Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

SAINTS V PANTHERS.

hewi

Saturday is the defining moment of the season. No gray areas here, its black or white. Either Mary will prove everyone on the forum wrong and end the game smelling of roses or will look the complete goose that we believe he is. It's a long winter and I want success, but not with McGregor. I feel as if I'm stuck half way over a barb wire fence.

Morotti

it is sad it won't be a packed house there on the weekend.

And the reason being the poor results the dragons have had in the past few years. And the lack of any accountability by management. I wonder what it would take to get movement at a senior management level.

Another long year.

Although that said if I was free I would have gone to the game simply because it is at Kogarah.

Field is not our answer and I worry that putting him in now if we were to play poorly would dampen his confidence. He is only 19 and let us bide our time until we get a decent coach along that can improve the team. And perhaps then we will start to put a bit of doubt into opposition teams. Something we haven't done for years and years.

dragonssamy61

I am. Games at our true home ground are so few and far between these days I take every opportunity i can.

I miss the good ol days of Kogarah on a sunny Sunday arvo with all 3 grades playing. Cant beat that.

Spot on OzDragon
We get 5 games this year so better than 4.
I love it a kogarah.
I sit with a bunch of mates and friends who we have been going to the games at kogarah for 15 or more years together. I have been going since I was born.
It will be my first without my dad he had been going ever since he played a couple of 3rd game games for the saints in 1951 and 52.
Go the mightys .
I'm glad footy is back.
Bring it on

I am sure that there will be a decent size crowd there for the first match of the season .
If our pack can gain some sort of go forward against the Panthers early on , they will hopefully be able to put those mountain hillbillies under pressure .

With young Packer and Simms , Vaughan charging onto the ball , a few holes could open in the defence and with Frizzell and Thompson backing up there may very well be some early points .

I may be looking through ' rose coloured glasses ' , however I am sure that like yourselves , it would be wonderful if the Dragons do perform and by so doing , put egg on the faces of the media.

I am sure that there will be a decent size crowd there for the first match of the season .
If our pack can gain some sort of go forward against the Panthers early on , they will hopefully be able to put those mountain hillbillies under pressure .

With young Packer and Simms , Vaughan charging onto the ball , a few holes could open in the defence and with Frizzell and Thompson backing up there may very well be some early points .

I may be looking through ' rose coloured glasses ' , however I am sure that like yourselves , it would be wonderful if the Dragons could put egg on the faces of the media.
Haven't we said similar to this each game for the past few years? All wishful thinking. Get rid of Mary, bring in a new coach and see the difference.

TomRedVRiver

The Panthers have a phenomenal team, they're the perfect example of a club that is really well managed, well coached and have a clear direction for their future.

We will do well to get within 12. I would love to be proven wrong though!

jeffdragon

[QyUOTE="SEAT 1A, post: 12013517, member: 22328"]Will never miss a game at Kogarah. It's time when you can put all the hassles aside.

All the memories. The hill, bubbler, dude that sold peanuts, gogo man, old grandstand, toilet block, crew that sat in tree's watching the game.

The Army and their signs, the giant jersey, the odd flare, the days of the auditorium (they were epic) or going back to the club to party or cry.

Wearing the Red V, seeing all the flags. Watching the kid's and knowing the journey ahead for them.

What a ride Jubilee has been.[/QUOTE]

jeffdragon

Will never miss a game at Kogarah. It's time when you can put all the hassles aside.

All the memories. The hill, bubbler, dude that sold peanuts, gogo man, old grandstand, toilet block, crew that sat in tree's watching the game.

The Army and their signs, the giant jersey, the odd flare, the days of the auditorium (they were epic) or going back to the club to party or cry.

Wearing the Red V, seeing all the flags. Watching the kid's and knowing the journey ahead for them.

What a ride Jubilee has been.

Yes the peanut man
Gogo is still there behind the goals
Remember going to kogarah in the early nineties to watch saints on a sat arvo where the crowd was less than 5000

Crush

I am going to be stupidly optimistic and hope that the dragons have turned it all around in the two weeks since Charity Shield. I am hoping that they have listened to the critics regarding playing before the line and have addressed it. I am hoping that McCrone and Widdop get it right and provide good ball to our backs and bring Dugan into the game more. I hope that they kick high balls for our tall winger MacDonald. I hope the forwards rip in and start to go up the middle hard and look for offloads with McInnes and halves trailing them in support.
One can only hope....
Go Dragons!

latemail

Our forwards on paper are as good as any pack in the comp.
but we lack in the backs
How the f**k Milne and Mann missed out is a joke.
But when you have a clueless bald headed knob jockey picking the team out of a hat we'll What can you say.
In saying all this
We will beat the panthers And we will beat them well.
It's called blind faith
Go the dragons

Peanuts get your peanuts. Candy coated and in the shell.

That guy did that saying over and over for +15 years.

Now the only peanut we have is the Coach McPeanut.
Yep great memories of that and the 2 brothers that used to do it at SCG.
Especially in the Sheridan Stand.
Cane bakers baskets full of paper bags of peanuts.
They wouldn't walk past the first level and would just call out "get your peanuts get your fresh roasted peanuts".
"Yeah here mate would be the call" and the money would come down via the mosh pit of arms and the peanuts would go back up with the change.
All hell would break out if the bag broke.

dragonssamy61

Sheridan and ot
Also the hotdog sellers outside of Kogarah get hot dog hot doggy sauce and mustard.
Alway had one walking up Jubilee ave to carlton trains.
Me and some of my mates headed back towards hurstville while there was a train load of dragons supporters going the other way.
If we had a win wich was most of the time we get the train singing oh when the saints all the way home.
Great days.
Come dragons make it great again so my kids and grandkids can now what its like to follow the greatest of them all the might saints