Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Seriously, can we beat the Dragons again?

I say no.
Last time we got a bit lucky against a team that I reckon took us lightly & the grind got us home.
I think they are a better team with fien rather than hornby, as long as Fein plays well.
Scott is apparently back, so that means Soward will play better.
Gasnier is Fresh.
Cooper is Fresh.
Home ground advantage.

I think this game may demonstrate if there is any grind left in our team, as well as the "gloriously entertaining open football".

I think the Dragons will get up 13+ & commence their march to the finals.

kal83

I'm not confident but you never know. The team is playing with a lot of confidence at the moment and we seem to have the balance right now with toops and taga coming off the bench. Basically need to complete our sets and don't give away too many penalties, mistake free football basically. Dragons like to grind teams into the ground so if we can hang in there and things go our way could pull off another upset.

webShark

I say no. Every time the Dragons look challenged at home they run out comfortable winners (i.e. against Manly).To have any chance we must score first. I think losing Snow for Cordoba is a bit too much. Snow had a top game in Round 2. I dont think Cordoba can adequately replace him. But I thought excactly the same before Round 2. This time we have the confidence of 4 wins and a win against them in Round 2.

ratsack2

It all depends on who the Nrl want to win
normally I would say the merged scum but I have a feeling at the moment with all the Gallen momentum
in the news after origin and us winning 4 on the trot that we can be this years feel good story so I expect we might get a leg up from the league and the refs in the coming weeks

ratsack2

I'm not confident but I wasn't in round 2 I think we are a better team and better placed than round 2 to win it
also a win in this game would be huge
knock
of reigning premiers
away win
5 in a row
probably back in top 8 buy most I
portabtly it is ever so sweeter to beat that fiflthy no good cheating red and white scum

so we have eveything to play for which means we will probably lose

All things being equal then I say yes. However, watch Robinson come out of the wood works this week. Andddd guess who the ref will be for the broncos game.... FML

spider

yes - if we aim up, if not we'll get smoked

high completions and discipline + all other cliches required

wont be gifted soft tries, and will need a spot-on attacking kicking game notwithstanding kicking in general play

ol' mate benny is king of the analytical surprise - will have studied our recent wins and shut us down on the edges - watch the rushing umbrella defence early on to combat toops / gallen / smith

pom and besty need to be spot on defensively, and we certainly wont make untouched line breaks in the three quarters

cant beat them with a so-so performance - has to be better than the past month

St_Jubbsy

Nah, the game is at Kogarah so a Noah like flood will not win the game for you this time.

newman

The only thing that will be in our favour is that their preferred 17 has played bugger all Footy together in the last six weeks, and at the moment we are a pretty cohesive unit.

I had a chat to Flano on Sunday and he was cautiously optimistic that we could give em a shake.

I'm so negative about our chances I'm not even going to watch it.

Can the Sharks win against the Dragons on Monday night.

I don't know. Well obviously they can as anyone can beat anyone on a given day but I'm not very confident.

Include all above mentioned cliches as to what has to be done and the start is made.

It's other areas where I believe possible shortfalls could be exposed.

I expect the forwards to cancel each other out.

One is the "spines" of each team. St George will run on with a 9,7,6, & 1 combo that has 655 games to their credit. The Sharks spine has 316. So, pressure straight up on Chad T who has to lift another level already after just 5 games. This game is a big test for the kid. He has to get the side around the park, he has to have a good long kick happening and he has to have a good attacking kick set going. He's also probably going to be targetted in defence by Scott and/or Creagh.

Secondly. The rear echelon. The Sharks 3 are still babes in arms realistically. 1,2 & 5 for the Sharks have just 78 games between them. Their counterparts will run out with 324 games between them.
Gardner, Wright and Stapo have to be in position and have to get the ball back fast and hard or Soward will make them look silly. They have to get to everything in the air and try to keep the ball off the ground first and if still on their feet they have to hare off upfield and try to set a third/fourth tackle platform for the forwards.

Intensity. This young Sharks backline has done reasonably well over a month of playing sides that are not considered contenders. They've done so with a smattering of errors in their games which have largely been concentration errors. These errors don't get mentioned much due to the winning but they are there. These are often subtle defensive errors which could be simply standing a yard out of position. Well, give D Boyd a yard and he'll run around you or slice inside of you. So will Gasnier, Nightingale etc etc. Yes, The Sharks have a couple guys who could do that as well but the experienced Drags backs will have to be right off their games to let it happen too often

Just some thoughts. I have more but I have to go do my tax :)

Ausguy

YES WE CAN!!

But i dont think we will... im not watching either Newms... if we start playing shite i may break the tv. So i will IQ it and if we win il watch it.

DJShaksta

Can we? Yes
Will we? Depends on how we handle the occasion.
We are not expected to win, we ambushed the drags last time but they'll be ready for us this come monday nite.
We are the only to team to beat their full strength side since august last year - this wl spur them on.

If the game stays tight I think we can come home in the last 10-15 and get a win.

If we let them get away early it could get ugly.

azzah72

I think we can

We beat them last time after a belting, not our best half playing and with given no chance at all.

But we fired up, showed passion and came home with the win.

This time we have our best half playing, we have our tails up and we know and believe we can beat them.

Personally I think the dragons aren't playing the best atm, they are under cooked and probably tired.

We can do it, it wont be easy but we can.

I bloody hope so. I've been O/S the past four weeks and get back this weekend.

Coincidence? Hmmm... A loss this round and it's official.. I AM the curse