Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

JokerEel

If we wanted to keep Drown post-2025 would we have lied to Talagi and told him the 6 jersey would be his? You seem to think you can build a club by playing mind games and bullshitting everyone.

We knew Drown was off contract at the end of 2026 and he was the preferred option to stay. We couldn't tell Talagi the 6 jersey was his if we intended to extend Dylan Brown. Even without player options, you still want to keep most of your best players when their contracts are up. But you also know you might lose them. That's the risk you take. You can't tell Talagi to stay and maybe there'll be a vacancy if Drown doesn't sign an extension or activate his PO next year. And you also can't bullshit him just in case. We might hate them, but player agents are essential, and the club officials need to be grownups and deal ethically with them.

What the hell did I just read..

Oh yeah Melbourne Storm and Faalogo and Pezet..

84 Baby

In 2022 I pointed out how all these POs and 4yr deal would bite us on arse. But I am just a f**king idiot...
What if those POs and 4 year deals were how we made 2022 GF? And if you say “but we were no chance in that game” then you’re kidding yourself that every Eels fan wasn’t excited to play that game regardless of result or ramifications.
That said I agree with you. I can see the pros of the likes of Lane & Matterson, but I’ve never thought of them as untouchable in our squad.
But also need to consider squad as a whole. Players talk and if you screw over Lane now, how does that affect how Hopgood perceives you?

84 Baby

If we wanted to keep Drown post-2025 would we have lied to Talagi and told him the 6 jersey would be his? You seem to think you can build a club by playing mind games and bullshitting everyone.

We knew Drown was off contract at the end of 2026 and he was the preferred option to stay. We couldn't tell Talagi the 6 jersey was his if we intended to extend Dylan Brown. Even without player options, you still want to keep most of your best players when their contracts are up. But you also know you might lose them. That's the risk you take. You can't tell Talagi to stay and maybe there'll be a vacancy if Drown doesn't sign an extension or activate his PO next year. And you also can't bullshit him just in case. We might hate them, but player agents are essential, and the club officials need to be grownups and deal ethically with them.
*ethnically

No it didn't. We lost them because we had Moses and Drown contracted for 2025.

Like any off contract player the club wants to keep.

He supposedly has until round ten to activate the option. Will rival clubs give him that long to decide? If so, they can't make alternate plans either. See why it's not any more of a problem than any other sort of player retention? The risk is around him getting injured while the PO is still active. Like Christian Welch did to the Storm in 2019.

Well you are mate. You sound like a rugby league journalist.

We lost them cause their pathways where blocked by guys with a lot of footy left and long contracts with POs all over the place.

What if those POs and 4 year deals were how we made 2022 GF? And if you say “but we were no chance in that game” then you’re kidding yourself that every Eels fan wasn’t excited to play that game regardless of result or ramifications.
That said I agree with you. I can see the pros of the likes of Lane & Matterson, but I’ve never thought of them as untouchable in our squad.
But also need to consider squad as a whole. Players talk and if you screw over Lane now, how does that affect how Hopgood perceives you?

But they where not. The players where already at the club in 2022 and they where playing for contract's. Amazing how guys find form when it's contract year. We just got fooled by guys who where ditched by 2 or 3 former clubs already.

Well we could of given Blaize a PO to leave if Dylan takes his up.

Talagi is a nuffy. There, I said it.

The thing I remember all out him was the game against Brisbane. He played fullback and anytime he got the ball in the red zone the defense stood still. They didn't know what he was going to do. It reminded me of how sides defend Ponga. They stall for a second which creates space.
I recall that game thinking gee how good does our attack look with a fullback with some speed and footwork.

I think he will be a great player by 2027

I reckon this is either bullshit paper talk or we want Wishart and started it.
Dylan with a dodgie knee I don't beleive would be making any noise.
The more I think about it 50% of NRL stories has been about Parra in the off-season. We are the biggest club in the comp or atleast most fans.
Nobody's talked much about any other clubs bar us and the Tigers.

This is free advertising

Chances are he does his ACL in the early rounds and takes up his PO. Win-win apparently
That's the risk component, and why the PO is like insurance. The insurance company isn't happy when you make a claim but that doesn't stop them from continuing to sell insurance. Yes we're f**ked if he gets injured and activates the PO. But if he doesn't it means we benefitted initially by signing him with the options instead of a bigger contract.

TheCrowe

I reckon this is either bullshit paper talk or we want Wishart and started it.
Dylan with a dodgie knee I don't beleive would be making any noise.
The more I think about it 50% of NRL stories has been about Parra in the off-season. We are the biggest club in the comp or atleast most fans.
Nobody's talked much about any other clubs bar us and the Tigers.

This is free advertising
A partially torn ACL does not strengthen your bargaining position. He may not even play much of 26 so Id not be bending over for his manager.