Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Shark Fans Travelling to Melbourne (Round 8)

bubs

BUMP..

Better get this one back up to the top for a while as it is on next week.
2.30pm at Young and Jacksons Pub on Saturday afternoon.
A couple of soothing Bourban@Coke (minus the bourban of course) and we can wander down to the game in a big group, hopefully giving Molly Meldrum a serving on the way for the 2nd year running.
Not many takers so far. Come on everyone.

Me
BlackDot
McSharkie so far.
Anyone else coming...........

black_dot

Great stuff mate, I'll have three others with me at the game, and hopefully they will come to the pub too.

black_dot

According to the map on the ticketek site mate for storm home games

sfx7372.gif

The entire east stand where we normally sit is now reserved, we COULD however get there early and get into the west concourse area on the tunnel side ? whaddya lads reackon is the best call ?

black_dot

I dont mind mate, whatever everyone wants, ive sat there once and its pretty packed as you can see, but if we get there early enough we can stake our claim with our little bunch and brace ourselves for the barrage as the storm faithful ( clueless in every aspect of the intricasies of league ! ) give us a going over all game long !

Kramer

Will be there, but may be struggling to make the 5.30pm kick off. Was just going to get there when we could and sit/stand where ever. What time will you guys be leaving the pub? and whats the place to go to after the game?

black_dot

HI guys.

I've spoken to the storm today and I reckon that the unreserved seating on the western ground level concourse is the way to go. We will meet at 2.30pm at the pub opposite flinders if that is still cool, but gates open at 3.30pm I I think to get a good spot and save some seats for late arrivals we will need to be there not much after that.

So we can have a beer or two and plan the walk to get there about 3.45pm ? even 3.30pm if we want really good seats, I thought up the back row of the terrace would be best, no one behind us to get upset and also higher up to get a good view of the field.

Isle position for easy access to bar.

Thoughts ?

black_dot

Can I just get a confirmation on the numbers everyone has got ?

Macca has 3 altogether
Bubs just the one ?
I have 4 altogether.

I may be able to sort something out this week regarding reserved seats so that we dont have to leave the pub too early to get a good seat, so let me know of numbers, and kramer, if you want to be a part of that let me know if you are definately going.

Alan Shore

I was in the Western Grandstand for the Eels match, it's actually a decent spot but I still prefer the East. Plus we can get on TV then.

girvie

Anyone who is not heading down to Melbourne should head over to North Sydney Oval on Friday night at 5.30 to watch the Sharks and Jets play the Bears.

Kramer

black_dot said:
Can I just get a confirmation on the numbers everyone has got ?

Macca has 3 altogether
Bubs just the one ?
I have 4 altogether.

I may be able to sort something out this week regarding reserved seats so that we dont have to leave the pub too early to get a good seat, so let me know of numbers, and kramer, if you want to be a part of that let me know if you are definately going.

Best leave me out of it Black Dot, but thanks for the offer. Getting too hard to organise my lot. Originally there was only 2 of us in the group travelling down that were going to go to the match. Now another is not sure, and a couple of our Melbourne connection are keen. I think we will probably just play it by ear, but I will definetly be there somewhere. I would still like to try and meet some of you before/during/or after the game.

black_dot

Done, no worries guys, we will leave it at Bubs, Macca X 3 and me x 4 for the time being. There may be 3 others too but not confirmed.

The more I think about it the more I think we should shoot for the eastern stand, there is a little more room to move over there and it's easier for the sharkies players to hear us and see the colours, if only small in number. They do notice and do appreciate the support in a foreign land !

I'll keep you up to date macca and bubs

bubs

black_dot said:
The more I think about it the more I think we should shoot for the eastern stand, there is a little more room to move over there and it's easier for the sharkies players to hear us and see the colours, if only small in number. They do notice and do appreciate the support in a foreign land !
Maybe it might be time to drag out those blue wigs again, just for colour of course......
Just one for me, I don't care where as they don't allow flags into the ground.
Just watch out for those eastern seats. They are squashed together something terrible.

black_dot

So too are the western ones mate, more so infact on the terrace than in the stand.

We shall meet at 2.30 at the pub and see what we have to work with

Surandy

The top half of the Eastern Stand (Tawera Nikau Stand) is a reserved area. Maximum number of tickets sold for this area = number of seats available. With Reserved Area tickets you can sit anywhere within the top half of the Nikau Stand.

The bottom half is Reserved Seating. Meaning you might have to sit around the 30 or 20 metre line to get a group of seats together.