Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sharks game

2010Dragons

Both Kyle and LKT couldn't kick a ball to save themselves.
Just look at the way they approach the kick. They tippy toes like Fred Flintstone with his comical bowling steps and then kick very unorthodox method of long-range kicking. Both can't kick high or long.

I would suggest the coach changes tactics and gets Cook or Liddel to kick long from dummy-half and maybe Gutho to kick the high bombs.

The two little halves can just kick grubber kicks in-goal when we need a repeat set on the 5th.

rasaint

We are struggling that is agreed. The injury and SOE toll ( both NRL and u19s ) really bite hard this week. Probably none of us would have thought that Ryan C ( considered the slightly better) Egan out with ACL, Sua, Tui, gone with long term injuries, Val Holmes, opportunity for young Halangaghu but out SOE.

Bulldogs had Critchon and a few others out suspension SOE injury etc week before had got thrashed. You have to have your best available.

Corrimal Dragon

Just look at the way they approach the kick. They tippy toes like Fred Flintstone with his comical bowling steps and then kick very unorthodox method of long-range kicking. Both can't kick high or long.

I would suggest the coach changes tactics and gets Cook or Liddel to kick long from dummy-half and maybe Gutho to kick the high bombs.

The two little halves can just kick grubber kicks in-goal when we need a repeat set on the 5th.

Both are totally useless in the kicking department. We should have Gutherson at 6.
Sharks by 40

Lovemedragons

Both are totally useless in the kicking department. We should have Gutherson at 6.
Sharks by 40
Gutherson at 6 surely isnt a wild stretch of the imagination, Holmes could be tried at fb and Allen in the centres. But those changes should have been done weeks ago when it was clear our 6 and then 7 wasn’t up to it. But I guess any drastic change now is like jumping the shark, seen as a last desperate throw of the dice, which in truth, it probably is.

Lovemedragons

Evidently we couldnt get into gear to offer him a contract. He got sick of waiting and signed with the Chooks.
We have a real blind spot when it comes to identifying and holding talent on our own doorstep, a quick scan of the rosters and coaching teams from other clubs is a damning indictment to our club’s football management.

We should be a real powerhouse whereas somewhat justifiably, we are now seen as weak and pathetic.

jeffdragon

Can see Nikora back on an angled run to score with our defence standing still and Kennedy backing up a break to score a long range try.
And the flog Mulitalo scoring and giving it to our players.

Gutherson at 6 surely isnt a wild stretch of the imagination, Holmes could be tried at fb and Allen in the centres. But those changes should have been done weeks ago when it was clear our 6 and then 7 wasn’t up to it. But I guess any drastic change now is like jumping the shark, seen as a last desperate throw of the dice, which in truth, it probably is.

I'd put gutho 6 king 7, he's not a fullback any more

redandwhite4evr

I made the same point re KF and LKT's inability to kick in an earlier post-Katoa from the Phins kicked us to death- bombs landing with laser precision with fast moving wingers and edge forwards arriving simultaneously- end result- Lemeuelo and Bostock scoring. Last season it was Walker and his grubbers into the in-goal which contributed to yet another thrashing from the Roosters.

Meanwhile, our bombs land with daylight between the FB and our first defender arriving.

Not sure how we solve it. Sexton isn't a long kicker but he'd be an upgrade on KF.

saintmar

If we employ Dean Young's limp, static defensive line, Hynes, Nikora, Trindall, Ramien and co will make us pay in the same way the Dolphins did. We need to get in their faces, hit and stick, use shoulders rather than arm grab, stop the offload, put them on their backs, slow the play the ball down. I re- watched the Dolphins game and our wrestle was non-existent. The Dolphins were either running for gaps, off loading or hitting the ground on elbows and knees and bouncing up to play the ball. Then JMK, Katoa, and Nikorima were attacking a retreating defensive line. It was an unstoppable avalanche. We are afraid to test the ref like all the other teams do. We are scared of giving a penalty. Most of the good defensive teams challenge the ref to keep penalise them. The wrestle constantly, dance with the tackled player, move them sideways. Backwards and spin them and turtle them and force the ref to either do something or let it slide. We are the worst wrestlers and this is ESSENTIAL to avoid a retreating defensive line. This is why so many halfbacks have Man of the match performances against us. Think Cleary at WIN last year, Walker in last year's ANZAC DAY clash. Sandon Smith this year, Katoa this year and last year. Sexton in round 1. Humphrey's against South's, Dylan Brown against Parra, Metcalf for the Warriors at WIN. We are a opposition's spine wet dream.
We need to be brutal, force the ref to either maintain the penalties or let it slide and back our brutal defence.
It’s all flano this week
Deano is away most of the time with the elite somewhere flano has never been

saintmar

So why doesn't the Board sack Dean Young and hire Brad Arthur as defensive coach? Perhaps because Craig Young, Doust, and their group won't agree to do this.

We still need a cleanout, and we have needed one since 2012.
Possm you need to do some homework regarding the Board and the power brokers before you post rubbish because you are about 10 years behind Mate
On another note Congratulations to Nicky T on his debut tomorrow night
Bleeds red and white like Deano