Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

22nd most missed tackles of any player in 2025, 7th most missed tackles in 2024, 26th in 2023.
Hmmmmm
Penrith have poor defenders in the outside backs. They cover them by minimising how often they are isolated. That starts with the middle defence. How good are the Titans in the middle?

lucablight

Are you saying the Panthers (TPJ in ‘21) and Storm (Moale next year) aren’t strong clubs?

I think this club official is pulling your leg mate.
I gave the opinion of an official from a “strong clubs”. It’s the opinion of one club that isn’t the storm. I have no reason to believe he wasn’t being genuine.

You think we don’t want to win now? We’ve missed the finals thrice in a row.

‘Cuck move’? Really? You are thinking like a dopey fan, not a rational club official. No wonder this bloke just told you what you wanted to hear.
Do you think we’re in a win now scenario next season? Or are we building towards the future?
You do realise when I used the phrase “cuck move” I’m being tongue in cheek? It’s called being hyperbolic. You need to learn how people use rhetoric instead of assuming everyone is a brash vulgar bogan.

Penrith have poor defenders in the outside backs. They cover them by minimising how often they are isolated. That starts with the middle defence. How good are the Titans in the middle?
Even the Panthers couldn’t cover for Talagi. He cost them the finals match.

De Bellin walks into our 17 every day of the week, possibly even starting depending on what Ryles decides with our rotations.

Kelly probably doesn’t walk in but creates a 4 into 3 challenge with Penisini, Simo and Russell (would have said Russell safe but on signing with Bears maybe Ryles doesn’t persist with developing)

Who's spot does he take and how much does he improve that position?
He will be 35. Probably the oldest forward in the NRL? Let's see how he goes after Christmas or come rnd 10 if we are not going well. I just am unsure what motivation he will have. Unless he plans to play at age 36

85 Baby

“Prove what shouldn’t go against the cap?”

How would the NRL even know about it unless there was a snitch? Players buying underpriced assets is private business. At least with TPAs there is some public marketing component performed by the player or his likeness.
My point was the problem isn’t the enforcement component but discovery. But once something is uncovered then the NRLs job is easy.

AnonymousLurker

My point was the problem isn’t the enforcement component but discovery. But once something is uncovered then the NRLs job is easy.

Bullshit NRL does nothing , they had perfect opportunity to go through fine tooth both Penrith and sharks operations with that Maloney tpa swap bullshit as it proves to me and too many that the origininal TPA the players had would not have been by the books as they wouldn’t have been swapped others by facilitation by the two clubs

All those bigger clubs had questionable TPAs which we can’t compete as our guys would be gun shy after what happened to us

TheCrowe

Who's spot does he take and how much does he improve that position?
He will be 35. Probably the oldest forward in the NRL? Let's see how he goes after Christmas or come rnd 10 if we are not going well. I just am unsure what motivation he will have. Unless he plans to play at age 36
According to our TCT friends he is setting high standards on the training paddock. I dont hate this signing. We have a few young middles coming through with high potential. An extra seasoned pro leading the way seems a fair call.

85 Baby

Bullshit NRL does nothing , they had perfect opportunity to go through fine tooth both Penrith and sharks operations with that Maloney tpa swap bullshit as it proves to me and too many that the origininal TPA the players had would not have been by the books as they wouldn’t have been swapped others by facilitation by the two clubs

All those bigger clubs had questionable TPAs which we can’t compete as our guys would be gun shy after what happened to us

The problem is it’s self-policing and no one, outside of that f**ken Austin Powers looking mofo wanting to try and get some journalism award that no one else cares about, actually wants to police it because firstly it’s likely rampant enough to cause huge collapse of system, secondly who wants to do actual work, and thirdly they all want a slice of the action/benefit.

King-Gutho94

According to our TCT friends he is setting high standards on the training paddock. I dont hate this signing. We have a few young middles coming through with high potential. An extra seasoned pro leading the way seems a fair call.
Well the last 2 pensioners we signed to drive standards at training were Watmough & Hodgson.

Both didn't even last half a season.

Lets hope 3rd time lucky with JDB

I gave the opinion of an official from a “strong clubs”. It’s the opinion of one club that isn’t the storm. I have no reason to believe he wasn’t being genuine.

Do you think we’re in a win now scenario next season? Or are we building towards the future?
You do realise when I used the phrase “cuck move” I’m being tongue in cheek? It’s called being hyperbolic. You need to learn how people use rhetoric instead of assuming everyone is a brash vulgar bogan.

It wasn’t just Talagi. Penrith copped a HIA early in the 4th minute and ran with Schnieder on the bench also. Essentially played a Final with 15 men, so they ran out of steam.

Just shows how important the Utility on the bench is.

I take what they say like a grain of salt....They blew there loads over Kelma, AMS and Moimoisea. No offence to them but they have an issue separating emotions from judgements.......
But you are right he probably walks into our squad for 12mths. I cant see him being part of the 2027/2028 side who might challenge for a title. If its to set an example and standards im ok with it.

Go on…

Name your back 5 if all fit, and thoughts around it. Genuinely interested mate.

Well I am not a huge Russel fan however he is our best defender. I think weak sides should pick their best defense first. Attack should always be 2nd. You build a strong wall and if they cant score who cares if your attacks ordinary. You can choke them to death.

I also prefer Simmonson over Kelly who id put in reserves. Ive not seen Kelly play much. I know he can attack but others have told me his defense is shit and their opinion is better then mine.

Wouldn't suprise me if Nanva and maybe R.Pensini go passed him. They'd have to be getting close. Ive not really seen RP but he missed a lot of footy the last 18mths so its hard to use the age test POU uses on outside backs. You know one where if they aren't in NRL by 19yrs old they must be shit.

De Bellin walks into our 17 every day of the week, possibly even starting depending on what Ryles decides with our rotations.

Kelly probably doesn’t walk in but creates a 4 into 3 challenge with Penisini, Simo and Russell (would have said Russell safe but on signing with Bears maybe Ryles doesn’t persist with developing)
Kelly will definitely b a starter

King-Gutho94

It wasn’t just Talagi. Penrith copped a HIA early in the 4th minute and ran with Schnieder on the bench also. Essentially played a Final with 15 men, so they ran out of steam.

Just shows how important the Utility on the bench is.
Oh well poor Penrith lost a bloke to a HIA early so it cost them a GF appearance.

Sometimes your luck eventually runs out.

I reckon you beat numerous sides during your run who lost a player to a HIA.

I recall Moses copping one at a crucial point in a final out at Penrith - Parra were leading 8-7 at the time.

And on the 15 players stuff

Parra won a prelim final using only 16 players in the late September Townsville heat.

It can be done though it may stuff you following week.

Dylan Edwards was dreadful . And N.Cleary had chance to throw a pass to Blaize early in 2nd half. He ran the perfect line but Nathan played to safe and went himself.It was game over had he pulled the trigger there. I would pin blame on those two. Both had very average seasons tbh.