Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

He will coach in the NRL again.

And when he does Commbank will be packed to the rafters to boo the living the shit out of Brad and his peaheart opposition whatever team they are.

Arthur's a wanker may get a decent chant as well.
You merkins will be able to hear me from Brissy.

JokerEel

Zoso

Pensini takes up his option (some did suggest here that he could go to union):

Content from the article…

Parramatta might still be waiting on tenterhooks while Dylan Brown decides his future, but Will Penisini has seen enough of the new Eels era to take up his player option and look to commit to the club beyond his current contract.

Like Brown, whose contract saga has dominated the headlines leading up to Jason Ryles’ debut as an NRL coach, Penisini is a free agent with an option in his favour for 2026.

The 22-year-old has long been highly regarded at Parramatta, to the point previous coach Brad Arthur described him as “someone the club wants to build around”.

When asked last year about his looming player option, Penisini said he wanted to first see what life looked like under Ryles – and the rookie mentor has made a lasting impression on the Eels junior.

“I want to stay here and I’ve been talking to Rylesy about it,” Penisini told this masthead. “We’ve spoken about my future, not too much, but hopefully the club and my management can sort something out longer term.

“He’s a great guy, Jase, we’ve struck up a good relationship and he’s got strong relationships with most of the squad already.

Paramatta centre Will Penisini is enjoying life under new coach Jason Ryles.

“It’s been a great vibe. A lot of the coaches are ex-players, so it feels like they know how we’re travelling. And there’s been a lot of ex-players involved, too. We’ve got our new [centre of excellence] facilities out there at our training set-up and it’s all feeling good.

“I can’t wait to play footy this year and if I’m playing well, then that contract stuff will sort itself out.”

Penisini’s rugby union pedigree has previously had him mentioned as a potential cross-code target following good mate Joseph Suaalii’s $4.8 million move to the 15-man game, but he sees his immediate future at Parramatta.

The Eels, meanwhile, have refused to budge on their offer to Brown, whose management has sought an upgrade to remove the first get-out clause in his lucrative deal, worth around $900,000 a year.

Dylan Brown, Mitchell Moses and Will Penisini all have contractual clauses in their Eels deals.

Newcastle are one of several clubs monitoring Brown’s contract situation with interest given the uncertainty at their scrumbase and ability to offer a long-term, seven-figure salary from 2026.

An asking price as high as $1.2 million has been touted by Brown’s management.

While Parramatta have been in talks with Brown to remove the two contract options in his original eight-year contract, the club has held similar negotiations with captain Mitch Moses, offering an additional year’s extension if his get-out clauses are removed.

Eels CEO Jim Sarantinos told this masthead last year that the club will look to limit contracts with player options given the headaches they often cause.

No club has more players with options in their contracts than the seven on Parramatta’s books – led by Brown, Moses, Penisini and Ryan Matterson (player options), Shaun Lane and Saxon Pryke (mutual options) and Josh Addo-Carr (club option).

“You always need to be able to manage your roster to maintain your ability to make decisions and not be paralysed,” Sarantinos said.

Advertisement

“We always need to make sure we have a very strong focus on that. If that means, in the future, limiting the number of player options – particularly the number of player options that come up at the same time – then that’s what we will do.”

Penisini will sit out Friday’s trial against the Knights, with his 19-year-old brother Richard returning from a ruptured ACL at centre in Parramatta’s first pre-season hit-out.

Pazza

Pensini takes up his option (some did suggest here that he could go to union):

“You always need to be able to manage your roster to maintain your ability to make decisions and not be paralysed,” Sarantinos said.

“We always need to make sure we have a very strong focus on that. If that means, in the future, limiting the number of player options – particularly the number of player options that come up at the same time – then that’s what we will do.”

----------

I've been saying it for ages at this point and been nothing but deathriden by the BA brigade for it

Ricky cops it on here because he continues to be an egotistical merkin who provides us with hilarious press conferences almost every week.

BA has disappeared and moved to another country. He doesn’t affect our club or the NRL (at the moment) on iota anymore.

Boooooooooods

Honestly it's a bit of banter between grown men. Some of you need to chill out.

Parramatta might still be waiting on tenterhooks while Dylan Brown decides his future, but Will Penisini has seen enough of the new Eels era to take up his player option and look to commit to the club beyond his current contract.

Like Brown, whose contract saga has dominated the headlines leading up to Jason Ryles’ debut as an NRL coach, Penisini is a free agent with an option in his favour for 2026.

The 22-year-old has long been highly regarded at Parramatta, to the point previous coach Brad Arthur described him as “someone the club wants to build around”.

When asked last year about his looming player option, Penisini said he wanted to first see what life looked like under Ryles – and the rookie mentor has made a lasting impression on the Eels junior.

“I want to stay here and I’ve been talking to Rylesy about it,” Penisini told this masthead. “We’ve spoken about my future, not too much, but hopefully the club and my management can sort something out longer term.

“He’s a great guy, Jase, we’ve struck up a good relationship and he’s got strong relationships with most of the squad already.

“It’s been a great vibe. A lot of the coaches are ex-players, so it feels like they know how we’re travelling. And there’s been a lot of ex-players involved, too. We’ve got our new [centre of excellence] facilities out there at our training set-up and it’s all feeling good.

“I can’t wait to play footy this year and if I’m playing well, then that contract stuff will sort itself out.”

Penisini’s rugby union pedigree has previously had him mentioned as a potential cross-code target following good mate Joseph Suaalii’s $4.8 million move to the 15-man game, but he sees his immediate future at Parramatta.

The Eels, meanwhile, have refused to budge on their offer to Brown, whose management has sought an upgrade to remove the first get-out clause in his lucrative deal, worth around $900,000 a year.

Dylan Brown, Mitchell Moses and Will Penisini all have contractual clauses in their Eels deals.

Newcastle are one of several clubs monitoring Brown’s contract situation with interest given the uncertainty at their scrumbase and ability to offer a long-term, seven-figure salary from 2026.

While Parramatta have been in talks with Brown to remove the two contract options in his original eight-year contract, the club has held similar negotiations with captain Mitch Moses, offering an additional year’s extension if his get-out clauses are removed.

Eels CEO Jim Sarantinos told this masthead last year that the club will look to limit contracts with player options given the headaches they often cause.

No club has more players with options in their contracts than the seven on Parramatta’s books – led by Brown, Moses, Penisini and Ryan Matterson (player options), Shaun Lane and Saxon Pryke (mutual options) and Josh Addo-Carr (club option).

Advertisement

Penisini will sit out Friday’s trial against the Knights, with his 19-year-old brother Richard returning from a ruptured ACL at centre in Parramatta’s first pre-season hit-out.

I didn't realise he had a PO as well. Sounds like he is on a lot more the I thought if he didn't bother testing the market.
Looked a good kid when debut but rather then improving he stagnated in 23 and then went backwards in 2024.
Let's see if Ryles can improve him. Seing photos of Jnr and Grieg and gee the boys look fit.

King-Gutho94

----------

I've been saying it for ages at this point and been nothing but deathriden by the BA brigade for it
That BA fan brigade will be ancient history once Ryles gets the train rolling and rocking.

Zoso

Advertisement

“It’s been a great vibe. A lot of the coaches are ex-players, so it feels like they know how we’re travelling.”

Both Lomax and Penisini loving the environment and coaching.
Can’t wait to see how the vibes translate in the field.