Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Manly were okay but you didn't predict the Storm would play so poorly. 71% completions ffs. The Tigers would've beaten them.

No. See when a side uses ferocious defense as Manly did they wear you out and fatigue leads to errors. When a halfback uses a varied kicking game he also creates errors.
Errors come from pressure, good kicking and ferocious defense. Don't always think errors aren't forced from the other side playing well. It's easy to execute plays when the defense isn't in your face amd you have time and its easy catch kicks that are identical with no real pressure. How many bombs I've seen us put in this year while we are in the red zone and not even have someone contesting is kind of embarrassing. Of course they won't drop the f**king ball

Pazza

No. See when a side uses ferocious defense as Manly did they wear you out and fatigue leads to errors. When a halfback uses a varied kicking game he also creates errors.
Errors come from pressure, good kicking and ferocious defense. Don't always think errors aren't forced from the other side playing well. It's easy to execute plays when the defense isn't in your face amd you have time and its easy catch kicks that are identical with no real pressure. How many bombs I've seen us put in this year while we are in the red zone and not even have someone contesting is kind of embarrassing. Of course they won't drop the f**king ball

That was awesome to read, there is so much going on in a footy game it's not funny.

We are a very passive footy side, we do what we do well but we really don't force the issue.

That was awesome to read, there is so much going on in a footy game it's not funny.

We are a very passive footy side, we do what we do well but we really don't force the issue.

Penrith won two comps using ferocious defense. There was nothing that dynamic or special with their attack. They just bashed the ass out of sides till they sapped them of energy then run riot. Not like they are full off these attacking weapons like say Brisbane or Souths. Just fit and well balanced guys all over the park that don't leave space or gaps in defense.

For the sides attacking they need to force passes or try something out of the normal to score points. This puts you off your normal game. You feel deflated and start to make errors. Its almost like they are playing a game of chess. Mentally draining you. Then crush you.

We play our own game well. We don't seem to be able to put other sides off their game. Untill then you ain't winning shit.

See when a side uses ferocious defense as Manly did they wear you out and fatigue leads to errors.
No they wear themselves out if you stay patient. You only make errors if you get frustrated and try to take shortcuts, which is what Melbourne did. A big pack like Manly’s can’t keep it up for 80 minutes against a disciplined opponent. Even the Panthers’ lightweight pack eventually slows down their line speed if they don’t dominate possession.

How many bombs I've seen us put in this year while we are in the red zone and not even have someone contesting is kind of embarrassing. Of course they won't drop the f**king ball
It’s not about increasing randomness (opponent errors or seven tackle sets), it’s about controlling where the opposition starts their sets (inside their 20, near the sideline). You need to try and understand why teams use certain tactics, not just assume you know better than blokes who get paid hundreds of thousands of dollars to make these decisions.

You feel deflated
This is where discipline and onfield leadership comes into it. Players need to overcome their feelings and play smart, not emotional. As Gallen once said after soaking up an aggressive start by the Eels, sometimes you just have to let them bash you until they wear themselves out.

Pazza

Penrith won two comps using ferocious defense.

We play our own game well. We don't seem to be able to put other sides off their game. Untill then you ain't winning shit.

It's why we struggle so much when we are off our game, we rely on high completions to win the contest cause we don't force the opposition into any errors. We just wanna go set for set and strangle the other team with Moses long kicking game. It's not a bad strategy but completely falls apart if we aren't doing all the little things right.

I'll tell you what is gash, the retention and recruitment of our NRLW team. We have basically lost the majority of our best players and have signed virtually no one. Good to see the girls are following in the footsteps of the men and plan on never winning the title as an NRL team. Genius's.

Yeah Go Parra!!!

Can't wait for the girls season to start. Development club through and through.

we just signed 2 rep halves mate, not too shabby

It's why we struggle so much when we are off our game, we rely on high completions to win the contest cause we don't force the opposition into any errors. We just wanna go set for set and strangle the other team with Moses long kicking game. It's not a bad strategy but completely falls apart if we aren't doing all the little things right.
What we do suits our roster. You'll find what other clubs are doing suits their rosters as well.

Stevie

I'll tell you what is gash, the retention and recruitment of our NRLW team. We have basically lost the majority of our best players and have signed virtually no one. Good to see the girls are following in the footsteps of the men and plan on never winning the title as an NRL team. Genius's.

Yeah Go Parra!!!

Can't wait for the girls season to start. Development club through and through.
I am a Parra tragic but I genuinely couldn’t give a f**k about NRLW or whatever the f**k it’s called.

No they wear themselves out if you stay patient. You only make errors if you get frustrated and try to take shortcuts, which is what Melbourne did. A big pack like Manly’s can’t keep it up for 80 minutes against a disciplined opponent. Even the Panthers’ lightweight pack eventually slows down their line speed if they don’t dominate possession.

Well after 3 straight grand finals amd 2 premierships I would say its a smarter tactics then ours.

It’s not about increasing randomness (opponent errors or seven tackle sets), it’s about controlling where the opposition starts their sets (inside their 20, near the sideline). You need to try and understand why teams use certain tactics, not just assume you know better than blokes who get paid hundreds of thousands of dollars to make these decisions.

Randomness means players will have to make more decisions and different types. Doing the same thing and they will know what is coming. Unsure why you would argue this. Its basic

I am a Parra tragic but I genuinely couldn’t give a f**k about NRLW or whatever the f**k it’s called.

I see it as a different sport. I personally was suprised how good it is. In 10yrs time I reckon many peoples opinion will change. The girls will get better now there is money in it. It is never going to be as physical as the men's game. Buts that fine.

Well after 3 straight grand finals amd 2 premierships I would say its a smarter tactics then ours.
It's cool that Cleary finally figured out tactics after 16 years. Hopefully Arthur figures it out by then as well. Poor old Sticky was a tactical genius in his first couple of years and now he's as bad as Ivan Cleary was in 2019.