Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 4 v Storm

sammymills

See one occasionally JD. JdB almost always goes round legs and I have seen Liddle and even Ilias, with his prob closest to the old fashioned grass cutter. Take a squiz at some of his footage.
Im only 35, but for you older heads what is the reasoning behind no one tackling around the legs anymore? Yes i understand the other team gets a quicker play the ball, but we have had the 10m rule since the 80's havent we? what was so different about it back then and why werent players trying to slow down the play the ball in the past?

justadragon

Im only 35, but for you older heads what is the reasoning behind no one tackling around the legs anymore? Yes i understand the other team gets a quicker play the ball, but we have had the 10m rule since the 80's havent we? what was so different about it back then and why werent players trying to slow down the play the ball in the past?
Because Sammy, nowadays its all about locking the ball up to prevent the offload and second phase play. You may have one around the knees, but usually you will have a couple up top as well wrestling the crappers out you.

Lucy was a decoy runner, I don’t think he was ever going to get the ball and this is where he ends up.

You can look to the feet perspective and see he’s in the way:

6D019C58-6D9E-4ACA-AF91-D7A0AC26E930.jpeg

Ex rooster junior Footy mate at work is blaming Kotoa and Grant for not communicating properly.

62D204FF-EF5C-4741-B646-0EA8BAFEC026.jpeg
Not my diagram!

He said it was “ a good play, nothing to see. Isolation accomplished.”

But I’m not sure lol.

Lucy has a decidedly “ guilty lean” afterwards. Very suspicious and should be brought in for questioning.

DA72B463-449E-4E6C-8CFF-82FDDEA3F801.jpeg

Champagne game from Lucy.

since77

Lock the ball up, slow down the ruck.
Today's game is ALL based on momentum starting at the play the ball. Things got worse with the 6 again nonsense.

Why weren't players doing it in the past? There was no Bellamy and no purple cancer.

But yes I would love to see a reward for a good legs tackle. Won't happen though - because apparently the game has never been better according to Vlandys & the clowns at Fox.........

Mojo

It may sound a bit silly but I reckon the change from a leather ball to the modern, uniform Steeden is a factor in the change in both attack and defence patterns and methods. The Steeden is more strippable and more predictable in both passing and bounce. Ball handling, passing and ball security were more ‘variable’ back in the day and a legs tackle could more easily stop the progress of the ball in attack ie; one on one a great, grassing tackle could bring a player down ball and all; these days a legs tackle is more likely to enable the attacking player to get a pass away. Just my ‘old fella’ observations.

I still think the low legs tackle has been too heavily discounted in the modern game. It was a truism, and it still applies, ‘can’t run without legs’. I sometimes think it’s been forgotten how quickly a guy will hit the ground if his legs are well wrapped up.

Inisai Toga

It may sound a bit silly but I reckon the change from a leather ball to the modern, uniform Steeden is a factor in the change in both attack and defence patterns and methods. The Steeden is more strippable and more predictable in both passing and bounce. Ball handling, passing and ball security were more ‘variable’ back in the day and a legs tackle could more easily stop the progress of the ball in attack ie; one on one a great, grassing tackle could bring a player down ball and all; these days a legs tackle is more likely to enable the attacking player to get a pass away. Just my ‘old fella’ observations.

I still think the low legs tackle has been too heavily discounted in the modern game. It was a truism, and it still applies, ‘can’t run without legs’. I sometimes think it’s been forgotten how quickly a guy will hit the ground if his legs are well wrapped up.
Could be a factor Mojo sure, however, I feel its more to do with the speed and velocity of the game that sees this technique extinguished (to the detriment of the game). It's a paradox: the leg tacker is not rewarded for his skill as he is on the ground after executing the tackle; a quick play the ball and he's out of the too far back defensive line. So coaches encourage holding whilst the third man comes in and they wrestle to the ground, and thus intentionally slowing the game down. Result being a generation now can't hip tackle. Some of the defensive techniques going low are a joke. I loved watching great tacklers of the past - now a handful of NRL players do it. Concussions result from poor techniques - slow the game down - make scrums more of a contest and it will reduce from the power game to an endurance game. By minimising metres apart and interchange and you'll get your tacklers along with the ball distributors re appearing. Then won't have to listen to boring statistics like metres gained.....
Not holding my breath!

The great irony with all of these so called safety changes is that players seem to be getting injured with greater frequency and of longer duration.

I’m not saying the old days were all good, I’m just saying that some aspects of the game were more enthralling and less predictable.

No club will have their best 17 on by round 10 without a miracle. We might be fortunate to have our best 12.

It’s great to see wingers pirouetting and defying physics,
but in the old days we had more people chasing, superb swerving, footwork and stepping.

And halfbacks were electric. Steve Mortimer brought a lump to the throat every weekend.

RedVee

10m for defenders came in 1/2 way through the 93 season from memory. Before that it was both teams to be 5m back.
At first the smart coaches had their players hit the deck on their bellies and get up quick. The defenders needed more time to get back 10 and set the line, so coaches taught them to wrestle on the ground to slow up the ptb to allow their line to set. Then to hold them up (hence tackling higher) to wrestle and waltz the attackers around to slow them from getting in position to ptb.
Its all about controlling the ruck and getting the def line set.

RedVee

The refs don’t allow the defender to take his time and get to marker now though. So a great tackle leads to a disadvantage to the defending team.
It is a great shame.

Origin was much more exciting, because the refs would relax the rules.

Putting aside the brutality of it, it was not uncommon to see players tackled without the ball and it was play on.

Interestingly, these breaches of the rules didn’t change the results too much, usually the best side won.

I think the refs had a better idea of impact of illegality on the game.

It was fantastic and the ratings were through the roof.

It got to the point where even current kangaroos couldn’t be selected because Origin was more important.

Now it’s bears dancing in barrels, love stories and miscreants on drugs talking themselves up.

You only watch it to see how your club players go and hope they don’t get injured or suspended.

It’s a lot harder now for a good player from a struggling club to get a go in Origin. The same players are there boring everyone and the officials patrol it like fascists.

You couldn’t get sent off in origin. it was chaos!

Lock the ball up, slow down the ruck.
Today's game is ALL based on momentum starting at the play the ball. Things got worse with the 6 again nonsense.

Why weren't players doing it in the past? There was no Bellamy and no purple cancer.

But yes I would love to see a reward for a good legs tackle. Won't happen though - because apparently the game has never been better according to Vlandys & the clowns at Fox.........
Just watch Johnny Raper in action.

Advantages for leg tackle must only be awarded for a single tackler.

Attacking side must start next set 10 metres back from play the ball.

Ref: “Leg tackle, righto boys back you go”

No captains challenge or appeal avenue

Tackle must be below waist and backside as a guide.

A leg tackle rule advantage would help smaller players as well.

SEAT 1A

100% this.

MEL were doing it to us.

Not so much one on one however, they had one player around the legs in more tackles.

I saw a Saab run away try. Got to the defender and he feel off. A good leg's tackle would have seen Saab drop like a log or over the sideline.