Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Serious Question...hopefully a serious answer!

Well I don't know what game some of you guys were watching , because after I got back from the ridiculous bar line the score was 18 blot .The game was almost 25 minutes in and my mates and I absolutley gave it to the ref for repeated offside infringements. I woke up on sunday morning hoarse from yelling.
I was on the hill right on the try line on the edge of the concrete path and the grass.
A dragons supporter in front of me was getting the sheetz so I kept on going even when all hopes were dashed.

getting back to the bar line!!! inside the club two lines !!!!!surely putting on more staff wouldn't blow the budget whats en extra $400.00 if it means making the punters happy.
I heard a few non footy friends who came along say it was the last time they'd come to watch live because they could't get a beer and see the game within a reasonable amount of time.
I personally convinced about 7 peoople to come along and spent half the game apologising for the lack of promised cold beer.

I recon the atmosphere initially for Dragons supporters would hav been good. Was it just me or did they not time the 'large' fireworks display correct, it seemed the Dragons got em going off everywhere when they came out and by the time the sharkies came out it had all stopped, for the home side! I did hear chants initially from sharkies but it did slow down, I certainly wasnt vocal after we were down 18 to nil, I was shocked! As we got back in the game with tries it came back up but then of course when it got away so did the chatter. Additionally, I dont think that freeeeeeezing gail helped, man that was cold!

We just don't have the facilities for a crowd that big at the moment. That's why it is essential to get the development going.

Although, in saying that, inside the club was no better and they have just done that up! More staff behind the bar for the big games is essential.

All in all, this is good for the club. We all know how much they rely on gate takings and sales. This was a huge success for them.

MEE

Red V said:
I was at the game on Saturday and expecting a huge crowd (which there was, congratulations to all that went) and a competition between the Dragon Army and the Sharks Army. The only time I heard a whisper of a sharks chant was when the announcer told you all to back your team up!!!

Is Shark Park always that dead??? If it wasn't for the dragons army, you would have been able to hear a coin fall across the other side of the ground. Obviously the sharks team didn't turn up to play and were out-classed in every possible way from the first second, but is it always like that??
Wow and the Dragon army are like so totally vocal.... not.

SaintTPP

my eagle eye said:
Red V said:
I was at the game on Saturday and expecting a huge crowd (which there was, congratulations to all that went) and a competition between the Dragon Army and the Sharks Army. The only time I heard a whisper of a sharks chant was when the announcer told you all to back your team up!!!

Is Shark Park always that dead??? If it wasn't for the dragons army, you would have been able to hear a coin fall across the other side of the ground. Obviously the sharks team didn't turn up to play and were out-classed in every possible way from the first second, but is it always like that??
You are totally clueless!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Do me a favour and get out to the game on Sunday and tell me whether or not the army chant all day...no offence but that is the stupidist thing I have read all week. :?

MEE

Red V said:
my eagle eye said:
Red V said:

You are totally clueless!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Do me a favour and get out to the game on Sunday and tell me whether or not the army chant all day...no offence but that is the stupidist thing I have read all week. :?
I've seen the Dragon army live and they're pathetic, just like every other 'army' in the NRL.

Come with me to Croatia at the end of the year and ill show you what a real supporters group looks like. You and your lil Dragon army mates would get eaten alive.

McSharkie said:
Who would want to go to Croatia much less a soccer game?

I'm surprised a well-travelled man like yourself, McSharkie, wouldn't know that Croatia is a great place to visit. The wars finished a good while ago now.

It would take a brave man to get in the middle of their soccer crowds, though! :lol:

bubs

Everyone remembers LAST year there Red V when you were winning, you were quite vocal.
When you got destroyed in the end, the Queen Army were yelling 'Steelers, Steelers" which started a brawl between YOUR OWN SUPPORTERS.
And you go on about how quiet We were. HAHA :D

I think we both know that it isn't the war that would keep me away Dean. Just not my cup of tea mate. Soccer isn't exactly my favourite sport either. ;-)

RICHO

In all honesty, I think Rugby League crowds are generally quite poor when it comes to making noise.

A lot of people go along for the "entertainment" value of the game, not to help their team to a win. I remember being at a Sharks game, yelling something out (to a touch judge, and then to the team), and the people near me turned and gave me death stares! I didn't swear and wasn't abusive, just vocal. They didn't like it.

It sh!ts me to tears with how quiet crowds are. Not only at toyota Park, but everywhere.

I yell at the TV screen louder than people yell when they are actually at the game. It's about time people showed some passion. I rememeber people giving it to the team about lacking passion. Well, if the fans at Toyota Park fire up, so will the boys on the field.

GET LOUD FOR ONCE PEOPLE!!!