Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Season 2026

Nutz

I get and do appreciate the NRL from not micro-managing our game but they do lack a spine sometimes. Some of the things I wish they would micro-manage is:
Sort of the contract debacle once and for all. The best way is to conduct a survey than can be posted on NRL.com which asks fans and all people in the rugby league community to have their say.
Don't make rule changes unless fans have a say too.
Promote regional footy with clubs having to play a home game in the country, clubs that could become feeder clubs. Those clubs need extra finance to survive...they are still battling and they have an enormous nursery. The NRL should assist with making the grounds ready for NRL games like, seating, lighting, facilities and broadcasting requirements.
This will become a magnet for fans in these group areas.
Update the NRL's imput into the club's website like updating player profile and picture.
Bring back the medicab NRL. It sickens me watching a badly concussed player and other serious injuries, struggling to get off the ground. Pathetic.
Feel free to add as I'm told they read this forum 😁

Nutz

They want to keep quality players in the game. I wonder where he will end up. I reckon going to Melbourne is crap for the league. He should go to a lower rated team including us.
Fair enough but they shouldn't say things they can't back up. The experts said from the outset that it wouldn't work. Maybe they should have listened.

Looks like next week's trial against the rorters (Sat - 3.50p) will be on KAYO, I assume Ch9 as well, but it didn't say it.

Wizardman

I want to agree... but i cant remember going to a live game without seeing with my own eyes the difference between contenders and pretenders .. men v boys , rabbits v snails, smarts v dumb .
Trust me i want it to change as much as anyone .. but as the season starts or even when you will watch all the teams trial matches you will see our deepth is slow, small and dumb and useless all while you witness at least one absolute freak in every other side across the comp.
I dont think this shithole has found and developed an international player since the pillow Woods in 2014.. f**k me !
I love all of the regular posters here. But, without a shadow of a doubt, the one whose views on the Tigers aligns closest with mine is Macnaz.

Every f**king year, the delusion of a new season hits this forum. I will agree that it is the best overall squad we have had here since we last made finals.

Here is the "but". The squad is still not f**king good enough to play finals footy. As Macnaz said, wait until we play a team with a competent pack. It ALWAYS hits home how much bigger and fitter the opposition look and this year will be no exception. I think our pack is only better than the Titans and Knights.

Luai, Im sad to say, is a fraud. For what he is being paid, he has no hope of playing to that paypacket. He is just not that man we need in the halves. Our backline is not fantastic......but...it looks competent enough if the halves and pack go well.

We finished 12th last year. I would consider finishing above that an achievement. I think we finish 12th to 15th.

Luai, Im sad to say, is a fraud. For what he is being paid, he has no hope of playing to that paypacket. He is just not that man we need in the halves.

The guy has won multiple premierships and proved he can create at origin level. I don't think he is a fraud. He is though on overs.

I keep saying it and I think it's the key to us having a good season but we need Luai and Api to perform to the highest standards they can which includes being disciplined. No poor tackles and giving away penalties. They need to create points for us.

We need to be able to score points and get on a roll. Defense matters but you can't grind it out in this comp.

Nutz

I love all of the regular posters here. But, without a shadow of a doubt, the one whose views on the Tigers aligns closest with mine is Macnaz.

Every f**king year, the delusion of a new season hits this forum. I will agree that it is the best overall squad we have had here since we last made finals.

Here is the "but". The squad is still not f**king good enough to play finals footy. As Macnaz said, wait until we play a team with a competent pack. It ALWAYS hits home how much bigger and fitter the opposition look and this year will be no exception. I think our pack is only better than the Titans and Knights.

Luai, Im sad to say, is a fraud. For what he is being paid, he has no hope of playing to that paypacket. He is just not that man we need in the halves. Our backline is not fantastic......but...it looks competent enough if the halves and pack go well.

We finished 12th last year. I would consider finishing above that an achievement. I think we finish 12th to 15th.
Your frank assessment is warranted Wiz.
I too have my reservations mainly with our halves and our middles.
You mentioned Luai as a fraud.
I believe he's a natural ⅝ (as proven outside Cleary) and it's on us for recruiting him to be our ½ saviour. Too big a gamble with the price tag.
He had a terrible baptism playing inside Galvin (two left side players) but now that he's had a full preseason playing at ⅝ we should see him play better.
The issue still stands that he is now playing outside AD.
Does Luai run the show?
Does AD have game management for 80 minutes?
Can AD control the tempo of the game because he tends to play what’s in front of him rather than steer the side.
AD has a strong boot kick but what about tactical kicking week-to-week.
Will AD's defensive workload be exposed again defending in the middle third over long stretches?
There are so many iffs regarding AD. He has played at half in pathways which I haven't researched but he was dreadful in the games which I've seen of him playing ½ at WT.
So back to Luai. If AD struggles to steer the side around and manage the game then more will rest on Luai to do it and he'll be targeted more.
I'm just saying what concerns me and I'm not bashing anyone. I hooe the two nail it. If they do, happy days.
Who is our bench utility?... Latu Fainu, Jock Madden, Hope, Mason maybe???
I think Afoa will beat Hunt for the middle rotation but it still remains an issue for me.
So still a few iffs.
I'm still optimistic that a full preseason together could have fixed some issues and we do make the finals.
Benji's biggest test yet because a top notch coach with this roster would get the side into the finals, so no more excuses.

So back to Luai. If AD struggles to steer the side around and manage the game then more will rest on Luai to do it and he'll be targeted more.

I think you are nailing one of the big questions. How do we organize the team around the park.

I honestly don't think we should consider us having a dominant controlling half and a play making half because I think that will fail. I don't think AD is good enough to play that role throughout the season.

Latu has also always been a left side player.

My expectation is that Luai and Api can come up with quality plays at the end of the set. AD should help out and from what I read into the situation AD is a dominant player in that he will be assertive in getting his touches and making plays.

I think it's unfair and unlikely to work having AD playing a Cleary type role. I don't AD has that tactical kicking game over the course of the season.

I think Madden could play that role better than anyone in our squad but I don't think he has the x-factor that AD has.

I want to see Latu off the bench and getting consistent game time.

I don't have high expectations for Bunty.

Nutz

I think you are nailing one of the big questions. How do we organize the team around the park.

I honestly don't think we should consider us having a dominant controlling half and a play making half because I think that will fail. I don't think AD is good enough to play that role throughout the season.

Latu has also always been a left side player.

My expectation is that Luai and Api can come up with quality plays at the end of the set. AD should help out and from what I read into the situation AD is a dominant player in that he will be assertive in getting his touches and making plays.

I think it's unfair and unlikely to work having AD playing a Cleary type role. I don't AD has that tactical kicking game over the course of the season.

I think Madden could play that role better than anyone in our squad but I don't think he has the x-factor that AD has.

I want to see Latu off the bench and getting consistent game time.

I don't have high expectations for Bunty.
Having played 30 odd years as a centre I can tell you that a half needs keep the attack starting close to the ruck...why? Because if it starts wider with the ⅝ you'll find the ⅝ will often try to run around the d which cramps the centres and is easily defended.
If you watch Dally M ½ Hughes play, he plays tight, often direct then passes, can dart through gaps, kick in behind and reads the edges dropping off and fullbacks and wings out of position. It's such an important role.
To say Luai needs to do all this, you have to consider it will be done wider, options become limited.
For the first part, AD needs to basically stand and deliver. See what happens hey. I really hope he nails it.
I just feel nervous with Hunt.
At least Afoa gives you 100% and up tempo runs and has proven it. Yet to see it so far from Hunt.

I can tell you that a half needs keep the attack starting close to the ruck...why? Because if it starts wider with the ⅝ you'll find he will often try to run around the d which cramps the centres and is easily defended.

I agree with you.

I'm not expecting Luai to play out a bit wider and do this. I expect the forwards to get a roll through the middle and whoever is feeding Luai to give him some space to work with and the centres.

I think the expectation though of AD to manage all the late tackle plays is going to be rough. We are paying Luai top dollar. Api is also a gun. I don't see us having a dominant half and everyone playing off that.

Put it this way I expect Luai to create plenty of opportunities for us and to come up with good plays as well as make his tackles and be disciplined.

Nutz

I agree with you.

I'm not expecting Luai to play out a bit wider and do this. I expect the forwards to get a roll through the middle and whoever is feeding Luai to give him some space to work with and the centres.

I think the expectation though of AD to manage all the late tackle plays is going to be rough. We are paying Luai top dollar. Api is also a gun. I don't see us having a dominant half and everyone playing off that.

Put it this way I expect Luai to create plenty of opportunities for us and to come up with good plays as well as make his tackles and be disciplined.
Of corse mate, but I hope people see there are a chain of events that all have to connect before Luai can do his thing otherwise he'll be running around in circles.
Luai was awesome playing outside the best ½ in the world, there is a reason for that.

Nutz

He also had a gun pack and gun outside backs. He isn't going to get the best 1/2 in our team and he still has to deliver.
That's my point too.
We are improving though.
We could see a totally different tigers style this year by playing a dominant left and right side.

He also had a gun pack and gun outside backs. He isn't going to get the best 1/2 in our team and he still has to deliver.
I think he will have the best 7 in our squad, if Douiehi delivers similar to last season.
We will have attack (& defence) both sides of the ruck, then Bula chiming in to finish it off.
Again, we have cover for all positions, they have no excuses.

So much for my thoughts of getting game time into the FG players legs?

It's actually a 26 man squad.

Sione must be doing something wrong in the pre-season. Based on how he played last year I'd have him in the top team for sure.

It's cool that he is playing in the middle but he has just signed a contract (we think) and he appears to have dropped down the pecking order.

A couple of other interesting points from my perspective:-

1. Makasini playing at centre - let's see how he goes.
2. The Laulilii boys may show us something
3. Madden and Javon Andrews in the halves
4. Attard on the bench and Mason at fullback.

I'll watch it but I assume all of those players are at long odds to be starting for us in round 2.