Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sharks Outfit

TRANSLATION

Cronulla (2004 squad): David Peachey, Matt Rieck, Nathan Merritt, Hassan Saleh, Nigel Vagana, Ryan McGoldrick, Paul Franze, Greg Bird, Russell Aitken, Brett Kimmorley, Michael Sullivan, Dean Bosnich, Jason Stevens, Danny Nutley, Chris Beattie, Dale Newton, Andrew Lomu, Phil Bailey, Matt Hilder, Paul Gallen, Keith Galloway, Sam Isemonger, Matt Bickerstaff, Michael Russo, Jon Green

No Im not having a go at the sharks because we are neighbours. I have never hated the sharks at all in fact. I just had a look at their squad that's in the paper today, and it strikes me that they have No size at all in the backline.
Only Phil Bailey has any size about him, but he will possibly go back to the backrow.

How do the sharks intend on defending against the bigger back rowers, and centres these days.

The Sharks backline is very quick, yet tiny in shape, and not tall at all.

I think it will pose a problem in defence, not in attack.

Merritt, Mcgoldrick, Rieck, Saleh, Bird, Kimmorley. Sullivan.
Peachey and Vagana are of Taller build, Peach is not what you would call a strong defender.
Vagana is one of the best centres in the game. He can handle himself.

Any other clubs have trouble like this ?

Add to that the Forwards ??.. Stevens and Beattie.. Old and Stale.
Gallen and Nutley, while short in stature, are 2 of the best forwards in the game, pound for pound, and size.
Hilder is another good player, and They have some size in Galloway, and some younger forwards.

I jsut think they have not recruited well enough. Todays game needs Gladiators out wide, and in the middle. The sharks will struggle to Dominate any game with that pack. and with the size of their backs.

Anyone agree ?..
I know sharks people wont agree, but tell me, where am I wrong ?

Gasnier, Timmins, Cooper, Creagh, Barrett, Hornby.. Super Defenders, all very strong, and very quick. Firman is as big as Joey Johns this season.

Blacklock is not a super defender, just an average tryscoring freak ;-)
We have in the lower grades, WES, L Roberts ( Centre ) who is as tall and as big as Ryles.

Props are Young and Rep players in Ryles, Bailey and Sims. All extremely mobile and Fit. Can play 80 mins if required. All are Tall.
Long is very strong, and a high workrate player. Kite is tall but can be Dumb 90 % of the time.

Thommo is not so tall, but you can pass with a few his hight and his Game.

Riddell is also a Monster.

We have recruited some more Big boppas ready to taste some FG this year or next.

Is it just me, or does the game today require Bigger , Faster , Stronger.

DRRRAGONS

Can't wait to crush those puny sharks,

Poor Vagana, has to wait until his contract is up tp start thinking about a premiership

TRANSLATION

Parramatta halfback Michael Witt can't recall a match last season in which he played alongside both of the club's Test props, Nathan Cayless and Michael Vella.

"Most games I played without either of them and towards the end of the year I played with one or the other, so I'm looking forward to playing behind both of them," Witt said yesterday.

Crippled by injury for much of last season, the Eels have used the summer to recover and rebuild. And according to coach Brian Smith, the power game is back in vogue and his off-season recruitment was heavily influenced by size.
From the SMH today, Re the EELS player recruitment.

"We've overloaded with big people. We've got a lot more of them," Smith said. "It's not just the pack. Even on the wings, Eric Grothe is about 103 kilograms and Wise Kativerata is 100kg."

The Eels have signed six new props, while 20-year-old Justin Tsoulos has bulked up to 120kg - giving Smith the luxury of shifting Cayless and Vella to the back row.

"We've recruited some big guys and that can only help me," Witt said. "When they're going forward . . . I've got a lot more time to organise things. If injuries go our way and we can keep our best side on the park we'll go OK."

wittyfan

Defence went to hell under Anderson so Raper will hopefully be working the team hard in that area. The Dragons may look big, but the question is, can they play well as team? ;-) They also seem to play better when their "stars" are out. :)

TRANSLATION

Jimbo said:
I guess you'll get to see for yourself in Round 8, won't you?

:roll:

Jimbo, I dont wish to have a slanging match re dragons and sharks. I just had a look at the team in the paper this morning, and each players name i was reading, i pictured them to be of a Small stature in build.
They have an abundance of speed. But I suggest they start to invest in some bigger players of the same speed. Players capable of bringing down bigger blokes.
Players can get their hands free against these guys.

yes we will see in round 8. But im not as concerned as the season is not just 1 game.

Generalzod

Stgillaman said:
Jimbo said:
I guess you'll get to see for yourself in Round 8, won't you?

:roll:

Jimbo, I dont wish to have a slanging match re dragons and sharks. I just had a look at the team in the paper this morning, and each players name i was reading, i pictured them to be of a Small stature in build.
They have an abundance of speed. But I suggest they start to invest in some bigger players of the same speed. Players capable of bringing down bigger blokes.
Players can get their hands free against these guys.

yes we will see in round 8. But im not as concerned as the season is not just 1 game.

Stgillaman bloody lot of good your big blokes performed last year.

fat_mike

Stgillaman bloody lot of good your big blokes performed last year.

bailey had a superb year and only webcke was ahead of him and will no doubt be 1 or 2 this year , ryles was injured and young sims seems to have the making of top forward. cant really fault the dragons forwards. even perenara played well in an incredibly under performing side. thompson always gives his best so you cant fault him. i think it was more around the halves where the dragons faultered.

Stgilla, I don't want to get into a slanging match either but, you really don't have a clue what you are talking about.
Peach is not what you would call a strong defender
That is just an example. Peachey is one of the safest defenders there is.

Of the rest of our backline, Vagana is safe, Franze is a good defender, Kimmorley is tough as nails and I bet you have never heard of Russell Aitken, he has plenty of size.

You should probably stick to the team you know something about pal.

TRANSLATION

McSharkie said:
Stgilla, I don't want to get into a slanging match either but, you really don't have a clue what you are talking about.
Peach is not what you would call a strong defender
That is just an example. Peachey is one of the safest defenders there is.

Of the rest of our backline, Vagana is safe, Franze is a good defender, Kimmorley is tough as nails and I bet you have never heard of Russell Aitken, he has plenty of size.

You should probably stick to the team you know something about pal.

Kimmorley is Not a Strong defender, He is more a Speed Bump. he runs out of the line to make a Telling Captains tackle, and usually acts as a speed Bump. He can not stop a Bloke from getting the ball away. I consider Peachey's defence as good as blacklocks.
Franze is a good up and coming player, and a good defender with some power about him.

Aitken, no ia have not seen much of them, But stack them up against other sides, and see what you have.

Peach Hornby Mini
Merritt Blackock Hegarty
Vagana Gasnier Hodges
Franze Cooper Cross
Mcgoldrick Creagh Byrne
Bird Barrett Fitler
Kimmorley. Firman Finch

I Could Keep going but I wont.
Speed Bumps.
Bird, Kimmorley, McGoldrick, Merritt,

What do you know about McGoldrick? He can tackle as well as anyone in your list. Thanks for putting our guys against yours though, I feel even more confident now.

fatshark

and it strikes me that they have No size at all in the backline.
Franze is a big boy, not tall but solid, same with McGoldrick. For what we lack in size we more than make up in speed. In fact the Sharks have one of the quickest backlines in the comp with Riecky and Merrit.
Long is very strong, and a high workrate player.
yes 4 years ago. Dont worry you will find out after the first ten minutes, he will be at the back hands on hips , socks down , struggling.
Gasnier, Timmins, Cooper, Creagh, Barrett, Hornby.. Super Defenders, all very strong,
Injury prone, injury prone, overated, who?, injury prone.
Most of these players spend more time on the sidelines. Timmins is a great player though.
Mate worry about your own team.

Booyah

I agree with some of your sentiments StIllaman - but not all.

Yes, we certainly lack size in our backline, but we still have some very astute defenders back there.

Franze - a noted big-hitter and showed in the trials he still has it.
McGoldrick - likewise is a good defender. More of a bootlacer then a smasher like Franze, but still very capable.

Merritt and Reick - both suspect. Hopefully ET has been working with them and they will have improved.

Vagana - we all saw his defence in the test match against Oz after the grand final last year. Superb is the word that comes to mind. A little inconsistent, but more then makes up for it with his attack.

Peachey - Solid. I remember once when Tallis ran straight at him from about 10m back in 2000 in the Prelim finals. He looked certain to score. Peachey nailed him and flipped him over. Held up in goal. 7/10 Peachey will get his man.

Bird - Pathetic.

Noddy - Not the best, but certainly not the worst.

What we lack in defence, we more then make up for with Attack.

BTW - you were going pretty well with that assesment until I saw this;

Gasnier, Super Defender,very strong.

:lol: :lol:

Come on! Gasnier is one of the biggest turnstyles in the game.

Something my mate said to me over a beer last Saturday night comes to mind.

Q. How do you win footy games?

A. By scoring more points than the other team.

What do ya reckon Pogo?

Jimbo

I can't believe you actually referred to Gaaaaaaz in a thread about defence...

:lol: :lol: :lol:

Peach 88
McGoldrick 91
Franze 98
Vagana 87
Merrit 86
Bird 96
Kimmorley 80

Hornby 86
Blacklock 92
Gasnier 100
Cooper 92
Simmons 81
Barrett 92
Firman 89.

Not a lot of difference really is there?

PJ

Gasnier a "superb defender" :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

shadowboxer

It takes a brave man to start anaylsing other teams with only a few weeks before the season starts and it takes an even braver man to call peachy not a strong defender. I guess you have probally read laurie daleys preditions in BIG LEAGUE to help you sleep at night knowing that the dragons should finishe the comp on top of the heap.

Good luck to all teams this season, even the dragons, i think it will be another year where there wont be much in it and most teams will be on an even keel.

Cometshark

I'd just like to say the reason Kimmorley misses alot of tackles is because he attempts more tackles, he tries to stop the forwards before they have a chance of picking him out and lining him up.
Peachey on par with blacklock in defence you have to be kidding me. :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: