Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 5

CyberKev

Sorry, Ian, thought I'd better get it out there before the ANZAC Game...

Collingwood vs Essendon
Fremantle vs Carlton
GWS vs Western Bulldogs
North Melbourne vs Gold Coast
Melbourne vs St Kilda
Brisbane vs Geelong
Hawthorn vs Sydney
Richmond vs West Coast
Adelaide vs Port

Some potentially good matches on offer.

The Bulldogs, North, Geelong and St Kilda all certainties; the the rest could go either way.

Will punt on Hawthorn, West Coast, Fremantle, Adelaide and Collingwood.

I just know I'm going to pay for punting on the Crows here though.

AuckMel

All good, Kev. Been busy.

Reckon we might have a win tomorrow.

Freo
Dogs
Roos
Saints
Brisbane in an upset
Hawks
Tigers
Crows

CyberKev

Ripper contest that.

Great effort by Collingwood to get the cherries.

Essendon could have fallen victim to the instantaneous play on call though.

I think Jobe Watson would've liked to have been able to take that late kick in set fashion, but was in the act of kicking as the free to his teammate was called.

Its still an interpretation that's more likely to penalise a side than help it, I feel.

Really enjoyed what I saw of the game though.

Azyboy

Yesterday's game was an old fashioned slog fest. For the most part the pies looked to have it in safe keeping however was thrilled to see a gripping last quarter and the bombers surge back. Agree Kev, Watson was unfortunate in that he was in the act of kicking and with the new advantage rule, or moreso the interpretation, any forward movement post whistle seems to be advantage with no chance of a recall.

On form, the Freo Carlton game and hawks swans game should be the picks of the rest of the weeks games.

BunniesMan

5-0 bitches. Every win by at least 2 goals.

Elite midfield and defense. Many many many avenues to goal. We're one of the top 3 contenders with West Coast and Carlton.

AuckMel

148986_10150699303906417_63513051416_9545198_2029766789_n.jpg

Interesting ladder. How much will it change?

I can see Hawthorn, Collingwood, Freo and Geelong moving up with North, Saints and Essendon going backwards.

CyberKev

^^^

You could get really bold by telling us when the first defeats will come, Twizz.

CyberKev

Not too happy at being rolled by the moneyball kings yesterday, but not overly surprised by the result.

I think they're a good side in very good form.

Why is it, however, that you never hear from Sydney fans until they're on a winning run , at which times you'd think every second person is a Swans supporter?

BunniesMan

Not too happy at being rolled by the moneyball kings yesterday, but not overly surprised by the result.

I think they're a good side in very good form.

Why is it, however, that you never hear from Sydney fans until they're on a winning run , at which times you'd think every second person is a Swans supporter?
70k came to ANZ to watch us play THE SAINTS during our window.

In 2002 and 2011 our average crowds were 26k. In 2006-07 they were 35k.

Sydney people are traditional bandwagoners.

We face Collingwood in round 20. I'm not saying it will happen but being 16-2 at that point is not impossible. Assuming our losses are away to Carlton and WC the only other team from last years top 5 we play is Geelong at the SCG. We beat them in Geelong last year so that's a winnable game.

If we head into the Collingwood game with both our teams in the top 4, us in 1st or 2nd at worst with a 16-2 record and their army of travelling bogans, and we'll get 50-60k compared to the 38k we got last year.

Bandwagoning, it's what us Sydneysiders do best.

lockyno1

Elite midfield and defense. Many many many avenues to goal. We're one of the top 3 contenders with West Coast and Carlton.

Pull the other one...elite midfield, barely anyone would get a game in the Geelong/Carlton midfield. They are what I call "workman-like" and that describes them to a tee. I still rate Hawtorn, Geelong, WC, Carlton higher, all 4 play the MCG better.

BunniesMan

Pull the other one...elite midfield, barely anyone would get a game in the Geelong/Carlton midfield. They are what I call "workman-like" and that describes them to a tee. I still rate Hawtorn, Geelong, WC, Carlton higher, all 4 play the MCG better.
We just made the Hawthorn midfield look mediocre.

I call workman-like something that can't be taught.

There is nothing workman-like about what Kennedy does inside, what Jetta does as an outside mid and what Goodes does inside/outside/everywhere else.

Yes there's the new wave of tackle you till you can't feel your ribs tough hard players like Parker, Bird and Smith that are certainly in the Bolton-Kirk mould but we now have the classy midfielders to compliment them.

Hawthorns midfield had a repuation, we smashed it.

And we did it without our elite ruckman.

At full strength our midfield is in the elite category with WC, Carlton, Geelong and Collingwood.

We face Collingwood in round 20. I'm not saying it will happen but being 16-2 at that point is not impossible. Assuming our losses are away to Carlton and WC the only other team from last years top 5 we play is Geelong at the SCG. We beat them in Geelong last year so that's a winnable game.

well done,

and how did you go in the grand final last year :lol:

BunniesMan

well done,

and how did you go in the grand final last year :lol:
My point is we are 5-0 and in our next 13 games that is our 3rd toughest fixture. That game being a game in our Fortress against a team we beat in their fortress.

16-2 going into the Collingwood game is a realistic possibility.

so the Hawks tanked it ?

some of these commentators are idiots

CyberKev

Alas, we can get Throbbie Balls off our TV screens, but we can't keep him out of the press.

The guy is positively malignant.