Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Should jnr rego's be free?

eozsmiles

It would be better to encourage our little league players to try hard at school and have their parents show them the options a solid effort at education brings for the rest of their lives. We can encourage uni students to play league or encourage league players to go to uni. Get the well spoken role model types like DCE on the TV more and keep the boofheads like Dave Taylor and Sam Kasiano away. Show the kids you don't have to be a boofhead to play the game.

I don't know about the AFL Auskick thing but I hear it's linked with primary schools somehow. Pretty smart. Get access to every kid as well as link the sport to education.

But anyway, a hundred bucks or so to get your kid into a local sports club is a bargain. It would be great if it was free but nothing is. I know times are always tough for some but I hope parents do all they can to get their kids a constructive social outlet.

And if mum and dad have the time they should grab a touchy flag or a water bottle and get involved too. Even better, get a coaching certificate. Might have some fun. The thing about taking your kid to sport is that you enjoy it too - most of the time LOL. So for your hundred dollars the young fella gets a kick and you and the missus and nanna all get to enjoy watching. Like I said, it's a bargain.

Well said Eoz. I have no idea why ECT hates the unemployed, but it's clear that he wants to limit access to League to those over a certain socio-economic status. Which is precidesly why the Sydney Union comp has grown into a billion dollar international business while the Sydney League comp "thrives"on a couple of Volvo drivers supping cognac at Trumper Park every saturday arvo...oh wait.........

newman

As a coach of a junior team I know that if a kid wanted to play and we knew factually that the parents simply didn't have the money, the club, or even the parents of other kids would find a way to get them registered. One of the great things about being involved in a club is seeing volunteers pull something together and being a part of that.

Well said Eoz. I have no idea why ECT hates the unemployed, but it's clear that he wants to limit access to League to those over a certain socio-economic status. Which is precidesly why the Sydney Union comp has grown into a billion dollar international business while the Sydney League comp "thrives"on a couple of Volvo drivers supping cognac at Trumper Park every saturday arvo...oh wait.........

And why RU is an insignificant sport globally and RL is a powerhouse played in over 100 countries and at the Olympics. Oh wait.

I know it might be hard to understand what happens in the world to someone who thinks comparing the Sydney grade comp to the NRL is a credible thing to do in complete isolation, but never mind.

And as i said, definitely touched a nerve attacking dole bludgers here...

papabear

I agree league should be promoted in unis
And social oztag.

To be fair at UNE there was the same league and union sort of inter college comp but no one gave a crap about the union one.

The question is how do you get league in to unis where union has a stranglehold we over it.

Similarly league should push IMO inter school 7s and more school comps, as well as promoting its club system.

And I don't think it's fair to criticises the current administration of league until they have had a year or two in the job to see their results.

ShaneO85

Regos should never be absolutely free. There needs to be some commitment.
Not too often i agree with ECT but on this he is correct. League regos have gone up very little over the last 10 years compared to what it actually costs to put a player out on the park when you consider how much costs have ballooned for jerseys, insurance, affiliation fees, training shirts, strapping and first aid supplies, powerade, water and ice. None of that comes cheap anymore. RL is an absolute bargain compared to other sports.
Even in senior grades where you are paid to play, a reasonable rego fee $100-200 indicates a level of commitment and is easy to recoup with a win or two.

And why RU is an insignificant sport globally and RL is a powerhouse played in over 100 countries and at the Olympics. Oh wait.

I know it might be hard to understand what happens in the world to someone who thinks comparing the Sydney grade comp to the NRL is a credible thing to do in complete isolation, but never mind.

And as i said, definitely touched a nerve attacking dole bludgers here...
Firstly, if everyone on the dole is a bludger, explain an unemployment rate that is above zero. If there were enough jobs for everyone, cancel the dole and get everyone a job.

Second, you are asserting that the IOC selects sports merely on the percentage of participants that are Uni grads. Explain why Union threw zillions at such genii as Wendel Sailor, Lote Tequiri, Israel Folau and SBW :lol::lol:

I knew you would find the basic comparison between the success of League and Union in a place where all things are equal over a century, bar appeal to a crowd. If all that mattered in a sport was a uni degree, why is the Shute Shield less popular than getting circumcised by an epileptic with a chainsaw?

face it ECT - you are nothing but a dumb sh*t genius. F*ck off back to whatever Union loving sh*thole you emerged from.

Mong

Playing opens this year in Brisbane, sign on $150 and then $10 a game we get jersey at end of the year depending how commited you are.

Jnr's are $110 for 1 child, $200 for 2 children then $60 for each extra and no game fees for juniors.

You get Club shirt, yearbook, Footy or Leagues club membership for 1 adult (I assume Leagues but it dosent say)

What portion of registration goes to insurance do you know?

Firstly, if everyone on the dole is a bludger, explain an unemployment rate that is above zero. If there were enough jobs for everyone, cancel the dole and get everyone a job.

Second, you are asserting that the IOC selects sports merely on the percentage of participants that are Uni grads. Explain why Union threw zillions at such genii as Wendel Sailor, Lote Tequiri, Israel Folau and SBW :lol::lol:

I knew you would find the basic comparison between the success of League and Union in a place where all things are equal over a century, bar appeal to a crowd. If all that mattered in a sport was a uni degree, why is the Shute Shield less popular than getting circumcised by an epileptic with a chainsaw?

face it ECT - you are nothing but a dumb sh*t genius. F*ck off back to whatever Union loving sh*thole you emerged from.
You're right. Not all unemployed are bludgers. Some are cretins who support Parra, live on the north coast (but do nothing for local footy) and who write utter shite on internet forums that makes no sense, it would seem.

Joshuatheeel

The joke is the money coming in, who does it go to ? NRL players and administrators thats who.
Nothing goes to the grass roots.
Some clubs are lucky enough to have good NRL club support like the Roosters or a great junior leagues club like Souths.
But so many especially in the country get nothing.
The salary cap should not have increased one bit and the extra money from the TV rights should have been given as grants to junior clubs.

My sons rego is $70 which is in the country, thus amount includes shorts and socks (worth approx $35). The break down of the fees according to the his club is:

$25 - CRL/SLE Insurance
$30 - group 7 admin fee
$10 - council fee

I reckon league is great value compared to other sports (which my kids have been involved in over years). The club is grear they have plenty of bbq for the players and social events. I would prefer the fees remain at a reasonable amount but the Nrl gives the junior clubs more funds to better support/promote the game within the clubs region.

Joshuatheeel

Given the facts as stated in this thread - Union and Soccer are easily more expensive than league, along with other options like cricket and hockey costing more like $200-$300 (plus equipment), I'd far rather the NRL spend the money on something we're struggling with rather than something League leads the way in - maybe subsidising or providing junior memberships, training camps, use of grounds etc.

Yep agree, they need to get players out doing more with the juniors, even using retired players. My son plays league and has never had a skills session/contact with nrl officials at his school/training yet last year he came home with an AFL poster (which most 6 years get excited about) because AFL had gone to his school and spoken to his class. Yet just recently he was disappointed as the dragons went to his school but only spoke with kids in year 5/6.

Even last year his comp (which is in dragon territory) had a gala day with no - one from the nrl/dragons were in attendance.

cleary89

Ive said it heaps. The afl bring out 6 or 7 guys, teachers sit back and do nothing for half an hour.

2 league guys come out who are more worried about how their sunnies are looking and being "cool". Teachers have to basically run it. Mate, the kids thing the guys who ge involved and play with them much cooler than your shitty sunnies.

One thing we def need to work on, rather than ect and his uni fetish.

Rugby League rego fees are actually quite reasonable. Soccer fees are ludicrous and I hear netball is nearly as bad.

Yep agree, they need to get players out doing more with the juniors, even using retired players. My son plays league and has never had a skills session/contact with nrl officials at his school/training yet last year he came home with an AFL poster (which most 6 years get excited about) because AFL had gone to his school and spoken to his class. Yet just recently he was disappointed as the dragons went to his school but only spoke with kids in year 5/6.

Even last year his comp (which is in dragon territory) had a gala day with no - one from the nrl/dragons were in attendance.
And this is what I'm talking about. If you have RL people in schools they are more likely to accept offers from the NRL to bring development officers and players into the school. At the moment every school will get offers from RL - and most other sports - to run clinics at their school. Not all schools will say yes. If the sports co-ordinator/teacher/principal who makes these decisions are RL people they will be more likely to say yes. That's why we need to get the future teachers/principals involved in the game ASAP. Most people want to whinge about the NRL and clubs but won't even consider going deeper into the issue and looking at the long-term root causes of RL's inability to get into schools and be a big part of what schools do. The schools who do take RL seriously are the ones with past or present players as teachers and principals. But they are getting fewer and fewer.