Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rugby League or Soccer? Milking penalties

drake

Geez, with the current spate of players milking penalties (i.e. Kennedy on Sunday), is the game going to devolve to a point where it's like soccer in Europe, where you can't look at someone too harshly. Honestly, Kennedy's performance reminded me of Rivaldo in last years Brazil v Turkey world cup match. Then he pops up running like a crazy Daddy warbucks again.
This crap has to stop. RL is a rough game, but it has high tackle rules as a safety measure, not a piggyback for people who fall onto someone's arm. RL cops a lot of flack from other codes in this great land of ours, my own favourite comeback to AFL and Yawnion supporters is the physicality of it. What's my comeback with forwards carrying on like 60kg soccer players?
If this keeps up, all coaches will instruct there players to adopt the tactic ('cause that's what it is) and we'll see people rolling on the ground, clutching their faces in an academy award winning performance, because someone's arm touched (not hit) their face, head, neck. And the game will lose the toughness that makes up so much of it's impact as a sport.

dimitri

any player who does what ben kennedy did should be suspended for bringing the game into disrepute

Innconu

Tell you what, get some one to smack you two morons across the chops hard enough to draw blood, which if you were watching the game properly you would have noticed was coming from Kennedy's mouth after the hit. Then we will see how quick you are to jump to your feet and keep going. :roll: :roll:

Mind you the NRL agree with the video ref and have laid charges over the incident. [-X

Kennedy got 6 weeks for the same actions in SOO2 so I can understand him if he did stay down. But knowing BK he is not one to stay down and has not done before this game so I doubt he did it. #-o

rourkster

dimitri said:
any player who does what ben kennedy did should be suspended for bringing the game into disrepute
Yes, attacking the forearm of an opposition player with your head is a very serious offence....... :roll:

drake

You are joking aren't you? Last time I got smacked in the head so hard I had to roll around on the ground, I didn't spring up with gusto as soon as the penalty was awarded. That's how fast he jumped to his feet...needed the magick whistle to give him Dragonballs power up!
Yes his head did come into contact with deans arm, unfortunately said rough head was descending, and was well below head height (even Preston's head). Kennedy is looking for a personal sponsorship from Dairy Farmers.
Inconnu maybe you should step out of society, and just watch, just like your namesakes.

dimitri

i agree drake

if their was any decent contact

he would have stayed down after the penalty was awarded

rourkster

Nice attitude fellas. So you're saying that unless the bloke ends up brain dead in a coma on the field then a penalty shouldn't be awarded? Fair dinkum.... :cry:

Fireclown

Absofarkinglutelyright me old son! As long as a neurosurgeon runs out to confirm the guy is braindead and in a coma. He cuts a little door in the players head, checks him out and the trainer can staple his head back together. If he is braindead and in a coma a penalty is fair enough I reckon.

My mate Battleaxe used to do a bit of onfield surgery himself. He would nail the oppositions fullbacks head to the goalposts to stop him coming into the backline in attack but why the tactic really helped us was the trouble the guy would have covering a looping cross kick to his wing. It's bluddy hard sprinting to the corner when you have the goalposts nailed to your head I'll give ya the tip. Won us plenty of games. The Society For The Criminally Insane And Delusional Sociopaths Rugby League Club has the proudest record of any team in any code. :twisted: :twisted:

drake

rourkster said:
Nice attitude fellas. So you're saying that unless the bloke ends up brain dead in a coma on the field then a penalty shouldn't be awarded? Fair dinkum.... :cry:
It's good to see that you were reading dourkster. :roll:
The entire post is about milking penalties, not about safety rules. Making a joke of those safety rules by exploiting them to the benefit of your team. This is a tactic commonly used in Soccer.
If a tackle is dangerous, fair enough. Sin bin them. But what Kennedy (and others) did was pathetic, sly and brings the game into disrepute. The point was Kenndy PRETENDED to be injured, and when the penalty was awarded, he was fine.
As a player in high school, I was the smallest bloke in my local comp, not some bruiser who took peoples heads off. So I know what it's like to cop one in the head and lay on the ground. But i can tell ya now, when the whistle blew, I didn't magically heal and run the ball next hit up. ;-)

rourkster

It's funny isn't it? Brent Kite was hit high by Gee and was on the ground when the penalty was awarded. He was treated and then got up and played out the rest of the game seemingly unaffected. As did the bloke Civinoceva hit (Creagh??). I don't see the Drake and Dimitri show taking either of those players to task over it. Sour grapes fellas.
Oh and "Dourkster" - hilarious effort. Can't you engage in a discussion without resorting to juvenile name calling? Thankfully I don't consider you indicative of all Saints fans.

Southernsaint

rourkster said:
It's funny isn't it? Brent Kite was hit high by Gee and was on the ground when the penalty was awarded. He was treated and then got up and played out the rest of the game seemingly unaffected. As did the bloke Civinoceva hit (Creagh??). I don't see the Drake and Dimitri show taking either of those players to task over it. Sour grapes fellas.
Oh and "Dourkster" - hilarious effort. Can't you engage in a discussion without resorting to juvenile name calling? Thankfully I don't consider you indicative of all Saints fans.

I think you'll find that Kite was replaced after being hit in the head by Gee...

Cheers,
Ben S.

rourkster said:
It's funny isn't it? Brent Kite was hit high by Gee and was on the ground when the penalty was awarded. He was treated and then got up and played out the rest of the game seemingly unaffected.
FMD... Gee went in high and delivered a deliberate blow... no doubt about it. Kite was then treated off the field before he could return. Get your facts right.

drake

rourkster said:
I think you know where to put that one. :lol:
At least Mad Drugs MacDougall wasn't fakin' it.
rourkster said:
Oh and I've got a qwerty keyboard...D is right near R ;-)

Got to give to Kennedy though, he was honest at the post match on Saturday.