Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 21 vs Warriors

getsmarty

dufty-m-050718_md_1894.jpg

TEAM LISTS

24-hour warning: Round 21 v Warriors
Author
Dragons.com.au dragons.com.au
Timestamp
Fri 3 Aug 2018, 03:11 PM

St George Illawarra coach Paul McGregor has trimmed his squad to 19 ahead of the Dragons' Round 21 clash against the New Zealand Warriors at WIN Stadium, Wollongong.

Pat Herbert and Mitchell Allgood are the unlucky duo to drop out of the side selected on Tuesday.

NRL squad for Round 21 v New Zealand Warriors:

1. Matt Dufty – sponsored by Illawarra Mercury/St George & Sutherland Shire Leader
2. Jordan Pereira – sponsored by Relativity in the Loop
3. Euan Aitken – sponsored by University of Wollongong
4. Tim Lafai – sponsored by Kingsgrove Sports Centre
5. Jason Nightingale– sponsored by SMAI
6. Gareth Widdop (c) – sponsored by Dynamic Projects
7. Ben Hunt– sponsored by Paul's Customs and Forwarding Solutions
8. James Graham – sponsored by EFEX
9. Cameron McInnes – sponsored by Floormania
10. Paul Vaughan – sponsored by My Muscle Chef
11. Tyson Frizell – sponsored by Val Morgan
12. Tariq Sims – sponsored by Stonemasons & Landscapers (since 1970)
13. Jack de Belin – sponsored by Wollongong Jetski

Interchange:
14. Jeremy Latimore – sponsored by Addbuild Additions
15. Kurt Mann – sponsored by Wollongong Diagnostics
16. Leeson Ah Mau – sponsored by Westfund
17. Luciano Leilua – sponsored by Domus Lighting
19. Blake Lawrie
20. Zac Lomax

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2018/08/03/24-hour-warning-round-21-v-warriors/

Dragonslayer

Maybe this round it's Lomax for Nightingale!

I doubt it Poss

More of a waiting in the wings (pardon the pun).
Expect 1-17 unless a late injury or sickness.

McGregor being McGregor would also be out to prove that last week was a blip on the radar hence the same team announced.

I doubt it Poss

More of a waiting in the wings (pardon the pun).
Expect 1-17 unless a late injury or sickness.

McGregor being McGregor would also be out to prove that last week was a blip on the radar hence the same team announced.
1. Can't change a winning side
2. Got to prove a losing side was just a blip.
3. No substitute for experience.
4. The young kid has not got enough first grade experience.

Saint_JimmyG

Another tricky game.

On face value Saints should romp it in, however poor form since May has made the result here far less clear,

The good news, though, is the Dragons have an exceptional record against the Warriors, particularly in Wollongong, The bad news is the team looks mentally fatigued.

If for anything else, confidence, SGI need to establish authority early on then go on with it.

A win by large margin is desperately needed.

Mickthedragon

Does anyone know if you can upgrade a GA Red V pass to a seating ticket with some other seat ticket purchases at the games ticket booths tmrw?
I want to go down with the wife and kids but she wants seats due to being pregnant.

dannyt

Does anyone know if you can upgrade a GA Red V pass to a seating ticket with some other seat ticket purchases at the games ticket booths tmrw?
I want to go down with the wife and kids but she wants seats due to being pregnant.
"I don't know the answer to that question, if I knew I would tell you".

But congratulations on "the look of love" on soon becoming a dad again.

getsmarty

Dragons confident despite dry July
Local Sport
r0_0_5472_3648_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg

Picture: Adam McLean

THEY’VE been the only permanent fixture in the top four this season, so St George Illawarra coach Paul McGregor is understandably baffled by questions about whether his side can finish there.

The Dragons slipped to fourth, their lowest ladder position this year, with their 36-18 loss to the Roosters last week. It was their third loss in their last four games heading into Saturday’s home clash with the Warriors in Wollongong.

The Panthers, Sharks and Broncos all sit just one win adrift of the Dragons – who risk dropping out of the top four altogether should they lose on Saturday – but a favourable run home still has McGregor’s men in the box seat for a desired top-four finish.

The eighth-placed Warriors are the last top-eight side the Dragons meet en route to September, with games against the Eels (16th), Tigers (ninth) Bulldogs (13th) and Knights (11th) to follow.

It puts them right in the minor premiership hunt, but McGregor said that would merely be the cherry on top of his side’s finals ambition.

“We’re looking finishing in the top four. That was our vision and purpose at the start of the year and nothing’s changed,” McGregor said.

“If you win the minor premiership it’s a bonus, but for us it’s about top four. This competition is ruthless and from round one to now, round 21, we are the only side that’s still in the top four so it’s really important we stay there.

“We’ve been there since round one we take big pride in that and we need to maintain that til round 25 and going into semi-final footy.”

The loss to the Roosters has prompted plenty to suggest another late-season slide is on the cards but, having fielded those same questions since May, McGregor wasn’t interested in answering them on Friday.

“The past is history. It’s a different group of men, we’re in a totally different position to what we’ve been in the last three years so I’m not going to talk about last year,” he said.

‘‘I think every team at different stages go through a month where they could be better. We’ve been through that. That’s July.

‘‘We had a really good debrief after the Roosters on our performance as a team and I feel that there were three key work-ons from the game, one in attack, one in defence and our mindset.

“We’ve got to get them right, not complicate it too much and make sure we’re at our best in important situations around our team-first [mindset]. All systems are underpinned by an excellence of attitude and we’re working towards that.

“We certainly dominated in that facet in the first 10 weeks – we had the best attitude of any team and collectively that’s why we won eight out of 10 games.”

Warriors coach Stephen Kearney has been left fielding similar questions through the middle stretch of the season.

Having sat comfortably in the top four through the opening 15 rounds, they’ve since slipped to eighth with four losses in their past five outings.

Kearney labeled his side’s limp effort against the Titans last week as “soft” and McGregor’s expecting a response on Saturday.

“Their coach called their performance soft and soft is a hard word to a rugby league player,” McGregor said.

“We played them in round seven and it was a really good game, both teams were one and two then and it was probably the best game of the season I think, despite the result.

“I’ve got no buy-in to what the Warriors did last week, they were without some key players [Isaac Luke and Tohu Harris], they’ve got them back.

“They’ve got some talent across the park, that’s why they were a top four side for most of the year early and we expect them to turn up well.”

https://www.illawarramercury.com.au/story/5565179/dragons-confident-despite-dry-july/?cs=302

dragonssamy61

Pretty sure you can.
But will depend on there being seats available. Check the dragons website under ticket upgrades.
Good luck with the little one mate and congrats.

I hope lessons have been learned from the last time we played against the Warriors. This time we need a plan B ready to go if they are up in our fiace like last time. Widdop needs to complain to the ref if the Warriors are standing offside all day like last time.

SEAT 1A

What Sammy said and congrats to family on the bub.

Red V Member upgrades at the game

Members are able to upgrade their tickets at the game by visiting the Ticketmaster box office at the ground on game day and presenting their membership card or ticket with a Red V sticker on it. Prices below are per ticket and pending availability:

Silver to Gold

$10

Bronze to Silver

$10

Bronze to Gold

$20

GA to Bronze

$10

GA to Silver

$20

GA to Gold

$30