lucablight
Lol Rapana admitting the Raiders players were cheering for us against the Broncos in their group chat.
I’m happy for every other team to keep testing.Seriously, just stop covid testing. Just asking for trouble.
Been thinking about this a bit today in light of the Damien Cook withdrawal... Pre-pandemic, I'm guessing players would routinely play with flu-like symptoms week to week, no eyebrows raised really if a player took the field with the flu. They sure as hell weren't going to sit out finals footy let alone a GF if they had a scratchy throat or runny nose....Seriously, just stop covid testing. Just asking for trouble.
That ended well.We hardened the Dogs up !!!
0-0
15min
I've been listening to the ABC and they didn't know what the situation is now either but said that the players were getting two tests I think on game day at some point. And they hadn't heard about any changes. So maybe that's still the case.Been thinking about this a bit today in light of the Damien Cook withdrawal... Pre-pandemic, I'm guessing players would routinely play with flu-like symptoms week to week, no eyebrows raised really if a player took the field with the flu. They sure as hell weren't going to sit out finals footy let alone a GF if they had a scratchy throat or runny nose....
But is that the expectation now? Are players doing RAT's each game day just in case and obligated to sit out/get a PCR if they have a positive RAT?
I think roosters tried too much side to side.
I also think they lost their potency when lodge was off.
Seriously, just stop covid testing. Just asking for trouble.
As did that. If we’re not threats because we clock off every now and then, I guess Sharks aren’t threats eitherThat ended well.
I would treat it the same as any other cold or flu. Which means no testing.The flipside is though that even if it's relatively mild it's still gonna affect performance, and do you want some merkin spreading it through another team ( that isn't souths ) and it basically blunting their performance enough to see them lose a game they otherwise might have won?
Especially if that other team is us.
Also there's enough evidence out there to say that it isn't really the best for you health to over exert yourself if crook, I'd be happy for us to stand players down for a week or two if positive for their benefit. I might change my mind if it was the GF, but then there's no game the following week
I would treat it the same as any other cold or flu. Which means no testing.
Yep, players would have hacked up loogies on field back in the day.But is that the expectation now? Are players doing RAT's each game day just in case and obligated to sit out/get a PCR if they have a positive RAT?
Absolutely. Any team in the finals I'm guessing will be invoking their own "bubble" again and asking them to avoid family and friends for the (at longest) 4 week finals period....Yep, players would have hacked up loogies on field back in the day.
But post-lockdown era, a positive RAT / Covid carries a bigger risk than 'flu in terms of transmissability (to vulnerable family members) and deaths.
Though I think a team's season can potentially be derailed by COVID cases and iso - if I was in/running a finals team, I'd be keeping them fully protected / under cotton wool from now forward.
If a player was crook enough you'd be better off without him then fine, replace him. But I wouldn't be doing that to stop transmission.I'd also rest a player with the flu, and would prefer other teams did as well, it's the same deal, it affects performance, and it aint real good for you to exert yourself through it.
TBH my hope is that if the pandemic teaches us anything, it's to show a little more respect for others when we're crook.
If a player was crook enough you'd be better off without him then fine, replace him. But I wouldn't be doing that to stop transmission.
And I hope the pandemic teaches us something far more important than that but as we all know I'm off my rocker. Moving on.
We've got a pretty good handle on that IMO. Other important things much less so.I don't reckon there's much more important than to respect your fellow man ( or woman or non binary thingy )
It's kinda the glue that holds community together.
I don't reckon there's much more important than to respect your fellow man ( or woman or non binary thingy )
It's kinda the glue that holds community together.