Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Cloeel

Not only our centres, but our backrowers too.

I kept harping on about it last season like a broken record but we just aren't using our outside men well at all.

If we can learn to use our backrowers who are both more talented then most in the NRL, then the centres and wingers will naturally find more space and opportunities out wide. It beggars belief that our halves haven't concocted a thousand different plays with the backrowers yet. I believe this is the key for all our attack to finally explode into action.

Mark my words, if we can get these guys working together, with deception, slight of hand and finesse then the backline will become lethal. Shoot the whole team will be transformed into an attacking weapon.

The outside backs naturally come into play when the team is patient and the forwards are doing their job through the middle.

On numerous occasions last year our halves would grow impatient and try to bring the outside backs into play with bugger all platform or depth to the attack.

Pushing plays on the outside with bugger all platform and depth is pointless and high risk footy. Mahoney simply needs to provide good service from dummy half and allow our forwards to get into the grind of the game. Opportunities will present themselves.

Our halves are young. Hopefully as they gain more experience they will realise that there is absolutely no rush. Get into the rhythm of the game! Less anxiety footy and more grinding!

TheRam

The outside backs naturally come into play when the team is patient and the forwards are doing their job through the middle.

On numerous occasions last year our halves would grow impatient and try to bring the outside backs into play with bugger all platform or depth to the attack.

Pushing plays on the outside with bugger all platform and depth is pointless and high risk footy. Mahoney simply needs to provide good service from dummy half and allow our forwards to get into the grind of the game. Opportunities will present themselves.

Our halves are young. Hopefully as they gain more experience they will realise that there is absolutely no rush. Get into the rhythm of the game! Less anxiety footy and more grinding!

Yes, I agree with you that we grow impatient too often, but our middle men had dominated many times in games last year especially during the first half of the year, but still we didn't know how to use our edge forwards at all, so our backline suffered accordingly.

I'll say it again, our backrowers are the key to unleashing our potential in attack. They would scare and torment the opposition to no end and that would then present wonderful opportunities for our outside men to exploit.

84 Baby

Not only our centres, but our backrowers too.

I kept harping on about it last season like a broken record but we just aren't using our outside men well at all.

If we can learn to use our backrowers who are both more talented then most in the NRL, then the centres and wingers will naturally find more space and opportunities out wide. It beggars belief that our halves haven't concocted a thousand different plays with the backrowers yet. I believe this is the key for all our attack to finally explode into action.

Mark my words, if we can get these guys working together, with deception, slight of hand and finesse then the backline will become lethal. Shoot the whole team will be transformed into an attacking weapon.
From the media thread

Eels-2-min.gif

this was the most telling one IMO. After the Nrown offload, Moses is in ineffective positioning (Rheed is right behind him), RCG is flat footed, Drown perhaps notices the jagged and mismatched defence but rushes to give Lane the ball, Lane despite Souffs kinda f**king up as much as us decides not to target the opposition half for some reason, Menko though being the one deciding to run is still caught in two minds so his opponent easily recovers and pushes him to the sideline, Sivo is the least at fault but has the most time to recognise his teammates have no idea and could have simply cut back in and taken the dump or called for a kick and then Lane again after the flick rather than thinking run forward, props his run which basically was a surrender.

I don’t think changing sides of the field is the answer, Bradley.

84 Baby

The more I watch that... is that opening part with Moses and Nrown a set play to set up the attack down the left? If so, how it unfolded is even worse because it did actually make Souffs line a bit jagged and Reynolds against Lane but noone f**ken notices? Also I’d have Rheed where RCG catches it (or Moses has to absolutely bust a gut there) that way RCG can time a run better. That’d give another option and give Drown/Lane even more room

TheRam

From the media thread

That whole play is the fault of the halves not having a clue or any symbiotic relationship with the rest of the team. None of them were aware of anything other then they instinctively knew that they had to scramble but how to actually capitalise on South's short comings was lost to them.

That again comes down to the spine players, and in particular the halves. I keep saying it, I don't know what they are practicing and rehearsing at training every day, because come game time, they are clueless and strangers out there most of the time.

Moses in particular needs to assert himself out there with purposeful plays that he is working towards with an eventual goal in mind and part of that should be a combination of bringing his backrowers and backline into play as proper weapons against the opposition, not just skipping to the outside and or shoveling it out with a hope and a prayer.

Then the adlib stuff that he is so good at and loves will present itself off of that. It isn't rocket science, but it take a controlled and calculating mind that has the guile, patience, talent and experience to pull it off.

Moses has most of that, but may lack one or two of those traits, which will prevent him from ever consistently achieving it. We may need to wait for Arthur to be ready.

Time is ticking...

I think our problem is we go wide at the exact same point rather then when it is the right time. On the 4th tackle when in the zone. Like clock work. Teams just sit and wait for it and slow us down on the 3rd tackle knowing we will go wide on the 4th.
If it isn't on we need to learn to just attack in the middle with offloads and support runners. I'd say that is our biggest issue. Nobody supporting and lack of decoy runs.
Being caught on edge of field on the last is about the worse spot you can be and makes tackle 5 almost pointless. You need 2 long passes just so the half has a chance to kick and is being rushed and on the back foot.

I also feel if we lost our flare and played to safe last season. Rarely did we attack inside our own half. I also don't think Gutherson or Mahoney are taking advantage of Jnrs offloads in the middle. Nippier guys in these positions would make Jnr lethal. I hope BA plays W.Smith at the times JNR is on the field. Seems silly not too as he is fast and evasive.
If I am to criticize Mahoney I feel to often when he does get an offload from a forward he looks around to pass. By then the space is gone. He needs to mix it up a little and learn to just take off and make a quick 10-15mtrs. To often we end up losing meters on a props offload.

84 Baby

That whole play is the fault of the halves not having a clue or any symbiotic relationship with the rest of the team. None of them were aware of anything other then they instinctively knew that they had to scramble but how to actually capitalise on South's short comings was lost to them.

That again comes down to the spine players, and in particular the halves. I keep saying it, I don't know what they are practicing and rehearsing at training every day, because come game time, they are clueless and strangers out there most of the time.

Moses in particular needs to assert himself out there with purposeful plays that he is working towards with an eventual goal in mind and part of that should be a combination of bringing his backrowers and backline into play as proper weapons against the opposition, not just skipping to the outside and or shoveling it out with a hope and a prayer.

Then the adlib stuff that he is so good at and loves will present itself off of that. It isn't rocket science, but it take a controlled and calculating mind that has the guile, patience, talent and experience to pull it off.

Moses has most of that, but may lack one or two of those traits, which will prevent him from ever consistently achieving it. We may need to wait for Arthur to be ready.

Time is ticking...
I reckon Moses did alright there, particularly if it was a set play, except to the extent the leading tackle was poorly thought out, as Gutho is the one tackled. Paulo does his job, RCG is left doing Gutho or Rheed’s job basically. Drown f**ks up, he should’ve been running at Reynolds inside shoulder (there’s another video in that review where he does so against Smuggies in 2019) to make Souffs outside men straighten their shoulders. Somehow after all that though Lane is still one on one with the opposition halfback. He needs to be running at him every given opportunity.

We’ve got too many players who just don’t seem to want the ball in their hands

84 Baby

I think our problem is we go wide at the exact same point rather then when it is the right time. On the 4th tackle when in the zone. Like clock work. Teams just sit and wait for it and slow us down on the 3rd tackle knowing we will go wide on the 4th.
If it isn't on we need to learn to just attack in the middle with offloads and support runners. I'd say that is our biggest issue. Nobody supporting and lack of decoy runs.
Being caught on edge of field on the last is about the worse spot you can be and makes tackle 5 almost pointless. You need 2 long passes just so the half has a chance to kick and is being rushed and on the back foot.
It’s not about only going forward or only going sideways though. Both need to options at any given tackle. Happens heaps where teams are absolutely losing the ruck, suddenly shift and make a break. We (try to) defend as 13 guys, we need to learn to attack as 13 guys, not just 2 or 3.

I also feel if we lost our flare and played to safe last season. Rarely did we attack inside our own half. I also don't think Gutherson or Mahoney are taking advantage of Jnrs offloads in the middle. Nippier guys in these positions would make Jnr lethal. I hope BA plays W.Smith at the times JNR is on the field. Seems silly not too as he is fast and evasive.
If I am to criticize Mahoney I feel to often when he does get an offload from a forward he looks around to pass. By then the space is gone. He needs to mix it up a little and learn to just take off and make a quick 10-15mtrs. To often we end up losing meters on a props offload.
It’s more about recognising quickly where the space is. In that tackle the shift after the offload is so clearly the right move. There was 6 defenders to 4 attackers at the offload and the edge defence had already started retreating. The very next tackle Paulo gets an offload and we shifted it back the other way but that time the defence didn’t retreat (except the winger was in position for a kick) so yeah we shouldn’t have spread it (or spread it all the way to Fergo)

Gazzamatta

Engagement of the markers from our D/H will ease defensive pressure as well. The opposition know Rheed has been instructed not to run and the only time it's even a thought in his mind, following a quick ptb, he is generally moved aside by Gutho. We need more from Rheed and a little less from The King. Defences seem to know exactly what our strategy is. Hopefully Joey has a plan to improve this because BA dosent think its an issue or hasn't these past many years.

TheRam

I reckon Moses did alright there, particularly if it was a set play, except to the extent the leading tackle was poorly thought out, as Gutho is the one tackled. Paulo does his job, RCG is left doing Gutho or Rheed’s job basically. Drown f**ks up, he should’ve been running at Reynolds inside shoulder (there’s another video in that review where he does so against Smuggies in 2019) to make Souffs outside men straighten their shoulders. Somehow after all that though Lane is still one on one with the opposition halfback. He needs to be running at him every given opportunity.

We’ve got too many players who just don’t seem to want the ball in their hands

I picked out Moses because how the team plays ultimately is like how the leading half or halves behave out there.

The team is an extension of them. Moses is our main man. He sets the tone. If he is a panicker or in two minds, that "feeling" tone runs through the whole squad. He needs to give them clear and precise direction and confidence.

When Lane didn't take Reynolds on that is a sign that he lacked confidence, just like the whole movement displayed a rushed and panicked shift. He was only following suit.

We need someone that can settle them down and give the team confidence in playing to each of their strengths. Lanes strengths for example are many, including size, power and slight of hand, so why did he just panic and shovel the ball on? It is a confidence game just as much as power and skill. That starts back at training.

We need a playmaker that can give the team that confidence and calm that is vital in these big games so players like Lane will then back themselves accordingly. Remember a player like Lane is still learning and has only played in crappy teams or teams that were coming from low positions and were leaning to play well themselves. So he and most of our players need the right type of leader/s out there to get them to use their talents correctly and consistently.

That is why a player like Cronk is so vital to a team and why he took the Chooks to the next level. Any surprise that they couldn't win it without him last year. There halves were erratic and inconsistent without him.

So the team that ended up winning it was the team that had the most calmest playmaker of all time in their team...the GOAT.

Not saying that you need a GOAT to win it, but you need someone or someones of that calm and experience to get the job done. Moses needs to stand up. Mahoney and Brown are way to inexperienced and young at this stage to have that type of presence on the field. In particular, Brown is still learning how to be a 1st grade half.

It rests with Moses at this stage. He is the key. If he fails again to shoot consistent and varying potent bullets out there, so too will our team.

84 Baby

I picked out Moses because how the team plays ultimately is like how the leading half or halves behave out there.

The team is an extension of them. Moses is our main man. He sets the tone. If he is a panicker or in two minds, that "feeling" tone runs through the whole squad. He needs to give them clear and precise direction and confidence.

When Lane didn't take Reynolds on that is a sign that he lacked confidence, just like the whole movement displayed a rushed and panicked shift. He was only following suit.

We need someone that can settle them down and give the team confidence in playing to each of their strengths. Lanes strengths for example are many, including size, power and slight of hand, so why did he just panic and shovel the ball on? It is a confidence game just as much as power and skill. That starts back at training.

We need a playmaker that can give the team that confidence and calm that is vital in these big games so players like Lane will then back themselves accordingly. Remember a player like Lane is still learning and has only played in crappy teams or teams that were coming from low positions and were leaning to play well themselves. So he and most of our players need the right type of leader/s out there to get them to use their talents correctly and consistently.

That is why a player like Cronk is so vital to a team and why he took the Chooks to the next level. Any surprise that they couldn't win it without him last year. There halves were erratic and inconsistent without him.

So the team that ended up winning it was the team that had the most calmest playmaker of all time in their team...the GOAT.

Not saying that you need a GOAT to win it, but you need someone or someones of that calm and experience to get the job done. Moses needs to stand up. Mahoney and Brown are way to inexperienced and young at this stage to have that type of presence on the field. In particular, Brown is still learning how to be a 1st grade half.

It rests with Moses at this stage. He is the key. If he fails again to shoot consistent and varying potent bullets out there, so too will our team.
When people are rushed or unconfident they resort to what’s comfortable. So if he was unconfident here, then his tendency is to pass. Thats not his role. And even the best teams get rushed at times.

And resting everything on one guys shoulders is ridiculous. You may as well concede to Pou’s winning percentage being the mark of if a player is good enough. What if that player gets injured? Do you forfeit the season?Yes certain players will have more decisions to make but every player needs to do their job and they need to know once the ball is in their hands, they are the chief decision maker. You can look to shift blame all you want but once Lane got the ball each time, he completely f**ked up. No excuses!

TheRam

When people are rushed or unconfident they resort to what’s comfortable. So if he was unconfident here, then his tendency is to pass. Thats not his role. And even the best teams get rushed at times.

And resting everything on one guys shoulders is ridiculous. You may as well concede to Pou’s winning percentage being the mark of if a player is good enough. What if that player gets injured? Do you forfeit the season?Yes certain players will have more decisions to make but every player needs to do their job and they need to know once the ball is in their hands, they are the chief decision maker. You can look to shift blame all you want but once he got the ball each time, he completely f**ked up. No excuses!

Your interpretation of what I am saying is a little off. Moses is and has been billed by our very own coach that this is "his team" but of course every player has to do their bit and shoulder some responsibility.

You may not like it or even agree, but the reality is yes, if your main playmaker gets injured, then 99% of the time a teams chances are ruined as far as winning the title is concerned. One of the more obvious and famous examples of this is when Sticky broke his leg when he was part of those great Raiders sides, even with all those seasoned superstars they couldn't overcome his loss.

But there are countless examples that if you take out the main guy that leads a team around and calls the plays such as when he tells players when and where to go, you know directs them and tells them exactly the type of line he wants them to run and the precise time he wants them there, or the guy that demands the dummy half give him the ball in front of him at chest level and at the speed and strength appropriate for the play. Or to hit it up the middle and work a team over and over until it is time to take advantage of the damage that you have inflicted. The guy that does this with his deft little passes that gets the team to desired points on the field to action the heads up practiced appropriate plays. If this guy is missing then you basically have a disjointed unsure of themselves kind of lesser team that will become frustrated and foment individuals to take it upon themselves to do something risky and win the game with varying success and ultimately a lot of uncertainty and loss of confidence will ensure amongst the players.

Sorry but that is the facts of a RL team. A playmaker will either make or break a team. Without the right one, the rest of the players no matter how good will never play to the best of their abilities consistently enough to win many major pressure games(if any) let alone the title.

Moses is our main playmaker, even though Brown has been taking more and more of that responsibility over the course of time. But it is Moses that the coach, team and fans are looking to to lead us under pressure, admirably supported by the King as well at times. But Moses sets the tone and how he goes about things the team will follow.

If he gives nothing or panics as he did so often in the second half of last season, then the team will play and look much the same.

It's not that hard mate. Just watch Moses. However he plays the rest of the guys follow suit. In lesser games or on some occasions you will have players like Gutho standup like he did in that Semi last year, and save us like he nearly did, but ultimately it will not be enough.

Your main playmaker needs to be on song and the rest will follow. There are very few exceptions to this (rule) truth.

84 Baby

Your interpretation of what I am saying is a little off. Moses is and has been billed by our very own coach that this is "his team" but of course every player has to do their bit and shoulder some responsibility.

You may not like it or even agree, but the reality is yes, if your main playmaker gets injured, then 99% of the time a teams chances are ruined as far as winning the title is concerned. One of the more obvious and famous examples of this is when Sticky broke his leg when he was part of those great Raiders sides, even with all those seasoned superstars they couldn't overcome his loss.

But there are countless examples that if you take out the main guy that leads a team around and calls the plays such as when he tells players when and where to go, you know directs them and tells them exactly the type of line he wants them to run and the precise time he wants them there, or the guy that demands the dummy half give him the ball in front of him at chest level and at the speed and strength appropriate for the play. Or to hit it up the middle and work a team over and over until it is time to take advantage of the damage that you have inflicted. The guy that does this with his deft little passes that gets the team to desired points on the field to action the heads up practiced appropriate plays. If this guy is missing then you basically have a disjointed unsure of themselves kind of lesser team that will become frustrated and foment individuals to take it upon themselves to do something risky and win the game with varying success and ultimately a lot of uncertainty and loss of confidence will ensure amongst the players.

Sorry but that is the facts of a RL team. A playmaker will either make or break a team. Without the right one, the rest of the players no matter how good will never play to the best of their abilities consistently enough to win many major pressure games(if any) let alone the title.

Moses is our main playmaker, even though Brown has been taking more and more of that responsibility over the course of time. But it is Moses that the coach, team and fans are looking to to lead us under pressure, admirably supported by the King as well at times. But Moses sets the tone and how he goes about things the team will follow.

If he gives nothing or panics as he did so often in the second half of last season, then the team will play and look much the same.

It's not that hard mate. Just watch Moses. However he plays the rest of the guys follow suit. In lesser games or on some occasions you will have players like Gutho standup like he did in that Semi last year, and save us like he nearly did, but ultimately it will not be enough.

Your main playmaker needs to be on song and the rest will follow. There are very few exceptions to this (rule) truth.
I just don’t feel you can burden any one player with dictating his teammates attitudes. If Moses is running around with shit in his pants, it’s his teammates jobs to realise he’s shat himself and bring him back in line, just as much in that video play he’d have every right to bring Drown and Lane back in line. Moses’ role is in decision making; responsibility and communication is everyone’s role