Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

In a stunning development, professional rugby league players are walking out on their jobs, breaking their contracts left right and centre by sitting down over weeks or months to negotiate a release with their employer.

This flagrant display of self-interest and disregard for the once sacred and holy vow that is a man's word has outraged, disgusted, and truly flabbergasted lowest common denominators everywhere.

"It's f**ken wrong, is what it is!", exclaims Dazz McCrea, a 42 year old year 9 drop out who works part time as a brickies labourer.

"I dunno how these spoiled f**ken footy players get away with it. I mean, if I wanted to quit me job, I'd have to do something drastic like put in me two weeks notice. And these pricks reckon they can just get away with weeks of drawn out negotiations to come to a mutual release agreement? f**ken outrageous mate, deadset."

More to come...

84 Baby

Simple. At his best, Sandow was the best. At his worst, Sandow was the worst.
I agree with that but I think it was to be expected especially after shoulder charges got banned. Witt I think was the most disappointing in terms of promise. All the others were just so meh, I mean Robson and Morts are the ones producing the best, it isn’t going to be high quality group

In a stunning development, professional rugby league players are walking out on their jobs, breaking their contracts left right and centre by sitting down over weeks or months to negotiate a release with their employer.

This flagrant display of self-interest and disregard for the once sacred and holy vow that is a man's word has outraged, disgusted, and truly flabbergasted lowest common denominators everywhere.

"It's f**ken wrong, is what it is!", exclaims Dazz McCrea, a 42 year old year 9 drop out who works part time as a brickies labourer.

"I dunno how these spoiled f**ken footy players get away with it. I mean, if I wanted to quit me job, I'd have to do something drastic like put in me two weeks notice. And these pricks reckon they can just get away with weeks of drawn out negotiations to come to a mutual release agreement? f**ken outrageous mate, deadset."

More to come...
I reckon we all know a few Dazz McCreas.

lingard

I agree with that but I think it was to be expected especially after shoulder charges got banned. Witt I think was the most disappointing in terms of promise. All the others were just so meh, I mean Robson and Morts are the ones producing the best, it isn’t going to be high quality group

Yeah, agree. Since the Sterling/Kenny era, we've only had John Simon, Jason Taylor, Tim Smith (who was a real enigma) and now Mitch Moses who were halves with any real credibility. The Sandow signing failed. The Foran signing failed. The Robson/Mortimer combination was good enough to get us to a grand-final (and was probably a very under-rated combination) but still not something you'd do cartwheels over.
let's hope the Moses/Brown combo keeps developing.

lingard

It's interesting to look at our half-back/five-eight history. Before Sterling we had John Kolk and Graham Murray - both of whom were excellent halves. And we had John Peard, who was an excellent five-eight. We've had Michael Eden, who had an excellent kicking game. Beuttner at five-eight was pretty good. Never liked Jason Bell much, but he probably warrants a place as one of our better five-eights. Michael Patterson could really have been great but was plagued with injury. Jason Smith at five-eight was good or excellent, but just a bit too erratic for my liking - too much reliant on low percentage plays and didn't seem to know when to tone it down or shut a game out.
Who else am I forgetting? Probably quite a few. Oh, yeah, Daniel Wagon I liked at five-eight. Good defensively and usually didn't overplay his hand.

Michael Buettner was a very underrated 6. He was fantastic in 2001. I was also a big Jason Bell fan and that feeling in the late 90’s after Super League when we acquired the Canterbury 4 along with Bell, Raper, Peter Johnston, Gary Freeman, Nathan Barnes and Ritson was one of the most exciting times as a Eels fan.