Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

T-Boon

A couple more losses and the winning percentages are very similar.
I was fairly certain after hearing about 2 press conferences with Kearney that he was a fraud and we were doomed.
Ryles I have the opposite vibes from press conferences.
He has improved the side. 2 from 4 against this schedule so far is better than anyone could have reasonably expected.
He needs to step up and have more say in our schedule. We should never play Storm R1 in Melbourne or at Magic round again for at least 10 years.

Were definitely not a bottom 4 team when healthy but our current ceiling imo is no higher than 6. I dont see why hell be under pressure this season either. People are so impatient if they think firing ryles is the right choice already. I personally think thats a stupid fkn suggestion but just me and as if starting again with another coach would make us any better. Theres a long term vision with our pathways as well. Hes put in place some systems where we look better but its also up to the players to execute. Rome wasnt built in a few days. Next season if we dont make the top 8 will see him under some pressure though.
Fair enough

Just on Iongi, of all things I’m worried about that isn’t one. Papalii will make a good fist of it and might spark some energy into us.

I appreciate Iongi is young and developing so I am not calling for us to look elsewhere or anything silly, but he has been underwhelming and frustrating to watch at times. Pitfalls of a rookie I get it.

I'd almost rather throw Russel at fullback. Pensini should be good to go or blood Nanva.
I was a Joash fan but but so much currently.

Imo, Ryles is safe - he's a rookie, he's still learning, and this playing roster is horrendous - it's literally bottom 4 stuff.

He needs support from the recruitment team.
I agree, what concerns me though he doesn’t appear to have any appeal at the moment for us to sign marquee players, players often want to play for a coach, doesn’t seem to b the case here

Pezet creates an issue in that he doesn’t run , so all the Riff did was stand up on Moses and limit his attacking runs, worked perfectly. Talataina is a running 5/8 , which would suit Moses and look at last nights game where he scored, took on the line and was a threat, completely opposite to what we have in NRL.

With 2 limited props we get run over in the first 25 minutes in all games so far, Williams is a very good back rower, not a dominant front rower, leg speed has caught up with Junior.

Until we have the ability to sign a couple of elite players on overs to strengthen the roster , it will remain as is. Just pay what they want and get more average players in the 25-30 area, we seem to not understand how to work the cap, not TPAs just sensible allocation, You don’t win without 4 or so elite players, we have 1. Pay up, and put the up and comers who get a bit less in the back end.

Volkman was very good in his first game back. Talented kid. Long term Lorenzo but right now Volkman would offer as much as Pezet I reckon. He just can be erratic.

Delboy

So, the club sends the CEO and GM football9n all expenses paid to the UK to look at Chelsea’s and others in the EPL, that’s after previously going to the Seattle Seahawks NFL program. Guess what, they could have flown to Melbourne and asked the Storm what to do, ie lose a goal kicking back (Meaney) , you replace him with a goal kicking back ( Isaako) . Brilliant , why didn’t we consider doing similar in our hallowed chambers.

No, we lose 2 internationals and sign2 middling ,ageing players , neither in our case replacing the players lost in position or ability . How to seemingly continuing to stuff up the roster by making the team actually weaker. Then they pat themselves on the back and repeat the past, then add a list manager who has not been successful in his previous position, Seriously.

I’ve been begging for us to go for Isaako forever. Great player. Watch him become a household name in Melbourne.
They lose Walbrick , they sign equivalent to who they lost, love or hate them, they are professional…did we even try with Issako, are we going to bother with Timoko or even averillo….really what the fk I’d going on, u sack a whole squad and then sign fk all, I’m pretty sure that’s not how it works

Imo, Ryles is safe - he's a rookie, he's still learning, and this playing roster is horrendous - it's literally bottom 4 stuff.

He needs support from the recruitment team.

I'm behind Ryles at this stage. But he is making rookie mistakes. Currently we are 2/4 so its not terrible considering our draw.
If we did however finish bottom 3 id be contacting Peter Wallace. Give him a shot.amd hope he brings some of those Panthers kids. They have 2 backs in NSW cuo who walk into our NRL side

Wizardssleeve

Were definitely not a bottom 4 team when healthy but our current ceiling imo is no higher than 6. I dont see why hell be under pressure this season either. People are so impatient if they think firing ryles is the right choice already. I personally think thats a stupid fkn suggestion but just me and as if starting again with another coach would make us any better. Theres a long term vision with our pathways as well. Hes put in place some systems where we look better but its also up to the players to execute. Rome wasnt built in a few days. Next season if we dont make the top 8 will see him under some pressure though.

totally disagree with this “ we need to wait till we produce a whole team “ mindset , mate . We should be cashed to the eyeballs in regards to salary cap, and I’m sure there were many like myself that expected us to buy a few quality players for this season that made a very noticeable improvement to our squad and then load onto that with more purchases for next . You still need to be adding imported quality to be able to get away with producing the young talent. The quality players help wallpaper over the young talents deficiencies whilst they learn the ropes.
We bought a Tigers reject with minimal impact who may come good in the future , and a bloke who needed a place to stay on his way to his preferred destination , , who is no better than Footy Dean was for reasons I can only assume at this stage was to do Brain Canasta a solid so the dude didn’t have to spend a season in Reggie’s somewhere or ESL.
We aren’t exactly building anything solid.
in saying that , you’re correct , we can’t sack Ryles . It’s the people who sacked the last coach and appointed a wet behind the ears rookie who’s never coached full time before , to rebuild our squad that need to be sacked. They are obviously inept .
Sack Mon , sack that perennial loser bum Nathan Brown , Rogers and anyone else I’ve forgotten that wouldn’t get past the leagues club sign in desk at a winning club , and appoint Brian Smith to advise on recruitment asap.

So, the club sends the CEO and GM football9n all expenses paid to the UK to look at Chelsea’s and others in the EPL, that’s after previously going to the Seattle Seahawks NFL program. Guess what, they could have flown to Melbourne and asked the Storm what to do, ie lose a goal kicking back (Meaney) , you replace him with a goal kicking back ( Isaako) . Brilliant , why didn’t we consider doing similar in our hallowed chambers.

No, we lose 2 internationals and sign2 middling ,ageing players , neither in our case replacing the players lost in position or ability . How to seemingly continuing to stuff up the roster by making the team actually weaker. Then they pat themselves on the back and repeat the past, then add a list manager who has not been successful in his previous position, Seriously.
Meanwhile the phones are ringing off the hook

Soto

I know for a fact we have plenty of $$$ for season 2027.
So we really should land 2-3 big names. Problem is do we have the right ppl to execute...
We definitely need 2 props, 1 backrower, 2 centres, 1 winger...they are the most crucial of all the positions.
The rest we have coverage, depth, backups to do a job.
We are going to need to pay overs to land a couple of big names which im fine with as the current recruitment strategy sure ain't working

I'm behind Ryles at this stage. But he is making rookie mistakes. Currently we are 2/4 so its not terrible considering our draw.
If we did however finish bottom 3 id be contacting Peter Wallace. Give him a shot.amd hope he brings some of those Panthers kids. They have 2 backs in NSW cuo who walk into our NRL side
Yes, try and think laterally, at the moment we are free falling, the fact the Tigers are attracting much better talent, benji also being a rookie coach and given a silver spoon…..oh yeah plus they are Gypsies when it comes to a “home” we on the other hand have state of the art everything….yet crickets, I’ll back Ryles this season, after that if nothing’s changed he should absolutely go, he’s team he’s head on the block