Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Should The NRL Offer Money To Sydney Clubs To Relocate?

Should the NRL Offer Sydney Clubs Money To Relocate?

Pretty simple question.

Maybe you have a suggestion of which clubs could be offered money to relocate....or maybe put a figure on how much money a club would need to make such a move.

Where could the NRL look to relocate clubs to. Does the NRL have other ways it could entice a club to move?

Let me know what you think.

nospam49

Dragons Cross

There should definetely be some monetary incentive to relocate, should be similar amounts to what the joint venture teams got.

If a club is in trouble then knowing that relocating is going to save the club is a massive incentive IMO.

Canterbury

yes they should.

The likes of eastern suburbs canterbury and penrith would be right to stay

however i think relocating three sydney teams to other locations would be excellent.

they still have there identity colours and everything.. it's just they are moved elsewhere. and if you look at how some of them are going (financially, on the field, off the field.. etc) some of them couldn't go any worse.

eels_fan

Why should cantebury stay?? Maybe they should play out of Coffs Harbour...they seem to like it there...

Pigskin

should have included merge

relocate or merge

doesn't matter how its done, just get rid of some Sydney teams

Oink !

Razor

Why should cantebury stay?? Maybe they should play out of Coffs Harbour...they seem to like it there

Canterbury shouldn't. They should be the first Sydney side relocated. They have no real home base.

Manly should definitely stay
Penrith should definately stay
Sharks should definiately go
Bulldogs should definately go
Dragons should definately stay (but be fulltime at Illawarra)
Parramatta should definately stay

And one of Wests, Roosters, Souths should go

eelandia

Canterbury said:
yes they should.

The likes of eastern suburbs canterbury and penrith would be right to stay

however i think relocating three sydney teams to other locations would be excellent.

they still have there identity colours and everything.. it's just they are moved elsewhere. and if you look at how some of them are going (financially, on the field, off the field.. etc) some of them couldn't go any worse.

Considering the strength of League in Sydney's western suburbs, surely Parra, the Dogs and Penrith can stay. In regards to the Roosters, they can go considering the Swans and waratahs are more popular there.

I have to say Im SHOCKED at the overwhelming reponse this thread has recived. At the moment its running 15-1 in favour of incentives for relocation.

Personally I think Penrith, Parramatta and the Roosters are the only Sydney team that really look rock solid.

The Bulldogs.....can anyone honestly say they have a true home in Sydney. Im not saying they dont deserve a place in Sydney....but they just havent had a true home base that their fans have liked since they moved from Belmore.

The Tigers....they have to go.

The Dragons I'd like to see at Win Stadium for all of their games.

The Sharks....Im not to sure at the moment. To be honest....I cant see the Shire supporting the club much more then it does right now. Can the are support a top class professional side?

I think Manly are taking steps to secure their future.

BuffaloRules

nospam49 said:

Why??

You are typical of the tools that propose these ideas... "teams have to go, as long as its not mine" :lol:

Who are we going to replace these Sydney teams with?

Perth?, Adelaide? More success stories waiting in the wings like the Storm :roll:

The Engineers Room

We can keep all of them and just increase the number of teams overall. With some sort of conference or promotion relegation system.

Relegation... :roll:

I think the Tigers would do very well in SE QLD.

They could free themselves of the Poker machine tax that will hit NSW clubs and they will have a much larger catchment area to draw sponsors and fans from.

Foz

In my opinion a side should relocate OR
Souths and Cronulla should merge (I hate to say this).
That would be best for the game not Cronulla and Souths supporters.
Alternatively Cronulla and Easts. (the thought of that makes me sick but thats life).
Like it or not most footy teams face financial constraints,with new taxes coming in there will be even more financial pressures.
I think there is one team too many in inner Sydney.
There is no way you could merge Souths with Easts or
Cronulla with Illawarra because they dislike each other too much.(Eg Norths-Manly).
Merged sides should be up for a cash incentive and salary cap concession although Illawarra are still having problems reducing their salary cap to the present level.
A new side (or sides) should also have salary cap concessions.
There is of course no hope of this happening because the teams and their supporters would rather die than merge or give a new team a better chance than their own side.

Nook

Good onya mate. :roll:
Its great, all these fans making arbitrary decisions about the future of other clubs, as long as it doesn't involve any sort of damage to their own team.

Relocate any Sydney team and you are likely to lose a significant amount of support.

If a decision is made to relocate, for any club, it will be made through a long period of deliberation, taking into account a huge range of factors. It won't be made by a bunch of nuffys on the internet covering their eyes, randomly pointing the finger and pretending they are Donald Trump.

nospam49, you're fired.

BuffaloRules

nospam49 said:
I think the Tigers would do very well in SE QLD.

They could free themselves of the Poker machine tax that will hit NSW.

Thanks for your input :roll:

The Tigers will be around in Sydney for a lot longer than your potential life span.

Hope that Penrith can still afford Roger Cowan's salary when the poker machine tax starts to bite. :roll:

brooksy19

Don't go around saying the tigers "have to go" you have no right you moron.we've already had to f**ken well merge now you want us to move now, go and get f**ked you idiot.

Canterbury

yeah the case point "no real home ground" is the only thing people can come up with us to relocate is hopeless.

you look at all of the other aspects of our club and i'd say us and eastern suburbs are the two only rock solid sydney clubs to stay.

BuffaloRules

The Bulldogs seem to be finding a niche for themselves at Gosford lol:

Eastern Suburbs ( Sydney??) have been achieving some great crowds like last Friday :lol: :lol:

I spose the Roosters have not been going well over the last couple of years, so their fans have some excuses....

Canterbury

south sydney played a game at gosford and easts plan to play one also

maybe we are all relocating there =/!!!

easts have had great crowds usually over recent years.

t-ba

Financial incentives, some massive ones, should be in place. I don't believe an increased salary cap is the go (Look at Melbourne. I reckon that 1999 premiership was more of a curse than a gift.), but perhaps the club grant could tripled for a sustained period of time to ge the club up and running in its new home.

I don't want to name names. Suffice to say that my club and 3 others are still on the precipe, and I believe the Bulldogs, if it suited them, would be conductive to a relocation, largely because they are a forward thinking club.

I don't think the issue should be forced either, just let the club(s) run itself out of business so it has to put itself at the NRL's mercy.