Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

emjaycee

Let a player who is being paid hundreds of thousands of dollars to play take sook leave instead of playing where he is picked. Many players in reserve who think they should be in firsts. He got paid by the club to rehab his ACL.
Is this the new protocol to let every player unhappy about being dropped to reggies take sook leave? You tell them to STFU and do the job they are being paid to do. Its the soft option. Do your job like a man.
Unless they have a contract that states guaranteed first grade if fit, then the club should just tear up their contract if they refuse to play in Reggies. Instant dismissal. Goodbye.

Devils advocate here. Bailey is being honest and Lane was gaming the system?

eels_fan

Lane was being honest too, but I don't really care. Play or contract torn up... same as what would happen in the real world.
In the real world people go to their doctors and get a medical certificate for “stress leave” and get paid to not come to work for up to 4 weeks… and the employer has not legal respite to challenge.

the RLPA wouldn’t allow what you have suggested to occur, nor is Ryles being soft - he’s basically falling in line with the NRL expectations

emjaycee

In the real world people go to their doctors and get a medical certificate for “stress leave” and get paid to not come to work for up to 4 weeks… and the employer has not legal respite to challenge.

the RLPA wouldn’t allow what you have suggested to occur, nor is Ryles being soft - he’s basically falling in line with the NRL expectations
I believe, stress leave falls under normal personal leave conditions and is only paid for 10 days unless stated differently in an award.

Johnny88

Parramatta coach Jason Ryles provides Bailey Simonsson update, praises Dylan Brown​

Star outside back Bailey Simonsson has taken leave from the Eels despite signing until 2027, as coach Jason Ryles addresses mounting speculation about his future.

Parramatta coach Jason Ryles says he is hopeful outside back Bailey Simonsson will make a return to training next week after the club granted Simonsson some leave.
Simonsson has asked for repeated releases from his contract which expires at the end of 2027. He only re-signed last August but has struggled to find his way into first grade in recent weeks.
Simonsson was overlooked for selection this week with Newcastle-bound Dylan Brown earning a recall at centre.
He has since taken a few days off.
“Bailey made that decision to stay away for a couple of days which we fully supported,” Ryles said.

He will get himself sorted and back into training as soon as he can. I’m not going to elaborate out on anything I speak with the players about
“Bailey is being really well supported by the club and we will make sure he is OK.
“(Wanting him here has) been communicated. It’s been a little bit of a shock but it’s all footy and we have to manage players as best we can.”
Ryles has opted to recall Brown who has not played since round 19. The Eels mentor praised Brown despite indicating to the Kiwi international before June 30 that he may have limited first grade opportunities as the club looks towards next season.

Brown will start in the unfamiliar centre position in place of the injured Sean Russell. Jordan Samrani drops out of the starting line-up.
“It’s exciting for him,” Ryles said. “He has been training hard. He has maintained a good attitude in and around the place.
“I said if circumstances and anything like that changed we would more than happily bring Dylan in. he hasn’t been dropped. Things changed and an opportunity came up We found a spot for him
“He was good. He was excited. He has been really good in and around the group the whole time. He has a great attitude and team first mentality.”

Stress is not a medical diagnosis particularly with regard to Workers Compensation.
Well it could be be, some of us do work under trying conditions and have deadlines to meet. Some merkins even put their lives on the line at work. Some people also experience unpleasant treatment like bullying in the workplace.

However I would not think that being overlooked for a weekly position based on your boss’s prerogative/discretion to be worthy of medical leave.

Well it could be be, some of us do work under trying conditions and have deadlines to meet. Some merkins even put their lives on the line at work. Some people also experience unpleasant treatment like bullying in the workplace.

However I would not think that being overlooked for a weekly position based on your boss’s prerogative/discretion to be worthy of medical leave.
So based on all the evidence would you say that you may have been a little wrong with your outburst to me earlier in the week? Possibly a little unwarranted simply because I posted it? Or are you going to dance around it @Poupou Escobar style?

They are all great footballing minds that have picked Jake Arthur in first grade..

The skill set was to good to ignore mate. He was just to talented to hold back and longer and it would of hampered the kids development. The only option was to fast track him into NRL. If your good enough your old enough.