Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round Three: The Roosters

Wetcats

Id like to see Tago but i dont think its likely against the roosters. Going has picked up minutes in the middle, i think he might get more. You could give Phillips more minutes and have Lindsay cover Yeo for a stint and Lussick who can come in and Kenny shifts.

Kilkenny

The Panthers recent record against the Roosters is quite extraordinary I hope it continues on Friday night. A 3-0 start to 2026 would be a great start.

Friday night will be our first trip to the new Allianz to watch the Panthers. We have only been there to watch shows and I was very impressed so looking forward to finally seeing a footy game there.

BossyC

He is. I'm sure the chooks were warned about Tedesco charging the ref and complaining/intimidating him so what does Sobbo do, instruct Walker to take the role of on field cry baby.
For f**k's sake grow up! Charging the ref? it's the Captain's job to ask why and how, particularly with a lop-sided penalty count. I have never said a discouraging or critical word about the Panthers football side. In fact I have much admiration for their system, but it seems their supporters leave much to be desired as far as unbiased, unfair, reasonable comments go, and making unsupported rumour mongering claims.

Oldpanther86

The Panthers recent record against the Roosters is quite extraordinary I hope it continues on Friday night. A 3-0 start to 2026 would be a great start.

Friday night will be our first trip to the new Allianz to watch the Panthers. We have only been there to watch shows and I was very impressed so looking forward to finally seeing a footy game there.

Haven't been since 2017 finals. Gotta get to these done up grounds eventually

BossyC

All the best! May the best team (on the night) win.

Kilkenny

All the best! May the best team (on the night) win.
I hope the officials let the players decide the contest, I have been a bit put off by the way games have been officiated thus far across all games. The set restarts are a lottery and there is just a lack of consistency around the application of so many of the supposed rules.

I agree may the best team win.

BossyC

I hope the officials let the players decide the contest, I have been a bit put off by the way games have been officiated thus far across all games. The set restarts are a lottery and there is just a lack of consistency around the application of so many of the supposed rules.

I agree may the best team win.
That friend, has been my whinge for a few years now.

Kilkenny

That friend, has been my whinge for a few years now.
A lot of the games fans often promote the view the games never been better.

I’ve never shared that viewpoint.

I understand the need for the bunker around getting decisions right around tries or no tries but it has taken away the spontaneous celebration when your team scores or you think they did.

the contact with the head decisions, pressure on the neck I could go on the game’s administrators have created a monster. The non stop fiddling with rules it does my head in.

BossyC

The ignore button is your friend.
Thanks mate! As I told another, I am a stubborn old bastard, and have an urge to call out stupid one-eyed rumour mongering juvenile nonsense. Yes, I'm a long time Rooster fan, but I also am a long time appreciative supporter and lover of our game. I have always appreciated the Panthers system and have spoken on that.

BossyC

So Tedesco isn’t a whinger? He goes directly at the Ref every time a decision is made against the Roosters. That’s not questioning the Ref that’s a whinger.
No, that's questioning the ref, his job. Just as Cleary does, or Martin has at times, or Edwards, or many other players from all clubs.

Kilkenny

Thanks mate! As I told another, I am a stubborn old bastard, and have an urge to call out stupid one-eyed rumour mongering juvenile nonsense. Yes, I'm a long time Rooster fan, but I also am a long time appreciative supporter and lover of our game. I have always appreciated the Panthers system and have spoken on that.
I rarely go on the forums of other clubs these days as is often the case any objective viewpoints I attempted to make get shot down in flames, misinterpreted or violently objected too. Sadly I don’t bother any more. In this debate I’m staying on the sidelines I’m an old bugger too and avoid conflict these days on the forum. Had enough disagreements with my fellow Panthers supporters never mind on line battles with opposing fans. Cheers.

Kilkenny

I think any references to being a foundation club is really just a figure of speech.

The game has evolved obviously and with the advent of the NRL the game evolved into a new era.

I don’t think anyone should be concerned or really take too much notice when certain clubs are mentioned as being foundation clubs, it is largely just a fact.

Kilkenny

A Foundation club with a Junior as its most capped Captain… Oh wait.
Ken Irvine scored 212 in an era where contacting the corner post was considered out of play.

The game evolved in 2010 when impacting the corner post was deemed not out of the bounds of the playing field.

Alex Johnson broke the try scoring record on the weekend is his achievement deemed less worthy or is it just the evolution of the game.

I’m sorry but the whole foundation club thing is a nonsense, it’s just a historical fact that should offend no one.

Brad Fittler joined the Roosters during the so called super league war as he was entitled to do I don’t see it has any relationship to whether they were a foundation club or not.

No different to our achievement of winning four consecutive grand finals in the modern era? Is it a lesser achievement because certain sides won more than 10 in row in a different era?