Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sack mcgregor

gitano

Those scenes in the dressing room last night were amazing. Probably one of the best things I’ve seen in Rugby League. A coach has never been given a more respectful send off imo. Don’t think I’ll forget that moment for a while. Good luck with the future Mary.
They were.

But but but you forgot that a bunch of clueless flogs on a website who have never played at a high level whinging for change on something they know nothing about is more important than the truth.

Embarrassing.

Forbes Creek Dragons

They were.

But but but you forgot that a bunch of clueless flogs on a website who have never played at a high level whinging for change on something they know nothing about is more important than the truth.

Embarrassing.
I doubt anyone on this forum you included has played at the highest level mate. You would be a lot easier to take seriously if you didn't have an agenda. The only thing I have ever seen you contribute to this forum is 1.Bagging Lomax 2. Praising Aitken. It is just silly, I haven't seen you once say "I thought McInnes play well tonight" or "Must admit that was a great pass by Lomax" or "Jeez on the spread if Aitken passed instead of stepping inside JP probably would have been in space" Everyone else praises players good points and criticise bad points. Hopefully now that Aitken has left you will join the Warriors forum and we won't need to hear your rubbish anymore.

Forbes Creek Dragons

He finished the way he coached for 7 years - a delusional gibberer. Once again he is moronic enough to suggest he coached an "nearly unbeatable" team in 2018. A nearly unbeatable team that finished 7th.... Good riddance to the clown and the 7 wasted years he presided over.
Haha fair enough I dont see it that way, I thought he went out with class. I just think that 7 years is long enough for anyone. He had a good shot but it is time to move on. I more agree with what Fittler said in that we always play tough and with passion but just don't play together and that is the coaches job to make us play together. If the next coach can build some combos I think we can build a very good side quite quickly.

R&WTILLIDIE

I doubt anyone on this forum you included has played at the highest level mate. You would be a lot easier to take seriously if you didn't have an agenda. The only thing I have ever seen you contribute to this forum is 1.Bagging Lomax 2. Praising Aitken. It is just silly, I haven't seen you once say "I thought McInnes play well tonight" or "Must admit that was a great pass by Lomax" or "Jeez on the spread if Aitken passed instead of stepping inside JP probably would have been in space" Everyone else praises players good points and criticise bad points. Hopefully now that Aitken has left you will join the Warriors forum and we won't need to hear your rubbish anymore.

I’m pretty sure this bloke is just a troll who gets off starting arguments. Don’t let him get to you.

Forbes Creek Dragons

With some finesse at No3 the first cab off the rank please!
I think Wiliame will more than do the job until Feagai is ready. There were at least three occasions last night where Clune tried to shift wide when the eels were compressed and as soon as it got to Aitken he stepped inside and made a few meters but JP was in space and could have made 20 meters. There was also one occasion where I seen Clune stuff up a pass because you could see the right person to pass to was Aitken to setup JP but he went for the cut-out because he knew the result. I love the way Aitken runs and he is starting to become a very good defender but one of his key jobs is setting up his winger and he just cant do it. JP outside a decent centre will score a bucketload of tries.

They were.

Embarrassing.

LOL. The only truth that matters are results. And on that count, it is true that Mary is an abject failure. That's embarrassing.

Straight Shooter

ChocOConnor

What has Mcmoron done for anyone and everyone in the media saying he deserves this farewell and what a great bloke he is.

I tell you what he is a fraud and he is a thief

He has stolen the life out of me for the last 6.5 years so he can fk off and ride his jet ski

Dragsters

That's because he's Aitkens mum...

getsmarty

Mary's last address: Red V to reign again as 25-year tenure ends
Author
Dan Walsh NRL.com Reporter
Timestamp
Sat 15 Aug 2020, 12:04 AM
walshdan-head.png

An emotional Paul McGregor predicts a swift turnaround for the Dragons, defending the club's culture after ending a 25-year association with the red and white.

McGregor was farewelled with a stirring 14-12 upset of premiership frontrunners Parramatta on Friday night, before similarly moving scenes in the St George Illawarra sheds.

Captain Cameron McInnes presented McGregor with the jersey he wore, a gesture the outgoing coach described as "one of the best presents I've ever got in my life from a person that I admire the way he plays the game and leads the club."

McGregor described his final day as Dragons coach, following his rise as a Steelers great and inaugural co-captain of the joint-venture over 20 years ago, as an "emotional" and "special" occasion.

Since a 2018 finals run McGregor's side has struggled without key players in Jack de Belin (no fault stand-down policy) and Gareth Widdop (injury before departing for England), while several representative stars have also underperformed in that period.

But given the quality roster interim coach Dean Young takes charge of, McGregor believes results will take care of themselves soon enough for the Dragons, pointing to the Eels upset as proof of a tightknit club.

"There was a lot of talk they weren't a tight group and they weren't playing for me, but that was too far from the truth, and they showed that tonight," McGregor said.

"The last 18 months; in 2018 we were pretty much unbeatable for most of the year and building really well; but in the last 18 months we just haven't been able to put those players on the park all together for different reasons.

"You only need to miss a couple of important players to lose close games. When you lose close games everything's spoken about.

"And that's what's happened at the place, everyone's speaking about all the negative things. There's a lot of good things in the organisation.

"For me, I think they've got a good leader in Dean. He's a good coach, a good person, he bleeds red and white. They've got a playing group that wants to play hard.

"And once we get healthy and get a full roster back they're going to be a very good footy team. Is there things to do there? Of course there is. But they've got the right people around to get it done."

McGregor will spend his first day out of the Dragons COVID visiting his ill father in hospital, who he hasn't been able to see for three months due to the NRL's biosecurity restrictions.

The now 52-year-old had to be coaxed into playing top grade footy for the Steelers in the early 90s, a similar path saw McGregor begin his coaching career as he juggled successful business interests in Wollongong.

Having started out in strength and conditioning before progressing through the ranks to take charge in 2014, McGregor is keen to continue in an NRL role in the future, be it in charge or as an assistant elsewhere.

For now though, he offered perspective on a 25-year journey for first his own junior club, then one of the most famous in rugby league land.

"You start off as a player and that journey is a great one," McGregor said.

"Then you become a captain, a club captain and a staff member and then a coach.

"It has been a series of privileges the whole way through, I've never felt like it's an obligation.

"The close-out speech was something I will remember and some of the words said by some of the players were very special."

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/202...-red-v-to-reign-again-as-25-year-tenure-ends/

dragonreddy

They were.

Embarrassing.

Wow.
I think it is fair to say that his results spoke for themselves, us "clueless flogs " didn't have any say ,if we did he would have been gone 2016.

The fact is him playing at the highest level translated into zero on the field as far as coaching went for him.Not the first ex player to make a meal of coaching but I reckon he is one of the longest running for such rubbish results.

Good luck to him for whatever he does in the future,just so long as it is nowhere near this team.

Author
Timestamp
walshdan-head.png

An emotional Paul McGregor predicts a swift turnaround for the Dragons, defending the club's culture after ending a 25-year association with the red and white.

McGregor was farewelled with a stirring 14-12 upset of premiership frontrunners Parramatta on Friday night, before similarly moving scenes in the St George Illawarra sheds.

Captain Cameron McInnes presented McGregor with the jersey he wore, a gesture the outgoing coach described as "one of the best presents I've ever got in my life from a person that I admire the way he plays the game and leads the club."

McGregor described his final day as Dragons coach, following his rise as a Steelers great and inaugural co-captain of the joint-venture over 20 years ago, as an "emotional" and "special" occasion.

Since a 2018 finals run McGregor's side has struggled without key players in Jack de Belin (no fault stand-down policy) and Gareth Widdop (injury before departing for England), while several representative stars have also underperformed in that period.

But given the quality roster interim coach Dean Young takes charge of, McGregor believes results will take care of themselves soon enough for the Dragons, pointing to the Eels upset as proof of a tightknit club.

"There was a lot of talk they weren't a tight group and they weren't playing for me, but that was too far from the truth, and they showed that tonight," McGregor said.

"The last 18 months; in 2018 we were pretty much unbeatable for most of the year and building really well; but in the last 18 months we just haven't been able to put those players on the park all together for different reasons.

"You only need to miss a couple of important players to lose close games. When you lose close games everything's spoken about.

"And that's what's happened at the place, everyone's speaking about all the negative things. There's a lot of good things in the organisation.

"For me, I think they've got a good leader in Dean. He's a good coach, a good person, he bleeds red and white. They've got a playing group that wants to play hard.

"And once we get healthy and get a full roster back they're going to be a very good footy team. Is there things to do there? Of course there is. But they've got the right people around to get it done."

McGregor will spend his first day out of the Dragons COVID visiting his ill father in hospital, who he hasn't been able to see for three months due to the NRL's biosecurity restrictions.

The now 52-year-old had to be coaxed into playing top grade footy for the Steelers in the early 90s, a similar path saw McGregor begin his coaching career as he juggled successful business interests in Wollongong.

Having started out in strength and conditioning before progressing through the ranks to take charge in 2014, McGregor is keen to continue in an NRL role in the future, be it in charge or as an assistant elsewhere.

For now though, he offered perspective on a 25-year journey for first his own junior club, then one of the most famous in rugby league land.

"It has been a series of privileges the whole way through, I've never felt like it's an obligation.

"The close-out speech was something I will remember and some of the words said by some of the players were very special."

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/202...-red-v-to-reign-again-as-25-year-tenure-ends/

LOL Mary, 'they have the right people around to get it done'.

Not a scintilla of evidence in an entire decade to back this sh1t up. Except that we were nearly unbeatable in 18.

Such a f#*king moron.

Straight Shooter

The calm one

What has Mcmoron done for anyone and everyone in the media saying he deserves this farewell and what a great bloke he is.

I tell you what he is a fraud and he is a thief

He has stolen the life out of me for the last 6.5 years so he can fk off and ride his jet ski
Can you organise a ride on the jet ski for me. Thanks

Author
Timestamp
walshdan-head.png

Green made a farewell speech half the size of McGregor's and he had actually won a premiership.
All McGregor's positive spin about Dean Young and future results are planting the seeds so that he can perk up one day and say that he laid the platform and culture of the club and he has left his legacy for years to come.
I hope we turn the corner now that he is gone but 7 years of McGregor was nothing but a waste of time and resources.