Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Whenever I think of Jim’s mowing and MON, the Benny hill song automatically song plays.

what an embarrassment they are to our club. They are a disaster. How do you lose Galvin who’s a life long fan? How do you lose him to your arch rival? They could not sell sex in a brothel those two idiots.

Wally21

Question. With Dylan Walker adding a different dimension in attack, is it really worth spending almost a $1mil a season on a 6? I’m not saying that Galvin wouldn’t be great, but I won’t be overly worried if we don’t get him.
With a year of footy under his belt, I do wonder if Iongi could fill the 6 role. He has the running game, a great pass and football smarts. My only concern would be his defence. Then perhaps Joash as a fullback?

84 Baby

Whenever I think of Jim’s mowing and MON, the Benny hill song automatically song plays.

what an embarrassment they are to our club. They are a disaster. How do you lose Galvin who’s a life long fan? How do you lose him to your arch rival? They could not sell sex in a brothel those two idiots.
You haven’t said it’s a done deal to Dogs so I don’t believe you

Going to the dogs against Isaac's wishes. Vella presuaded him

i Heard he’s a done deal at both clubs…does he have a twin?

the way this is playing/played out We will know within 5 to 10 minutes of him making a call, because the media will be all over it like a rash and as big a merkin as IM he would of rang Parra and said, he wants to go the dogs and I can’t do anything about it, in saying that I’m expecting him to head to belmore simply because we don’t have the people on board to sell the vision or dream to someone like him.

oldmancraigy

Question. With Dylan Walker adding a different dimension in attack, is it really worth spending almost a $1mil a season on a 6? I’m not saying that Galvin wouldn’t be great, but I won’t be overly worried if we don’t get him.
With a year of footy under his belt, I do wonder if Iongi could fill the 6 role. He has the running game, a great pass and football smarts. My only concern would be his defence. Then perhaps Joash as a fullback?

I reckon we want a genuine left sided half. 750k for Galvin is a steal - can we manage to drop the ball with the try line wide open??

If we do, worth looking at the Dogs dudes and signing 2 of their young guys. Kris Keating clone is really good, and also young. I'd throw 350 at him for a 4 year deal. Dogs can't pay that for a backup.

If that fails, throw 500k at Fainu from the Tiges. LOL!

oldmancraigy

i Heard he’s a done deal at both clubs…does he have a twin?

the way this is playing/played out We will know within 5 to 10 minutes of him making a call, because the media will be all over it like a rash and as big a merkin as IM he would of rang Parra and said, he wants to go the dogs and I can’t do anything about it, in saying that I’m expecting him to head to belmore simply because we don’t have the people on board to sell the vision or dream to someone like him.

The only way we don't get him is if we fumble.

Eg. "You want 750k a year? You were only on 250 at the Tiges. How about 340 the first year?"

piggysmalls

I’m not an expert in the process, but do people in R&R really have that much influence on a decision? Players/Managers would already know the environment and opportunity at each club. Not sure what anyone at the club would say would have that much sway, apart from how much dollars we can pay.
Dogs would be a very attractive choice…particularly with the very generous, billionaire Laundy family heavily involved with the club. Third party anyone?

emjaycee

I’m not an expert in the process, but do people in R&R really have that much influence on a decision? Players/Managers would already know the environment and opportunity at each club. Not sure what anyone at the club would say would have that much sway, apart from how much dollars we can pay.
Dogs would be a very attractive choice…particularly with the very generous, billionaire Laundy family heavily involved with the club. Third party anyone?
Do u even LU mate?

If we miss out on any player it is the R&R team's fault.
If we sign a shit player, it is the R&R team's doing.
If we get a decent player the coach did all the work.

if you’re a national sales manager for a large corporation vying for a big account and your competing with other businesses than I think you need something special within to help it get it over the line….

in short….Absolutely.

Stevie

Volkman has been resigned as the emergency fallback 5/8.
Sandon Smith will probably be in our sights if Galvin goes to the Dogs to play 2nd 5/8...
Galvin is a perfect fit for us but makes no sense at the Dogs. Gus doing his sign now and sort out the mess later trick.
It honestly seems a fait accompli he’s done at the Dogs.

piggysmalls

I can see that…I award service contracts at work, it’s a small industry where I know all the companies, strengths, weaknesses etc. none of the sales people are selling anything new and don’t have to sell a vision…. just negotiate on price. I just look for fit and best deal…and I know the fit part.

Lemon Squash

I anticipate the announcement will be made on Tuesday/Wednesday as close to Origin as possible. They will use it to smother the media attention on him.

I’d obviously love Galvin, he’d come in as a like for like replacement for Brown. I think the way he plays would suit Moses and our team generally. I think the 700-750 a year mark is about right on what he’s shown to date and you obviously have to pay a little on potential.

We can offer him a starting 6 role in a rising team with a young spine, outside Moses. We have the new facility at Kellyville and we all know he grew up an Eel.

If Gus and the Dogs have sold him some crazy dream and he heads there instead then good luck to him. I have no idea how they plan on fitting Galvin and Burton into their 13 together.