Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

semi

yy_cheng

http://m.dailytelegraph.com.au/no-m...980918305?nk=639c3797fe9a487bfe172c2e2c9abca5

SEMI Radradra could barely handle himself —
let alone a Steeden — when confronted with
the biggest culture shock of his life in late
2011 .
While acclimatising the isolated Fijian to
Sydney was their top priority , Eels staff also
knew they had to get him used to holding a
football as well as fluent conversations.
The result is the Radradra is now rarely seen
without a Steeden in his giant hands, which
have become infinitely more reliable .
Eel ' s Semi Radradra in action . Source : News
Corp Australia
From making 1 . 6 errors a game in 2013 ,
Radradra is averaging less than one fumble
from 15 appearances this year .
The idea of having players nurse a football in
their spare time is not completely new .
Former Roosters coach Brad Fittler first
devised it in 2008 , to cure a severe case of
butter fingers that plagued speedster Shaun
Kenny - Dowall.
Three years later , the GWS advised recruit
Israel Folau to cradle a Sherrin at home to
hasten his cross - code adjustment .
Semi Radradra in action . Source : News Corp
Australia
The 21 - year - old ’ s agent , George
Christodoulou, said : “Carrying the football
around more is something the coaching staff
have suggested to him , as a means to getting
used to holding it . From the stats you’ ve told
me about , it seems to be working . ”
Eels coach Brad Arthur commended
Radradra ’s for his diligence away from
training , which was demonstrated on Monday
when the winger juggled a footy during his
first round of all - in media interviews .
“A lot of it is Semi ’s own doing ,” Arthur said.
“It’ s all about getting him accustomed to
carrying the footy, and big part of it is
learning to grip the footy because he has
such big hands.
“We did a lot of work during the pre - season
on it and he ’s a lot more confident now . ”
Parramatta coach Brad Arthur shakes hands
with Semi Radradra . Source : News Corp
Australia
Only raw edges are preventing the former
Kava farmer from joining the game ’ s band of
elite wingers .
Leading tryscorer since the opening round ,
Radradra last month inked a four - year
extension worth $ 3 million and is adamant
about representing his new homeland at the
highest level.
“Last year I was just trying my best , but my
focus now on playing for NSW in the Origin
and the Kangaroos, ” he said.
“If I can ’ t do that , I will keep playing for Fiji . ”
Radradra is eligible for Australian selection in
the end- of- year Four Nations tournament ,
because he will have satisfied the three - year
residency requirement by then .
Parramatta ' s Semi Radradra makes a break
to score a try. Source : News Corp Australia
Christodoulou revealed Radradra had
intentionally left the ‘ Country of Election ’ field
on his new contract blank to keep his options
open .
In the meantime , Radradra continues to settle
into his new home . He now has a girlfriend
and a driver’ s license , but refuses to drink
alcohol .
“I only drink kava, ” he said.
In a final twist of irony, Radradra said
teammate Fuifui Moimoi — who famously
pretended he could not speak English to
avoid interviews — had been most influential
in overcoming the language barrier .
“When I first came , I could understand when
people were speaking to me , but I wasn ’ t as
good as speaking myself , ” Radradra said .
“I was doing English lessons , and if I don ’t
know something I can always ask the boys.
Fuifui has been good , he can understand me . ”

“Last year I was just trying my best , but my focus now on playing for NSW in the Origin and the Kangaroos, ” he said.

Nice one.

$725k a year? gee French rugby offer was probably heaps

I think that inflated figure includes the extension. He was contracted until the end of 2015 so you would think it's over 5 years. Even then I reckon that amount is bullshit.

Agree. Who is the best winger in the game and what does he earn ? No where near that.

oldmancraigy

It was reported at 1mill for 4 years originally. So 250k per. That article had a few punctuation issues, and the bloke probably typed 3 instead of 1 by accident.

No way would he be on 750k per season.

If we nabbed him at around 300k I reckon he's a bargain.

Joshuatheeel

Developing nicely, one area I think he can improve is running the ball out of our end. I don't think he uses his size enough and takes the tackle to easily considering how big and fast he is. Still does an ok job but think he could do better at it much like in the EGJ way of running the ball.

Chipmunk

I doubt we would be paying Semi Radradra $750k a year. Surely the people at Parra aren't that stupid

Kearney signed most of our backline. Seemed to have less luck with forwards.

Was Kearney at the Gold Coast Sevens tournament when Semi was identified whilst playing for Fiji ? Or was it a recruitment scout who sounded him out and suggested that he trial ?

Did Kearney identify and sign each player for NYC or are you saying that that it just occurred under Kearney's watch ?

I'm saying the coach has to approve every signing. He provides the strategic direction.

Or do you think the head coach is all about video and training drills and face slapping before a game? As I understand it that's what assistant coaches are for.