Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 7 (2005) Bulls Vs Easts

roosterboy60

[font=Times New Roman, Times, serif]South Florida Bulls v Easts Roosters[/font]

[font=Times New Roman, Times, serif]Game Thread
Please note - This is a game thread only, therefore only game posts can be made here (Teams, Articles).
Any other posts will result in loss of points and is at the discretion of the referee.
Only original essays, not used in previous games, will be marked by referees.
[/font]

[font=Times New Roman, Times, serif]Home team captain will be allowed 3 reserves, visiting captain will be allowed 2 reserves
Rules: http://f7s.leagueunlimited.com/rules.asp
[/font]

[font=Times New Roman, Times, serif]Full Time: Wednesday 22nd June at 9pm (Syd time)[/font]

[font=Times New Roman, Times, serif]Venue: Gold Coast Stadium
ground_goldcoast_1.jpg

Crowd: 9,750
REFEREE: Mystique
[/font]

[font=Times New Roman, Times, serif]**Referee Blows Game On!**[/font]

Bomber

1. Broncodroid
3. Broncoman (vice-captain)
4. Bomber (captain)
5. Homer's Bowling Ball
6. DIEHARD
----
2. Jordan
11. Broncocloete
12. RifRaf

broncoman

broncoman # 3 USF Bulls (vice captain)

The Kangaroos - A Tradition of Excellence

August 17 1908 the Australian Rugby League team left Sydney Harbour to tour the Motherland for the first time in the codes history. The Sydney competition was still in its maiden season and there was a strong challenge from rival codes for popularity. Nearly one hundred years on and the international games is still suffering many of the same problems.

Dally Messenger led the very first Kangaroo tour. The side lost the test series as well as half their games on tour, but the platform for a great future was set. Like today's game the team had their high profile players. Messenger of course being the star of the team, Sandy Pearce and Alex Burdon. Its easy to forget these players as they played well before we were born and in many cases even before our grandparents were! For these men the pinnacle of their career was playing on a Kangaroo Tour. Most of players were amateurs and had fulltime jobs; it's hard to imagine the feeling these players would have felt running out on to St James' Park in front of 22,000 supporters. This was the start of one of the highest profile sporting events on the Australian sporting calendar.

An all-Australian team didn’t return to England until 1921, under the captaincy of Charles Fraser. Another first was achieved on November 5th when the Aussies won their first test match in England, two tries from winger Cec Blinkhorn being the highlight. The 1921 tour was the Poms first look at our first real superstars. Halfback Duncan Thompson, outside back Harold Horder and try scoring forward Frank Burge all played in the series. It was a much successful tour than the first one; the Kangaroos won 27 of the 36 matches despite losing the test series 2-1. Newtown forward Burge scored incredible 33 tries in 23 matches. This kind of record is almost unthinkable in the current game.

Over the next sixty odd years we saw names like Langlands, Churchill, Hey, Barnes, Brown, Raper and the list goes on, all represent the Australian Kangaroos in England. Some teams were successful, some were not. The 1963 team, which included players like Ken Irvine, Graeme Langlands and Reg Gasnier won test series against France and Great Britain and only lost 7 matches on tour. This was the first time Australia had won the Ashes in England. The series included a massive 50-12 win in the second test. Langlands 207 points on the tour remains the second highest points total by a player in history behind Noel Pidding's 228 points in 1952. The 1963 team created another first; Ken and Dick Thornett became the first brothers to represent the country on a Kangaroo tour together. Ken played all six tests on tour while Dick played the first four. This remained the most successful team until the eighties.

In 1982 Max Krilich led the Kangaroos on a historic unbeaten tour. A young Mal Meninga on his first Kangaroo tour was one of the stars with 166 points. The highlight of the tour was undoubtedly the first test victory by 40-4 at Hull. Eric Grothe, Steve Rogers and Wally Lewis would go on to play staring roles in the series which led to them all becoming household names in the coming years. 1986 was a repeat of the previous tour when the Aussies went through unbeaten. Terry Lamb created his own piece of history by becoming the first played to play every game on a Kangaroo tour. A big victory in the second test at Headingly set Australia on their way and we're never headed from that point on. Michael O'Connor, Steve Roach and Gary Jack were among the tourists best.

1994 was the last Kangaroo tour was we know it. The 18th team to tour Great Britain played 18 matches losing just one. It was the first taste of rep football for Sailor, Menzies and other stars we have known over the past decade. Highlights of the tour included great wins in the second and third tests, whole the low point was almost certainly game one when the Aussies were unable to beat a 12 man English side.

Its unfortunate we may never see Kangaroo tours anymore like we did in the past. Its always been known as the pinnacle of a players career. We now have the tri nations and other competitions, but nothing will ever top a 3-4 month tour of Great Britain.

748 words including title

Bomber

Bomber - #4 USF Bulls (captain)
749 words including title, excluding reference at bottom

----------

The Vicious Cycle

In Newcastle, the sky has fallen.

Despite boasting more than a few handy players, including a future immortal, the current New South Wales captain, and present and past Australian and Origin representatives, collectively they must have done some dastardly deeds in order to have this much bad luck in Season 2005.

12 losses from as many outings. Is there any sensible explanation for this current turn of events? Apart from the obvious reasons – too much dropped ball, too many missed tackles – it simply appears that Newcastle’s number was up. After making the finals in eight seasons out of nine between 1995 and 2003, the Football Gods decided to deliver the Steel City a big dose of karma.

For as long as league has been played in Australia, the performances of teams go in cycles, usually alternating between truly great eras and truly awful eras. Often this is the result of the combination of great players and great coaches, or the relative weakness of other teams in the competition. Sometimes teams appear to be simply unstoppable, but once their star fades, the fall to earth can be dramatic. St George won eleven consecutive premierships between 1956 and 1966; they only won two premierships between 1967 and 1979, and none since Malcolm Fraser was Prime Minister.

The Balmain Tigers qualified for the finals in seven seasons out of eight between 1983 and 1990, winning 127 of 206 (61%) games played, culminating in grand final appearances in 1989 and 1990. When Warren Ryan abruptly departed as coach after the 1990 season, he declared that ‘all the juice had been sucked from the lemon’, and he wasn’t kidding. The Tigers never qualified for the finals in the years since then, winning 73 of 202 (36%) of games and, in 1994, their first wooden spoon since 1981.

Souths provide another outstanding example of the rise and fall in fortunes of rugby league teams. The men wearing myrtle and cardinal brought the premiership back to Redfern eleven times in the first twenty-five years (1908-1932), and precisely nothing in the next seventeen seasons (1933-1949). Another golden era in the 1950s – five premierships in six seasons, winning 72% of their games – was followed by the St George-induced drought of 1956-66. When the storm broke, it was South Sydney that rejoiced in the rain, winning four premierships in five seasons under the tutorage of Clive Churchill. South Sydney has not won a premiership and only qualified for the finals on seven occasions since their 1971 premiership. In fact, South Sydney have only won 75 of 309 games since Mario Fenech led his team off the Sydney Football Stadium after losing in the 1989 Preliminary Final to the Raiders.

Often, the rise and fall of teams are intrinsically linked to the appointment of coaches, which can provide the spark or inspiration for a golden era of finals and premiership success at the club. In that case, there can be no better example than the tenure of Jack Gibson at Parramatta. Gibson only coached Parramatta for three seasons, but what a great three years they were! The first three premierships for the Parramatta club are also the last time to date that a team has won three consecutive premierships. During the ‘Gibson Era’, the Eels won 61 of 84 games, or a 73% ratio. Gibson’s successor John Monie, despite winning one premiership and losing another grand final by two points, was never going to measure up against that kind of record, despite winning 58% of games during his six seasons in the hot seat.

The glaringly obvious thing to remember is that there are no precedents when anticipating the rise and fall of teams in rugby league. There is no prescribed minimum length of team that a ‘golden age’ for each team may last – indeed, it is looking more and more likely that Penrith’s ‘golden age’ in the new decade will last precisely two years. St George won eleven premierships, but none since 1979. Canterbury won two premierships before that year, and six since. The only rule is: there are no rules.

Of course, all of this is probably of no use to Newcastle supporters, who are still coming to terms with being winless in 2005. On paper, it simply appears that their first golden era is over, with another golden era on the way. It’s just a pity that the two have to be separated by years of woe and misery. Such is the vicious cycle.

---------------

Reference
http://nrl.has.it

...Morticia...

Tentatively.........

Bubbles
Roosterspremiers2002
Morticia
RoostarGirl (pulling in people from retirement now and appreciative)
fat_mike (giving the latte a miss at lunch for the sake of the team)

if we had more, we'd name them

Bubbles

Bubbles takes the field for a wounded Easts team...

Oh Captain, My Captain

There has been debate amongst Rooster fans since the start of this season about what’s going wrong; about who is responsible for the poor form of this once powerhouse side. Is it the coach? Is Ricky to blame? Is it our beleaguered half-back, Brett Finch, who is standing alongside our coach in the firing line of hundreds of frustrated Easts fans?

One explanation is that we haven't recovered from, nor possibly prepared adequately for, the retirement of Brad Fittler. I too have paid lip service to this theory, have lamented the loss of this champion player. But top-notch players we still have and with a new generation of youngsters who have worked their way through the ranks to attain a first-grade position, we should be tasting more success on the paddock. Sure, this year’s competition has been the closest it’s been; still, to be languishing – grimace – down the bottom half of the ladder, is ugly. Let’s face it, Easts haven’t been looking up this many skirts since the mid 90’s!

However, it wasn’t until I read Freddy’s book of the same name, - hereafter referred to as “The Bible” - that I truly understood what is lacking this year. We are missing our captain. I mean no disrespect to Ricko; I have enormous respect for Luke as a club man and a stalwart player, however you can be a person of character and leadership, without being a truly great captain.

In Psalm – a.k.a. Chapter - Fifteen of ‘The Bible’, Ricky recounts a story of a soul-searching exercise he initiated after a losing streak early in the 2002 season had us pronounced a ‘club in crisis.’ He writes:

“I asked each player to write the answer to two questions about the team-mate whose name appeared at the top of the paper they held in their hands. The questions were: ‘What do you like best about taking the field with this player? And, ‘What do you hate about taking the field with this player?’ They thought it was anonymous, but I knew exactly who got which player to comment on. I gave Brad’s name to Craig Wing. I did so quite deliberately, because ‘Wingy’ is very honest, blunt, and also very intelligent.

…Craig wrote, “The thing I like best about taking the field with Brad is when he leads from the front. I just love following him. When he takes on the line, the whole team wants to follow. The thing I hate about taking the field with Brad is when he stays at the back and just yells out directions and points. It irritates me and it irritates the team.”

Anyone who watched Brad for the rest of that year, especially the Grand Final where he single-handedly orchestrated our win, will acknowledge that he didn’t take a step back from that point on. This is the response of a truly great captain.

I would like to mention a few current players that I consider to be this class of captain. Steven Price for his grace and character under fire. Darren Lockyer and Andrew Johns respectively, for their individual brilliance that more often than not carries their sides over the line. Craig Gower for his mental and physical toughness - for while I often refer to him ‘Princess Gower’ for his flopping antics, I do acknowledge these attributes. Bryan Fletcher for his loyalty and steadfast attitude in the whirlwind of turmoil and change.

These are but a few examples, but while many clubs have good captains, only the truly lucky ones have the services of a truly great captain. This is what the Roosters were so blessed to have for such a long time, but he is gone and the club must, and shall, move on.

Clearly Craig Fitzgibbon is the front-runner for captaincy in 2006. Fitzy has earned the nickname amongst Rooster fans of ‘Face of an ANZAC’, for his tireless work ethic, and as the man they would want next to them in the trenches of war. In my blackest moments, (also known as nine-thirty last Friday night!), I wonder if we will ever get over the loss of the ‘Freddy Factor’. But then I catch myself and think, who wouldn’t want to follow an ANZAC into battle? And for a split second, the future doesn’t appear so grim and my spirits lift.

Now, all I need to do is survive this weekend…next weekend…this season…

Word Count 739

#5 - Homer's Bowling Ball - USF Bulls
743 words including title

The World’s Best?

Discussion in rugby league circles at the moment is red hot with a debate raging between league experts and fans alike. The question everyone is asking: who is the world’s best rugby league player, Andrew Johns or Darren Lockyer? League pundits are putting strong cases forward for each candidate.

The mercurial Andrew Johns staked a claim for the crown recently with a sterling return to the State of Origin arena, a performance that had many comparing him the great 'King' Wally Lewis. Darren Lockyer has been the NRL’s form five-eighth for the past two years and has shown brilliance in State of Origin and Kangaroo appearances, performances that has made many claim that he is the world’s number one. But is it that simple? Is there one player who we can claim to be the overall best player in the world?

There are a number of other candidates we can claim to the best player in the world. Is it unfair for us to only consider two players to be the game's overall best when there are many who we can claim to be the best in their position? For example:

Best Prop: Shane Webcke. The bustling Bronco pop epitomises what a Rugby League front-rower should be. His hulking frame provides the go-forward for the forward pack; even when marked by multiple defenders he will charge forward at full throttle, straining while defenders pull him down. When his team is in trouble, he is the first to put up his hand for another hit up. He never gives in, is an inspirational player, a true clubman, a person his team mates look up to, and a player the opposition respects. Is Shane Webcke worthy of the title of the game's best player?

Best Fullback: Anthony Minichiello. The plucky Rooster, NSW and Kangaroo fullback has all the attributes to be one of the best Rugby League fullbacks of all time. His concentration under the high ball and steely resolve when cleaning up a grubber into the in-goal is unparalleled. His kick returns often translates into territory gained for his team, his statistics show that he is one of the best metre-gainers in the league. His defence at the back is magnificent, often pulling off brilliant try-saving tackles. His ability to chime into a backline and inject a trademark burst of speed and power to break tackles or finish a try scoring play is freakish. He is determined and passionate, the type of player that any team would wish for as their custodian. With all of these attributes, can Anthony Minichiello be considered as the best in the World?

Best Centre: Shaun Berrigan. For many years the pint sized Bronco, Queensland and Kangaroo livewire was considered as a utility player, covering positions such as hooker, halfback, five-eighth and wherever else a gap needed to be filled. Since moving permanently to the centre position, Shaun has excelled, gaining prominence for his dazzling displays in NRL, State of Origin and Kangaroo matches. The current NRL leading try scorer and incumbent test centre, 'Berro' plays well above his weight in both attack and defence. His brilliant turn of speed converts many backline raids into tries, and he is comfortable running the angles or chasing through a neat grubber to regather and score. His defence for a small man is a testament to his courage and determination; he is often credited with shutting down opposition raids with textbook tackling and desperate try savers. With the qualities Shaun possesses, surely “Berro” could hold the mantle as the world’s best player?

All of the players mentioned, and many others, can be considered to be the best in their position in the game. There is little doubt that Darren Lockyer and Andrew Johns are the best players in the world in their positions, but who is the best individual player in the world? Sure, a brilliant ghosting run by Lockyer or a fantastic cut-out pass or 40/20 by Johns can sometimes be the difference between two teams, but to declare one player better that any other in the game would be naive. In my opinion, there is no one 'Worlds Best', but a number of great players that are the best in the position they play. One thing is for certain; I look forward with great anticipation seeing Andrew Johns and Darren Lockyer play along side each other for the Kangaroos later this year. Best half combination ever, anyone?

Broncodroid

#1 - Broncodroid - USF Bulls
747 words

THE WORD OF WEBCKE

Ten full seasons of first grade rugby league has passed the number one prop in the game. Now, heading into his eleventh season with the Brisbane Broncos, Shane Webcke after another dominant tour with the Australian Kangaroos had a decision to make: “Can I still continue to play representative Rugby League as well as give my best to the Brisbane Broncos week in, week out?”

May 19 1995, Shane Webcke made his debut for the Brisbane Broncos against the now-defunct North Sydney Bears. It was a Friday night at North Sydney Oval and Webcke came off the bench acting as the third rotating prop subbing in for Glenn Lazarus or Andrew Gee when required. Brisbane went on to win the match 18-9 in Webcke’s only appearance in the top grade for 1995. Shane Webcke had been unleashed, he had the taste for the top grade and as they say, “the rest is history”.

r21884_53709.jpg

Shane Webcke headed in to the 2005 season with 202 appearances for his beloved Broncos. He had donned the Queensland maroon jersey 21 times and represented the green and gold of Australia on 18 occasions. In rugby league circles, Shane Webcke despite a challenge from the young bull from Canterbury in Mark O’Meley, remained the number prop in the game. As it stood, Shane Webcke was the benchmark and it would take a brave man to steal away the mantle he sees as rightfully his after a long and successful apprenticeship at all levels of the game.

When t
he 2005 Rugby League season kicked off March 11, Shane Webcke was still penciled in for the number eight jersey for the test match versus New Zealand commencing April 22 as well as the opening State of Origin game at Suncorp Stadium. After Round Four of the NRL competition, Shane Webcke dropped a bombshell that rocked the foundations of all involved in Rugby League.

On Monday, April 4 Shane Webcke announced he was retiring from representative football. This was not a spur of the moment decision; Webcke agonized over this for some time though the right knee injured in 1996 was telling the big fella “Enough is enough! I will help you out once a week for the entire NRL season with any finals football on top of that. Any more on top, I can’t help you out old mate. I am just about spent”. And that was that, said Webcke at the time. "I just feel the way my knee is I just couldn't do that and I think it's unfair of me to ask a club that's given so much and done so much for me to allow me to play representative footy and then not play for the club.

"That's the basis for my decision”

Fast forward to June 21 2005.

The Queensland Maroons are locked one-all in the best of three series against the New South Welshmen. Queensland have lost Steve Price and more than likely the rampaging Carl Webb for the decider at Suncorp Stadium. Price injured his knee in Round Five playing for the New Zealand Warriors and Carl Webb injured his groin in Game Two at Telstra Stadium where we were demolished by ‘Hurricane Andrew’.

The Andrew Johns comeback has been pinpointed as the key ingredient in the revived NSW Blues team. Johns, widely regarded as a modern day great and eventual Immortal, went into Origin folklore just as Allan Langer and Brad Fittler did before him. His deeds in the second half were being hailed as “Wally-like” such was his influence on the game. This led to a chorus of former Queensland greats calling for Shane Webcke to go back on his word and come out of representative retirement.

When quizzed about a possible Allan Langer style comeback to the Queensland team if the need arised, Shane Webcke on April 4 said, "This is it for me. I'm not a fan of retiring from rep footy but I'm certainly not a fan of coming back. And that's no slur on those who have done it but it's just not me”.

Shane Webcke’s word, like most born and bred in the country, actually means something to him. Where a handshake closes many a deal, a backyard barbeque as good as any black tie ball, a man’s word in his world is something you just don’t go back on.

Unfortunately boys, you're going to have to do it without the old war horse for the decider.

References:
www.smh.com.au
1995 Official Yearbook of the ARL by David Middleton

fat_mike

fat_mike hits it up for Easts

When push comes to shove.

Just over halfway through the 2005 NRL premiership and last years grand finalists need to pull their fingers out. The roosters, competition benchmarks for he past few seasons are struggling big time. Sitting in 8th position and lacking any sort of killer instinct and consistency, the roosters are simply not feared by sides like they were in seasons gone by. Their opponents in last years-grand final and defending premiers, the bulldogs have had a terrible season so far. Whether it’s been injuries crippling the impressive squad of players or keys players simply under performing, the dogs season has looked anything but impressive this year.

Despite the performances so far of these two sides, you can never count out champion teams. Going into Round 16 its only now as a supporter of one of these teams I realise that my team had better find the spark that’s been missing all year. With only 4 points separating 7th position from 13th position there is a very real possibility that both last years’ grand finalists could miss out on the top 8.

As a rooster fan its quite obvious to see why they are under performing this year, put simply we’re missing the influence of freddy. Year after year we looked to our captain for some inspiration, for some brilliance and for some leadership and 9 time out of 10 freddy provided it. This year there has been no consistency within the halve at the roosters, there’s been Amos Roberts, Craig wing, Jamie Soward and Brett Firman all tried in the number 6 with no one really stamping their authority on the position. The usual brick wall like defence that propelled the chooks into 3 consecutive grand finals has also gone missing and only recently has started to show some signs of returning. For me if the roosters fix these problems then there will be every chance they will be there in September fighting for another shot at the title.

With the dogs it’s a little different. The injury toll can be blamed for their terrible season. Injuries to sonny bill, Willie Mason and Mark O’Meley have really tested the dog depth and only a few have been able to step up. Losing those 3-world class forwards would hurt 10 out 10 teams. Losing Willie Tonga and Reni matua also put a very big dent in the dogs attack and flair. With Mark O’Meley returning last week and the imminent return of the 2 Willies the dogs are starting to look very strong again. Last weeks game showed how much they have missed O’Meley. Within his first few tackles O’Meley showed the mongrel that’s been missing from dogs by crunching raiders forward Matt Adamson. Like the roosters the Dogs also seem to be missing the inspiration and leadership of their former captain. Steve Price showed just how valuable he is to a football side. The dogs slide can also be attributed to Price’s departure. The work rate, the go forward, the inspiration and the leadership cannot be replaced and the dogs are definitely finding it out this year.

Although both sides have been very much down they still have had some standout players. The roosters and dogs both have had some players taking part in the representative games this year. O’Meley, Ryan, Anasta, El Masri, Asotasi, Minichiello, Fitzgibbon, Wing, Flannery, Crocker, Cayless and tupou have all represented National, States or City/Country sides. The quality is still very much there in both squads, but the usual killer instinct and ruthlessness has seemed to disappear as sides seem to find it a whole lot easier playing both sides.

The form of one particular player in these two squads has nothing short of exceptional. Roy Asotasi has now established himself as a genuine starting prop after coming from the bench the past few seasons. His stats from this year show a player who a player who has taken all the problems of a struggling pack on his shoulders and smashed through it all like a staggered defensive line. His value to the dogs is massive and with O’Meley back the go forward for the dogs looks very very daunting.

So with 9 rounds of regular season footy to be played the Roosters and Bulldogs need find that level, that little something that set them apart from all other teams last year. Push has come to shove and I think it’s about time both teams start pushing people around

747 word inc title

RoostarGirl

RoostarGirl for Easts.

Roosters Coaching Clinic.

On Monday the 20 June, 2005 the Sydney Roosters conducted another Coaching Clinic at Kingswood Sports Club, this is the 4th time we’ve been to a Roosters Clinic out west but only the first time one of my children have been able to train age permitting my son on previous occasions.

My 7 year old son was so excited about training, after spending a weekend up the coast he could not get home quick enough. He doesn’t play any type of ball sport opting for Karate and Swimming (life skills we call them). My 3 year old daughter was extremely excited also, disappointed she was too young to train but happy to just get her picture snapped with Roosterman as most kids and meet Anthony Minichiello. So it was always going to be an interesting evening watching Kyle go through his paces with the players and Brit doing her bit on the sideline.

I was pleasantly surprised at how fast Kyle was and how he kept getting up and going back for more. This from a child an hour before we had to leave was lying on the lounge complaining how ill he felt.

So, to my surprise when the organisers called over the microphone for his age group he said to me “Mum, quick where is my ticket”. We turned around to tell him to have fun but, he was out of there. As the usual over protective parents we’ve become, we began to freak out. Anyway, he was lined up ready to rumble and our concerns were soon put to rest, thankfully.

First off Kyle started with a running type drill with my personal favourite player Michael Crocker and Webby before moving on to some tackle tactics with none other than Adrian Morley (Dad’s favourite). Kyle was hilarious the concentration and facial expressions where priceless as he tackled the bag, ran and touched the line and ran back to the line.

Then it was over to Joel Monaghan for some exercising and a chase the ball type affair. Kyle then headed over to Ryan Cross and Amos Roberts for some kicking at the post, well over the post but, it looked more like a grubber exercise from where we were standing as none of the 7 year olds could quite master that exercise.

The kids then progressed to Chris Walker, and to my surprise he was great, he was really helping the kids. I was happy to see him mingling with the kids and really trying hard to teach them a bit about kicking and chasing, very impressive.

Finally the children actually finished off with a relay type race with the ball in hand and passing to the next in line with players Ben Hannant and Anthony Topou.

All the children were then lined back where they started for a thanks from the Management of the Kingswood Sports Club and a quick thank you from the Captain Luke Ricketson who advised the kids that he would see them all again next year.

The children then all had to line up for Show Bags another anxious moment for a parent when they lose sight of their youngster as they struggle through to get the show bag.

Only downfall of the evening was that my daughter didn’t get to have her picture taken with her hero Mini.

We opted to skip the actually signing session with the players and get the kids home after a long day. Kyle hoped in the car and said “that was awesome can I train again next year?” the answer was “of course”. Our little daughter pipped up and said “hopefully Anthony Minichiello will be there next year”

So as a parent I am so excited now that my children have finally become as fanatical about the Roosters as I am. You know, all parents will attest that you drag your kids along initially to these events because your curious and want to see what they are all about. I have been dragging the kids to games, players barbeques and coaching clinics since they were very young. I’ve been hanging out for the day when the kids actually say to me “come on Mum, lets go to the Footy”, finally that day has arrived and I am no longer going to be dragging the kids to Footy functions but rather they will be dragging me, the way it should be.

739 words including title.

...Morticia...

Morticia for EASTS

Loose Lips, Latte’s and League

With the recent caffeine controversy, precipitated by one Nathan Brown (not of the NRL variety) admitting the use of caffeine tablets prior to kick off and culminating in the statement by George Greegan (of Brumbies fame) that caffeine gave him a 7% increase in performance on the field, I decided to do my own research into the matter. Being a useless subject myself, with a caffeine intake that could only be measured in how many small coffee bean producing republics I already keep out of debt, the man about the house became test subject extraordinaire. Being of the average around two cups a day standard, variety and a league player albeit of very grass roots variety, I began plying him with every sort of caffeine product I could get my hands on. Hoping for results of the ‘super size me’ variety but not having the inclination nor the volition to document my results in any time consuming manner and probably owing to the reality that any ethical considerations went right out the window with the fact that he had no clue as to motives behind my sudden desire to make him coffee and buy him caffeine rich energy drinks, all results are subjective at best and if asked, I will deny any knowledge of utilising my significant other for research purposes.

For years, the Roosters have been the brunt of many a latte joke but, it would seem, the joke has been on the rest of the NRL world when it comes to inside knowledge. When others thought it was a lifestyle choice, a look of sorts associated with the Eastern Suburbs, it’s no wonder the players quietly went about their latte sipping business with smiles on their faces. A Clayton’s premiership in 2002? Maybe more of a Caffeine premiership. But don’t tell anyone what I’ve stumbled on to. After all, caffeine was a banned stimulant in 2002.

Seriously though, sitting down and having a coffee or four is one thing, the recent controversy surrounding caffeine use in sport lends it’s roots to the fact that players have admitted to taking caffeine tablets such as ‘No-Dose’. Rugby League officialdom was quick to slam the rival codes for actively participating in not providing a “good look for kids”. I guess they wished they’d kept their orifices more tightly stapled shut when it came to light that at least two NRL clubs were feeding players ‘Sudafed’, containing the, until recently, banned substance pseudo ephedrine hydrochloride. But hey, at least it’s not caffeine!

So, what is the big deal on caffeine and why has it had its place in the past on WADA’s list of banned substances? Legitimate research into the consumption of caffeine has found that ‘caffeine ingested before exercise causes rapid and significant improvements in performance, especially in aerobic exercise capacity’.¹ Caffeine has only been off the banned substance list for the past 18 months but, in light of the recent developments, WADA is now considering reinstating it. I guess some Browns are wishing they’d never opened Pandora’s box. Hindsight is a wonderful thing and Manly’s club doctor may be thinking he should've welded Pandora’s lid shut as I suspect WADA may well reconsider Sudafed’s status too.

But anyway, in terms of the average Joe, how does caffeine affect performance? Obviously, with my own research, I was hoping for at least 7% performance enhancement but thought I may get a little more due to the fact that the significant other is no lean, mean, fit machine already by any stretch of the imagination. So, after two weeks on caffeine enhancement, he’s still an average league player although I have to admit that last weekend he didn’t drop a bomb all game which is a minor miracle in itself but I can’t claim that as success in my research as he did bite the bullet and actually wear his contacts when playing for the first time since being diagnosed as …. well relatively, blind. And, around the house? He’s still unable to mow the lawns in a timely fashion, pick up his dirty socks and stick them in the washing machine or put the toilet seat down after use but, these days he’s up all night. Not that I’m complaining mind … I get the bed to myself. :lol:

“A skinny cappuccino to go please…oh bugger it, make it a full cream to have here. After all, I’m celebrating the fact that as a researcher I suck”.

749 words (not incl reference)

1) Bell, D.G & McLellan, T.M., 2002, Exercise endurance 1, 3, and 6 h after caffeine ingestion in caffeine users and nonusers, Journal of Applied Physiology 93:1227-1234.

DIEHARD

----
DIEHARD #6 makes a break for the Bulls late in the game..

The Australian Kangaroo Army - Uniting the Game

LewisW86.jpg

During the year we may be enemies, wearing different colours and cheering for rival teams but one moment unites the game, when the Kangaroos run out to represent our game and our nation.

For those moments a rare thing occurs, we all support the same team.

Our Kangaroos receive wide spread support, growing sponsorship and fantastic ratings. But the support is top heavy with the Kangaroos’ television ratings and great levels of sponsorship not being matched by crowd support while club and interstate football enjoys unprecedented support.

Club level support is enjoying a renaissance with many famous supporter groups enduring and prospering and many new groups starting up. Across the nation the NRL enjoys support from The Burrow, The Dragons Army, The Raiders Army, The Bulldogs Army, The Wests Tigers Fanatics, The Chook Pen, The Sydney Green Brigade and many others such as Southern Stampede and Broncos Sydney Supporters.

The fragmented support at the grass roots level isn’t indicative of indifference to the Kangaroos and the international game. Over the last decade rugby league miraculously survived a civil war, that coupled with an inconsistent international program over the last couple of decades are the main reasons international rugby league has been shunted to being least on the list of priorities.

One wonders why our game can enjoy such fantastic fan support at a club level yet our national team rarely play in sold out stadiums.

With the international program finally being locked into place and Australia hosting regular Anzac Tests and now the 2006 Tri Nations and 2008 World Cup, it is do or die for international rugby league.

We need to unite the supporter groups and draw casual sports and rugby league fans to our green and gold banner. Not only pack out our bays and create a magical atmosphere but raise the profile of the games, get people talking about it.

The Kangaroos are our nations’ proudest and most successful sporting team, enjoying an unchallenged dominance since 1978. They are the world’s greatest rugby team, displaying sublime skills, speed and strength. They represent the greatest of our current era and also symbolise the very best from the past eras. They are the pinnacle of rugby league and an enduring link to our heritage.

gksquad.jpg

Next year Australia hosts the Tri Nations and in 2008 we host the World. We want to see the Kangaroos supported and followed by a gigantic army worthy of their standing. Because hosting the world cup is a gamble by the ARL we have to be there to support them. After the disaster of the 2000 version in England compounded by the fact that the Union World Cup in 2003 was such a success, it makes it painfully vital that we not mess this opportunity up.

Speaking of massive punts, off the back of the Anzac Test in Brisbane, which drew over 40,000 people with no SBW hype, the ARL has seen fit to schedule Tri Nations game 1at the 80,000 seat Telstra stadium.

Playing at Telstra Stadium makes us directly comparable to union. They have already had 38,000 people turn up to watch the Wallabies destroy Samoa and have two big games scheduled for later in the year. Both sure to be large crowd pullers. We can’t turn up after patting ourselves on the back from yet another record breaking season and end up with only 30,000 people showing up.

This is a critical moment in the history of international rugby league. Our game’s reputation can not afford to have them playing to an international television audience in front of a half empty stadium. We need to send them off in style and set a high standard for the British and New Zealanders to live up to.

In my opinion it would be a massive public relations disaster.

We want to give the Kangaroos something the Wallabies could only dream of when they hand out free gold scarves to their sponsors, a passionate army of fans supporting them from the heart.

So I ask you to join us. No matter if you are an Eel or a Dragon, a Knight or a Bulldog we are all Australian, come and join us and support our Australian Kangaroos. Help us unite the game behind the Kangaroos.

The next few years will dictate the course of rugby league history, so let us take the opportunity to point it in the direction we want it to go in.

749 words including title.

Bomber

Thanks to the Easts team for a competitive game played in the right spirit. It's a shame you couldn't get your five posts in, but it was a great effort from all involved.

Rally around your new captain Morticia and you will become a force again.

Bulls, well done on getting five posts in again. More thoughts in the locker rooms.

...Morticia...

fantastic effort easts. shame about the fifth but we were closer than we've been in a while. great artcles bulls, you guys are a pleasure to play. i'm shouting the first six rounds in cyber world. bomber, i'm no captain but i'm working on finding a fantastic stand in till we hear from ozzie.

Broncodroid

Easts have done nothing but earn the respect of the F7 Community for mine in this round. I am sure I am not the only member of that opinion, a credit to all involved! I echo Bomber's thoughts, if the same can rally around Morticia, there is still the Easts name to play for and a chance at the finals for the Easts crew if there is a bit of luck falling their way.

Congrats to the Bulls guys once more, we made that pact to "be competitive week in week out" when we stared down the barrell of a 1-2 start to the season and we are now looking for a 3-0 record since that pact. We all should be immensley satisified with our efforts, if we win, we move to 4-2 and in the top 5 if some results go our way. GREAT TURNAROUND!

Bomber, the greatests Vice Captain in F7's IMO was a great Capitain'e and here is hoping he joins the 0.500 club (2-2 record as captain of Bulls) before he heads West for a 6-7 week period. A HUGE LOSS if there ever was one, though the great man should be back for the finals which will be contesting, mark my words.

Godspeed to Mystique!

Mystique

Bulls v Easts

Broncoman - The Kangaroos - A Tradition of Excellence

Sterling work. A good overview of Kangaroo tours of Britain.

748 words

Score: 81

Bomber -The Vicious Cycle

An interesting look at the ebb and flow of a team’s fortunes. Nicely written. No mistakes.

749 words

Score: 85

Homer's Bowling Ball – The World’s Best?

Who is the world’s best player? A look at the candidates. Deceptively well written and easy to read. I’d really love to see what this writer can do with a really juicy topic.
743 words

Score: 87

Broncodroid – The Word of Webcke

Ten years since his debut and Shane Webcke has retired from rep duties. A nice tribute.

Score: 83

Diehard - The Australian Kangaroo Army - Uniting the Game

Stirring stuff, very well written.

748 words

Score: 88

TOTAL: 424

Easts

Bubbles - Oh Captain, My Captain

A look at how Brad Fittler’s departure has affected the Roosters and looking forward to the future. Nice and easy to read.

739 words

Score: 85

Fat_mike - When push comes to shove.

Good article on how last years top teams are languishing this season. Let down by poor grammar, capitalisation, etc. otherwise a good effort.

747 words

Score: 80

RoostarGirl - Roosters Coaching Clinic.

A Mum’s Eye View of a coaching clinic and getting the kids involved in the game. Nice story from a personal perspective and very positive.

739 words

Score: 84

Morticia - Loose Lips, Latte’s and League

My favourite article this round simply because it’s the most entertaining to read.

749 words

Score:88

TOTAL: 337

Bulls 424 def Easts 337

Poster(s) of the Match: Morticia for Easts and Diehard for the Bulls.

Broncodroid

Thanks Mystique.

Well played USF BULLS, a solid score and another week with 5 posts in. Well deserved M.O.M. to DIEHARD.

It has been said multiple times, congrats to Mort and the Easts crew.

Parramatta are next, look forward to the result.

p.s. Mystique, is there a reason no word count on my mark? Was it wrong?

...Morticia...

just a quickie cause I'm at work and big brother is always watching our internet useage:lol: Thanks Mystique for the marking. Cheers Bulls. congrats diehard on the mom and special thanks to the easts palyers who showed up when it looked like we were dead and buried.

Broncodroid said:
p.s. Mystique, is there a reason no word count on my mark? Was it wrong?
Droid, I'd say it was a very minor oversight. I just did a word count and it matches your 747 count. I'm sure that was the case for the ref as well.