Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Parrapat

Jake Arthur is a solid backup. Flanagan is too good to be a backup.
I'm happy for Jake, as I am for Boods and Brad.

Brad Arthur was a settling influence who stabilised our club in our worst of times coming last while breaching the salary cap with points deducted for the season.

I'll forever praise Brad Arthur for how he pulled us out of that hole.

Brad Arthur is an Eels great and everyone should acknowledge that.

Brad Arthur was a settling influence who stabilised our club in our worst of times coming last while breaching the salary cap with points deducted for the season.

1750065394838.gif

Parrapat

I'm serious.

Brad Arthur was the architect of our climb out of complete and utter NRL humiliation into repeat seasons of NRL finals footy.

As much as we can ridicule him for selection issues in his later period every Eels fan has to give him credit for sticking solid with a gutted roster, deducted points on the ladder and a despondent fan base.

I'm serious.

Brad Arthur was the architect of our climb out of complete and utter NRL humiliation into repeat seasons of NRL finals footy.

As much as we can ridicule him for selection issues in his later period every Eels fans has to give him credit for sticking solid with a gutted roster, deducted points on the ladder and a despondent fan base.
1750065864251.gif

Brad Arthur brought the remnants of a disabled fractious series of squabling street fights and built a club we all were re-energised to support.

For that we should install him as a club great.
I reckon he needs a statue erected next to Ray Price. He then can clean it when he’s re-employed as the janitor at the club. He shit the bed when he left mate. His legacy is clouded at best.

Obscene Assassin

like touch footy or Oztag ?

There's also NRLtouch/tag. Regular touch it's against the rules to kick the ball. Last time I played OzTag, 10 years ago, there was a rule where if you kicked the ball it couldn't go above the shoulders.

From memory the PDJRL introduced what is essentially NRLtag into the u/6's for the first half of the year so they could teach kids how to tackle. The usual brigade spoke up and said it was the game going woke/soft

I don't think either of those are anywhere near the level of skill and involvement of aussie rules juniors. Hope to be wrong!

my sons tried Auskick when it came to their school, they didn't get taught anything in the way of skills other than kicking and marking

the following year when the AFL guys came to do it again, they couldn't get enough kids to make a game of it, it was a fad that didn't last long and they've never been back yet the kids still play touch footy at lunch time

I guess it gets down to the product that your trying to sell, no one in our area wanted to buy it, Rugby League is pretty much nailed on up here

Parrapat

Brad Arthur brought the remnants of a disabled fractious series of squabling street fights and built a club we all were re-energised to support.

For that we should install him as a club great.
As much as Hiney and Poupou argue about the role of the coach, Brad Arthur was the epitome of "Cometh the hour, cometh the man".

Brad Arthur kept the Eels as a first grade top class team in one of our most serious times where we could have been dissolved into an amalgamation team.

He has always honoured our heritage as entertainers, and all the whiles loved the blue and gold through thick and thin.

Parrapat

my sons tried Auskick when it came to their school, they didn't get taught anything in the way of skills other than kicking and marking

the following year when the AFL guys came to do it again, they couldn't get enough kids to make a game of it, it was a fad that didn't last long and they've never been back yet the kids still play touch footy at lunch time

I guess it gets down to the product that your trying to sell, no one in our area wanted to buy it, Rugby League is pretty much nailed on up here
They got taught kicking and marking. Good enough.

Parrapat

I lived up the road from Ray Price growing up he was my idol.

But when you grow up you realise your idols had feet of clay.

Ray Price was the best footy player Parra ever produced but he's not a clubman and he's not the sort of man to coalesce a club.

Brad Arthur did all that.

You should at least pay him respect for that.

Brad Arthur healed the Eels.

Today we live in and hopefully Ryles will prosper in a club that Brad rejuvenated.

It's a win win for all of us.

I wouldn’t go that far. He was a good coach though, and we won a lot of games under him. That’s why he lasted so long.

Something I find interesting is that his sons are both captains of their reserve grade sides.