Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

self control for willow and fellow queen fans

millersnose

Illawarra Mercury
FIGHT CLUB: Disgrace as Dragons fans turn on each other
By PAUL SUTTOR
August 19, 2003

TWO spectators - both believed to be Dragons fans - will face several charges including assaulting police and resisting arrest, after they were allegedly involved in brawling during Saturday's loss to the Sharks at Toyota Park.

Two wild melees erupted on the ground's northern hill around full-time of Cronulla's 25-16 victory over St George Illawarra.

While trying to restore order, five police officers were injured, suffering bruising as a result of kicks and punches to the head, according to a Miranda police spokesperson, who described the misconduct as the worst recorded crowd violence at the venue.

Two men will appear in Sutherland Local Court next month to answer a combined total of six charges, including offensive conduct.

Police and ground officials said Dragons fans fought each other in the two brawls.
advertisement
It is believed the violence was a result of a section of Dragons fans engaging in a mock chant of "Steelers, Steelers" when their team fell behind on the scoreboard.

A small nearby group of St George Illawarra supporters took umbrage at the insinuation that the joint-venture Dragons were branded the Steelers when they lost, but St George when they won.

The area where the trouble took place is a "family section" where alcohol is banned.

A venue official from the Cronulla club was disgusted by the crowd violence and said the Sharks hoped it would be a one-off event.

"We couldn't work it out - they all had red and white on. Naturally, we presumed it would be (fans from) opposition teams," the Cronulla spokesperson said.

"It's no consolation to us that it was Dragons people fighting Dragons people, the thing is that they did it here. That's unfortunate for everyone because normally we don't have that."

Dragons chief executive Peter Doust did not want to comment on the allegations.

cheese

how sweet it is....

dennis'saints'geek said:
The Shire is a centre of hate, stupidity and ignorance without equal in Australia.

What I saw of the local inhabitants on Saturday did nothing to change this view.

Put simply you are not only bad people, but also inferior human beings.
You may need a towel to wipe all that egg off your face....

How so Cheese? please explain....

As to the 'brawl' I had a front row veiw and it was two blokes going at it hardly a 'brawl'

"Two men will appear in Sutherland Local Court next month"

Thats bollocks! They can't get a fair trial down there!

FREE THE SUTHERLAND TWO!

Collateral

I dont get it cheese.....He said the shire was the centre of hate and stupidity, and you reackon he has egg to wipe off his face...yet...the brawl happened in the shire didnt it. :roll:

cheese

Read the other thread, if knowing what im on about is really that important to you

saints'geek was branding our supporters at the game as "bad human beings" .....Yet as proven above, it was actually your own scum supporters that were causeing the majority of the trouble at shark park on saturday!

meh

Collateral

cheese said:
how sweet it is....

dennis'saints'geek said:
The Shire is a centre of hate, stupidity and ignorance without equal in Australia.

What I saw of the local inhabitants on Saturday did nothing to change this view.

Put simply you are not only bad people, but also inferior human beings.
You may need a towel to wipe all that egg off your face....

He never says anything about Shrks supporters being the cause of trouble. He says it is the "local inhabitants".
As far as we know these two Dragons supporters live in the Shire area.

Thus the remark "The Shire is a centre of hate, stupidity and ignorance without equal in Australia."

Wrong again Cheese.

I labelled Shire folk 'bad people' and 'inferior human beings'. I was not referring to Scum fans directly; I did however note that the precession of rednecks, hillbillies and Americanised-Australians I saw on Saturday did nothing to change this view as presumably a large portion of them where from the Shire.

dead ball

I saw the fight and saw the bloke that got chucked out spit at the other bloke. The spitter had a dragons jumper on and the other bloke wasn't wearing a footy jumper from what I could tell.
For the record the spitter as I will now refer to him as copped a barage of highly intelligent and amusing tirade from the faithful.
slapping , spitting , name calling , public urination , fans fighting with each other...... "Thats Tops".

Your a liar oneball, a filthy liar.

The 'fight' happened a metre in front of me and none of what you said is true.

Do you make a habbit of standing in the middle of the Dragon Army?

What liar.

Alan Shore

Denis'saints'Freak said:
Your a liar oneball, a filthy liar.

The 'fight' happened a metre in front of me and none of what you said is true.

Do you make a habbit of standing in the middle of the Dragon Army?

What liar.

Denial is always the first reaction.

I'm not denying that there was a pushing match (not one punch was thrown) between two Saints supporters.

However what oneball said was complete and utter bullshit, as anyone who was actually there will testify.

What a filthy liar.

dead ball

ha ha ha , it was probably you !!! mate what part is a lie???????
and by the way it was shark park and the I can sit where I like.
These are the facts ( and my st george supporter mate confirmed it with me last night..we were not standing next to each other) the bloke that got chucked ( in the first fight in the nor eastern corner ) had one of those striped dragons jumpers on and the bloke he spat on had a light brown type jacket . As the security guards had both his arms he spat on the other bloke who naturally blew up big time .Every one in ear shot of me was talking about it after it happened.
So what part of what i said is a lie???? your dreamin!!!
the bloke spat ..Fact
he copped heaps ..fact.
i didn't mention any punches did I ???
next time read the post before you acuse people of telling lies.

Your a filthy liar

These are the facts ( and my st george supporter mate confirmed it with me last night..we were not standing next to each other) the bloke that got chucked ( in the first fight in the nor eastern corner ) had one of those striped dragons jumpers on and the bloke he spat on had a light brown type jacket . As the security guards had both his arms he spat on the other bloke who naturally blew up big time .Every one in ear shot of me was talking about it after it happened.

'Every one in earshot of me was talking about it'

‘and my st george supporter mate confirmed it with me last night..we were not standing next to each other’

By those two comments I deduce that you weren’t actually near the ‘fight’. Correct?

‘As the security guards had both his arms he spat on the other bloke who naturally blew up big time’

1) There was no spitting

2) It was the police who held the men back, there were only two or three security guards there who where holding the crowd back compared to some 10 or so cops.

And whatever happened to your claim of ‘public urination’? forgot that one did we?

Not only are you a filthy liar but you’re also a poor one.

cheese

Its quite good at keeping 'poor' immigrants like yourself out of the area though, dimsim!

Your dads 'workers comp' claim, wouldnt even allow you to live in a 1 bedroom unit in the back streets of sutho.......

enjoy your "st george"

dead ball

Your in denial I saw him spit with my own two eye's and I wasn't the only one.
there was older lady with a dragons scarf on next to me who confirmed it and said how disgusting it was ..I thought I was seeing things at first .
I cant help it your teams supporters cant handle their piss.
public urination .
Dragons forward cant remember which one dont care. in the ATM area in the mall after getting all pissed up in Northies . got caught .I think there was some form of fine from the club ...check it out.