Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Season 2026

Nutz

Bunty last played 80 mins in 1975.
Good points Tsp. I hope our once in a lifetime player is ok to.
Bunty debuted in 2016 you cheeky buggy. 😍
I'm sure Bunty played 30 min before the reserves came on in the last trial and his energy kept us on the front foot which is what we need.
Hunt played good footy in the rep game so he should be ok wouldn't he?
I'm hoping a scenario like this....big hit up middle left, big hit up middle right then let players like Fianu and KPP speed up play on the edges then a swift backline shift to score in the corners. 😍
I think two middle corridor runners like Pole and Afoa would be great and have big edges like KPP, Samuela, Big Red, The Lebanese Assassin and Sione. The bigger players the better imo and a utility like Madden but the new interchange system is one I haven't got my head around yet. How do you think we'll use the bench? Apparently you don't have to disclose who you'll use until they are used???
Use the whole top 30 😍
Melbourne had practically a big pack in most possies like Lisati who played all but a few minutes and they dominated the Eels.
Just watching the Broncos, they use their speedy forwards to run angles to break up the D. A different style altogether.
And yes, I have had a 2 glass of port, for medicinal purposes of course.

Nutz

It's a good point nutz. The NRL has about a million different stats for every team (and player) in their game summary each week but nothing about play the ball speed.

I'd love to see what our own averages out to each week vs what we allowed the opposition. If you win that battle most weeks, without giving away too many penalties and 6 agains, I'd guess you'd be guaranteed the 8, and would go a long way to playing in the GF. I'd be interested if the club has those stats. I bet the top teams do.
Found another ref DOM. Scroll acoss to player stats and play the ball times.

Nutz could be one of those radio experts:

Commentator: Now over to Nuts for real time play the ball.

Nutz: Thank you Brenda, so far we’ve got a 12% speed advantage for the Bears, best play the ball at 1.4 seconds in the 38th minute.

Looking at the angle deviation, we’ve got a full average 15%, mostly towards the eastern side. The ground itself is askew to 5% slope, so that’s troubled some of the forwards adjusting.

The straightest play the ball so far has been Sam for the Tigers. A 1.03 in the 22nd minute from his own 20.

In comparison with league averages, the play the ball is at a cracking place.

Commentator: Thank you nutz as Madden strolls over for his 4th try.
Tigers 32, Bears 22.

And now a word from our sponsor:

“ blah te dah, sports tab, sending you broke and homeless”

“ The Mam driving school, we will help you be a tosser. Try to wipe out a family with us”

“ Junior Amone roofing, put a f**kwit on your ceiling.”

Nutz

Thanks nutz. Out of the 4 games so far the team who has lost that stat has won the game so I it isn't a big deal after all. Interesting to know.
A bit of an anti-climax hey 😅
Yeh in the 2018 table I listed early it sorta agrees with you DOM and also the recent results.
I still think that a combination of both is the way to go.
Bellamy instigated the wrestling to slow the play the ball down and in attack they practiced going to their knees to avoid being put in their backs.
Having to retreat 10m after every tackle is harder if you have less time to do it in.
I think what's being overlooked dom, is players are getting more athletic these days and we have 4 subs.
I saw 3 big Storm players nearly play a full game and of course our boy, big Terrell could play 100mins if he was allowed to.
When you hear commentators in the know, like Billy Slater, say that a team is being dominated in the ruck, I'm pretty sure they're not just talking about weak or folding D.
They're are referring to someone like Api taking advantage of a quick play the ball as he darts from dummy half...this is just one example.
I reckon a lot of conditioning work goes into shuttle runs and beep tests these days too 🤔

Nutz

Nutz could be one of those radio experts:

Commentator: Now over to Nuts for real time play the ball.

Nutz: Thank you Brenda, so far we’ve got a 12% speed advantage for the Bears, best play the ball at 1.4 seconds in the 38th minute.

Looking at the angle deviation, we’ve got a full average 15%, mostly towards the eastern side. The ground itself is askew to 5% slope, so that’s troubled some of the forwards adjusting.

The straightest play the ball so far has been Sam for the Tigers. A 1.03 in the 22nd minute from his own 20.

In comparison with league averages, the play the ball is at a cracking place.

Commentator: Thank you nutz as Madden strolls over for his 4th try.
Tigers 32, Bears 22.

And now a word from our sponsor:

“ blah te dah, sports tab, sending you broke and homeless”

“ The Mam driving school, we will help you be a tosser. Try to wipe out a family with us”

“ Junior Amone roofing, put a f**kwit on your ceiling.”
We seem to be having technical issues so until we can resume our regular broardcast and expert analysis from Nutz, TSP from NASA, will explain which direction our universe is expanding in Part IV of, The Mind of a Genius. Copies of this wonderful series can be found in most comic book stores.
Get your free copy now.

Nutz

Every game a blow out so far this week. I'm sure the dope running the NRL will be tinkering with the rules again mid week.

Will probably result in A bewildering call costing a team two points in round 2. Just in time for the tigers first game.
Won't worry us, we ignore the rules simmo.

It’s still a misery putting up with this weekend’s circus waiting for the comp to actually start.

Red for go Tigers, let’s make a f**king season of it you flogs…

Do you want to live forever?

Fire up and put an end this travesty of a NRL sporting era.

Nutz

It’s still a misery putting up with this weekend’s circus waiting for the comp to actually start.

Red for go Tigers, let’s make a f**king season of it you flogs…

Do you want to live forever?

Fire up and put an end this travesty of a NRL sporting era.
I seriously don't think I'd live through watching the tigers win a gf.
I think I'd have to watch it in intervals after a nurse checks my bp.

I seriously don't think I'd live through watching the tigers win a gf.
I think I'd have to watch it in intervals after a nurse checks my bp.
I’m boycotting watching any footy properly until we actually run out.

I saw the Storm v eels and I wanted to throw up.

Nutz

I’m boycotting watching any footy properly until we actually run out.

I saw the Storm v eels and I wanted to throw up.
I've got a sneaky suspicion that @Tigerm doesn't watch games live as he's often commented that he did see the start or something like that.
So at the end of last season I cancelled foxtel and got premium YouTube.
This way I can see the highlights if we are winning but if we are losing I don't watch it at all.
If we do win, after a few days you get to see the whole game plus pressers etc on YouTube without commercials. Less stress this way and I saved myself nearly 200 bucks as I cancelled fox, netflix and stan.

I've got a sneaky suspicion that @Tigerm doesn't watch games live as he's often commented that he did see the start or something like that.
So at the end of last season I cancelled foxtel and got premium YouTube.
This way I can see the highlights if we are winning but if we are losing I don't watch it at all.
If we do win, after a few days you get to see the whole game plus pressers etc on YouTube without commercials. Less stress this way and I saved myself nearly 200 bucks as I cancelled fox, netflix and stan.
I do watch our games live on Kayo, but if we are getting flogged, I prefer to watch the grass growing.
But I only watch the other games highlight packages, if I'm interested, which generally I'm not. TBH, my son gave it to me.
I watch very little TV these days.
Though, I do have a soft spot for watching players like M Moses fail and fall apart.
I'm not a footy fan, just a WT fan.

Nutz

I do watch our games live on Kayo, but if we are getting flogged, I prefer to watch the grass growing.
But I only watch the other games highlight packages, if I'm interested, which generally I'm not. TBH, my son gave it to me.
Though, I do have a soft spot for watching players like M Moses fail and fall apart.
I'm not a footy fan, just a WT fan.
I'm a bit of the same. I actually watch most games or highlights simply because I'm hooked on Fantasy Coach and I need to see who's playing good and who's not.
It was so good last year that when I got back home from hospital I had over a hour of Wests Tigers highlights to watch uninterrupted.
YouTube actually put on some great free movies, the latest releases are about a month apart.
Last night we watched Dracula A love Story for free. It was alright but my missus loved it.

I’m getting a gift of a deceased friends wt gear.

I’m pretty happy about it.

He stayed solid like us through the dark night. Proudly stomping around Penrith like I’m prone to do at times.

Awesome guy, I’m sorry he passed but his tigership will live on through me.

JL is still a local and he gets stopped in the street for cheer and selfies. I guess he belongs to the game now.

Whispers continue that Jock is our best trainer by some distance and could even actually force his way into the side much earlier than anyone expects.

And there’s some brutal oomph in opposing sessions. I can’t reveal my source, but it’s close in.

We will see I guess. This time of the year is usually the most optimistic.

I’d take a finals berth, but realistically 9-12 inclusive. Guys still learning to play together and glass stomachs. Kids not quite there yet.

Ron's_Mate

‘Benji never suffers fools’: Why this year will be different for Wests Tigers
By Christian Nicolussi
March 13, 2026 — 3.30pm

The best thing about Benji Marshall heading into his third season as head coach of the Wests Tigers is he has a roster he has built – not one he inherited.

The players who have joined the club for the chance to play under the Tigers and New Zealand legend have affectionately become known as ‘Benji-ites’.

The Tigers kick off their 2026 NRL campaign on Saturday afternoon against the North Queensland Cowboys at Leichhardt Oval. Again, there is optimism in Tiger Town – but with good reason.

Their performance in the trials, especially against Penrith, was more than promising. And there looks like there is genuine competition for spots.

Rookie winger Heamasi Makasini turned heads by storming over the top of Panthers and NSW fullback Dylan Edwards for a try; Bunty Afoa will provide much-needed grunt in the middle; and Tigers fans will want to see the continual improvement of star No. 1 Jahream Bula.

But the most fascinating story will be Marshall and what he can deliver with the playing group he has pulled together, with the help of former chief executive Shane Richardson.

Marshall, 41, has a group who are prepared to fight for him every week.

His co-captains, Jarome Luai and Api Koroisau, are the ultimate competitors who know what it takes to win titles.

It probably explains why Marshall has made no apologies for getting tougher with the players over the summer, and laying down the law when it comes to standards.

Tigers fans got a sneak peek of Marshall’s cranky side earlier this week when the club released vision of him talking tough with the younger players at the start of pre-season.

“We’re big on standards, and if you don’t make your f—ing times consistently, and you can’t perform, and you’re not professional, you’ll be out of here,” Marshall says in a scene, which had more than 70,000 views within 72 hours.

Even though Richardson departed the club before Christmas, he is looking forward to seeing what Marshall produces.

“Benji is highly intelligent, he listens, he thinks, he picks things up at a different level compared to other people,” Richardson said this week.

“The thing he didn’t have when he started coaching was management skills.

“What makes [coaching legends] Wayne Bennett and Craig Bellamy so great at what they do is the fact they are man managers.

“But Benji has got better and better in that area, which is why I was looking forward to working with him this year. He’s now got a team he’s had a major say in. It’s his opportunity to shine.

“Benji never suffers fools, but when he started, he had to deal with the people he had.

“Those same people are now gone, and the players and people at the club are ‘Benji-ites’ – he’ll do really well. He never accepts second best in anything he does.”

Even some of Marshall’s closest mates have noticed a change in his approach to coaching.

Beau Ryan, a club favourite who has since forged a successful media career, has been a regular at training. He was there at Concord Oval for Friday’s captain’s run. “The big thing I’ve seen in Benji is how firm he is when it comes to discipline,” Ryan said.

“As a player, Benji trained hard. He had all the flair and skills as a player, but he ran hard, and in any skills game, he competed on everything.

“They’ve accepted different standards in the past for different reasons. But it’s different now.

“The happiness levels have also lifted. I hosted an event on game-day after the trial against Penrith, and the club just felt happy.”

Marshall was in good spirits when he spoke to this masthead about the pre-season and what he has learned from coaching. “This [pre-season] has been the most fun one for me,” he said.

“You get to see kids who were 17 and 18 when I first started, they’re now 19 and 20 and growing. Samuela Fainu, Latu Fainu, seeing the likes of those guys change become the players they are now, compared to what they were when they started, it’s been fun.

“I’ve learned that coaching is not about me – it’s about what this team needs from me.

“Every year I’ve needed to reflect on what’s worked, and what hasn’t worked. You’re constantly learning, constantly evolving, and constantly growing into what it actually takes to be an NRL coach.

“You don’t know what it takes until you’re in it. I can guarantee you everyone who has done it for the first time will be shocked at how different it is compared to how you think it is.

“The group we have now is different to the group I started with. This group needed the standards to lift, but it’s not me lifting them. Perception wise, it might look like me who is driving the standards, but it’s a credit to the leadership group.”

Marshall has brushed up on his leadership skills through an online program, which fellow NRL head coaches Anthony Seibold and Cameron Ciraldo, as well as Bulldogs’ skipper Stephen Crichton, have all found beneficial.

Every fortnight, Marshall will jump on a Zoom call with Perth Wildcats head coach John Rillie, Matthew Nicks (Adelaide Crows), Kat Smith (Western United coach), and former Test cricketer Mike Hussey, to discuss any concerns they have in their respective sports.

“Head coaching can be a lonely place – you can’t really turn to people in your sport,” Marshall said.

“What’s nice is you get people in other arenas and sports who face the same things and challenges you face, and we all share how we deal with our hurdles. It gives you ideas on what might work. You take what you want and leave what you want. There are no egos. But I’ve definitely found it quite helpful.”

The Tigers extended Marshall’s contract to the end of 2030 not long after Richardson’s exit. And on Friday, the club locked down halfback Adam Doueihi until 2029.

Marshall, however, feels no extra pressure to get the job done because of the club’s leap of faith.

“The extension isn’t about me, it’s about the whole club, the players, and stability for when you’re recruiting, knowing who the coach is,” he said.

“You’re always planning two years in advance – to have that stability, and to have players knowing I’ll be here, it makes it easier.”

Forward Royce Hunt says the Tigers will be more aggressive in 2026. “I think we’re fitter now, which means you can go harder for longer. We’ll be more aggressive – there will be no backward steps.”

Tigers fans are hoping for the best. Marshall, well, he is demanding it.

WA Tiger

I honestly don’t know how as a coach you can reveal your self how Benji did talking to the players and telling them shape up or ship out.. for the whole world to see ..this just takes a whole nother level of confidence as a human.. good on him and good luck for tomorrow Benji..

‘Benji never suffers fools’: Why this year will be different for Wests Tigers
By Christian Nicolussi
March 13, 2026 — 3.30pm

The best thing about Benji Marshall heading into his third season as head coach of the Wests Tigers is he has a roster he has built – not one he inherited.

The players who have joined the club for the chance to play under the Tigers and New Zealand legend have affectionately become known as ‘Benji-ites’.

The Tigers kick off their 2026 NRL campaign on Saturday afternoon against the North Queensland Cowboys at Leichhardt Oval. Again, there is optimism in Tiger Town – but with good reason.

Their performance in the trials, especially against Penrith, was more than promising. And there looks like there is genuine competition for spots.

Rookie winger Heamasi Makasini turned heads by storming over the top of Panthers and NSW fullback Dylan Edwards for a try; Bunty Afoa will provide much-needed grunt in the middle; and Tigers fans will want to see the continual improvement of star No. 1 Jahream Bula.

But the most fascinating story will be Marshall and what he can deliver with the playing group he has pulled together, with the help of former chief executive Shane Richardson.

Marshall, 41, has a group who are prepared to fight for him every week.

His co-captains, Jarome Luai and Api Koroisau, are the ultimate competitors who know what it takes to win titles.

It probably explains why Marshall has made no apologies for getting tougher with the players over the summer, and laying down the law when it comes to standards.

Tigers fans got a sneak peek of Marshall’s cranky side earlier this week when the club released vision of him talking tough with the younger players at the start of pre-season.

“We’re big on standards, and if you don’t make your f—ing times consistently, and you can’t perform, and you’re not professional, you’ll be out of here,” Marshall says in a scene, which had more than 70,000 views within 72 hours.

Even though Richardson departed the club before Christmas, he is looking forward to seeing what Marshall produces.

“Benji is highly intelligent, he listens, he thinks, he picks things up at a different level compared to other people,” Richardson said this week.

“The thing he didn’t have when he started coaching was management skills.

“What makes [coaching legends] Wayne Bennett and Craig Bellamy so great at what they do is the fact they are man managers.

“But Benji has got better and better in that area, which is why I was looking forward to working with him this year. He’s now got a team he’s had a major say in. It’s his opportunity to shine.

“Benji never suffers fools, but when he started, he had to deal with the people he had.

“Those same people are now gone, and the players and people at the club are ‘Benji-ites’ – he’ll do really well. He never accepts second best in anything he does.”

Even some of Marshall’s closest mates have noticed a change in his approach to coaching.

Beau Ryan, a club favourite who has since forged a successful media career, has been a regular at training. He was there at Concord Oval for Friday’s captain’s run. “The big thing I’ve seen in Benji is how firm he is when it comes to discipline,” Ryan said.

“As a player, Benji trained hard. He had all the flair and skills as a player, but he ran hard, and in any skills game, he competed on everything.

“They’ve accepted different standards in the past for different reasons. But it’s different now.

“The happiness levels have also lifted. I hosted an event on game-day after the trial against Penrith, and the club just felt happy.”

Marshall was in good spirits when he spoke to this masthead about the pre-season and what he has learned from coaching. “This [pre-season] has been the most fun one for me,” he said.

“You get to see kids who were 17 and 18 when I first started, they’re now 19 and 20 and growing. Samuela Fainu, Latu Fainu, seeing the likes of those guys change become the players they are now, compared to what they were when they started, it’s been fun.

“I’ve learned that coaching is not about me – it’s about what this team needs from me.

“Every year I’ve needed to reflect on what’s worked, and what hasn’t worked. You’re constantly learning, constantly evolving, and constantly growing into what it actually takes to be an NRL coach.

“You don’t know what it takes until you’re in it. I can guarantee you everyone who has done it for the first time will be shocked at how different it is compared to how you think it is.

“The group we have now is different to the group I started with. This group needed the standards to lift, but it’s not me lifting them. Perception wise, it might look like me who is driving the standards, but it’s a credit to the leadership group.”

Marshall has brushed up on his leadership skills through an online program, which fellow NRL head coaches Anthony Seibold and Cameron Ciraldo, as well as Bulldogs’ skipper Stephen Crichton, have all found beneficial.

Every fortnight, Marshall will jump on a Zoom call with Perth Wildcats head coach John Rillie, Matthew Nicks (Adelaide Crows), Kat Smith (Western United coach), and former Test cricketer Mike Hussey, to discuss any concerns they have in their respective sports.

“Head coaching can be a lonely place – you can’t really turn to people in your sport,” Marshall said.

“What’s nice is you get people in other arenas and sports who face the same things and challenges you face, and we all share how we deal with our hurdles. It gives you ideas on what might work. You take what you want and leave what you want. There are no egos. But I’ve definitely found it quite helpful.”

The Tigers extended Marshall’s contract to the end of 2030 not long after Richardson’s exit. And on Friday, the club locked down halfback Adam Doueihi until 2029.

Marshall, however, feels no extra pressure to get the job done because of the club’s leap of faith.

“The extension isn’t about me, it’s about the whole club, the players, and stability for when you’re recruiting, knowing who the coach is,” he said.

“You’re always planning two years in advance – to have that stability, and to have players knowing I’ll be here, it makes it easier.”

Forward Royce Hunt says the Tigers will be more aggressive in 2026. “I think we’re fitter now, which means you can go harder for longer. We’ll be more aggressive – there will be no backward steps.”

Tigers fans are hoping for the best. Marshall, well, he is demanding it.

The current vids we are seeing are looking good.
But I think Benji has to look at his bench rotations a lot more, a few time he didn't use the whole 17, which is crazy.
While I don't advocate changing the team after every loss, he shouldn't keep consistent non performers in the side either.
It's a balancing act, for sure, but it's why they get the big money.

Tough rounds ahead:

R3 - Bunnies-A
R4 - Wahs-A
R5 - Slimes-A
R6 - Knights-H
R7 - Broncs-H
R8 - Faiders-H
R9 - Sharks-A
R10 - Storm-A
R11 - Sea Eagles-A
R12 - Bye

If we are going to be a force this season, I think we have to win at least 6+ of these games, imo.