Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Salary Cap BReach or just Chook bashing?

Rumours are flying high that the Roosters have breached the salary cap by $750,000 and are about to be stripped of their competition points.

If true, the rorting would have been going on for more than one season.

The rumours have been backed-up by an apparent suspension of wooden spoon betting. This coincides with a current NRL investigation of a number of clubs. Yesterday, the Knights were cleared by the NRL.

Do these rumours have legs or is it just Rooster bashing?

Moffo

Heard exactly the same thing today as well mate

Name your sources :lol:

Only time will tell if its true

Cheers,
Moffo

ozzie

as we all know rumours sometimes get out of hand - the first place i would look would be on the Wall - but nothing their and all it takes is one person to put crap on a fourm and away it goes.

Time will tell - however, if they are guilty it wouldn't be very smart would it. Is it just a carry on from the newcastle case which concluded yesterday..suprising there is no rumours in the paper??

Forum talk doesn't get aorund that quick..

I would say that as Souths ar morals for the spoon is one reason why the betting was suspended. Bet they didn't want to lose money - would you give it away??

ozzie said:
I would say that as Souths ar morals for the spoon is one reason why the betting was suspended. Bet they didn't want to lose money - would you give it away??

How would they lose money?

If they put Souths at $1.01 some goose would have to lay out $100k just to win $1k. Nobody would do that because if your willing to bet that much you could bet it on other things or just invest it and make more.

The TAB could make money off suckers putting $10 on every other team hoping there's another massive point stripping.

ozzie

I would say that when a sure thing has raised its ugly head like Souths lgetting the wooden sppoon then betting will be suspended.

Naturally betting on the Souths Rabbitohs to win the premiership also has been suspended because they can't even make the eight - now why would do that?

because it would be unethical to allow people to place money on something that can't happen - i am sure it would be against the rules that govern betting as well.

For a red hot rumour and people saying they heard it ont he radio - it is awefully quiet today - did any of you hear it on the radio? I was listening to it all day yesterday doing some home work on my second job and no mention was made of it

I think you will find this as great a rumour as some of them flying around on forum. Was it in today's newspapers?? Probably not.

Only the desperate at the moment would believe this one and like most things on forums - it's just too easy to start rumours.

I'll wait till its in black and white before i believe it.

The Backpacker

The betting was suspended because Souths getting the Wooden spoon is a sitter. It's all in an article in the smh. They would have to win every remaining game to tie with another team for last and thats dependent on the other teams wins / losses. Or something like that. :lol:

I hope there isn't another scandel of last years magnatude on it's way as the game doesn't need it, regardless of the club. I guess it's a matter of sitting through the rumour and innuendo and waiting to see. The internet is wonderful tool for spreading a wildfire.

The Backpacker said:
I hope there isn't another scandel of last years magnatude on it's way as the game doesn't need it, regardless of the club. I guess it's a matter of sitting through the rumour and innuendo and waiting to see. The internet is wonderful tool for spreading a wildfire.

Agreed... we don't really need another scandal. Plus Bulldogs supporters have become insufferable since their club was caught out... I can but imagine what Easts supporters will be like. ;-)

The Backpacker

Willow said:
The Backpacker said:

Agreed... we don't really need another scandal. Plus Bulldogs supporters have become insufferable since their club was caught out... I can but imagine what Easts supporters will be like. ;-)

God, it's like listening to the ex-wife ;-) and I'm spending my 400th post replying to it. :lol: Such is life. It depends on which Easts supporters you are referring to. The ones such as the high calibre seen here :D or ones that will troll and incite opposition fans regardless of the topic in question. We all have fans in both categories and many inbetween. To be honest, I would hang my head in shame if it was us over by 750 000 but I have supported this club since I was a kid and I'll support them until my grave.

Lets hope it's all smoke without fire.

The Backpacker said:
Willow said:
The Backpacker said:

God, it's like listening to the ex-wife ;-) and I'm spending my 400th post replying to it. :lol: Such is life. It depends on which Easts supporters you are referring to. The ones such as the high calibre seen here :D or ones that will troll and incite opposition fans regardless of the topic in question. We all have fans in both categories and many inbetween. To be honest, I would hang my head in shame if it was us over by 750 000 but I have supported this club since I was a kid and I'll support them until my grave.

Lets hope it's all smoke without fire.
Mate, if it was St George, I'd seriously have to consider withdrawing all my support... and that's saying something.
Fortunately, after the Kimmorley saga, and after several frank chats with the club's boss, I can say without a shadow of a doubt that the Dragons are a dead-set bunch of tight arses. It's a comforting feeling. :D

The Backpacker

Willow said:
I can say without a shadow of a doubt that the Dragons are a dead-set bunch of tight arses. It's a comforting feeling. :D

:lol: It's not often you hear a league supporter finding comfort in that. I would be surprised if this rumour is true though. After the penalty imposed last year, any club would be stupid to try and rort the cap by such an amount with the precedent of docking points set by the NRL last year. I think small breeches will come to light again this year but (hopefully) nothing to the tune of $750 000.

ozzie

contrary to all the threads that started on worl - the world didn't end for Rooster supporters this morning. In fact the sun was shinning and i enjoyed sitting in the garden reading the sunday papers and having a lattee. (Shit i hate lattes). I was having a nice cup of coffee.

The funniest thing is the people who started the threads had uncles or auties or they had friends who knew or knew someone in the NRL or who owned the NBRL who knew someone else who knew his brother's cousin and brother in law's uncle etc etc.

Gosh all i can say that those guys must have been inbred... :lol: :lol:

~bedsy~

It's been all over the place... I was so scared that we might be over because of all the kelly Holden stuff. But was so happy we were cleared :D
If the Roosters are over it would be pretty silly of them seeing what happened to the Doggies last yr.
I doubt it though as they are losing a few players.... Does anyone know if they are investigating the Roosters? if not it's most likely a rumor, Rooster's bashing.

legend

Bedsy, was that phot of Danny Buderus taken at Bruce/Canberra Stadium because it sure looks like it.

Well I think we're pretty safe in assuming that this was a tacky rumour that quickly went into a tail spin.

The Backpacker

Willow said:
Well I think we're pretty safe in assuming that this was a tacky rumour that quickly went into a tail spin.

:lol: :lol: :lol:

Yeah willow, a case of bad timing I think but, you're not psychic (that we know of) and had no advanced warning that Mr Chong would write such a piece of literary...(searching for a word and not finding one)...well, you know what I mean, and that the shit would hit the fan and everyone would become very emotional.

I'm thinking of heading for the tornado shelter. :D