Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 2 vs. Cowboys Discussion + Voting

Big Pete

I'm not sure if anybody else agrees but this game feels like the season kick off to me. No disrespect to Parramatta but playing North Queensland at Suncorp in the opener just feels traditional, like it's apart of our season's make-up. Besides, what's Round 1 without a game at the greatest stadium in Rugby League?

Not only do we return to Suncorp, the theatre that played host to Lockyer's fitting finale but we also get to see the return of the great Petero Civoniceiva. Civoniceiva is one of the best front row forwards the game has seen and arguably one of the most respected. It's great to see him back in our colours and I believe his presence will be a huge boost for us, in particular that middle third.

Still on the Broncos and impressions on the first game have been mixed. I've watched the game twice and while it was far from a pretty performance, I've got to say there were plenty of positives on show. What I really took out of it, was that it was early days which meant Wallace had to overcompensate for Norman and given the weather meant we didn't use the field width of the field as well as we could have for the full 80. As the game went on, Norman's confidence improved and while he's yet to set up a four pointer he certainly showed some good signs.

Then we turn our attention to our opponents and boy...I don't think I've seen a worse performance in all my life as a Rugby League fan. Was our 56-0 performance worse than that? On one hand, the Cows are going to be terribly vulnerable, especially if they stick with the same side but these early rounds are notorious for rebound performances. Take the Sharks last year. Absolutely flogged by a second rate Canberra side, turned it around the next week and dominated the minor premiers. Hell, the Cows last year were abysmal against the Knights but then managed to flog the Storm in a total 180. So it probably goes without saying, especially during this period, but we've got to be on our game, we can't take anybody lightly because momentum is going to be everything, especially for the likes of Norman.

Hopefully the boys kick off Suncorp with a mighty win and Petero's return can yield another trademark performance from Bulla.

What side do you reckon we should go with?

renouf

we need to cut out those silly mistakes throughout the game.. like dropping the ball off the kick off. We were lucky Parra didn't have much in attack, if we give the cowboys ball like that they'll score points against us.

user_nat

Really looking forward to this.

I wasn't all that frilled with our game against Parra at the time, but as the round has progressed it doesnt seem so bad.

Looking forward to the overdue return of Petro!

EvolutionUber

we need to cut out those silly mistakes throughout the game.. like dropping the ball off the kick off. We were lucky Parra didn't have much in attack, if we give the cowboys ball like that they'll score points against us.

I wouldbnt be worried about give the cows ball it's just more for them to drop.

blaza88z

I know everyone will say the Cowboys are likely to bounce back after their efforts on Saturday night but my god, their efforts nearly deserved an apology from captain and coach in the press conference (maybe they did apologize, I don't know)

look it from the other side, if they repeat half of what they did on Saturday night, we will clean them up imo

Snappy

Jeez didnt the cows play like ass in round 1. Either they will do a complete turn around or they will still be out of form. Their error rate will def improve (so will ours) but they didnt really have many options in attack. Even JT had an average game.

I agree only change will/should be big Bulla in and slyney goneski. I'd also prefer Gillet to start over Teo.

Cant wait first game to attend for the year, just hope we have a dry track to showcase our stuff. Also cant wait to see Hodges get the ball with some space to work in. If he stays injury free he will have an awesome year from the form shown in round 1.

Snappy

I know everyone will say the Cowboys are likely to bounce back after their efforts on Saturday night but my god, their efforts nearly deserved an apology from captain and coach in the press conference (maybe they did apologize, I don't know)

look it from the other side, if they repeat half of what they did on Saturday night, we will clean them up imo

Agreed if Broncos made 27 errors in a game I would expect an apology. That is not first grade standard.

Mr Fourex

Expecting a tight match. The Cowboys are nowhere near as bad a side as their game 1 performance looked

The Broncs team.....any injuries?

1. Hoffman
2. Beale
3. Reed
4. Hodges
5. Yow Yeh
6. Norman
7. Wallace
8. Hannant
9. McCullough
10. Civoniceva
11. Glenn
12. Thaiday
13. Parker

14. Hunt
15. Teo
16. Gillett
17. McGuire

Frank_Grimes

Despite the abysmal first half performance, and the fact that Brisbane seemed to think it wasn't raining on Friday night, I actually saw a lot that I liked from the team.

In some dry weather football, those passes will stick, I actually like the idea of Hannant offloading at the line, as he always draws two or three defenders. Teo rampaging onto a ball close to the line looks promising, and Norman's confidence should grow in running the ball and actually finding support when in space.

With Petero back in the front row, Thaiday will have more time to harass the fringes with Gillett, and Hodges almost looks like a young man again, and is clearly working well with Yow Yeh.

Just need McC to fire up like it's the finals again, although he wasn't exactly terrible the other night.

Having said all that, a Cowboys side coming off a hiding is a very dangerous thing. It should be a cracker of a match if this rain clears up (supposedly clearing by Thursday if you believe the weatherman).

Talanexor

I thought the Broncos v Eels was a terrible game of footy...until I saw the Cowboys game.

Thurston made 6 errors. That was hands-down the worst game of his career, and probably the worst performance I've ever seen from any footy side ever. It was like we'd hired Paul Carige to be the skills coach or something.

Anyway, I'm expecting round 2 to be a cracker. Broncos have still managed to put a strong team together - great young outside backs and very talented forward pack. Beale had a really unfortunate fumble, but I really rate the kid.

I thought Norman looked really good, and seemed to really find his groove the longer the match went on. I think the Broncos looked a lot more dangerous when he had his hands on the ball rather than Wallace.

Goddy

I can only go off both teams last performance, and if it is even ANYTHING like Round One for the Cowboys, the Broncos by about 30 points.

broncos2010

I thought our forwards played really well in the second half v parra and really lived up to the expectations that we have on them when you look at it on paper.

That said I was very happy with norman and I can't wait to see him in the dry he really likes to take the line on.

blaza88z

how good was it to see our 5/8 breaking the line, can't remember the last time that happened :lol:

Snappy

Official Team List.

1. Josh Hoffman
2. Gerard Beale
3. Jack Reed
4. Justin Hodges
5. Jharal Yow Yeh
6. Corey Norman
7. Peter Wallace
8. Ben Hannant
9. Andrew McCullough
10. Sam Thaiday
11. Alex Glenn
12. Ben Te'o
13. Corey Parker

Interchange:
14. Ben Hunt
15. Josh McGuire
16. Matt Gillett
17. Petero Civoniceva

Snappy

Civoniceva benched for Brisbane homecoming

AAP Tue, Mar 06, 2012 - 11:55 AM

Representative prop Petero Civoniceva will make his home coming for the Brisbane Broncos off the bench in Friday night's NRL showdown against the North Queensland Cowboys at Suncorp Stadium.
Civoniceva missed the Broncos' first-round win over Parramatta last week after being suspended for a careless high tackle in a trial game against Melbourne in Hobart.
Coach Anthony Griffin said Civoniceva's return off the bench was mainly due to his lack of game time in the trials and the outstanding form of last week's man-of-the-match Ben Hannant against Parramatta.
Sam Thaiday has retained his place in the front row after debuting as captain against the Eels last Friday night when Brisbane opened the season with 18-6 win.
Townsville-born Thaiday predicted the Cowboys would hit back from their embarrassing 18-0 loss to the Titans at the weekend, suggesting playmaker Johnathan Thurston and co-captain Matt Scott would lift for the Queensland derby clash.

http://www.nrl.com/civoniceva-benched-for-brisbane-homecoming/tabid/10874/newsid/66144/default.aspx

Vol-Crane-O

Will be great to see Civo back. I get the feeling he will start, even though he is named on the bench.

Can't wait for this one.

Big Pete

While looking for possible line-up changes on the Cowboys forum - look at this gem I found.

That said, I would happily choose Winterstein or Tate over Hodges.

:lol: :lol: :lol: