Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

King-Gutho94

It should be up to the NRL to ban these merkins, otherwise any sacked star becomes some other club’s gain.
I agree

Canberra Raiders carried the can for this 15 or so years ago only to see the likes of Blake Ferguson, Todd Carney & Josh Dugan get picked up at other clubs 12 months later.

And the NRL did nothing about it.

2 of those players ended up at the Chooks via there return to the game.

Sure and Latrell Mitchell should have been booted form NRL yonks ago, but he's too f**king good.

As a driving offence JAC is facing $682 fine and a three-month driving suspension without the need to go to court.

No I am not rooting for him. I am just saying that from a society perspective POV, it is low tier.

I forgot to add, roadside testing tests for the presence of the drugs in your system. It does not judge you on impairment. Cocaine can be detected in your system from a roadside test 24 hours after use.

Matty Bhoy

Your whole optimistic slant. Yeah sure he is doing it his way, but he hardly has any real runs on the board being a rookie coach and all and he is losing a hell of a lot of quality and invaluable experience and replacing then with unproven rookies who are hardly the next big thing in the junior world, so that alone tells me he is taking a massive risk and hoping(believing in his own ability) that higher fitness standards and a different(better) attitude and mindset will lead us in the right direction.

Of course these are all great traits and strategies if he has indeed the talent to pull them off, but I have been around to long and seen way to many failures in all forms, shapes and sizes and I find this very risky when you are losing so much talent and experience all at once and then replacing them with unproven rookies.

Now if Iongi does indeed measure up as a genuine and consistently good NRL standard fullback(defensively as well as with the ball in hand) and Lomax continues on as he has played this season and not regress back to his hot and cold self, and we can keep most of the squad on the park and injury free, especially Moses, and somehow not be to weak up front in our forward rotation, then sure if he indeed does get us fitter then ever before under Potates and he improves our attitude, especially in defence, then sure we may end up in the 8.

But look at all the things that need to go right for us to have a shot at making the 8. Would I have done what he has? I don't know. He might be seeing something we from the outside can't and feels that he needs to make these major changes to get the place right. I am not saying he is wrong, I just hope Iongi does step up or else losing Gutho could really come back to bite us.

But like I said, I have seen to many rookies come in and fail versus succeed. I hope he is in the success category. We won't know for at least 2 seasons though and what he can do in attracting quality and his strength of character to get his own way in regards to junior pathways and pissing off the Ponsni of the West sooner rather then later.

What will be a huge indicator for me is our attitude in defence. If we show a genuine enthusiasm and hunger in the way we as a unit defend (extra fitness will help of course in this regard) then he will have achieved something that the last few coaches haven't been able to and we may actually be moving in the right direction at long last. That for mine is the priority of what has to change on the field more so then anything else. If he can't get the players to buy in to a new and more tenaciously aggressive defensive attitude then he will never succeed as a coach. That is his main task for right now. All else is secondary. That should be his line in the sand. If you can't aim up defensively you don't get to play NRL. Full stop.
My slant is optimistic because Ray Charles could see that the roster needs an overhaul and he’s moved rapidly on it rather than take the safer and slower approach.

It tells me that he’s spoken with the board and said what you’ve got here isn’t good enough for where I want this team to be.

I would take that approach all day, any day over letting contracts wind down and finishing somewhere between 6-12th and having to do it anyway.

Like I said, chopping RCG, Sivo and Gutho is a super ballsy call. But he knows what he wants.

Matty Bhoy

TBF to the Dogs, they have HEAPED the pressure on Broncos with their handled sacking saying it doesn't live up to the standards of a player etc. Ezra Mam HAS to be sacked surely.
The difference is he doesn’t have much of a history of playing up until the last few weeks. They’re not going to chop him. Zero chance IMO.

Matty Bhoy

Not in contract just handshake deal apparently. Don't think they'll actually honour it if he wants to go.
They will if for no other reason than to balance their cap. That and the fact his manager will be screaming to the media about the club going back on their word. Anyway, looks like it’s Pappy who’s going so won’t matter.

12 weeks is the drum up here. Driving unlicensed and under the influence. As much as it’s a shit act, it’ll be a ban and a fine and that’s about it from the court. The NRL won’t end him over it.
Mate he hit and injured a 4 year old girl, allegedly high and without a licence.

He'll get off scot free if the Donkey's and the Courier Fail have their way, surely it's out of their hands???

Matty Bhoy

Mate he hit and injured a 4 year old girl, allegedly high and without a licence.

He'll get off scot free if the Donkey's and the Courier Fail have their way, surely it's out of their hands???
Yep and he’s going to get sweet FA from a court of law. You’ve got grubs breaking into houses not seeing the tin these days. The NRL will hand out the punishment, but he’s not getting deregistered over it.

TheRam

My slant is optimistic because Ray Charles could see that the roster needs an overhaul and he’s moved rapidly on it rather than take the safer and slower approach.

It tells me that he’s spoken with the board and said what you’ve got here isn’t good enough for where I want this team to be.

I would take that approach all day, any day over letting contracts wind down and finishing somewhere between 6-12th and having to do it anyway.

Like I said, chopping RCG, Sivo and Gutho is a super ballsy call. But he knows what he wants.

Agreed, but my fear if this doesn't go to well is that we end up with a hand full of new players that haven't measured up and the older lot that haven't fired again due to injuries and or form issues that may have been somewhat negated if we kept the 3 we let go and we end up at the bottom of the ladder for a 3rd straight year.

If this happens and we have a rookie coach who is perceived to not have hit the ground running and doesn't have a Gus Gould to keep the ship sailing straight and sure and to keep the press, player managers and players all still believing in the plan then we will become a very, very unattractive destination for current and future targeted players. Early success is vital at this stage in my opinion.

We don't want to be the new Tigers, I'm to old to wait for another 10 year rebuild to make the top 4 again. Life's to short and Parra have stolen enough of my best years. They need to deliver ffs! Otherwise I may just do a little cheating on the side and from where I'm sitting, those warm waters seem very inviting where the Dolphins swim.

Who am I kidding? I'll die doing high dives at that swamp they call Parramatta River.

JokerEel

I love Footy players...

When they are playing well and not getting into shit the go "I just want to be an inspiration for all the kids"

When they get into shit it "I am not a role model that's the kids parent's"

JokerEel

Agreed, but my fear if this doesn't go to well is that we end up with a hand full of new players that haven't measured up and the older lot that haven't fired again due to injuries and or form issues that may have been somewhat negated if we kept the 3 we let go and we end up at the bottom of the ladder for a 3rd straight year.

If this happens and we have a rookie coach who is perceived to not have hit the ground running and doesn't have a Gus Gould to keep the ship sailing straight and sure and to keep the press, player managers and players all still believing in the plan then we will become a very, very unattractive destination for current and future targeted players. Early success is vital at this stage in my opinion.

We don't want to be the new Tigers, I'm to old to wait for another 10 year rebuild to make the top 4 again. Life's to short and Parra have stolen enough of my best years. They need to deliver ffs! Otherwise I may just do a little cheating on the side and from where I'm sitting, those warm waters seem very inviting where the Dolphins swim.

Who am I kidding? I'll die doing high dives at that swamp they call Parramatta River.

Rebuilds don't take 10 years the bulldogs are a prime example of this you just need a shift in culture.

On Ryles he worked at the Roosters and the Storm you ask the players at those 2 clubs what they thought about the Eels and they would have said we were never a threat in the past..

Matty Bhoy

Mam doesn't have a history of playing up? lol

Where ya wheelie bin brah?
The phone incident in Bali and this… what else is there?

I doubt there’s a person in here that dislikes the Broncos more than I do, so I’m not defending Mam’s actions. But I’ll be shocked if the Broncs chop him or even more shocked if the NRL deregister him.

Yep and he’s going to get sweet FA from a court of law. You’ve got grubs breaking into houses not seeing the tin these days. The NRL will hand out the punishment, but he’s not getting deregistered over it.
Maybe with the new government things might change??? Because i know may neighbourhood isn't safe to walk after dark anymore. Mainly kids running amok.