Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

He's obviously being overpaid.
"Sign him and just get it done!"

Yep. I still rate him and think he'll come good. And I'm guessing he is on a out 500k which at the time of contract probably seemed fair. If he tested the market right now I think he'd wipe 100k off what he would be getting.
Even after a woefull season tho he still broke heaps of tackles. I'm backing him to shine

“You always need to be able to manage your roster to maintain your ability to make decisions and not be paralysed,” Sarantinos said.

“We always need to make sure we have a very strong focus on that. If that means, in the future, limiting the number of player options – particularly the number of player options that come up at the same time – then that’s what we will do.”

----------

I've been saying it for ages at this point and been nothing but deathriden by the BA brigade for it
It's not BA who signed off on those contracts, it was Sarantinos. The same bloke now telling the media what he wants them to hear. He is just managing the narrative. "If... then..." is a total non-commitment.

I thought they were done when Jim and Sean said parramatta was a well resourced club.
What they say is less important than what they do. 2025 and we finally have our own permanent facility and a bunch of full time pathways staff? Penrith have had that shit for nearly a decade. But but but we are well resourced.

Legal Eel

“You always need to be able to manage your roster to maintain your ability to make decisions and not be paralysed,” Sarantinos said.

“We always need to make sure we have a very strong focus on that. If that means, in the future, limiting the number of player options – particularly the number of player options that come up at the same time – then that’s what we will do.”

----------

I've been saying it for ages at this point and been nothing but deathriden by the BA brigade for it
Wait, POs can paralyse your roster planning?

I thought POs were just like a contract expiring? I think Sarantinos and MON need a few weeks at Pou’s Remedial School for Rugby League Economics…lesson 1 is how to know the value of a player without ever watching a game

Gazzamatta

Yep. I still rate him and think he'll come good. And I'm guessing he is on a out 500k which at the time of contract probably seemed fair. If he tested the market right now I think he'd wipe 100k off what he would be getting.
Even after a woefull season tho he still broke heaps of tackles. I'm backing him to shine
Definitely some up side mate. That said I'd like improvement in,
1. Handling
2. Defence
3. A willingness to chase.
I got sick of him being beaten then just jog behind the play.
In Ryles we trust.

Pazza

I thought POs were just like a contract expiring? I think Sarantinos and MON need a few weeks at Pou’s Remedial School for Rugby League Economics…lesson 1 is how to know the value of a player without ever watching a game

Pretty damning when the architects of the plan are back pedeling

Why doesn't Jim tell the media about all the money they saved by offering POs??

Having off contract players also paralyzes your roster planning. What were we going to do with Moses' money if he signed elsewhere in round 11 2023? We were stuck waiting for his decision.

So yes, they are just like a contract expiring. Don't swallow the media's bullshit.

Maybe BA didn't want the extra staff?

Seemed to have plenty of quality people around during the Smith era, just asked the panthers. They all did their apprenticeships under smith
Pathways staff aren't a decision for the NRL coach. This is why the club has decision makers above and adjacent to the head coach.

King-Gutho94

Maybe BA didn't want the extra staff?

Seemed to have plenty of quality people around during the Smith era, just asked the panthers. They all did their apprenticeships under smith
BA didn't want more intelligent people to tell him what to do.

He had control freak and trust issues hence why he kept his mate Murph for a decade.

The other thing was the communication between the football operations and the front office was at a more distant level then what it is now.

Brad kept his cliche hidden away at Kellyville and there was a disconnect between both sides.

MON was the go the between but even he and BA clashed.

Chammas wrote about it also think in 2022 before we made the GF the disconnect between front office and football operations.

Now how much more has the club opened up to its members and fans with different events in the past 6 months then what we got in 11 years.

That's come from Ryles focus on connecting with the community, fanbase and making sure the players are more aware of what they are representing.

Legal Eel

Having off contract players also paralyzes your roster planning. What were we going to do with Moses' money if he signed elsewhere in round 11 2023? We were stuck waiting for his decision.

So yes, they are just like a contract expiring. Don't swallow the media's bullshit.
I know they are not just like a contract expiring because I have drafted them.

if they were exactly like an expiring contract, there would literally be no need for them.

but it’s pointless telling you this, because you will continue to maintain the fiction to try and “win” your little internet argument and educate the “dumb bogan” parra fans.

Pretty damning when the architects of the plan are back pedeling

Why doesn't Jim tell the media about all the money they saved by offering POs??
They can't get into the narrative of how paying players more hurts the club's ability to recruit/retain talent. This is a fundamental tension between the club and the players, and the media will jump on it if it's acknowledged by club representatives. They tried it out on Gould a couple of years ago, when there were reports of players on unders not being offered upgrades. Obviously it benefits the club to have players on unders, however it is detrimental to those players. The media seized on it and tried to drive the wedge in. If our leaders started crowing about saving money by offering POs instead of an extra $50k-$100k, the media would spin it as the club ripping them off. That's what they're like.

lucablight

That’s not entirely true. If you want to move on from a player when they have an expiring contract you’re free to do so. If they have a player option then you can potentially get cockblocked if you want to sign another player until you know what they’re going to do.

Pazza

That’s not entirely true. If you want to move on from a player when they have an expiring contract you’re free to do so. If they have a player option then you can potentially get cockblocked if you want to sign another player until you know what they’re going to do.

It's really that simple

Why haven't we signed anyone for 2026? Maybe a huge amount of cap is in limbo????