Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

King-Gutho94

Bing bing bing....winner winner chicken dinner.

Big but.....he might thrive at Parra. Ill be clear here, he is a very good player and you guys got a very good player and I think he will go well at Parra. Good get.
In the scheme of things the optics of letting him go before the end of the year is embarrassing without asking for any compensation.

He had another 18 months to go.

I don't think i could have copped it as a Parra fan just makes your club still look incompetent.

They have handed him over without a fight.

I can understand letting him go early come November 1 this year for the 2026.

But what if Api does his knee in round 25 this year and is out for 12 months.

Its just lunacy when you had a capeable backup contracted for next year anyway.

lucablight

TDS didnt leave a job sharing Contract at the Tigers for another one at Parra. This was his major issue at the Tigers. IMO this signing will spell the end of Riley at your club at the end of 26.
That’s a shame. I’ve really enjoyed watching Smith’s rise at Parra. He went from someone who looked like they were signed as a NSW cup player to impressing so much with his attitude at training that he ended up getting the starting hooker spot. He plays with a lot of heart as well. Lots of tackles, high energy, great kick pressure. He’s a real feel good underdog story.

lucablight

In the scheme of things the optics of letting him go before the end of the year is embarrassing without asking for any compensation.

I don't think i could have copped it as a Parra fan just makes your club still look incompetent.

Did he have a clause in his contract to say he could look around immediately if Api was re-signed?

Joshuatheeel

So for all the crap MON and co were getting with recruitment, I reckon it's looking pretty good now...still more to do, but squad is building nicely..

Most of the promising juniors are locked up, all the promising players we have used this year, are locked up. And we have added 2 players who will improve our top 17.....

Just need to patient and not expect much media speculation on our targets.....

BTW - still reports we are interested in Garner.

Tiger5150

Im struggling to see the logic in the timing tbh.

At one stage there was discussion of him going to Newy in swap for KPP early but the timing makes no sense right now.

That’s a shame. I’ve really enjoyed watching Smith’s rise at Parra. He went from someone who looked like they were signed as a NSW cup player to impressing so much with his attitude at training that he ended up getting the starting hooker spot. He plays with a lot of heart as well. Lots of tackles, high energy, great kick pressure. He’s a real feel good underdog story.
Riley will have plenty of game time, standard having 2 hookers these days, don’t listen to ole mate, he’s just dirty they’ve lost another

JokerEel

So for all the crap MON and co were getting with recruitment, I reckon it's looking pretty good now...still more to do, but squad is building nicely..

Most of the promising juniors are locked up, all the promising players we have used this year, are locked up. And we have added 2 players who will improve our top 17.....

The jury is still out...

So far we have recruited for next year 2 players that were not wanted by their current clubs...

MONs job isn't just the recruiting it's the leading of development for the players coming through which still isn't looking great in my books.

T-Boon

Is it part of their plan to not have any dealings with Isaac Moses? I really respect the clubs that have that stance. I hope the clubs that do that are stronger for it. He is a mutt.

Glenneel

Bing bing bing....winner winner chicken dinner.

Big but.....he might thrive at Parra. Ill be clear here, he is a very good player and you guys got a very good player and I think he will go well at Parra. Good get.
Can't understand Tigers in this situation and no wonder they are rooted towards the bottom of the ladder. They are signing a 33yo hooker for what...2 years, 3? Admittedly a good one but well past his best and let go a 10 year hooker with plenty of upside potential. What are they thinking???

King-Gutho94

If MON and co were doing a great job we wouldn't be in the mess we have been for 18 months.

It's there mess as much as the previous coach who got the bullet.

As a club we can do better then MON. He hasn't been an epic fail but its always good to refresh that type of role.

His last 2 seasons certainly hasn't been a pass mark.

And why shouldn't we be aiming higher in the next 12-18 months to get an upgrade in that role.

Gherkin

Tigers forum insinuating there were off field factors at play

JokerEel

Is it part of their plan to not have any dealings with Isaac Moses? I really respect the clubs that have that stance. I hope the clubs that do that are stronger for it. He is a mutt.

Moses isn't TDS manager.

Though TDS manager is getting fined by the NRL apparently for some things he has done.

On Moses apparently the Roosters didn't resign one of their half backs in their juniors as he was managed by Moses.. Kids off to the Dogs...

85 Baby

TDS didnt leave a job sharing Contract at the Tigers for another one at Parra. This was his major issue at the Tigers. IMO this signing will spell the end of Riley at your club at the end of 26.
Possibly and if it works out that way, it’s good news for us, thanks. It’ll be difficult to carry TDS, Smith & Walker in the same team. But I think we provide a different job share than he had with 80min Api, where he can now be the senior partner at least. Even read an article from earlier this year where TDS said he wasn’t an 80 minute player yet