Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

King-Gutho94

The nonsense about Dylan Brown not liking the Ryles style is a load of BS.

He was offered 1.4million year for 10 years

What lunatic knocks that back and what club tries to keep a space cadet like Dylan on that rate.

BA could have had offered him his daughter and still not would have been enough.

Stevie

He probably isn't happy when th Ryles as he has been told he is a front rower now not a ball playing lock...
He also would have seen how Penrith developed their players to win a premiership/s so not sure if he should be complaining about our recruitment.

Btw I think Hopgood could have a standout season after so many injury plagued seasons.
What I was told was he was one of the players (including Brown) that was not enjoying the structured footy.

Stevie

The nonsense about Dylan Brown not liking the Ryles style is a load of BS.

He was offered 1.4million year for 10 years

What lunatic knocks that back and what club tries to keep a space cadet like Dylan on that rate.

BA could have had offered him his daughter and still not would have been enough.
Mate, I acknowledged the massive offer. But I am telling you he verbally said he did not enjoy the new style of more structured football.

I then said to my mate yesterday “well, he’d done f**king nothing for the last few years” to which they rolled their eyes and said “well do you think he played well in the World Cup..?”

I’m not bullshitting for attention.

Eelogical

The only downside so far since BA was given the flick has been the Eels inability to attract a star player or two of note, imo. The Lomax saga is a fly in the ointment that nobody expected or wanted. Long term I expect great things from our COE, otherwise they should bulldoze it at put up Kellyville Towers.
Are some players unhappy? Well, I expect more dead wood to be flushed out of our system by the end of the year, so yeah. The pressure is on for our recruitment team to deliver the goods come this time next year. But, like always there's a lot to play out between now and then.
Round #1 Eels v Storm.
1769414345914.gif

We’ll only take the next step once our defence improves. Our for-and-against has been poor for years, and even during the 2022 grand final run we ranked just 7th or 8th defensively.

Premierships aren’t won that way. Strong, repeatable defence (structure - which is what Ryles is trying to teach them) wears opponents down and makes your attack look far more threatening.

Look at Penrith, they don’t have any notable speedsters in their backline but their structured and simple play based on defence is what has given them their recent success.

JokerEel

What I was told was he was one of the players (including Brown) that was not enjoying the structured footy.

Yes I can see he wouldn't have loved the structure that Ryles brought. But his best attributes would shine even more if he play d behind the structure.

Let's not pretend as well that the Storm were all structure alot of their tries came from off the cuff stuff especially Munster..

JokerEel

The only downside so far since BA was given the flick has been the Eels inability to attract a star player or two of note, imo. The Lomax saga is a fly in the ointment that nobody expected or wanted. Long term I expect great things from our COE, otherwise they should bulldoze it at put up Kellyville Towers.
Are some players unhappy? Well, I expect more dead wood to be flushed out of our system by the end of the year, so yeah. The pressure is on for our recruitment team to deliver the goods come this time next year. But, like always there's a lot to play out between now and then.
Round #1 Eels v Storm.
View attachment 109209

I think if we have a good season we will attract some players of note. But at the moment we have been a team that recently fired their coach and have missed the last 3 final series. The only way we bring in these players is by over paying them which we know MON doesn't do that...

Eelogical

I think if we have a good season we will attract some players of note. But at the moment we have been a team that recently fired their coach and have missed the last 3 final series. The only way we bring in these players is by over paying them which we know MON doesn't do that...
Coaches get fired all the time. But it's not like we've been active in that area a lot over the last decade+. BA's sacking was warranted in my eyes. This year will an important chapter 2 of the Ryles tenure. I feel it will be a pivotal year for the team and the club as a whole.

Yes I can see he wouldn't have loved the structure that Ryles brought. But his best attributes would shine even more if he play d behind the structure.

Let's not pretend as well that the Storm were all structure alot of their tries came from off the cuff stuff especially Munster..
We weren’t entirely structured either. We still made a lot of offloads, just fewer than we used to. Also fewer than the Storm, who were third in the NRL last year.

He probably isn't happy when th Ryles as he has been told he is a front rower now not a ball playing lock...
He also would have seen how Penrith developed their players to win a premiership/s so not sure if he should be complaining about our recruitment.

Btw I think Hopgood could have a standout season after so many injury plagued seasons.

I reckon Doorey may have a solid year. He was good in the middle. Great leg speed and strong, direct hard runner. I never liked him much but he did suprise me.

I don’t disagree but he is 35 in March. Hardly a landmark signing however I think he will be ok.

I reckon he was only signed for one reason and that's mostly to do with how he trains and prepares for a match. You do need guys like this to set an example for the young guys. As a player I kinda agree with you and I don't expect much but never know he may suprise

I feel like it's about winning games, amd they arent playing park footy . Ryles is the coach. He needs his whole squad to beleive in him and give him 100% and be behind him. And if they dont want to then they just have to be moved on. Simple as that.

Super fit and looking great at training
Had the leaders jersey on for training so is standing out

He spent a lot of years injured also and rarely has been able to put 10 games straight together. He is now 25 and entering peak years. Deff one to watch I think.
If him and Morretti get going along with Big Sam and TDS our bench will have some real punch.

King-Gutho94

Mate, I acknowledged the massive offer. But I am telling you he verbally said he did not enjoy the new style of more structured football.

I then said to my mate yesterday “well, he’d done f**king nothing for the last few years” to which they rolled their eyes and said “well do you think he played well in the World Cup..?”

I’m not bullshitting for attention.
Its not a shot at you

I think it says more about Dylan a new coach comes in and straight away he spat the dummy and didnt like the style.

And while i am at it f**k him we gave him a lifetime deal and he pissed a season away for the club less then 6 months later on the first bye weekend we had that year at the Sheaf getting himself locked up in a jail cell on the piss.

So stuff him basically