Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Serious is it just me..... or

With Politicans snuggling up to afl clubs and saying how great it is, media constantly hammering nrl clubs, officials and players ( ie Buzz and the freakin ABC)
Constant media attention and proprganda on how great afl is in sydney and all over australia, and some of our best league players just leaving us to play union for big rich european clubs and the fact our international calender/organisation is just F×£☆
Is it just me or are we loosing the war on sport in NSW and Qld?...

I missed the days when GB would tour down under, when a New South Welshmen would play for NSW and a Grand Final meant everything and no stupid talk about how great afl is.

With Politicans snuggling up to afl clubs and saying how great it is, media constantly hammering nrl clubs, officials and players ( ie Buzz and the freakin ABC)
Constant media attention and proprganda on how great afl is in sydney and all over australia, and some of our best league players just leaving us to play union for big rich european clubs and the fact our international calender/organisation is just F×£☆

I missed the days when GB would tour down under, when a New South Welshmen would play for NSW and a Grand Final meant everything and no stupid talk about how great afl is.

You mean back in the good old days before Origin? :)

Face facts that with globalisation closes the gap on all things Nationally and Internationally. Crowd numbers are not dwindling, and ratings are huge. I fail to see your point and I'm what you could call old school.

Aus_Dog

It's only doom and gloom if you want it to be. We have a big TV deal, big ratings and as said above crowds not dwindling.

There have always been people saying "Rugby League is dying" for as long as I can remember and that is even going back to the 80's.

Let them say what they want, I will just sit back each weekend and enjoy the footy

Wizardman

You have not missed a thing mate. The media (as a whole) like to give us a kick in the guts because it makes a good news story.

As far as losing the war, I don't think so at all. I think the media likes to give the perception that we are. Ratings and foxtel subscriptions speak for themselves. League will always be a significant force in QLD and NSW.

mongoose

meh, League sells itself on the field. AFL doesn't - the game is garbage on the TV so it has to constantly promote itself in other way like being the cultural sporting event for all Australians blah blah blah

NRL is also way behind the 8 ball with regards to stadiums and national presence. Sadly AFL being in all major capitals means its going to be more favorable to the pollies. Anyway, not sure about NSW but in QLD AFL is as irrelevant as it was in the Brisbane Bears days.

I know ratings is big... and that dictates but it annoys how are very own league/media just constantly bags us off and paints a morbid future of the game. Why cant the NRL see that. And why does channel 9 the home of league seem more interested in AFL... our pm is meant to be a easts tragic but goes out and says he rates AFL better..
Wtf?

T-Boon

I think the worry is that league is fully idle while AFL seems to be in hyperdrive.
But League is not going to die. As I see it the game needs to go backwards in order to go forward. As things are, with clubs strong enough to survive but too weak to grow, the game is being held back.
The game could do with some radical rule changes (it should be 11 aside), we need the game to look better on the field. And the NRL competition needs a complete overhaul.

mongoose

I think the worry is that league is fully idle while AFL seems to be in hyperdrive.
But League is not going to die. As I see it the game needs to go backwards in order to go forward. As things are, with clubs strong enough to survive but too weak to grow, the game is being held back.
The game could do with some radical rule changes (it should be 11 aside), we need the game to look better on the field. And the NRL competition needs a complete overhaul.

AFL troll is obvious...

mongoose

I don't think the on field product needs any major changes like reducing the number of players to 11. The game produces plenty of exciting contests each week. AFL has constant blowouts and while I have never really followed it I have heard supporters mention it's become ugly and scrappy to watch.

Western_Eel

channel 9 is NOT the home of rugby league, Fox sports is the new home, i havent watched a game all year on 9

H.H

We're doing fine.

We're less than 4 years into an IC model, afl are closing in on 30 years. The gap is closing exponentially as seen by the parity in the two media deals.

Crowds will grow once the stadium strategy is implemented and bedded down. Expansion will happen organically and not be contrived like the afl (massive mistake). And finally, what we're doing on the development front needs to be improved but I'm confident there will be more of a football focus now that the finances are in order.

That just leaves the international game...the potential here is enormous...the game just needs to be brave enough to embrace it.

If all managed properly, afl will be a footnote in 30-50 years.

Eion

ScoMo loves his sharkies. Number 1 ticket holder, bangs on about them on Twitter and goes to games.

thorson1987

We're doing fine.

We're less than 4 years into an IC model, afl are closing in on 30 years. The gap is closing exponentially as seen by the parity in the two media deals.

Crowds will grow once the stadium strategy is implemented and bedded down. Expansion will happen organically and not be contrived like the afl (massive mistake). And finally, what we're doing on the development front needs to be improved but I'm confident there will be more of a football focus now that the finances are in order.

That just leaves the international game...the potential here is enormous...the game just needs to be brave enough to embrace it.

If all managed properly, afl will be a footnote in 30-50 years.

This.

THE CHAMP

Another point I would like to make....

Nearly every pollie was educated in a softcock private school so they always silently lean towards the rah rah code.

Eion

Victorians are actually geniused enough to vote for someone if they think they love Afl, whereas NSW and QLD folk rightly couldn't really give a shit.

A bit like the President of the USA has to pretend to be a god fearer because of the Bible Belt.

Pete Cash

Thats the opposite of reality. Shorten doesnt have much to gain from victoria because they did ok there last time. He has much more to gain from nsw and qld.

So turnbull needs to worry about those states a lot more