Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Saddest thing i've ever heard..

JessEel

Accredited Media Releases
"I think the bad publicity played a big part in my marriage breaking up," the player said. "We were getting on fine but then every time a league player was on the front page for having sex or getting drunk, my wife's friends would say stuff to her. They would say, 'See, they are all the same', and I think she eventually believed it."
Taken From:

http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/sport/league/players-ashamed-of-their-profession-20090701-d43e.html

Generalisations and rumours sure do do alot of harm. I hope all the news crews, paper's and exposes are proud of themselves!
(And obviously the drunken idiot Footy Player's that give the media outlets excuses to write sh*t out the game...)

fish eel

I would say that player had a pretty weak relationship lacking in any genuine trust if that's what caused his marriage to break up.

Parra

Don't jump to conclusions - maybe Todd Carney had a clandestine marriage.

Players can be away for considerable periods of time and I expect that you would need a solid level of trust built over a long period of time to avoid cracks emerging.

I know that if The Bride had a job which took her away for 4/5 days here and there that it would drive me crazy. If she was around a bunch of drunken moles 24/7, it would make the whole situation even harder to deal with.

If two people really love each other than this very small issue would not break them up. Actually, it's not even an issue for a married couple.

Their Marriage must no have been that strong at all...

every human is different - some people can be more insecure than others - certain things can take their toll

JessEel

Accredited Media Releases
ah forget it..

i was making a comment on how the actions of a few, and the reaction by the press has had an affect on the innocent players - the whole article is full of stats and comments from players who have changed how they act in public situations because of whats happened...

sooperdooper

jess i disagree...
the woman chose to beleive it.... why? as it is more likely to be true.

i would 'guess' to say that is how he met her....

Bigfella

Far fronm the saddest thing I've ever heard TBH Jess.

Not having a go at you, but the recent spate of players whinging about how they are treated is the most pathetic thing I've heard.

Karmichael Hunt had a whinge in one of the mags this week. He blames the media and the profile of the game for negative reporting.

Ahhh Karmy? Is that the same game that hs earned you a fortune? Is it the media's fault that you had group sex in a toilet cubicle (on some reports with a mildly intellectually handicapped woman) while you were engaged to be married?

Elsewhere people are losing jobs, broke on the street, dying and living in war zones.

I can't have any sympathy whatsoever - let alone call it the saddest thing I've ever heard.

ah forget it..

i was making a comment on how the actions of a few, and the reaction by the press has had an affect on the innocent players - the whole article is full of stats and comments from players who have changed how they act in public situations because of whats happened...

No don't apologize for it Jess. The topic is so relevant of late. The media scrutiny of the players must be putting immense pressure on everyone involved.

Gus Gould touched on it when he had a rant last Thursday on the Footy Show. He remarked that it was sad that teams had to prepare in isolated country regions to avoid unfair innuendo from the press.

Whilst many players have brought situations on themselves, there are many (like Matty Johns) who have been chewed up and spat out by the media. Very sad.

fish eel

ah forget it..

I've said before, it's time players take ownership of behaviour.

If they see a mate having too much to drink in public, pull him into line - because, as you say, the game as a whole gets tarred with the same brush.

Cast your mind back to what happened earlier at the year at Manly.

I wonder how that would have panned out had a couple of players who werent drinking tapped Watmough and Stewart on the shoulder before things got out of hand......

Parra

Whilst many players have brought situations on themselves, there are many (like Matty Johns) who have been chewed up and spat out by the media. Very sad.

As far as chewing people up and spitting them out M Johns got to reap what he sowed.

An innocent truck driver being hit in the head by a stray bullet is a squillion times sadder than this news.

i wonder how people would feel if the media stalked THEIR profession? (plumber, builder, nurse, doctor, etc etc) .... if your colleagues ended up in the papers constantly and people's opinion of you was affected by association

i think the point of this being sad/unfortunate is that the person in question got screwed over by things totally out of their control because others who happen to share the same job title are wankers

carson

It was the other footballers fault.

It was the presses fault.

It was his wife's friends fault.

Sounds like someone is living in denial.

The obvious question is "was he a footballer before he got married?". Footballers playing up is not exactly a new topic in the papers its been going on for years!!!!

Strider,

We have absolutely no clue what state the relationship was in anyway.
For anyone to suggest she left him because of the actions of other footballers is just ludicrous. Not saying you did, but fair dinkum.

Bigfella

For a start Strider, if we were in one of those industries (say acting, singing, entertainment, royal family etc) chances are we would be among the most highly paid individuals in the country and living privileged lifestyles.

And let's face it, the vast bulk of these atrocities don't come to light by way of paparazzi hiding in people's garbage bins.

It's not like Lady Di being pursued in a high speed chase or Nicole Kidman having her phone bugged.

Some of them are pissing in public; having sex in public; being convicted in Courts which are open to public; one this year has got a jail sentence; one was shot at in the Cross; several have been charged by police for altercations at or outside hotels ...

there have been one or two very minor instances of attempted profiteering by members of the public taking photos but they are overwhelmed by the weight of the more glaring stuff-ups. Hard to tolerate the fish-bowl excuse - or what Karmichael calls "tall-poppy syndrome". Geez that got up my nose. What is he saying - league players are being targeted because they are better than every one else? Many of the worst examples have been criminal offences resulting in convictions. How is that tall-poppy syndrome? Or does he think that because they are NRL players they should be allowed to do these things as of right?