Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Scott Prince

scotty_87

G'Day people.

I have been having a squizz at this forum for a while and there's a massive divide of opinion on just about everything - particularly Scott Prince.

Last two weeks - been hearing shit from eveywhere about how bad he is but I deadset reckon he was among our best few players [Particularly VS Roosters]. I am a massive fan of his so I guess this might be a big biased but I really think that he creates a lot more options for the Tigers than any other half-back we've had.

I was watching him last night and so many times he would create half-gaps for others and no one would be running into them, or they would and the pass would go to ground. I perfect example was from that scrum in the 2nd half where he kept searching across field throwing dummies - he's trying to create holes but deadset no-one wants to get the ball. Also the kicking game was very good, particularly early in the game.

By the way, his tackling's gone down shit creek lately. I was a fan of his since his Cowboys days and if anyone has tapes of him at the Broncos in 2001 he was a really good, low defender. Now he's moved out to the centres and he just doesn't technically tackle well. This was particularly obvious when Gasnier/Cooper made him look like a knob the other week.

I do however reckon it may be best if Kerr goes into half-back and Prince to five-eighth after Origin 3. A few of you have suggested this and I reckon it's probably the way to go.

Thanks.

Eddie.

Mate it is hard to argue with anything you say there.

Wilson doesnt give him any support and all the pressure thus rests on Prince to kick and create

With Kerr at 7 Prince can float wider, and pressure is reduced with the second kicker/creater in Kerr and we all know Prince is bloody dangerous when thretening the line

Tigerpete

Personally mate i think there's a perception amomgst some here that he's a better player than he's currently showing. I dont know if thats exactly true, He looked better at Brisbane yes, but look at the side they have and the one we have. Myself i think he's been good for us this season although like a few players at times this season he has had his bad games although, last night wasnt one of them , i thought he played alright in a beaten side, was always trying hard to make something happen.

SouthernTiger

Prince had a good game last night, tried very hard, but Sheens isnt doing him any favours by partnering him with Wilson. Prince can do some freakish things but there is still a few flaws in his game.

cheers

s. tiger

There doesnt seem to be a lot of communication...seems like all the backs are unsure of whats going on.

He really seems to suck with us...IMO.

Hes played well for Qld.

that means something, obviously though im not quite sure what.

Vicious

innsaneink said:
There doesnt seem to be a lot of communication...seems like all the backs are unsure of whats going on.

Hes played well for Qld.

When he plays for Qld he has plenty of willing runners inside and out.The Tigers starting 13 consists of one player capable of breaking a solid defensive line,that being Dene Halatau!

Eddie.

innsaneink said:

Hes played well for Qld.

try a pack that goes forward giving him room and time

Oh and D Lockyer.

bonstonker

the main thing is that prince needs help in the halves.our attack is just too predictable with both ball in hand and our kicking game.it is much easier to defend when you know what is coming.
that was the beauty against the dragons,with both head and barrett you didn't know who or what was coming.
you just knew we were f**ked.

at least try it,especially if kerr does the job 3 times in a row.because we haven't had a half or 5/8 play 3 good games in a row.

yappy

I don't think anyone has said Prince can't play. I might go on about how he's only in Origin because of injuries, but there are plenty of bigger nuffies than S Prince that have had a go at Origin. The major criticism is that 1. he's probably playing out of position and 2. because of the dearth of 5/8 options he's being left posted and having to carry the entire load on his own. I think he's a good little player, and was one of the few on Friday to show much of anything, but he is simply not anywhere near the class of a halfback that could carry this side around on his own (admittedly that is a very small club). Kerr has the makings of a fine half, and Prince (even if it's isn't his best or preferred spot for those who might like to argue the point) has proven in the past to be a more than useful 5/8. Pairing them is the most obvious and likely to succeed solution to the Tigers halves for the rest of 04.

The only other realistic option is to leave Prince at 7 and give Fulton a shot at 6. The idea that Liam (a junior rep premiership winning captain and Australian schoolboy) should be held off on the bench when Marshall with a bit of schoolboy footy (admittedly impressive) but no where near the RL education can be thrown straight into First Grade without so much as Premier League game is laughable. Liam has played PL semis the past two seasons against some hard customers. He hadn't played 5/8 before this year, but now it's pretty much his spot at the Magpies (although having Buettner back may change that - or not) and when he's played 6 outside Kerr at 7 is when the Magpies have looked easily their best all season.

The moral to the story is that Prince will and clearly should be picked each and every week in the halves. The contention is who should be his partner. I and many others would contend that is should never ever be the likes of Wilson or Buettner again.

daslacker

He scotty 87 welcome.

Noone here doesn't like prince,we all rate him highly.He just needs someone to help him out ala kerr.all my comments have been covered by yappy and bon

HappyTiger

SouthernTiger said:
Prince had a good game last night, tried very hard, but Sheens isnt doing him any favours by partnering him with Wilson. Prince can do some freakish things but there is still a few flaws in his game.

cheers

s. tiger

Well said.I couldnt agree more with what youve said.Prince cant be relied on to roganise everything,not because he cant handle it but because the opposition is fast on to him when he gets the ball.With another organiser in the side it takes pressure off Prince and gives him more time with the ball.And i dont believe Wilson is the man to do that.

Tigerpete

Agreed., i was all for giving Wilson a chance at 5/8, he's had 3 games with little to rave on about , im ready for kerr now.

B_Tiger

5/8 and lock are pretty similar positions (or can be) and so Fulton playing 5/8 wouldn't be too unfamiliar for him.