up a Souths fan. He literally is a Rabbitoh for life.

At 21 he is a Rabbit for life! Good luck keeping him when he goes on the open market. He will be 400 k plus i reckon. Minimum. He is NSW future half. He reminds me of Cronk.

BunniesMan

I've never seen a teams fans disrespect a team that has just convincingly beaten them like the majority of Knights fans have in this thread.

I'd get it if it was Easts or Tigers or Dragons fans. But I have no idea why so many Knights fans have such an intense hatred of us. It seems like they hate us more than any other set of fans on LU.

At 21 he is a Rabbit for life! Good luck keeping him when he goes on the open market. He will be 400 k plus i reckon. Minimum. He is NSW future half. He reminds me of Cronk.

We have bloated contracts due to come off the books in the next year or two, like Asotasi and Crocker. We're saving about 100k in trading in DT for Teo.

After Inglis, Reynolds will be our number #1 resigning priority over the next 18 months. No other club will get near him.

The core of this team is Inglis, Luke, Reynolds and Burgess. We know who we need and who we don't, we've made the right decisions in cap management the last year or two. We'll be fine but thanks for your concern.

Burwood

Funny enough I saw Big Willie and some of the other Knights players sipping lattes and talking about all his exploits in Coogees yesterday, and its clear he is the dominant personality in that group now. Just found that interesting.

What you saw fits in with this article from a few weeks back:

WILLIE Mason's time for redemption is almost over. And he's quietly satisfied with the outcome.

Granted a rare break from football last week, Mason didn't embark on an exotic getaway. The 32-year-old instead re-acquainted himself with less boisterous pursuits.

Before Knights coach Wayne Bennett revived his NRL career in April, Mason trained alone in a small gym above Bronte RSL without any guarantees of a lifeline.

The Toronto junior has since grasped the only one on offer and is now eyeing a contract extension that will see out his playing days.

But improved job security hasn't blunted the personal drive that pushed Mason through so many hours of sweaty and uncertain solitude.

That's why he was back in the eastern beaches last week, hurling medicine balls, pushing iron sleds and tossing giant ropes under the watch of trainer Trent Langlands.

"Wayne gave us a week off, but I can't really afford to stop training and just do nothing at all," he says.

"I've worked so hard with guys like Trent and (sprint coach) Roger Fabri while I was without a club, so I've got to keep it up.

"There's no time for a break. I don't think going on a holiday will help me because I've only played six games."

Overseeing the competition's most disappointing side to date, Bennett gave his players complete freedom to freshen their bones ahead of last weekend's bye.

Some might view these extra cardio sessions as a surefire sign Mason still has critics to silence. Especially given the upcoming opponent is Wests Tigers, who travel to Hunter Stadium on Monday night.

But for misgivings from jumpy Tigers directors and sponsors at the eleventh hour in March, Mason would've been on the visitors' bus.

The setback was deflating - and not just because his comeback was left in even greater peril.

Mason was most annoyed that things he controls - fitness, desire and playing ability - had no bearing on the deal's demise.

It came down to his reputation as an outspoken troublemaker.

"That was a big thing for me. I felt no one looked at what I'd achieved in the game," Mason says.

"The media always wanted to talk about controversy."

And yet just as rugby league has always relied on characters like Mason to stand out, the teams themselves need personality to jell. Bennett quickly realised as much when arrived for his 25th season in the big show. In the wake of larrikins such as the Johns brothers and Mark Hughes, Newcastle's dressing room was too silent. Enter Mason.

According to the 192cm giant, Bennett wants him to instill two qualities at the club.

And size isn't one of them.

"It's energy and experience," Mason reveals.

"I think a lot of people over-complicate the game and make it harder than it really is.

"Wayne's biggest asset is that he keeps things simple. I try to replicate that with how I speak to the forwards.

"We just need to relax more. It's tough to enjoy football when you're losing, but that's what we've got to start doing.

"My role is to bring a bit of enjoyment. We are blessed to be playing in the NRL.

"No one should take that for granted. Being away, I realised that. No one who plays in this competition should waste a single game."

During one of their first meetings, Bennett handed his new recruit an unexpected yet important role.

"Wayne gave me the honour of being captain of the Coffee Club," Mason laughs. "It's good to be captain of a non-alcoholic drink. I get all the forwards together on days off to do a little bit of training and then have a bit of a chat.

"It can be about footy or just life in general over breakfast at Merewether Surf Club.

"The forwards have to be a tight unit and we're still coming together. We are getting along more."

Throughout his exile, Mason never lost faith that he would play NRL this season. His previous limbo is now being felt at the Knights as everyone involved endures the pain of Bennett's cultural overhaul.

So far there's been no sign of any reward.

"Wayne isn't the most successful coach in the game's history for nothing," Mason says.

http://www.news.com.au/sport/nrl/ne...-redemption-tale/story-fndujljl-1226405947528

RHCP

I think Zeb deserves a run out on the edge. Honestly, I don't get why he's fallen so far down the pecking order. He's the smallest front rower in the world and of all our forwards, he's the only one that's ever shown he can consistently bust the line.

He used to show a lot of heart, but to me he seems a bit disillusioned out there. Houston and Edwards couldn't bust a balloon, maybe Zeb might regain a bit of spark putting him where he plays best. It's not like he could do any worse. Let House play lock and put Costigan into prop.