Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 3 (2005) Rhinos Vs Panthers

roosterboy60

Orange County Rhinos v Penrith Panthers

Game Thread
Please note - This is a game thread only, therefore only game posts can be made here (Teams, Articles).
Any other posts will result in loss of points and is at the discretion of the referee.
Only original essays, not used in previous games, will be marked by referees.

Home team captain will be allowed 3 reserves, visiting captain will be allowed 2 reserves
Rules: http://f7s.leagueunlimited.com/rules.asp

Full Time: Wednesday 13th April at 9pm (Syd time)

Venue: Chrismukah Stadium
ground_stampede_1.jpg

Crowd: 9,060
REFEREE: Capt Dread

**Referee Blows Game On!**

ParraMatt

ParraMatt
Ibeme
Parki
Mzilikazi
----------
Bartman
Not So Silent Bob
Hightown Tiger

Big Mick

The Penrith Team to take on the Rhino's in their third straight away performance

1) Big Mick c
2) Maelgwnau
3) [Furrycat]
4) Azkatro
5) BW#1F

6) Somethingwithjohn
7) Big Pete

Mzilikazi

Mzilikazi fields the kick-off and steams upfield:

The trials of loving Brown:

It is a scenario that we often see played out in suburbia. Son or daughter arrives on the doorstep with new partner and stars in their eyes, declaring “this is the one” to be met by family wearing blank stares that betray open bemusement or even outright hostility.

These people don’t want to be rude, but they do want the best for their offspring and the person they’ve just presented as the “love of their life” is, for varying reasons, patently incompatible, inappropriate or even downright dangerous.

However, have you ever tried to explain reason or logic to someone in the first flushes of love? Anyone that has been in that situation will attest that it is no easy task. The raging flames of early passion and hormonal attraction burn fiercely against the cold ice of long term thinking and principles such as compatibility.

As the Dragons slumped to four losses and the pressure continued to mount upon coach Nathan Brown, it begs the question “have the Dragons been similarly blinded by ‘love’”?

When Nathan Brown was appointed to the head coaching position at St George it seemed, at best, a bold gamble. Brown had always been something of a larrikin and discipline had not seemed to be a hallmark of his playing career. Would the Dragons have taken such a bold gamble had he been a player with another club or not viewed as a ‘favourite son’?

He had precious little coaching experience behind him but peddled the cliché to the media that he had served under some great coaches and learned much off them. These being the same coaches that St George had seen fit to sack over the years!

Still in his twenties, Brown was also placed in the position of having to coach men who had been his peers only a few years previous. Brown did not appear to be the type of hard-nosed character with the resolve required to instil discipline and dedication. Would he be taken seriously when doling out wisdom or chiding men who had been team mates and drinking buddies to that point?

In his favour was the inheritance of a playing roster that was the envy of every other club in the NRL. If it can be said that the likes of Wayne Bennet and Bob Fulton owed their success as coaches to the quality of their playing roster, then surely Brown would be a walk up start to similar accolade?

It hasn’t happened. Whilst representative sides have bristled with Dragons players at the peak of their powers these same players under Brown have never managed to translate representative prowess to the club level when it really matters.

Worse has been the tell-tale signs emerging from the Dragons camp indicating a lack of the kind of authoritative leadership required for success. Captains (Thompson) arriving drunk for training, representative stars wanting time away from the game (Gasnier) and a seemingly endless stream of ‘minor’ incidents (face slapping for example) seem to betray a lack of the focus and intensity demanded for positive results. Surely Brown’s extra-curricular activities in horse racing and the tote also detract from the single-minded devotion required to be successful in the coaching game?

Harsh? Yes, but professional sport is a harsh business and the price of success is high. As a fan of another club I’m not a shareholder in the St George franchise but if I were I’d be demanding answers from those who courted Brown and continue to keep the engagement ring on his finger. This brings me back to my original illustration.

When confronted with the genuine concerns of loved ones star-struck lovers generally take one of two approaches. They either step back and evaluate the advice and act accordingly, presuming there’s a kernel of truth.

Or they adopt a bunker-like attitude and doggedly act against the advice of those that know them well. Generally this ends in tears and regret at “not listening to good advice”.

It is hard to know exactly what is going on in the St George bunker. However, one thing remains sure. Whilst people external to the club cannot speak with all of the facts, there is much that can be gained from seeking the kernel of truth in their criticism.

An external perspective can be invaluable, especially when under achievement becomes chronic and institutionalised. How much longer can the Dragons continue the love affair and pay the price by under achieving?

(747 words including title)

Not so Silent Bob for the Rhinos.

The Good Old Days.

I know a lot about the old days of Rugby League. Not the way Reg Reagan remembers it, but the way my dad and pop recall it. Dad recalls the sixties, seventies and eighties, the great players like Sterlo, John Sattler, and of course, King Wally. Parramatta’s golden years and the Roosters dominance in 1975, Newtown’s collapse and the so-called greatest grand final ever in 1989. The only thing that I’ve never liked about those wonderful years is that I wasn’t alive to see them. Being born in 1986 will have that effect. I mean, it was a good league year and everything, but I don’t know anything about it apart from seeing the Grand Final highlights on DVD. Nor the next couple of years, when the Canberra Raiders emerged as premiership heavyweights, or when the Penrith Panthers won their long awaited first grand final in 1991.

My dad talks about the seventies and eighties repeatedly. He supported Parramatta with a passion right up until a certain CEO “killed the spirit of the club” as he not-so-fondly puts it. My dad still recalls those days like they were yesterday; he loved watching players like Peter Sterling and Brett Kenny, arguably the best halves combination of the past twenty-five years. “The best halves combination I’ve ever seen” he’d say. He also recalls the bad years, when Parramatta were so bad, they were always at the foot of the table. And he “always” tells me about his favourite player of all time… The Bear, Bob O’Reilly. He tells me the Bear “would run hard every time he had the ball, was built like a brick shithouse and was a concrete slab in defence.” I asked him once if he had any tapes of O’Reilly’s playing days. Alas, he didn’t. Bugger.

After I became really interested in rugby league dad showed me the videos of old games he did have. Since I’m a Wests supporter, he stuck into the VCR some tapes of their old games. Among the highlights were two games from the 1991 season; one where Wests belted Newcastle 41-12 at Campbelltown, featuring a very young Jason Taylor. The second match was when we defeated a high flying Manly at Brookvale Oval (my personal favourite).

I like watching older games; they’re filled with a toughness that is lacking from today’s game. I also liked the fact that it was a no-nonsense game back then; you put your head down and got on with it, you didn’t let anything get in the way. Plus the fights were cool.

My pop also reminisces about the fifties and sixties, or, as he liked to call it, “the St. George years”. When he first told me of that time, I said “Bullshit.” I just could not believe it. But it was true. Apparently, those years were called the ‘Hell’ years by my pop and his mates, named after those poor teams that played Saints in those eleven straight grand finals. Those poor souls.

The other major event in league that I have always wanted to see is the birth of State of Origin football. The thought of Wally, Steve Mortimer, Meninga and Grothe playing each other in an emotion-charged arena for the first time would have been unbelievable. But youth is both a blessing and a curse in this situation, because although I will see many great encounters in the future (go the Blues), I couldn’t see its creation.

Then came the day that my father showed me the two best grand finals I’ve ever seen; the 89’ grand final between Balmain and Canberra, and the ‘91 grand final between Penrith and Canberra.

The Balmain-Canberra game had everything; great tries, even greater defense, a twat with a whistle named Bill Harrigan and his stupid refereeing calls, and a shock outcome. To many, it was the greatest grand final ever. However, I disagree. I have always thought the ’91 grand final between the Panthers and the Raiders was better. For although the ‘89 final had everything, the ‘91 had that, and everything else; not so many boneheaded referee decisions, the sin-bin (good old MG), a couple of blokes called Laurie Daley and Brad ‘Freddie’ Fittler, two-try hero Royce Simmons, and an even more shocking outcome. That to me was incredible.

To most people, these golden years will be a memory to cherish forever. I, however, rue and lament the fact that I never got the chance to live through them.

748 words

Bartman robes down and comes off the bench for the Rhinos...

Rugby League: It's Some Kind Of Monster
skom.jpg

Last weekend I watched a DVD called "Some Kind Of Monster". For those who haven't seen this documentary, it shows the progress of the band Metallica in making their most recent album, "St. Anger." Two main plots in the film are the role of a therapist that the band have employed to enhance their performance and the band's search for a new permanent bass player.

I know this is a Forum Sevens article and not a film review, and I'm not a massive Metallica fan who tries to mention them in every conversation I ever have. But the reason I've used Some Kind Of Monster as a starting point here is that watching this film made me see the parallels between modern rugby league and life in a successful rock band. Perhaps there are some lessons that league teams could learn by watching this DVD?

Firstly, the film presents the band as a unit, as something that can only find its best form as the sum of its individual parts, all performing their roles at the peak of their abilities. A similar principle applies in rugby league where it is said that "a champion team will always beat a team of champions". Where there are weaknesses in the band, such as the lack of a permanent bass player that would allow Metallica to tour, these need to be addressed and fixed. The same goes for a rugby league team - where right-side defence might be a problem, a coach will try to address this through mid-week training (or off-season recruitment) to fix the weakness and improve on-field performance.

Secondly, the documentary shows the tension between management and band, and their different priorities. The manager calls to suggesting activities such as doing radio jingles to introducing the band to fans in new markets. However Metallica are concerned with producing quality music and believe that is the best way to win over fans. Here the role of band manager most closely resembles a league club CEO who has their eye on the budgets and purse strings, and looks to other ways (including strange comments in the press?) that might increase home crowds, without just letting the team and coaching staff get on with their jobs of playing better football.

This DVD also highlights the role of a record producer, which I'm going to compare to a rugby league coach. Metallica's producer also played bass in the recording studio, showing a willingness to participate rather than dictate, which earned him respect and ensured the recording went as smoothly as possible. In league the rapport between the coach and players is important, and whilst not all top coaches need to have been good players, I believe they must somehow earn the respect of their players for the relationship to breed success. In the film the producer listened to and valued the opinions of the band members, and similarly in league any coach who doesn't give his players the space to contribute risks getting them off-side and reducing the team's ability to perform.

Finally, the therapist that Metallica employed to help them is similar to the sports psychologists that league teams turn to when there are underlying problems. Both people have to first spend time getting to know the personalities of the people they are dealing with, in order to be able to help them remove whatever barriers are in the way of their performance goals. In the days before sports psychologists, coach Jack Gibson was said to have set up a caravan or bus as an office at Granville Park in the early 1980s, where players were encouraged to drop in and discuss any personal issues they felt might be effecting their on-field efforts. These type of approaches only work while all participants still want it to happen, and unfortunately for Metallica as the film closes their therapist has not accepted that the band has achieved their goals and he may no longer be needed.

During this film, the band Metallica take a journey from a place where things aren't quite right, to a place where they have achieved the goals of completing a good album and playing their first gig with their new bass player. Perhaps through learning some of the above lessons from this DVD, some rugby league teams may also make the step from somewhere where things aren't quite right to playing at their best and achieving their team goals?

- - - -
746 words, including title

Big Mick

Big Mick, Again hits it up for Penrith:

DISCLAIMER - Any players mentioned in this article and their actions in this article are fiction and are not true and in anyway, shape or form. This is made up for the humour of individuals whom read it.

How to Lose a Fan in 10 Days

Introducing the brand new film set to sweep the nation this summer, opening on December 21st, based on one fan and his ability to stay true to the team he is so passionate about. The St.George-Illawarra Dragons were obviously the perfect candidate given their inept performances and also a history of firing up off the field.

The Film introduces the following:
Nathan “Doctor” Brown
Lance “Steam train with no coal” Thompson
Ben “I’m” Hornby
Mark “Heinz” Gasnier
Shaun “Tim Tam” Timmins
Trent “Does my bum look big in this” Barrett
Matt “Gimme” Head
and Angry Mob starring as themselves.

The Dragons personnel have unwittingly selected Adam Hughes, a 20 year old starry-eyed supporter who is confident that nothing will waver his support. The Dragons are out to breathe fire and test this fan’s loyalty in 10 random days from hell.

Day One

The experiment begins for the Dragons as they approach their first trial of the season. Doctor Brown strolls out onto the field awaiting his stars for the training session that week. He spots young Adam sitting in the stands at their training base, Oki Dokie Stadium. He calls Adam down to ask him if he wishes to participate in the training session. Adam, the devoted supporter, accepts with glitter in his eyes that was soon to turn into pain.

The first drill was Adam running full pelt at Ben “I’m” Hornby and attempting to break the tackle. Adam was quite hesitant given the fiery look in Hornby’s eyes. Adam did as Doctor Brown said and ran at Hornby. The result was a four broken rips from the impact of the tackle and a sprained ego. Adam was beginning to see that remaining true to the Dragons is quite painful indeed. The result didn’t help the Dragons either with Hornby ruled out for 3 weeks from the tackle and Trent Barrett ruled out for 10 weeks with a punctured lung from the hysterical laughter.

Day Two

The Dragons decide to visit the local schools in both the Kogarah Area and also the Wollongong area. Knowing that Adam goes to university in the Wollongong area they decide to pay him a personal visit.

The many former Steelers fans in the region turn up and greet all the players and ask for autographs of their heroes. Adam is the only non-Steelers supporter at the venue and therefore was an outcast. The Dragons decide to exploit this fact by calling Adam out of the crowd.

Adam, still wary of the last time he was called out by the players, was quite cautious. He stood up on the podium and shook hands with all his player mentors, not seeing that Trent “Does my bum look big in this” Barrett was behind him. Barrett proceeded to remove Adam’s jeans in front of his peers with one member of the crowd shouting “Where is it?” Adam’s life was officially in tatters.

Day Three

After a shock and humiliating trial loss to Manly, the Dragon faithful decide to venture back to Saints Leagues for a beer or ten to wallow yet another abysmal first half performance by their team. The excuses start to flow from the mouths “We were without players!” “All our stars are injured!” “Fire up!” Adam the brilliant, yet somewhat wavering, supporter he is, decides he'll liven up the party with some comedy.

He gets on stage and says:

"G’day everyone”
A fellow supporter shouts out “Get off the stage you idiot!”

Adam laughs it off and proceeds with his attempt at stand up; “Ok Guys, what do me and Tim Tam Timmins have in common?"

The crowd anticipate the worst - "We both only score once a year"

The reaction was quite mixed with a sense of shock and disgust circling the audience. Adam was quite stunned at this reaction thinking he pulled off a pearler. Adam began to sweat and thought to try a different approach.

“Ok……What has 34 legs and will never climb a ladder?”
“The Dragons!”

Adam proceeded to bolt as the angry mob swarmed. Luckily, Craig McLaughlin just happened to be in Dragons that night, performing in front of a stellar audience of two people. He rescued Adam from the clutches of death and asked if he could steal his material, showcasing where Craig got his unbelievable talent for stand up comedy.

Will Adam stay true to his beloved Dragons?

To Be Continued!

746 Words

ibeme

Ibeme takes up the ball for the Rhinos

--------------------

A True Relationship

The year is 1980, and a six year old boy is sitting at his Grandparents’ house in country NSW, awaiting a big game of football to start on TV. He knows what football is, but he’d never really watched it before. This was the Grand Final though, and on this day, the whole family are gathered to watch it.

He looks at the teams on the field. One team is wearing red, white and blue, but his attention is drawn to the blue and white colours from their opponents. He likes the jumpers, and he’s already subconsciously decided that he’d be cheering for that team today.

A rooster mascot prancing around on the side-line, a certain Steve Gearin try, and a Canterbury Bankstown grand final victory are all that I remember from the game that day, but it started one of the longest, and at times, most challenging relationships of my life. I’d become a Canterbury fan.

This relationship has provided so many memorable occasions over the years. Each and every grand final was a celebration in it’s own right, but whenever Canterbury were involved, it was something else.

In 1984, we had moved to a small town, of about three hundred people, on the far south coast of NSW. It seemed like the whole town was at the pub that day to watch the game on the new ‘big screen’. People were decked out in either the blue and white of Canterbury, or the blue and gold of Parramatta. It was Canterbury to come out on top that day, but Parra would get their revenge two years later.

1985 brought another Canterbury win, against St. George. This time I was listening to the ABC radio call from a mate’s dairy during milking time. The closeness of the match brought the game to life in that dairy.

1986 brought Parramatta’s revenge for 1984. The loss was experienced at a BBQ with friends, who were all Eels fans.

Then came the win against Balmain in 1988. I felt the loss against the Raiders in 1994. I revelled in the excitement of the win, from fifth spot on the ladder in 1995 against the silvertails from Manly. I was at the SFS for the Bulldogs thrilling semi-finals run in 1998, with both games heading into overtime after remarkable comebacks against the Knights and the Eels. The loss to the unbeatable Broncos in the grand final wasn’t so hard to take given what the Bulldogs had achieved in getting there.

Over those years, I’d travelled for hours to family gatherings. I’d celebrated with friends and an entire town. I’d been pressed up against a radio, surrounded by cows getting milked. And it was all because of my relationship with the Bulldogs that had started with a chance encounter with a blue and white jumper one day in 1980.

Then came 2002, and the off-field dramas. A blatant salary cap breech robbed the fans of a certain minor premiership, and any chance to compete in the grand final. It was a heart-wrenching situation, but I couldn’t bring myself to turn my back on my team. Instead, I joined the thousands of fans successfully calling for the board to be sacked.

Just when things were looking good again, Coffs Harbour hit the radio, and created one of the biggest media frenzies ever experienced. It divided people. As a fan, I could have turned my back, but instead I waited for the facts to be revealed, and when they were, I defended my club and my team, and still do to this day.

Last year I was rewarded for my loyalty with the sweetest grand final win of all. Things couldn’t have been sweeter.

Then, this morning, the leading sports head-line made my heart almost jump out of my chest. “Bulldogs Bust the Cap Again,” read the headline. While the breach doesn’t appear to have been of a sinister nature, it’s yet another hurdle that needs to be overcome. Such is the case with any relationship.

These last few years have been hard. They’ve tested the resilience of not only the club and the game, but also lifelong fans. The beauty about following a team is that it becomes like a member of the family. It provides ups and downs. It becomes part of your life, and part of your memories. It’s not easy to give up on family. Nor is it easy to give up on your football team.

--------------------------

747 words including title

Azkatro

Azkatro posting for the Panthers.

The man is good for the game

If you don't like Anthony Mundine, take a moment to forget about what he says and look closely at what he does.

Most rugby league fans, aspirants and even current players would agree that steering a side to a grand final berth in the premier competition in the world is an outstanding achievement.

And I reckon if you spoke to most of those involved in the boxing arena, few would argue that winning seven belts - including numerous Super Middleweight titles - marks a career of high distinction.

So how do you describe a man who has managed to achieve both, and still has more to offer?

Calling him "the" man might be going a little too far, but in some circles it's considered a much deserved label.

Under normal circumstances you might consider such an athlete a fine asset to sport in general and an inspiration to us all. Some would speak about him as a benchmark to success of sorts. They might even use such an individual to motivate their kids, telling them they might be that good someday if they eat their vegetables.

Believe it or not, there is a person who fits this description. But the plaudits aren't quite as forthcoming as you would expect - and there's a very good reason for it.

That man is Anthony Mundine, and he has one thing bigger than his trophy cabinet, list of achievements and talent all put together - his mouth.

He makes more claims than a stuntperson, more promises than a politician and will happily tell everybody else what he wants them to hear.

It's confidence, a huge ego, and self motivation. It's also attention seeking, exhibitionism and pig-headed arrogance. It's all of those attributes rolled into one.

It's the arrogance that comes across the most strongly. While it's possible to overstate yourself in a way that makes you seem more cheeky than anything, Mundine says it like he truly believes it. And it's that attribute that gets a lot of people offside.

But that's just the way Mundine is. It's part of who he is. And if Mundine is anything, he's certainly a character. It's largely his constant prattle that gets all of us talking about him. "I can't believe that Mundine fella thinks he's better than Fittler," you might say. And it gets a conversation going. You might even go on to discuss how many current five-eighths there are running around you think are far better. You talk about Mundine because he's a real character.

He'll go down as a memorable one, too. Twenty years down the track we might see a young bloke on TV talking up his ability before a big game. "He reminds me of Anthony Mundine," you'll tell your kids. And when they ask you about him, you'll have plenty to say. "He was a mad bloke, used to box and play footy and go around saying he was as good as Superman!"

For most of us, he'll be remembered fondly. You always remember the characters in life, whether you liked them or not.

And that's just why Mundine is good for the game. He brings a character to the sport the likes of which we don't often see. In modern day rugby league, players are well-trained professionals. They'll tell you things such as they're taking it one game at a time and not getting too far ahead of themselves. Ask them about their upcoming opposition, and they might respond by commenting on the toughness of the match and how it cannot be taken lightly. What about how they might fare against their opposing number next weekend? "He's a good player but I'm just going to worry about my own game," you'll probably hear.

Not Mundine, though. He'll tell you that he's the world's best and his opposing number is running on old legs. Or even that he's imposed a sex ban on himself to gain an edge on other players!

Rugby league is famous for the many characters that have graced it throughout its history, and "Choc" is well and truly one of them.

He may not be "the" man to most of us, but he will always be remembered as "the" Anthony Mundine.

----------------

747 words. Liftoff!

References

Halloran, Jessica (2005) Mundine moments Sydney Morning Herald [online]. Available from: http://www.smh.com.au/news/League/Mundine-moments/2005/04/08/1112815728496.html [Accessed 9th April 2005].

BoxRec (2005) Anthony Mundine BoxRec [online]. Available from: http://www.boxrec.com/boxer_display.php?boxer_id=014646 [Accessed 10th April 2005].

[furrycat]

[Furrycat] for the Panthers, steals the ball and paints a face on it

The Bulldogs or The Sonny Billions?

Any football player would tell you that it is just an inconceivable feeling to run out onto the freshly cut field, ingesting the deafening sounds produced by the crowd, and the seemingly endless sea of supporting colours for both sides. I sit there in the crowded sea, waves of innocent supporters, schools of jellyfish like people out there to ruin the fun, stinging, infecting everything in its path. The players of the Canterbury Bulldogs don’t have to worry about the jelly fish in their supporting sea, they run out onto the field and the only thing that matters is the symbol of determination on their jerseys, a symbol that has represented the club for many years. Unfortunately, a tsunami of expectations has hit this symbol headfirst, ravaging the players and the supporters. It is far more dangerous than the jellyfish present in the sea of supporters, it is the label being placed upon young teenager Sonny Bill Williams by the media. What kind of label you ask? It isn’t a simple adhesive label from Kmart that will cease to uphold its meaning at the sign of any moisture or stress. It’s a label produced by the media designed to affect anyone who views it, and it is affecting the Canterbury side in ways that you could not even envision.

When a player runs out onto the field, they close their eyes, take a deep breath, and look at their team logo and see the scoreboard reading their team’s name, praying that it will read “48-0” by the end of the night. Sure, this has been the case for The Bulldogs as well, but recently the players have had their views altered, their perceptions clouded. When they look at their jerseys, they don’t see the patented Bulldogs logo, they see a headshot of Sonny Bill Williams, and it doesn’t get any better when the scoreboard reads “The Sonny Billions – 16 The Roosters – 13”. But what are the players supposed to do when they are labelled as a one man side, a side whereas a loose forward is being characterised as the key man? More importantly, what would be on the mentality of the young man himself, branded “the next big thing”?

Sonny Bill wakes up in the morning to the sunlight glistening from his many trophies, awards and the new premiership ring that sits above the rest. Each morning, he takes a look of the juxtaposed image of his S & G Ball Player of the year award, and the 2004 NRL Premiers ring, and that simply describes Sonny Bill’s career to date, the sudden elevation from a lower grade competition to being an entity of greatness. But little do people know that his career has not always been premierships and rookie of the year awards… In 2002 during a Jersey Flegg Grand Final Qualifier, aged 16, he snapped the fibula in his right leg, taking him out of the game for a period of ten weeks. Less then twelve months later, the injury fairy visited Sonny again during an Under 19’s State of Origin match whereas he tore a ligament in his right shoulder, wiping him out for a period of six months. And in just the first few rounds of this year, Sonny has torn ligaments in his ankle and knee and will be forced to sit out for another eight weeks and face the demons in his head, swirling around with thoughts, asking himself “Why me?”. But now he is faced with a bigger demon, one far more powerful, and it is haunting him, taunting him, trying to break his immature and feeble mentality. That is the fact he no longer plays for the Bulldogs, but for The Sonny Billions. And without Sonny Bill, The Sonny Billions have no chance of winning the premiership.

Is this really a fair thing to do to a 19 year old kid? That’s all he is, a simple kid trying to play the sport he loves. He makes one little cough and people say “Sonny Bill Injured – Scrap the Bulld.. oh I mean the Sonny Billions out of the comp”. When you’re eating your chicken chips next time you watch the football, I hope you choke, just a little bit, and think about that every morning when Sonny Bill gets up and looks at his many awards and trophies, he wishes that sometimes, it would all go away, and he’d be free… Be just a boy...

750 Words

BW#1F - Panthers #5
-----------------------------------------

That man Mundine.
bali2.jpg

Name: Anthony Mundine
Date of birth: 21st May 1975
Birthplace: Sydney
Nickname: Choc
Weight: 76kg

Hobbies: Movies, hanging out with the boys & playing video games
Junior club: Hurstville United.
Junior representative career: Australian Schoolboys (from Kingsgrove High) (1993); Australia u/19 (1994); Combined junior NSW-Queensland basketball team at 15 for a tour of the west coast of the United States. (1990)

First-grade debut: Round 20, 1993, for St George v Penrith.
Clubs: St George 1993-96, 98; Brisbane 1997; St George Illawarra 1999-2000.
Played: 127 first-grade Rugby League games.
Club highlights: Grand Finalist with St George (1996); Grand Final winner with Brisbane (1997); Grand-finalist with St George Illawarra (1999).
Representative career: City Origin (1996); Three games of State Of Origin for NSW (1999).

You either love the guy or hate him, whether you’re a lover of boxing, rugby league or just sport in general your bound to have an opinion of the one appropriately known as “The Man”. There are many who marvel at the vast talent. As he graced our football stadiums over his 7 year career in the top grade.

While on the other side of the coin there are those who think he’s nothing but a show pony Aboriginal loud mouth and think that he’s just in it for the money or the fame. And in their opinion there is not a place in a true team sport like Rugby League.

Anthony Mundine's departure from the Dragons was controversial. In the end, there was too much activity in Anthony Mundine's wake for the media induced saga to continue any further.
On May 3rd, 2000, Anthony Mundine and the Dragons parted ways and 'Choc' retired from Rugby League.

Two days later he announced that he was pursuing a career in professional boxing.

But after his world title defence of the WBA Super Middleweight title on May 11. He looks set to come out of a 5-year retirement to again challenge the best in the greatest game of all.

Several clubs have been interested in signing him, one of those being my own club the Vodafone New Zealand Warriors.

If he does sign and come across the ditch I’m all for it, even after all the speculation that Stacey Jones would be let go to find the money to pay for Mundine, who left St George mid-2000 when earning A$600,000 ($646,000) a year, which at this stage has been dismissed.

With the club still looking for a player to fix the five-eighth problem which has plagued the club since its inception into the then Winfield Cup in 1995, Mundine could well be that missing link in the halves working along side Jones or Hohaia in the number seven jumper.

Choc in my opinion lives his life to the fullest and just expresses himself the in the only two ways he knows how. Those two being his words and his actions. Well many of you would say but “Actions speak louder than words.” Well this guy backs up his words with his actions and vice versa.

Another thing that falls in the Warriors favour is that their father company Cullen Sports is looking to break into the big time boxing scene. And with The Man wanting to continue fighting once a year this would be a great opportunity for them, also Mundine’s current manager/trainer would take over the running of the boxing area of Cullen Sports.

He’s had five years out of the game and could jump on the field tomorrow and produce those dazzling tries or set up his outside man with a beautiful cut out pass, not to mention those magnificent post try celebrations.

But looking at it from the other side, he has been out of the game for roughly five years, and has lost a lot of weight to get into his current boxing division. Could he step back onto the league field and still create the magic he did while wearing the might red V for the dragons???

There are so many unanswered questions which will remain until after his fight on May 11 against Dane Mikel Kessler in Sydney.

But one thing is for sure. If Choc Mundine does come out of retirement no matter what club it’s for I’ll cheer him on, and I hope many of you will to, even the ones who love to hate the guy. Because after all he is great for our game and the greatest game of all Rugby League.

Word count (title included) (745)

References
http://www.geocities.com/Colosseum/5421/players/mundine.htm
http://www.showroom.com.au/dragons/mundine.htm
http://anthonymundine.sportal.com.au/lockeroom.asp?i=main
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/index.cfm?c_id=4&ObjectID=10119794

Big Mick

SUBSTITUTION FOR THE PANTHERS:

Maelgwnau comes off the field with a broken arm.

SOMETHINGWITHJOHN is taking his place on the paddock and takes a massive first hit up wanting to get involved.

Jono Russell

somethingwithjohn makes a massive line break for the panthers.

The misery of success.

When you read the title to this, at first you may have thought this was absurd. The number one goal in any sporting arena is to win. Unlike life were everything is not black and white, in sport, the outcome is just that. Winners are grinners and losers go home and rue what went wrong. The ideal of sport is to find out who is the best and to crown them as that, but at what price?

If sport is about the pursuit of success who can ascertain that it brings misery? This isn’t about those success junkies that thrive on there team being unbeatable this is about those fans whose team has made it to the top and will always continue to be there.

The Sydney Roosters in the early-to-mid 90’s were nothing on what they are today. They had an average team, with supporters not knowing which Roosters team would turn up each week. One week they may win 28 – 0, the next week lose 0 – 28. This is the type of team they were and would have been today if not for some very good signings and a turn around in their management and coaching staff.

The year was 1997. The Roosters had a nice little backline of Lam, Ricketson, Barnhill, Sing, Walker, Cleary, Fittler. They finished the season one game away from the grand final, losing to runners-up Manly-Warringah by 1 point. This marked the turning point of the Roosters from being a mediocre club, into a powerhouse.

As the years went by there squad grew stronger and stronger. Fans have often questioned how they have built such a brilliant roster, stretching from first grade to SG Ball and despite their total lack of junior development; it all comes down to just one thing, smart management.

Season 2000 saw the Roosters make their first Grand Final for over a quarter of a century, much to the delight of diehard fans. Despite the best efforts of Fittler's side - that included stars of the calibre of Lam, Phillips, Hegarty, Cross, Fletcher, Wing and Fitzgibbon - the Broncos eventually won 14-6.

After a somewhat disappointing season in 2001, which saw them lose to the eventual premier’s Newcastle, the Roosters bounced back to get that premiership that had eluded them for decades. They beat a surprising Warriors outfit in 2002, by 30 – 8. In the eyes of many, the Roosters were now the benchmark. They proved the critics right in making two consecutive grand finals in 2003 and 2004, only to fall at the last hurdle, losing to the Panthers and Bulldogs.

However, with success comes expectation. Fans have come to expect this team to win, with no opponent to big or powerful, no player to good for them to handle. Arrogance was at its peak. At the climax of 2004, we saw the dawning of an era with the great Freddy Fittler retiring. Suddenly the invisible club seemed incomplete, and the fans grow restless.

A few days ago, I met with a massive roosters fan and she sighed as we talk about the weekend results. I enquired as to her feelings about the new Roosters. She replied ‘they are a great team, they have the best players in the world, they are meant to win”. This startled me. I came to realise that being the benchmark isn’t all that it’s cracked up to be. The expectation to win is so great that when a loss finally comes, the fans start to dwindle and question their loyalty. One has to beg the question – Is supporting the benchmark that good?

The limitations of the salary cap have been a feature of the great football we’ve seen so far this season. Teams like Manly, Tigers and Sharks are at the top of the table while teams like the Roosters are languishing at the bottom. Rugby League was founded on equality and passion. It’s not equitable to have one team dominate an arena. This season there is no benchmark and everyone is equal.

So is it fair to assume that success brings misery? I think you can make a fair case that if your team is successful and they start to lose that your unwavering support may begin to waver. Each and every supporter out there wants their team to become successful, but the real question is that when you finally get it, how are you going to deal with it, if you start to lose it?

749 words

Sources
rl1908
nrl.com
yahoo.com.au searched for a few articles with soe interesting facts.

Dread

RHINOS

Mzilikazi

Comments: A good, well-reasoned article. My opinion on the matter? The Dragons need not only to lose the love affair with Brown, but with Barrett too. When was the last time he put in a few good games in a row?

Score: 86

Not So Silent Bob

Comments: Another well written article; lacked a bit of structure but entertaining anyway.

Score: 85

Bartman

Comments: I like Metallica and I like rugby league – but I’m not sure the connection you made with the film really worked.

Score: 82

Ibeme

Comments: All too true. A well written little piece of nostalgia.

Total: 339

PANTHERS

Big Mick

Comments: Comedy is a hard act to pull off and this one didn’t quite hit the spot for me. A good effort though at a difficult style of writing.

Score: 83

Azkatro

Comments: I really enjoyed this article, and probably agree with the sentiments. He’s good for the game in a ‘Gouldian’ sense – he gets people talking, whether they agree or not. That said though, I wouldn’t want him at my club…

Score: 89

Furrycat

Comments: I reckon for $400K a year, Sonny Bill’s happy to give up his boyhood and become a man. The media works two ways; if he hadn’t been lauded as the next big thing, you can guarantee he wouldn’t have just signed a contract as big as he did. My rant over though, I enjoyed this article, even if it only explored the one side of the media hype.

BrentWebb’sno.1fan

Comments: Another Mundine article – he’s a hot topic at the moment, and understandably. Well written, but perhaps not quite as effective as the other Mundine article in this game.

Score: 85

Somethingwithjohn

Comments: Some grammatical errors marred the article, making for difficult reading at times.

Score: 77

Total: 420

Final Score: Panthers 420 defeated Rhinos 339
Man of the match: Azkatro

Cheers Ref, quick marking there :clap:

Congrats to the Panthers on five articles and a deserved win.

Thanks for the good reads all!