Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sea eagles/Rabbits the Big MNF battle

gong_eagle

manlyrabbitsbannerhn8.jpg

Monday 20 August
Telstra Stadium
7:10PM

SEA EAGLES NRL TEAM:
Brett Stewart, Michael Robertson, Steve Bell, Steve Menzies, Chris Hicks, Jamie Lyon, Matt Orford ©, Mark Bryant, Michael Monaghan, Brent Kite, Anthony Watmough, Glenn Stewart, Luke Williamson
Interchange: Matt Ballin, Glenn Hall, Adam Cuthbertson, Jack Afamasaga, Clint Halden, Travis Burns, Jason Wells (3 players to be omitted)

Coach – Des Hasler

The Rabbitohs NRL side is:
Nathan Merritt, Fetuli Talanoa, Nigel Vagana, Yileen Gordon, Paul Mellor, Joe Williams, Jeremy Smith, Peter Cusack (c), Issac Luke, Roy Asotasi (c), John Sutton, David Fa’alogo, Ben Rogers
Interchange: Shane Rigon, Dean Widders, Luke Stuart, Michael Greenfield
Coach – Jason Taylor

Referee:
Sean Hampstead Colour: Yellow
Sideline Officials:Bernard Sutton, Jeff Younis
Video Referee: Graeme West

MANLY WITH Sean Hampstead WON 15 LOST 12
SOUTHS WITH Sean Hampstead WON 10 LOST 15

Manly V Souths with Sean Hampstead Manly 1 Souths 0

Head to Head

Played 117
MANLY 64 SOUTHS 53
Points Overall
MANLY 2277 (387-450-27)
SOUTHS 1971 (354-379-27)

Win-Loss Records SOUTHS HOME GAMES
MANLY Away Games vs SOUTHS
Played 39
MANLY 21 SOUTHS 18 DRAWN 0

MANLY AT TELSTRA STADIUM
Played 7
WON 4 LOST 3
POINTS,
FOR 148 (28-18-0) AGAINST 147 (26-21-1)

SOUTHS
AT TELSTRA STADIUM
Played 22 WON 8 LOST 14
POINTS,
FOR 390 (69-56-2) AGAINST 561 (99-82-1)

BIGGEST WINS
MANLY 54 SOUTHS 0, 24-AUGUST-1975 at BROOKVALE OVAL
SOUTHS 44 MANLY 6, 11-JUNE-2005 at SFS

STATS FROM:STATS.RLEAGUE.COM

Can't wait this one! My trials will have finally finished, and I'll be able to put my feet up and watch an entertaining Monday night clash between two teams who're currently playing decent footy.

I think Manly should be too strong, but it'll definately be a tussle.

Manly 1-12

KiWi_BoI_15

I think Manly may have to much for them in the backs. Tussle between the forwards should make for a good close game.

Manly to win.

Dave Q

gong_eagle said:
yeah i'm really looking forward to this game myself

LOL top Banner wd.

We think youve got lazy, fat and content.

Too many training runs called league matches!

So we reckon we can win!

MSIH

Souths games bore me more than any other.

This should be another training run, and a win of less than 20 will be disappointing. Complacency could make it a 1-12 game I guess.

RainMan

MSIH said:
This should be another training run, and a win of less than 20 will be disappointing. Complacency could make it a 1-12 game I guess.

A win by 1 will do me. Manly don't have anything to prove by winning 20+.

Dave Q

MSIH said:
Souths games bore me more than any other.

A good attitude to take into the match from our perspective.

Your forwards will be struggling to get over the top of us, but your backs look very dangerous.

So I think thats where we want the game.

A good test for us to see where we are en-route into the finals.

We did a good job of slowing down the play the ball last weekend. We specialise in it.

MSIH

Kite, Bryant, Watmough, Stewart, Williamson, Hall, Cuthbertson and Afamasaga v Asotasi more like it.

Dave Q

I recall that the Panthers smashed through the Manly forwards like they were made of crepe paper.

Maybe Kite is a player of some note, the rest play better concussed.

The souths forwards are more enterprising and spritely.

We will run you guys around ragged.

domdom

Dave Q said:
I recall that the Panthers smashed through the Manly forwards like they were made of crepe paper.

Maybe Kite is a player of some note, the rest play better concussed.

The souths forwards are more enterprising and spritely.

We will run you guys around ragged.

mate,

do the maths, one team is assured of a top two position, with one of the form packs of the season, the other is facing a dogfight to make the eight and came off a very unconvincing win against the drag queens as they battle to make the eight.

the panthers game was ages ago and was a rare poor performance in a season of top form. i can pick out a bunch of games when souths have been run ragged.

i dont see the eagles losing this one!

Dave Q

domdom said:
mate,

do the maths, one team is assured of a top two position, with one of the form packs of the season, the other is facing a dogfight to make the eight and came off a very unconvincing win against the drag queens as they battle to make the eight.

the panthers game was ages ago and was a rare poor performance in a season of top form. i can pick out a bunch of games when souths have been run ragged.

i dont see the eagles losing this one!

Maths doesnt enter into the equation my feathered friend.

If it did then you wouldnt have lost against the Panthers.

Its a matter of who wants it more....and thats us.

We shut down the dragons attack without too much discomfort and spanked their backsides when it mattered.

Your big un's will have to do more than stand there, get the ball, run and cry "mama!"

Welcome to Telstra kind boofs, now eat dirt!

t-ba

lol @ SOUFFS.

It will be a great honour to be the team that puts the Rooters ahead of you on the premiership ladder.

domdom

Dave Q said:
Maths doesnt enter into the equation my feathered friend.

If it did then you wouldnt have lost against the Panthers.

Its a matter of who wants it more....and thats us.

We shut down the dragons attack without too much discomfort and spanked their backsides when it mattered.

Your big un's will have to do more than stand there, get the ball, run and cry "mama!"

Welcome to Telstra kind boofs, now eat dirt!

souths had the measure of the dragons pack on the weekend, but they didnt look like certainties for a win until soward got his marching orders.

dont see how comparing our pack to the dragons pack means that souths will get one over manly.

we'll be just continuing some fine form that will carry us to the finals to a tilt at the title, that'll be reason enough for us to make the 8000 souths fans that turn up to the cavern of telstra stadium go home sad.

either way, its going to be an interesting match, better than our walkover of the knights on friday night.

yobbo84

All I can say is this. If Manly go into this game with the attitude displayed by some of their supporters in this thread, they WILL lose. Sadly I'm sure Dessie will ensure their heads are screwed on.

Either way it will be a tight tussle. That much has been proven by Manly's track record against the top defensive sides in the competition.

yobbo84

MSIH said:
Kite, Bryant, Watmough, Stewart, Williamson, Hall, Cuthbertson and Afamasaga v Asotasi more like it.

Asotasi, Cusack, Sutton, Fa'alogo, Widders, Stuart, Rogers. Don't underestimate. I'm sure your coach won't be.