Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

You have a lot to learn about the workings and politics of rugby league.

unfortunately, we all know that you are not open to learning anything, so it’s a moot point.
You have a lot to learn about the workings and politics of NRL clubs. They are run by accountants and sundry bean counters these days, and are far removed from the petty 'workings and politics' of the junior clubs you're familiar with.

Yeah i am sure clubs are stoked when player managers weasel in steak knives to clubs to get crucial players to sign or re-sign at the club.

You would be a naive idiot to think it doesn't happen.
I’m sure it does, but in this case O’Brien isn’t the player manager. He’s an NRL head coach with a CEO and board to answer to.
No difference to what's happened at Newcastle. O'Brien owed his mate Brad and got a deal done for his son to be looked after.
I have no doubt he gave a personal recommendation to his club’s list management committee, ‘I know him personally, he’s a great kid, blah blah blah’ but clubs do their due diligence when signing and retaining players, and Arthur’s performance in reserve grade would’ve been the main driver in signing him. For a teenager his NSW Cup performances have been excellent, especially at such a difficult position. It’s not just about speed from dummy half (which is what fans notice) or even mostly about that, which is why there’s so few running dummy halves these days. The ones who do it well, like Grant, have the rest of their game squared away first. Multiple premiership winner Mitch Kenny barely has a running game. The most important traits for a hooker are decision making and work rate.
Good luck to them but eventually O'Brien will lead them off a cliff its what the Bush Coaches do once they out stay there welcome in the NRL.
He’s doing pretty well at a club that previously won three straight wooden spoons. They haven’t been a powerhouse since Tinkler went broke.

Training with an NRL squad / coaches and being surrounded by elite players since you were years old is going to give your career an absolute kick start compared to others coming through the system.
This is no doubt true, and every kid who succeeds has advantages over the kids who don’t. But having advantages shouldn’t disqualify a player from being picked in rep teams if he’s better than the alternatives.
Then add in the fact the club is willing to give you first crack at 9 in every age group ( despite more talented kids being let go ) .. you’ve been given every conceivable advantage to make it.
The Arthur boys both performed highly in every grade right up to reserves, so they repaid the faith shown in them. Where are these more talented kids who were let go, and how do you know they didn’t chase the money on offer elsewhere? Volkman was in Jake Arthur’s age group and somehow ended up going to school in the Eastern suburbs when he joined the Roosters’ pathways. Hardly the sign of a player who just couldn’t get a run at Parra, the poor thing. If the Chooks paid his accomodation and schooling it means he was in demand and got the deluxe treatment. A decade earlier Moses chased a better deal at the Tigers when they were spending big on poaching junior talent. These little f**ks are all mercenaries, and the Arthur boys might’ve been the only ones willing to stay for peanuts due to their family connection to the club.
Having watched junior reps for a number of years , he’s not close to the most talented 9. He lacks the physical attributes of first grade 9s. Hes slow , small and despite what others have said over the years I don’t think his service is good . He does have an advantage over others in terms of his footy IQ but as others are bought up to speed as they go through pathways that advantage diminishes.
It’s a reasonable point and I guess we’ll find out. But the most talented kids aren’t always the ones that make it. Maybe Matt Arthur also has a great work ethic. In that case I hope he does make it over more talented but lazier players.
The Arthur’s are not going to be looked back on fondly by many fans at the club.
It’s natural to want a scapegoat. Go and look at the bullshit in the politics thread.
Brads coaching was maybe what we needed when we were a directionless basket case early on , but he over stayed his time by about 6 years . Jake was given a rails run to nrl as we all know , and Matt was given every possible chance to have a career here and bolted as soon as his father met the fate of every other coach in the history of the game , many of whom achieved much more . Add to the fact Matt went to another club looking for an easier run to the top and they can F off . As a long time reader here I think some of the more outspoken posters are going to run out of a lot of their excuses and BS around the Arthur’s this year . The proof will be in the pudding . Bring on 25.
This might be the case if Brad Arthur’s sons disappeared as soon as he left the club but they both got contracts elsewhere, in Jake’s case while Brad was still head coach. In Matt’s case he didn’t get his NRL debut until after his dad was gone.

So nothing that happens in 2025 will prove your theory right, other than termination of both sons’ NRL contracts, followed by signing on at Leeds. However events of 2023 and 2024 have provided plenty of evidence against these Arthur family conspiracy theories.