Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

JokerEel

I reckon he was only signed for one reason and that's mostly to do with how he trains and prepares for a match. You do need guys like this to set an example for the young guys. As a player I kinda agree with you and I don't expect much but never know he may suprise

He is the 2026 version of the 2003 Darren Tracey! Played 1 season for us that year

Timana

The nonsense about Dylan Brown not liking the Ryles style is a load of BS.

He was offered 1.4million year for 10 years

What lunatic knocks that back and what club tries to keep a space cadet like Dylan on that rate.

BA could have had offered him his daughter and still not would have been enough.
i thought he already had her. Dyl doesnt seem to like hanging around after

Zoso

I think the sauces speaking to you have been on the sauce. We play less structured now than we did the whole BA era . Forwards all use the ball and the halves are encouraged to play eyes up. The only thing we don’t do are stupid offloads in our own 20.
Agree on the less structured part. I’d be surprised if it was recorded but early spreads in our own 20 seemed more common (could be my imagination).
We certainly seemed less predictable than under BA.
This is not a reflection of Stevie but it seems odd to hear that last year everyone loved the skills and footy smarts and are now unhappy with ‘structure’. We didn’t play like an unhappy team either at the back end of last year.

Zoso

Hahahaha sorry I had a very, very rare sleep in. Same person from inside the club shared this as things I have shared previously.

I’ll do my best to remember as I had a thousand beers yesterday. Should have not put my Ring cameras on mute lol.

Feedback I got was a lot of frustration between the playing group and Jim CEO, Mon, Ben Rogers is it?, and some other guy from R&R.

Matto has openly told pretty much anyone that he is “collecting his paycheque”. He is not necessarily seen as disliked as he gives the impression of caring more about family and his devotion to religion. Massively upsetting to hear we waste a top 30 spot in him though.

Mitch Moses is intense, like really intense internally. Was told he was picked because he is our best player, not because he is our best leader. In fact, far from it.

Moses is apparently VERY pissed off with the club atm. We have got “a shitload of cap space” but I was told we haven’t even come close to landing one. The only thing of note we’ve really landed was Pezet who is a rookie and gone after his learning year with the club.

An example I was told was when Talagi was being courted to stay, we rolled out Steve Ella. The comment was no disrespect to Steve Ella, but Talagi didn’t even know who he was, let alone admired him. Penrith rolled out Nathan Cleary and it was a no contest!

We have this new super impressive training facility and wonderful setup, loads of cap, great brand but I was told “no one wants to come to Parramatta”.

The thought from the playing group is one of frustration and anger around the squad and depth. There have been times when they finish training and all put their hands in and say “1,2,3 f**k Jim!”. I can only assume this is not around JR but I didn’t ask.

Ryles plays an extremely structured footy and outgoing players have openly criticised the lack of “off the cuff” footy with offloads. Dylan Brown despite getting a massive offer was not enjoying the style of football much. Carty has been very open with his criticism of the teams style. My comments to this was the older style of footy won us nothing and we agreed.

There is a school of thought we are effectively playing a very Melbourne style without the cattle to make it effective. I’m told that’s the thought from Moses and a couple senior players.

I am not implying they are unhappy under Ryles, that’s not was not what was said to me I want to be clear on that. In fact the feedback was the “footy culture” seems really good. But there is significant disharmony between the playing group and Jim and Co.

Players are concerned about the impression people aren’t lining up to knock on our door. None of the Melbourne players had any interest in us with the Lomax swap.

This could absolutely be Juniors last season, but he may go another one. Apparently BA is still a “fatherly figure” to Junior and they talk every day. There is a thought BA will take him wherever he is in an immediate coaching capacity. I believe this will be a huge opportunity missed if it happens.

I was told Gutho absolutely hates Parra now. He has told others he will not have anything to do with the club post football which although I’m not a huge fan of him personally he was our best player for a very long time. He is far from a leader though but I had suspected that. There is a school of thought he should have been playing centre and at the same time been able to turbocharge Ionghi’s development whilst finishing as a Parra legend, that’s all gone now.

The comments to me are that we don’t really have any legends of the club that are relevant. We have Cayliss, Burt, etc but they are hardly considered legends of the game broadly speaking and even Hindy never won a competition. We just don’t have the strategy or firepower.

I’m sure there is more stuff I’ll remember but wanted to share. I’ve tried to seperate my opinions for another post and keep this as close to how it was said to me directly.

Hope you guys bloody appreciate this effort during my headache lol.
Thank is Stevie! Maybe someone can clear up the cap space part…if we’ve filled 27-28 spots (pls confirm) it’s possible we have a bit of space but odd considering we have an expensive half, tied up two hookers, a fullback, and upgraded other juniors etc etc.
Again it’s possible we have lots of cap space for remaining spots (see recently failed bids) but would it be a lot??

Stevie

Did he say anything possitive? Like surely there is some good stuff happening at the club. I think we are building. I dont care about roster. I can feel it and see the energy amongst the playing group
Mate I’ve made it clear the feedback of footy team culture, and positive endorsement of Ryles vision is good.

I’ve called it out a few times.

Stevie

I think the sauces speaking to you have been on the sauce. We play less structured now than we did the whole BA era . Forwards all use the ball and the halves are encouraged to play eyes up. The only thing we don’t do are stupid offloads in our own 20.
Fair enough Pal. You got me. All bullshit.

I won’t bother sharing anything again.

Delboy

Mate I’ve made it clear the feedback of footy team culture, and positive endorsement of Ryles vision is good.

I’ve called it out a few times.
Just back from Australia Day activities in the city (boring) and seeing Song Sung. Blue at the movies ( pretty good) .

There’s been pages of posts about the team and players,the big issue for years and still there is the problems in selling the club and signing decent players. If it isn’t obvious then we will continue to delay the growth of our juniors and moving to challenge the big clubs.

eel01s

I too found the comments about the structured type of play interesting, given the way we attacked, especially when Walker was on.

Not having a go at anyone, just personally I feel like we played some really good attacking footy last year. I also agree on need to tighten up the defence more to make the finals.

85 Baby

Thank is Stevie! Maybe someone can clear up the cap space part…if we’ve filled 27-28 spots (pls confirm) it’s possible we have a bit of space but odd considering we have an expensive half, tied up two hookers, a fullback, and upgraded other juniors etc etc.
Again it’s possible we have lots of cap space for remaining spots (see recently failed bids) but would it be a lot??
I reckon with minimal activity this offseason, any resignings we made probably got a fair chunk upfront

King-Gutho94

I reckon he was only signed for one reason and that's mostly to do with how he trains and prepares for a match. You do need guys like this to set an example for the young guys.
I do recall BA signed Watmough in his 2nd season in charge for that reason and Choc was crying for medical retirement within 12 months.

JDB though couldnt be any worse then Choc though.

Agree on the less structured part. I’d be surprised if it was recorded but early spreads in our own 20 seemed more common (could be my imagination).
We certainly seemed less predictable than under BA.
This is not a reflection of Stevie but it seems odd to hear that last year everyone loved the skills and footy smarts and are now unhappy with ‘structure’. We didn’t play like an unhappy team either at the back end of last year.
We finished with 3 wins in a row last year

lucablight

Something coaches value, and which isn't fully visible to outsiders just watching games and press conferences, is leadership in players. This explains why senior journeymen often fill depth spots instead of promising youngsters. A lot of these senior guys are huge contributors to team culture, even if they aren't stars on the field, or mincing around in front of press micophones.
Will he invite all the young fellas to a BBQ so he can lay down his expectations?

Did he say anything possitive? Like surely there is some good stuff happening at the club. I think we are building. I dont care about roster. I can feel it and see the energy amongst the playing group
We have a lot of dudes who should be better this year, but also a few who should be worse.