Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Season Over Thread

salvy71

I reckon Burty felt absolutely gone that he missed that kick. I hope he doesn't go home bashing himself too much.
Very dissapointed in Caylo, I get the feeling he's played so many games that he doesn't care as much anymore or maybe i'm an asshole.

I thought Burt rushed that kick ...I don't know why he did but he seemed to have it lined up and ready to kick within 30 seconds ...I guess he was budgeting to have some time to spare in the game in case he missed it ...and so he did ....but in the end Parra didn't deserve to win so I can't blame him .....

mrpwnd

I thought Burt rushed that kick ...I don't know why he did but he seemed to have it lined up and ready to kick within 30 seconds ...I guess he was budgeting to have some time to spare in the game in case he missed it ...and so he did ....but in the end Parra didn't deserve to win so I can't blame him .....
I thought it was longer than his usual standards.

salvy71

I thought it was longer than his usual standards.

It was longer than his previous 2 which he quickly kicked from in front of the posts to save time I guess but still somewhat faster than his kicks at goal during the normal course of the game , at least it felt that way to me - I honestly thought that he'd wind down the clock and take the full 90 seconds ....either way it doesn't really matter ...the damage was done by the first 70 minutes of very ordinary football ....

mrpwnd

I think the Raiders lack the same player we lack, a good half back. The reason they go better than Parra....They have a game plan and they have a structure.....Parra has none of this and has to rely on manufacturing tries out of absolutely nothing...

But, the Raiders could go close, but the Semi's arent played at Bruce Stadium so I cant seem them winning it
Woahhh hang on there mate.
McCrone and Campese.
We have Robson and Morts/Keating.
Massive difference in halves.

Bigfella

I reckon Burty felt absolutely gone that he missed that kick. I hope he doesn't go home bashing himself too much.
Very dissapointed in Caylo, I get the feeling he's played so many games that he doesn't care as much anymore or maybe i'm an asshole.

X 2.

Once again with the game to be won at the death he not only failed to produce leadership, he came up with a howling error. He does it so often.

Can't feel sorry for him. He is a non winner and the most overpaid overrated player I can remember.

The legacy of his captaincy has been mental softness and underachieving.

Andos biggest blunder along with the mateo fiasco was not shipping cayless off as soon as he came in.

Hopefully he can work on a change of culture properly now.

Maroubra Eel

I hope parra have learnt we need to put in more effort earlier in the season.

Our trial matches should have given us a wakeup call.

If nothing else I just hope we have learnt something from this.

Joely01

Im more dissapointed in the fact that we didnt win it for cayless, i feel like the players will get more up for a game for hindy then they will for cayless.
This season was a discrace really. I cannot believe still that we wont be playing finals footy, players like Hayne, Feleti, Moi moi and HIndy will not be seen in the finals.
But in saying that i think most of the players this year went down hill from last year, Burt, Reddy. Inu, morts (even though i dont think its fair the critisism he recieves) Robson, Fui, Feleti, for me were all below what level they should be at, INu and Feleti at times looked as if they didnt give a rats out their and for the first 22 rounds a game plan like give it to Hayne and he will do something really pissed me off.
The heart just wasnt their this year.
we have the right coach for mine to get us to the end, some players just need to have a good hard look at themselves throughout the off season.
The board is a mess and is really for mine the biggest dissapointment of all, the leaks that come out of our club are just ridiculous.
On a postive i really like the look of Mannah and Mitchell, for mine mitchell has to be their for the next 2 games and be off the bench next year.
What a way to end everyone watching Burts left boot and hoping, a guy sitting around me said this one kick is our season, he was right.
Cayless your a legend and sorry you couldnt go out a winner like you deserve but hopefully there is a packed house to celebrate your career, ill be there.

Parra Guru

ALL year they have looked like a team with nothing to play for (with the exception of the Storm game).

A retiring skipper and a massive membership base couldn't even spur them on. God help them next year, maybe we should put money over the try line and see if that helps....

WaznTheGreat

Clowns like Mateo only play good in the last few games to 'Stick it up Parra officals"

Why didn't the clown play good from the start? maybe then they would have offered you another contract you lazy pea heart.

eel01s

So what has failed to motivate the players this season?

Is it the coach?
Problems with the Board?
Are they just not mentally tough?

To be honest, I think all three have played their part. I still support Ando, but obviously next season is make or break for him.

I really think most of our squad is just not mentally tough enough. With the loss of Cayless, Mateo, Inu, KK I am hoping that we buy in players who have some steel about them.

The Engineers Room

The effort was there yesterday, they were trying but they don't seem to realise the way to win.

I can't understand inside passes against the Tigers and trying to play through the middle. As I have said the key in attack against the Tigers is to hit up one to two passes wide and stretch them.

Still we almost pulled it off against a very good side that is playing for top 4 this year.

WaznTheGreat

So what has failed to motivate the players this season?

Is it the coach?
Problems with the Board?
Are they just not mentally tough?

To be honest, I think all three have played their part. I still support Ando, but obviously next season is make or break for him.

I really think most of our squad is just not mentally tough enough. With the loss of Cayless, Mateo, Inu, KK I am hoping that we buy in players who have some steel about them.

Correct,very mentally weak these pea hearts.

We'll go great next year, we won't have that favorites tag that we hate for some reason.

Considering that we are a team that mostly lose the games that we are expected to win, I will look forward to having the nuffy tag for the first half of the comp. Maybe then we can string a few together.

Quick question: Were we ever actually in the 8 this year at any stage ?

TheMoneyBoxMan

Clowns like Mateo only play good in the last few games to 'Stick it up Parra officals"

Why didn't the clown play good from the start? maybe then they would have offered you another contract you lazy pea heart.

FMD! Never in my wildest dreams did I think I would agree with Haynetrain. Spot on in your summation. Him whinging and sooking on the TV about showing them what they will be missing just pissed me off no end. Good riddance I say. And to people who think we will be sorry I say lets wait and see. He still may only turn up for the warriors 3 games per season.

Damn!
I thought it a lay-down-misere we make the finals this year after last year.

There needs to be a LOT of soul searching this off-season AND there needs to be some major changes.

We need a organizing half. Desperately. End of story.

We need some of our younger players to improve or to overcome their sophomore slump and we need some others to step up.

Loved the Tim Mannah. He is gonna be a goodin'
Loved Mitchell got given the chance
Loved Horo's play and I loved Poores improvement from the start of the year.

Hate we still don't have an organizing half or 5/8
Hate our lack of desire at times
Hate we lost to the Sharks and Raiders at home
Overall hate our performance at home. Home should be a fortress.

tbh, I didnt think the Raiders loss was all that bad, we were beaten by a pretty good Raiders outfit. Its just typical that their best away performance was against us. :x

But losses to Cronulla (twice), Newcastle, Brisbane at home, Titans away. Games we couldve and shouldve won. If we won all those games we wouldnt be in this position, safely inside the top 8 and no worries.

I mean all the talk about, oh Parra can make their dream run again, 8 wins in a row to win it. If the team was more consistent they would win those easy games and wouldnt need a dream run.

Every year we expect to do well, we fail badly.

I think the attitude is very poor. We turn up and have a real good fight against the top sides. Then play really poor the following week. We are so inconsistent.

The good things to come out of this season was Tim Mannah. Every week this bloke tried his guts out and to me was a standout in Parramatta's forward pack. Deserves another shot at Origin.

Also Anthony Mitchell finally getting a shot at first grade. This young bloke goes well and I hope we see him play more in 2011.

Horo also played well for us but unfortunately we might lose him.

Again why does it every time we blood a good up and comer, we lose him to another club.

I dont know how we're gonna go in 2011, we've lost 4 players possibly 5 for next season and bought no-one, that's right no - one.

We cant rely too much on our young players, there's not too many good ones coming through Wenty or Toyota Cup.

Overall this season has been a huge disappointment. We could do a lot better than missing the top 8, unfortunately we're not consistent enough and our attitude needs to be fixed for next season.

Gazzamatta

The saddest thing of all, is that we all saw in the final 15 minutes yesterday what this team is capable of. Why did it take the realisation that their season could be over to make the players go that extra bit that was required.

Its an attitude problem but who is responsible for developing the right attitude?
Why was Mortimer forced to do so many tackles week in week out. Surely this wasnt the plan? Why wasnt it addressed?
Why did Mateo only go hard these past few weeks?
Why did Mateo speak up last week in a very negative fashion about his situation at Parramatta?
Why hasnt Horo been re signed when it was clear to all what a bright future he has?
Why is Inu so damn casual and why was he persisted with when it was equally obvious he dosent have the temperament for the NRL?
Why wasnt Daniel Anderson involved in the Quade Cooper Meeting in Brisbane?
Why did Hayne rarely get involved and why didnt his positional play improve? I suspect he may well have been carrying an injury these past few weeks or is he annoyed at all the money and publicity Quade Cooper is being offered?
Why are Parramatta the worst team under the high ball?
Why is Parramatta the worst team defending the rolling ball?
Why is there no structure from Tap Re Starts? You will notice that its the first person to the ball takes the tap from free kicks.
Why cant players kick out on the full from penalty kicks?
Why was there so little structure in attack?
Did the team produce any 40/20 kicks this year?
Why dont Parramatta use the inside ball to a speedy back that is so successful with every other team?
Why dont Parramatta use the "run a round play"?
Why does Hindmarsh have to make 50 tackles every game?
Why has Parramattas kicking game continued to be the worst in the comp?
Why were players like Mateo obviously overweight?
Why was Humble dumped after showing what a great prospect he is with virtually every chance he was given?
Why is it that Tahu came no where near his previous NRL form?
Why did the club sign Manafoka (reserve for Wenty) when there was no money left to sign Kingston?
Wasnt Peter Sharp bought to the club to improve the teams defence?
With the best Prop rotation in the NRL why havent the team taken advantage of this? My thoughts are that if Kingston had stayed in would have been a very different story.

All we can hope is that the bad infulences within the club are slowly being removed and that Daniel Anderson will eventually get the team he wants. However, this wont make a shred of difference if the back room boys continue to act as if they are more important than the team.
The Club has a roster that should have at least allowed them to make the semis.
Questions definately need to be asked but given the current political situation at our club its unlikely. Everybody will be blaming the next guy.
As said in a previous posting, Daniel Anderson has one year to make good, of that there is little doubt. The Board will need to do something spectacular as well if they are to survive in their current form.

One positive is the signing of Brad Murray from the Roosters Under 20s. This kid looks very much like an NRL player. Id be surprised if he wasnt a better prospect than the clubs current crop of half backs.

Parra Guru

FMD! Never in my wildest dreams did I think I would agree with Haynetrain. Spot on in your summation. Him whinging and sooking on the TV about showing them what they will be missing just pissed me off no end. Good riddance I say. And to people who think we will be sorry I say lets wait and see. He still may only turn up for the warriors 3 games per season.

x2

Also if his mind is still on proving the officials wrong like 2 months after the event, you have to wonder how committed he's actually going to be at the Warriors.