Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 26 vs Dogs

Carlton

There are some fundamental problems with the team which were exposed again.
The coach.
The poor use of the bench.
Nighty is just too slow and is not tall enough, also his play the balls can be slow just when we need a quick one.
Dufty's defence is an issue and his kick returns are hurting the team. I don't think he is causing too much of a problem for the opposition in attack now they've worked him out.
Widdop is not providing the game management needed and does not take the line on enough, he has chances to run but passes. Also the loopy cut out to the winger is not good play, its clunky and a bit of a hail Mary.
We only use the left side in attack, the ball just about never gets across to the right centre and winger. We kick to left to the smaller winger and ignore a winger on the right with a reputation for catching and scoring off kicks.
Lawrie is not ready for first grade and coming off the bench does not offer a point of difference at this stage (next year I don't know).

There were players who had poor games today but I am more concerned with the structural problems above in the team. If these aren't addressed then next year will also be a disappointment.

Blood Shot Eyes

I really thought we may have got away with this one to be honest hence my optimism early this week..not that I thought we would go passed the first week of the finals...but like most games this season it only took me about 5 mins to see we hadnt turned up yet again... unfortunately the wheels started to come adrift on Anzac Day when we lost to The Roosters and its been downhill ever since.....the arrival next year of Hunt and Graham may help but not enough to make us a force to be reckoned with....we could sign JT and Jason Taumololo but with McGregor in charge nothing and I mean nothing will change.....pure and simple the job is way beyond his capabilities..everyone in footy land knows it..do us all a favour Paul and resign......weve already lost our soul theres nothing much left but hope for the future if you go now

Still drinking heavily by myself with the shits.
Can someone please email me boss to inform them I will be missing in action at work tomorrow (just like the Dragons today).

getsmarty

Dragons throwaway finals berth in final-round capitulation

Mitch Jennings@@Mitch_Jenno

3 Sep 2017, 7:30 p.m.
r0_0_5150_3422_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg

DEJECTED: Josh Dugan reacts to the loss to the Bulldogs. Picture: AAP

ONE team was playing for a finals berth, the other just for pride, but St George Illawarra walked away from ANZ Stadium with neither on Sunday.

A week after resurrecting their finals hopes with a gritty two-point win over Penrith, Sunday’s 26-20 loss to the 12th-placed Bulldogs was a sorry end to an ultimately disappointing season.

It was a fortnight that put their season in a nutshell – an impressive win one week, a meek surrender the next. The equation was simple – win and you’re in – and they couldn’t do it.

They had everything to play for but, on this day, the Dogs simply wanted more, whether it was Josh Reynolds playing 18 minutes on a busted ankle or Will Hopoate’s 61st-minute try-saver on a runaway Josh Dugan.

Throw in prop Aiden Tolman’s athletic support act up the middle for the equaliser with 14 minutes to play or much-maligned hooker Michael Lichaa’s 73rd-minute match-winner and you could’ve been forgiven for thinking it was the Dogs playing for a finals berth.

It sees the Dragons go without finals action for the fifth time in six seasons and for, for a campaign that started with so much promise, it might just be the worst finals fade-out of the lot.

Coach Paul McGregor was all but lost for words to describe the performance post-match.

“We’re all feeling absolutely gutted in the sheds. We’re more than disappointed, we’re actually shattered not to play finals footy,” McGregor said.

“I thought we found energy at times during the game but we looked a bit flat. There’s no excuses.

“It shouldn’t have come down to today, but it did, and we let a team that couldn’t score points score 26 on us. It wasn’t good enough.

“It [hurts] when you’re points for and against are third in the competition which means we can attack and we can defend, we’re just not winning close games.

“There were six games this year that come to mind that could’ve gone each way and we didn’t win any of them. This competition is that tight, when you don’t win the close ones continually, you don’t play finals footy.

“We all start preseason in October to play finals footy. It’s why fans support us and it’s why players play and unfortunately we’re not there.”

If reports are to be believed, the match may well have been Des Hasler’s last at the helm of the Bulldogs while skipper James Graham also went out a winner against the side he’s set to join next season.

Josh Reynolds opened the scoring after just four minutes, winning the race to a kick from Brenko Lee. The departing cult favourite injured his ankle in the process, briefly battling on before eventually succumbing in what was his last appearance for the club.

The Dragons hit back 10 minutes later after Gareth Widdop deflected his own bomb out of the hands of Hopoate with Joel Thompson on hand to collect the scraps and post his side’s first four-pointer.

The Dogs had a handy 14-6 lead on he back of tries to Hopoate and Marcelo Montoya before Jason Nightingale’s try two minutes before halftime pegged the margin back to two at halftime.

TheDragons took the lead for the first time through Matt Dufty 14 minutes after the resumption with penalty goal to Widdop pushing the margin out to a converted try with 54th-minute.

It looked likely to be enough before Hopoate broke the Dragons open and found Tolman in support for the Dogs fourth.

Mbye nailed the conversion to level up at 20-all with 13 minutes to play and when Michael Lichaa crossed from dummy-half with eight minutes to left, the Dragons fate was sealed.

They pressed for a late equaliser but, like their season, they left their run too late.

http://www.illawarramercury.com.au/story/4897690/dragons-bundled-out-of-finals/?cs=3713

getsmarty

St George Illawarra Dragons go down 26-20 to Canterbury Bulldogs to miss 2017 NRL finals
Scott Bailey
3 Sep 2017, 6 p.m.
r0_0_620_349_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg

Gutted: Dragons centre Josh Dugan reacts to St George Illawarra's final round defeat to Canterbury. Picture: NRL Photos

St George Illawarra have blown their shot at qualifying for the NRL finals, finishing ninth on the ladder after they threw away a late lead to lose 26-20 to Canterbury.

The result means North Queensland sneak into the finals in eighth place, despite losing five of their last six games.

The Dragons appeared in control when Gareth Widdop slotted a penalty goal with 18 minutes remaining to lead 20-14 at ANZ Stadium.

But the game was back level five minutes later when Will Hopoate broke downfield and put Aiden Tolman over.

Hooker Michael Lichaa then put the Bulldogs in the lead when he ducked and weaved his way over the tryline in the 73rd minute to give Canterbury a lead they never surrendered.

The off-contract rake had one of his best games during his three-year stint at Canterbury, and was particularly dangerous running the ball from dummy-half.

The Dragons tried valiantly to hit back in the last seven minutes but an inability to make last passes stick sealed their fate.

The Saints earlier worked their way back into the game after they trailed 14-6 late in the first half.

Winger Jason Nightingale narrowed the margin to two moments before the break, before fullback Matt Dufty lobbed up in support in the 54th minute to give the Dragons an 18-14 lead.

The loss means the Dragons are just the third team since the top-eight system was introduced to miss the finals after leading at the end of the seventh round.

They also have the highest for-and-against (+83) of any team to miss the finals in the 2000s.

Josh Reynolds' Canterbury farewell was short-lived after he injured his ankle in scoring the team's opening try.

He limped from the field in the 18th minute, and did not return.

Hopoate was also immense for the Bulldogs. He scored once and set up two others, and also held up Josh Dugan at a crucial moment midway through the second half.

The victory ensured the Bulldogs finish the season with three straight wins, and means Manly play Penrith and Cronulla face North Queensland in next week's elimination finals.

http://www.theleader.com.au/story/4897884/season-over-as-dragons-fall-to-dogs/?cs=3833

getsmarty

Dragons finals dream dashed by Bulldogs
Sun 3rd September, 06:00PM
A A

The St George Illawarra Dragons' dreams of a finals berth have been dashed by a 26-20 loss to the Bulldogs at ANZ Stadium on Sunday afternoon.

Departing Bulldog Josh Reynolds score the game's first when a Brenko Lee grubber kick back inside sat up nicely for the playmaker in the fourth minute.

Although an ankle injury suffered in the process of scoring ended Reynolds's game prematurely.

The Dragons had their first try in the 14th minute when Joel Thompson benefited from skipper Gareth Widdop knocked a bomb contest backwards to Tariq Sims who offloaded to the eventual try-scorer.

Two tries in three minutes to Bulldogs duo Will Hopoate and Marcelo Montoya saw the Bulldogs bounce out to a 14-6 lead.

However a try to Jason Nightingale in the final two minutes of the half put the Dragons within two at the break.

Tim Lafai's ability to find space following a slick Widdop pass saw the Dragons hit the lead for the first time in the 53rd minute via fullback Matt Dufty.

A penalty goal 10 minutes later from Widdop extended the Dragons' lead to a converted try.

The Bulldogs levelled the scoring back up in the 66th minute when a ridiculous Hopoate offload put prop Aiden Tolman over the white stripe.

The Bulldogs hit the lead again in the final eight minutes when Michael Lichaa scooted over from dummy half – which would seal the away side's six-point win.

Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs 26 (Josh Reynolds, Will Hopoate, Marcelo Montoya, Aiden Tolman, Michael Lichaa tries; Moses Mbye 3 goals) defeated St George Illawarra Dragons 20 (Joel Thompson, Jason Nightingale, Matt Dufty tries; Gareth Widdop 4 goals) at ANZ Stadium. Half-time: Bulldogs 14-12. Crowd: 21,582.

http://www.dragons.com.au/news/2017/09/03/dragons_finals_dream.html

Redhoopz

Well I can't say I'm not surprised with today's game. It's been the norm this year. After a good win the week before, they go missing again the following week.

What I don't understand is how McGregor couldn't get the team to come out firing, straight from the get go. As a head coach, you'd think that would be the main focus of today. Instead, they looked slow and lethargic and forgot how to play simple footy. Widdop, as skipper, should have been directing the team around the park. Instead he had a shocker and went missing when we needed a leader and somebody to direct the plays.

Too many times this season they opt to go wide as early in the tackle count as possible. It doesn't work unless you have wingers with speed (see Melbourne). I've said it before and I'll say it again, the moment the Dragons get in front, they take their foot off the pedal, when they should be putting it to the floor and finish teams off.

Watching the Dragons trying to chase a game is embarrassing. Lafai turns into the kid that throws the footy away the moment the defence gets close. Nene's only contribution was rag dolling Josh Morris.

The Dogs were deserved winners today with Hoppa and Lichaa having blinders.

I think had we went with 4 forwards on the bench and gave Leilua a run, he could've provided that spark they were missing. I find it odd that he didn't get a run, especially after all the fuss that was made with him resigning.

At the end of the day, having good stats doesn't mean anything if you're not winning games.

A disappointing way to end the season!

getsmarty

Well I can't say I'm not surprised with today's game. It's been the norm this year. After a good win the week before, they go missing again the following week.

What I don't understand is how McGregor couldn't get the team to come out firing, straight from the get go. As a head coach, you'd think that would be the main focus of today. Instead, they looked slow and lethargic and forgot how to play simple footy. Widdop, as skipper, should have been directing the team around the park. Instead he had a shocker and went missing when we needed a leader and somebody to direct the plays.

Too many times this season they opt to go wide as early in the tackle count as possible. It doesn't work unless you have wingers with speed (see Melbourne). I've said it before and I'll say it again, the moment the Dragons get in front, they take their foot off the pedal, when they should be putting it to the floor and finish teams off.

Watching the Dragons trying to chase a game is embarrassing. Lafai turns into the kid that throws the footy away the moment the defence gets close. Nene's only contribution was rag dolling Josh Morris.

The Dogs were deserved winners today with Hoppa and Lichaa having blinders.

I think had we went with 4 forwards on the bench and gave Leilua a run, he could've provided that spark they were missing. I find it odd that he didn't get a run, especially after all the fuss that was made with him resigning.

At the end of the day, having good stats doesn't mean anything if you're not winning games.

A disappointing way to end the season!

Re Mary....easy to explain..we have won 6 of our last 17 games...........based on what we have seen since he took over from Price midway through 2014, he is just not up to the job of being a first grade coach. We have the cattle...he just doesn't have the tactics nor the ability to get a first grade side playing consistently for 80 mins from week to week on what we have seen since 2014.

I cannot believe we have to put up with another 2 years with him as coach.

Redhoopz

Re Mary....easy to explain..we have won 6 of our last 17 games...........based on what we have seen since he took over from Price midway through 2014, he is just not up to the job of being a first grade coach. We have the cattle...he just doesn't have the tactics nor the ability to get a first grade side playing consistently for 80 mins from week to week on what we have seen since 2014.

I cannot believe we have to put up with another 2 years with him as coach.

McGregor and the other coaches need to figure out how to get the best use out of the bench. I really don't understand his fascination with only playing 3 of the 4 subs. That doesn't give us any advantage whatsoever....the NRL doesn't have a bonus reward for finishing the game without using all 17 players. If they did, we'd be 1st in that!

thebigredv

Lafai's last few touches cost us the game. If only he held onto that ball instead of offloading, and again on the 3rd instead of between Dufty's legs...

At least there's always next week.

Honestly you would think that everything on the line they would win at all costs!
Seriously seriously, seriously
A disgraceful display!
Dufty - your a cat! Never in my life have I seen a FB pass the ball 30 metres before the defence so many times!

Mann - your not a half mate ur a winger at best

McInnes - I love you but Lichaa played u like a rookie - sign Lichaa!!
Dufty didn't back himself. At times he was scared to run the ball. He will be better for the experience though and he's gong to be a very good player.

I can't understand why Mann runs across field so much. He looks lost sometimes out there.

Well McInnes is not a running hooker and he isn't creative enough. He did the same at Souths which is why it's good we let him go. Strong defensively and makes heaps of tackles but offers nothing else.

With Hunt and Graham coming you guys should make the top eight in 2018.

This Year?

That game was the steaming pile of shit on top of the dead carcass cake that was season 2017.

I would feel sorry for them if they played with heart or played smart but they played like a Paul McGregor coached team.

That's what you get for re-singing him Doust.

I hate this club sometimes.

Re Mary....easy to explain..we have won 6 of our last 17 games...........based on what we have seen since he took over from Price midway through 2014, he is just not up to the job of being a first grade coach.

It's incredible to think that we simply needed to win 7 of 17 games to make the 8 (although that's not an achievement on its own) and we couldn't do it. The Knights, knowing a semi final birth was at stake, would have done better.

Straight Shooter

Blood Shot Eyes

It's incredible to think that we simply needed to win 7 of 17 games to make the 8 (although that's not an achievement on its own) and we couldn't do it. The Knights, knowing a semi final birth was at stake, would have done better.

Straight Shooter
I agree and as long as McGregor is at the helm expect more of the same next year and the year after.......

Wow you sound really butt-hurt. That mustn't feel good man.

None of that anger and shame is going to change anything. We were'nt good enough for the finals...FULL STOP. We tried our best. Their best is not good enough for finals footy today.

We were certainly is a position to win it. 6 points up with 14ish minutes to go.

Thompson got sucked in by a dummy half, we got burnt. Then we just didn't have the energy after to hold them out.

If we were good enough we wouldn't won. The scoreboard doesn't lie. Next year doesn't like too. If we're good enough next year we'll make the finals. Lots of teams don't make the finals. We're in that group.

How much longer are you going to choose to hold on to that anger and shame for?
I disagree, we have a great roster and could have an even better roster next year. The loss of Packer, Dugan and McCrone won't hurt us because we'll have Graham, Mann and Hunt to take their place. The reason we lost yesterday was because the Dogs had a better coach who developed a game plan to nullify the march of our forward pack. As usual Mary stuck to the same plan and did not adjust it on the run so, the players were clearly frustrated and did not have an answer.

Having Dufty throw the ball wide to the two slowest wingers in the league was clearly a mistake. To allow Lafai the license to throw silly passes was another mistake. And to not adjust the forwards game plan so that instead of running and turning in - the Dogs were ready for that - running wider and turning out, would have delivered results. McInnes was totally outplayed by his opposite hooker and could have done with a rest, why wasn't McCrone used in a hooker rotation? Again, speed in defence would have to be one of the main reasons we lost. Watching our losses and wins this season, the common denominator was always speed in defence that determined the result.

It seems that the coaching jobs of both Mage and Hasler are now on the line. We can only hope that the Board sees if fit to let our current coaching staff go and appoint a new coach prior to off-season training.